Professionals’ corner, personal experience series

Actually, for scope use you should have both eyes open
15129575_707416729408066_9189023208571534497_o.jpg

Life mai pehli bar Ideas mai gun pe pose mara , galat aakh band ker li ... :rofl::rofl::rofl:Qismat hi Kharab hai :(

What’s the best weapon? Jaibi

A: The mind.

Actually, a well-trained educated mind. Physical weapons may be okay for self-defense, but their use for offense is utterly abhorrent, specially if one sees the consequences thereof.

Such a comment , of course, may not be popular on a forum such as this, but it needed to be said.

Professionals’ corner, personal experience series:

View attachment 646715
Introduction

As we have some top secret projects that we are working on to unravel them soon with partners in crime being @Joe Shearer and @PanzerKiel I had feedback from the poll that we just conducted. There were considerably high votes for professional’s personal experiences in the services. I’d like to take the start and then tag someone to share an incident that either is funny or made them grow.

Weapons training

Being a psychologist in the armed forces is a unique experience because most people don’t know what to make of you. Are you a doctor? Then why aren’t you at CMH? Are you from the Education branch then why aren’t you teaching? Are you from the fighting arms? Then why aren’t you in the field? What do you do?

It’s with this gaze that I came upon the firing range to my instructor a relatively young Subedar of the SSG who was the owner of this gaze. I was a city slicker and more importantly from the air force so he was even more curious as to why I was here but being a good NCO he did not ask.

His greetings were crisp and to the point and he invited us officers to have a refresher whereby he was showing us different weapons in the arsenal at our disposal. I was a keen learner because prior to the military I had had no experience with firearms but I wanted to learn this well because that is my perspective at any opportunity to learn.

After the introduction we were to fire and we all did. Not surprisingly, I was an average scorer on the first day but I talked my way to come again to practice tomorrow again.

As I returned I fared better this time but again not up to what I wanted.

The Subedar came to me and asked if I would like to stay for some more pointers because he saw that I was eager to learn.

The biggest question

Being Punjabi but away from Punjab I couldn’t resist the offer of having Gur-wali-chaye (tea with natural sugar) and so as we were sitting the Subedar asked me a question.

‘Sir, if you have a G-3, MP 5, an AK-47, a revolver, a knife, a Glock and an RPG and your position was under imminent attack which weapon would you choose and why?’

I sipped some tea and considered the options. ‘I think the best choice would be a G-3 or maybe the RPG or a machine gun if I have more range and I could know where I am at and what position is being attacked.’

‘It could be any position, sir ji and you’ve seconds to react before the enemy is upon you. Which would you choose and why?’

‘G-3,’ I said, confidently.

The Subedar scoured at the bag right next to him got out my targets with my name and G-3 written on it. Out of 10 bullets that I had fired I had hit 4 on the target, so it was a 40% accuracy. That had been one of my experiments to gauge my proficiency with the weapons.

‘You’ve a 40% chance of surviving then, sir,’ he said and sipped his tea. ‘I don’t like them. Do you?’

The deadliest weapon

‘Your results with the MP-5 are the best; why didn’t you chose that one, sir?’

‘It gets inaccurate with the range, I suppose.’ I answered being a little embarrassed.

The Subedar smiled, ‘Sir ji, please don’t listen to the critique of men who have not seen war. What if you had cannon with you? It could take out everyone but if you cannot use it then it’s as good as wings are to a fish!’

‘I see,’ I said with genuine interest. ‘I’ve been firing with the MP-5 in the air force a lot or maybe it’s because it’s an easier weapon to handle, that my scores are better there?’

‘No, sir, it’s because you’ve been practicing with it. The weapon that’s the deadliest in the field is the one you’ve the most experience with. It is the one which your hands don’t feel like they’re holding a gun. I would advise, sir, if you don’t mind; don’t try to master the weapon by your mind but by your body. Practice with them and you’d do just fine.’ He finished his tea.

I thanked him for this invaluable lesson and it really stuck with me throughout service.

Thanks for your thoughts, I agree with your conclusion about training and experience but how will you account for enemy combatants artificially boosted by drugs such as adrenaline and amphetamines. The US encountered this phenomenon in its recent conflict and we found that these combatants need something with a lot of stopping power to pacify. They typically shrug off multiple hits from a 9mm weapon and still keep coming.

US special operators are proficient on all kinds of weapons including the ubiquitous AK-47.

Being a passionate weapon lover/collector and an avid shooter, I get asked a lot of times by friends and fellow shooter, what is the best gun? Well, it depends a lot on the purpose and how you intend to use it, but the short and best answer for every situation is that the best weapon is the one that you always have, your brain and then the weapon that becomes your hand.

Professionals’ corner, personal experience series:

View attachment 646715
Introduction

As we have some top secret projects that we are working on to unravel them soon with partners in crime being @Joe Shearer and @PanzerKiel I had feedback from the poll that we just conducted. There were considerably high votes for professional’s personal experiences in the services. I’d like to take the start and then tag someone to share an incident that either is funny or made them grow.

Weapons training

Being a psychologist in the armed forces is a unique experience because most people don’t know what to make of you. Are you a doctor? Then why aren’t you at CMH? Are you from the Education branch then why aren’t you teaching? Are you from the fighting arms? Then why aren’t you in the field? What do you do?

It’s with this gaze that I came upon the firing range to my instructor a relatively young Subedar of the SSG who was the owner of this gaze. I was a city slicker and more importantly from the air force so he was even more curious as to why I was here but being a good NCO he did not ask.

His greetings were crisp and to the point and he invited us officers to have a refresher whereby he was showing us different weapons in the arsenal at our disposal. I was a keen learner because prior to the military I had had no experience with firearms but I wanted to learn this well because that is my perspective at any opportunity to learn.

After the introduction we were to fire and we all did. Not surprisingly, I was an average scorer on the first day but I talked my way to come again to practice tomorrow again.

As I returned I fared better this time but again not up to what I wanted.

The Subedar came to me and asked if I would like to stay for some more pointers because he saw that I was eager to learn.

The biggest question

Being Punjabi but away from Punjab I couldn’t resist the offer of having Gur-wali-chaye (tea with natural sugar) and so as we were sitting the Subedar asked me a question.

‘Sir, if you have a G-3, MP 5, an AK-47, a revolver, a knife, a Glock and an RPG and your position was under imminent attack which weapon would you choose and why?’

I sipped some tea and considered the options. ‘I think the best choice would be a G-3 or maybe the RPG or a machine gun if I have more range and I could know where I am at and what position is being attacked.’

‘It could be any position, sir ji and you’ve seconds to react before the enemy is upon you. Which would you choose and why?’

‘G-3,’ I said, confidently.

The Subedar scoured at the bag right next to him got out my targets with my name and G-3 written on it. Out of 10 bullets that I had fired I had hit 4 on the target, so it was a 40% accuracy. That had been one of my experiments to gauge my proficiency with the weapons.

‘You’ve a 40% chance of surviving then, sir,’ he said and sipped his tea. ‘I don’t like them. Do you?’

The deadliest weapon

‘Your results with the MP-5 are the best; why didn’t you chose that one, sir?’

‘It gets inaccurate with the range, I suppose.’ I answered being a little embarrassed.

The Subedar smiled, ‘Sir ji, please don’t listen to the critique of men who have not seen war. What if you had cannon with you? It could take out everyone but if you cannot use it then it’s as good as wings are to a fish!’

‘I see,’ I said with genuine interest. ‘I’ve been firing with the MP-5 in the air force a lot or maybe it’s because it’s an easier weapon to handle, that my scores are better there?’

‘No, sir, it’s because you’ve been practicing with it. The weapon that’s the deadliest in the field is the one you’ve the most experience with. It is the one which your hands don’t feel like they’re holding a gun. I would advise, sir, if you don’t mind; don’t try to master the weapon by your mind but by your body. Practice with them and you’d do just fine.’ He finished his tea.

