Railways gets five new locomotives

Ok,Pakistan will be able to license produce locomotives at Risalpur.But attaining expertise in developing them is still
far away.

You might think this is trolling but let me take the example of India,with even more dumber policy makers.We started License producing american locomotives in the '60s.Slowly the Indigenous content increased,a vendor network came into existance & railways started modifying & finally developing locomotives on its own(That was in the 80s ).

Also vendor network need to be there.AFAIK components like the traction motors are imported for Pakistani Locomotives.
govt didnt allowed private secctor to grow, instead slaughtered it in 70s.
we have PPPP which beleives in older socialist and communist believes, not allowing any private sector growth happening

govt didnt allowed private secctor to grow, instead slaughtered it in 70s.
we have PPPP which beleives in older socialist and communist believes, not allowing any private sector growth happening

With PPP, it is not a matter of belief or ideology. It is about populism as a facade and corruption behind it. I believe Bhutto did eventually realize what nationalization had done. But the legacy of that decision stayed with us for a long time. Pakistan's economic momentum was broken and many promising private institutions were finished in one stroke.

dnt trust the minister of railway .. voton k choor railway mei b chori karyain gay

That is a cheap shot bro... Wait till next election and see.

Ok,Pakistan will be able to license produce locomotives at Risalpur.But attaining expertise in developing them is still
far away.

You might think this is trolling but let me take the example of India,with even more dumber policy makers.We started License producing american locomotives in the '60s.Slowly the Indigenous content increased,a vendor network came into existance & railways started modifying & finally developing locomotives on its own(That was in the 80s ).

Also vendor network need to be there.AFAIK components like the traction motors are imported for Pakistani Locomotives.

Bhai, wohi to keh raha hai. He is saying the same thing, if you've noticed. The first step is license production, next is small improvements in the design, and then the step for designing all by one's self comes. During this time upgradation of facilities, supplier-base, economical production etc... has to be done / or happens as a result of policies.

But I am not sure if it is a sound policy for Pakistan. We may not have the economy or numbers that U.S., China, & India have. One needs to make a business case and see if it is workable. Right now Pakistan is not known for exporting such hardware, and without export prospects such a project may never be economical. The best policy might actually be to import best engines from the world.

Military Forum Latest Posts