PTI to end sit-in if PM reveals all assets

Norwegian

Israel
ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan said on Monday he would wind up his 68-day sit-in if Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif honestly declared all of his assets, softening his stance of staying put at the D-Chowk with his supporter till the premier resigned.

The announcement follows a shift in the PTI’s focus from its sit-in near the Parliament House to holding public gatherings in different cities to compel the government to announce re-elections over allegations of rigging in the last year’s polls.

“I will call off the sit-in if you, Mr Nawaz Sharif, are ready to declare your ‘real assets’ before the nation,” he said while addressing the participants of the sit-in.

“I believe Nawaz Sharif may himself not be aware of all of his huge assets in and outside the country,” he said.

Also read: No more dialogue with govt, says Imran

Addressing PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, he said: “I will recognise you as leader if you ask your uncle Nawaz Sharif and your father Asif Ali Zardari to declare before the nation their `real assets’ which they earned after a lot of`hard work’. If you fail then I will perform this task.”

He said Mr Zardari was raising questions about the funding of the PTI’s sit-in and rallies. “Your party spent a huge amount for its recent public meeting in Karachi. The same amount will be enough to carry on the PTI sit-in for three years,” he said.

Know more: PTI workers uncertain about sit-in’s result

He said, “We just use a container and a sound system” and the PTI’s supporters participated in gatherings without any pressure.

Mr Khan invited a TV channel and its anchor facing suspension of licence by the Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority and a ban on the directives of a Lahore High Court judge to run their programme from his container.

He demanded a Rs15 decrease in petroleum prices and announced that his party would protest on Wednesday outside district press clubs across the country against a hike in electricity tariff.

“My dear supporters, your training is under way during the sit-in and it is possible that someone among you may become the chairperson of the PTI in future,” he said.

Published in Dawn, October 21st , 2014

@Zarvan
@Jzaib
@Strike X
@Akheilos
@khawaja07
@Leader
@SUPARCO
@Peaceful Civilian
@syedali73
@KURUMAYA
@Jazzbot
@mr42O
@Stealth
@balixd
@TankMan
@khawaja07
@GIANTsasquatch
@Junaid B
@Guleen Ahmed
@HRK
@Pakistani shaheens
@sur
@Saifkhan12
@chauvunist
@Evil Flare
@pak-marine
@Tayyab1796
@Spy Master
@chauvunist
@Ahmad1996
@Saifkhan12
@raazh
@pkuser2k12
@Green Arrow
@AZADPAKISTAN2009
@SBD-3
@cb4
@WishLivePak
@Proudpakistaniguy
@AsianUnion
@Aether
@xyxmt
@Syed.Ali.Haider

Happy now Nawaz Sharif? Just declare all your assets and end this dharna-drama as per your wishes. :D

This is a good move by PTI, shifting more pressure to Nawaz Sharif. Now there's no threat to democracy, is there Mr.PM? Just declare your assets and show commitment to real democracy.

Biggest problem is that Nawaz Sharif can take massive advantage of this sacrificing some of his lesser-known and less important assets to force PTI to end the dharna, though with his arrogance and stubborn-ness I don't see it happening. Not to mention the heavy hit Nawaz's credibility would take if he openly admits he was hiding his assets, though its not like he has much of that credibility left any way.

Addressing PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, he said: “I will recognise you as leader if you ask your uncle Nawaz Sharif and your father Asif Ali Zardari to declare before the nation their `real assets’ which they earned after a lot of`hard work’. If you fail then I will perform this task.”
I don't agree with that, why did IK have to say that, he didn't have to go that far just to get NS and Zardari declaring their assets. Should have just left it to call off dharna (although I hope he sticks to his original demand of PM resignation)

PTI lost long ago and they are just trying to save face now.

Nawaz Sharif knows he has won and the people of Pakistan are either corrupt or apathetic to the core.

The morons in Sindh are already chanting "Bilawal" to welcome the next set of thieves.

LOL. IK knows their weaknesses and is very certain that they would never declare their family assets held abroad as its all made with corruption money.
These people are too smart when it comes to hiding their illegal assets. In my view IK has just provided them with a much easier option than resignation.

This is a good move by PTI, shifting more pressure to Nawaz Sharif. Now there's no threat to democracy, is there Mr.PM? Just declare your assets and show commitment to real democracy.

Biggest problem is that Nawaz Sharif can take massive advantage of this sacrificing some of his lesser-known and less important assets to force PTI to end the dharna, though with his arrogance and stubborn-ness I don't see it happening. Not to mention the heavy hit Nawaz's credibility would take if he openly admits he was hiding his assets, though its not like he has much of that credibility left any way.
actually he made u turn

PTI says it will continue protest till PM quits - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

Sit ins have failed. He will continue protests. But gov't isn't naive like confused khan. Poor khan just needs an excuse

PTI lost long ago and they are just trying to save face now.

Nawaz Sharif knows he has won and the people of Pakistan are either corrupt or apathetic to the core.

The morons in Sindh are already chanting "Bilawal" to welcome the next set of thieves.
nopes . PTI know they will never reveal their assets , It is just one way of humiliating them more .

actually he made u turn

PTI says it will continue protest till PM quits - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

Sit ins have failed. He will continue protests. But gov't isn't naive like confused khan. Poor khan just needs an excuse
bro they will never reveal their assets. trrust me on this one. Khan knows it any person with peanut like brain knows it .

nopes . PTI know they will never reveal their assets , It is just one way of humiliating them more .

There is nothing to humiliate.

Everyone knows what kind of people are in PML-N, PPP.

Pakistani public doesn't care. They like to talk but that's all -- just talk.

When it's time to vote, they will bring back the same set of thieves, PML-N, PPP, PML-N, PPP, ...

And somehow we should accept what corrupt people say about their assets:

hum yeh nehe mantey, woh nehe mantey
tere pasey kahan hum nehe mantey
tere kitney hain ghar hum nehe mantey
hum nehe mantey kutch nehe mantey

And somehow we should accept what corrupt people say about their assets:

hum yeh nehe mantey, woh nehe mantey
tere pasey kahan hum nehe mantey
tere kitney hain ghar hum nehe mantey
hum nehe mantey kutch nehe mantey
? aj tu nawaz sharif k tarah behki behki bgatain kar rahay hoo ..

Hanif abbasi already said don't ask us to declare the PM's assets. They were made before 1947. They still think people are stupid. If it wasn't for the media, only the D in democracy would have survived.

PM or uska khandaan to chor hai hi per PTI bhi bahany dhundh rahi hai is dharny se jaan churaany ki :rofl: