Punjab to have six more universities

Shahzaz ud din

Punjab to have six more universities
LAHORE - The Punjab government has allocated Rs382.9 billion for education sector in fiscal year 2019-20 which is 16.65 percent of total budget estimates.
punjab-to-have-six-more-universities-1560547609-7391.jpg

In 2018-19 fiscal year, the PTI government presented budget for eight months in which Rs373 billion (18.4 percent) was allocated for education. Merely Rs10 billion increased in education budget in comparison with the last fiscal year.

The government has allocated Rs1.5 billion for Insaf School Programme which will benefit 5,000 out-of-school children and Rs2.84 billion has been allocated for free text books.

The PTI announced establishing six universities in Punjab including North Punjab University at Chakwal, University of Mianwali, Kohsar University of Murree and Thal University at Bhakar, Rawalpindi University and Baba Gurunanak University in Nankana Sahib.

Government will provide facilities in 150 schools on a need basis, provision of 655 additional classrooms in schools, provision of IT Labs in 340-Elementary, Secondary and Higher Secondary Schools, reconstruction of 100-dilapidated school buildings in Punjab and provision of buildings for 30-Shelter-less schools.

According to budget document, Rs 32 billion has been allocated for school education, Rs 7.3billion for higher education, Rs1 billion for special education, Rs 35 billion for tertiary education, Rs 1.5 billion for Technical Education and Vocational Training Authority (TEVTA) and Rs400 million for Punjab Vocational Training Council (PVTC).

An amount of Rs7.3 billion was allocated for higher education – Rs1.75 billion for providing missing facilities in colleges, Rs300 million for Punjab Education Endowment Fund (PEEF) and Rs100 million for Punjab Higher Education Commission (PHEC).

An amount of Rs32 billion has been earmarked for school education, Rs1.5 billion for establishment of Danish School, Rs19.5 billion for Punjab Education Foundation (PEF), Rs5 billion for Punjab Education Initiative Management Authority (PEIMA), Rs195 million for teachers’ training, Rs50 million for Children Library Complex .

The government set aside Rs1 billion for Special Education including Rs582 million for ongoing schemes and Rs 417 million for new schemes.

For literacy and non formal basic education Rs2.6 billion have been allocated include Rs 1.8 for ongoing schemes and Rs800 million allocated for new schemes.
Source

Advertisement

Good but what are we doing to create such amounts of jobs too? Or will we be granting scholarships to "bradhars" to study in these universities?

Shukur pehli dafa kissi govt ko hosh tu aaya idhar Sindh main yeh haal last 30-40 years main just one new govt university establish and that was also by Federal money .Bravo Punjab govt naam kuch bhi rakhoo bus apny ko University mangta achi waali

Waisay ziada universities honay ka faida Kya hai

For god sake we don't need more "universities", we already have abundance of them producing unemployable hoards of graduates.

We need investments in technical education directly after high schooling like here in Germany. We need to produce employable educated skilled electricians, mechanics, industrial supervisors, machine technicians, technicians of agricultural technologies, physical and chemical lab assistants, material analyst technicians, modern plumbers, modern carpenters, qualified construction experts etc.

Build technical colleges and stop wasting the money on building new sh1tty universities who are factories of producing unemployable youth.

These universities are being build due to demands of locals

Currently Pakistan need $$$ for educating kids under 16 who goes to school and FSC/FCOM/Inter. How many people will reach universities? Are the ones already graduated from universities able to find jobs? Cuz, I've seen them working in fast food restaurants or driving taxis. Sorry but i think these universities will have tons of empty class rooms or students on scholarship programs from bradhars mumaliks. I would rather spend half of that money to provide loans to graduated students to go for a export oriented startups and the other half creating opprtunities for kids under 16.

Even if there are jobs for every graduate still these universities are not needed
because there are postgraduate colleges in every city of Punjab
classroom aren't emty in any institution
in most government colleges students are more than capacity

But idiots running pakistani governments only think that building more and more sh1tty universities is the way to promote education and "skills" in pakistan. They don't even know that all over the world especially in developed countries the main industrial workforce is produced by technical college diploma holders and not by university graduates.

But idiots running pakistani governments only think that building more and more sh1tty universities is the way to promote education and "skills" in pakistan.

Unfortunately quantity is more important here than quality education.

We need universities but what we most need are quality, up to date, modern, research oriented universities..
In that aspect musharafs plan of starting them in collaboration with univ from europe and asia was a gud one.

We need good, enlightened and energetic or charged graduates... Who can question set norms, innovate, think outside the box and are eager to seek and impart knowledge. Granted all cant be like that and only close to a single digit percent will lead towards it but currently those types are near to extint in our educational institutes.
What we churn out enmass are the usual, ratou totay who study to pass and are educated and cut to contribute nothing other than a 9 to 5 job in a middle tier job. The very reason for our abysmall rather loathsome condition both economically as well as socially / culturally

We don't need more universities as stated by others.

A significant portion of these graduates either don't work in their area of study due to lack of jobs or have to go abroad.

If we are to industrialize or grow better crops then we need more technical institutes.

Look at the quality of our mechanics and electricians for example. The older ustaads can't fix new vehicles. Sub jugaad chalta hai.

Do you honestly expect them to fix electric vehicles 10-15 years down the line.

We also need more R&D based tech universities (if we have to build more) and not this B-com/ MA English drama.