I thanked him for this invaluable lesson and it really stuck with me throughout service.

For me it was the M-16!. Light, easy to strip and clean. And learned the SPORTS, Slap, Pull, Observe, Release, Tap, & squeeze the first thing one learns when one is given an M-16.

I could field strip both M-16 & M-60 in under 1 min 52 seconds and reassemble them after running 50 yards. I did this so many times that I could do it in my sleep, literally. Make a dash of 50 yards, disassemble the weapon and reassemble them and cock and squeeze!

Once we were training in Northern Arkansas, Camp Robinson, a training area for the USANG. The standard practice was to double time after a 2K run and then come in for fire for effect on the rifle range. It was raining, mixed with sleet and on top of that it was cold. We were given a single round for ranging (We were using our own weapons which in theory were already ranged in) and then six rounds down range. All of us in the squad were wet, cold and shivering from the sleet, rain and literally our teeth were chattering when we lay prone on the wet ground of the firing range. Our BDU's were getting iced over. When I took aim I could not see the bloody target! My rear sight had iced over!! I pulled the weapon closer to my mouth to blow some warm air on the sight and that is when all hell broke loose, the Range Safety Officer came down on me started yelling in my ear to not to fidget with the weapon (Range safety & Security!!) I let loose of my 7 shots eye balling them.

When the results came, it was confusing...some had seven shot on their target and some like me had only two!! Apparently everyone was having the same problem as I was and everyone just eye balled and shot their load and in the haste to get out of the cold, shot at each others targets!!!

postscript: training was halted for the day after this as sleet stopped, snow started falling and our 12K run was postponed till next day.

enemy combatants artificially boosted by drugs such as adrenaline and amphetamines. The US encountered this phenomenon in its recent conflict and we found that these combatants need something with a lot of stopping power to pacify. They typically shrug off multiple hits from a 9mm weapon and still keep coming.

We experienced the same in erstwhile FATA.

Sir ji, you're a mystero!
For me it was the M-16!. Light, easy to strip and clean. And learned the SPORTS, Slap, Pull, Observe, Release, Tap, & squeeze the first thing one learns when one is given an M-16.

I could field strip both M-16 & M-60 in under 1 min 52 seconds and reassemble them after running 50 yards. I did this so many times that I could do it in my sleep, literally. Make a dash of 50 yards, disassemble the weapon and reassemble them and cock and squeeze!

Once we were training in Northern Arkansas, Camp Robinson, a training area for the USANG. The standard practice was to double time after a 2K run and then come in for fire for effect on the rifle range. It was raining, mixed with sleet and on top of that it was cold. We were given a single round for ranging (We were using our own weapons which in theory were already ranged in) and then six rounds down range. All of us in the squad were wet, cold and shivering from the sleet, rain and literally our teeth were chattering when we lay prone on the wet ground of the firing range. Our BDU's were getting iced over. When I took aim I could not see the bloody target! My rear sight had iced over!! I pulled the weapon closer to my mouth to blow some warm air on the sight and that is when all hell broke loose, the Range Safety Officer came down on me started yelling in my ear to not to fidget with the weapon (Range safety & Security!!) I let loose of my 7 shots eye balling them.

When the results came, it was confusing...some had seven shot on their target and some like me had only two!! Apparently everyone was having the same problem as I was and everyone just eye balled and shot their load and in the haste to get out of the cold, shot at each others targets!!!

postscript: training was halted for the day after this as sleet stopped, snow started falling and our 12K run was postponed till next day.

We did as well. The enemy was often drugged up but when you're strapped up it's important for officers to have a cool head because the situation asks for it. Your NCOs can always outgun you but as an officer you're the neurons while they're the muscles. In such a face often having sound tactics and superior psychological resilience often is the key. Here's one more thing that the American fighter would have a disadvantage of (not doubting their courage) it's the concept of shahadat as Pakistanis faced their enemy they have the same fearlessness as the enemy does.
Thanks for your thoughts, I agree with your conclusion about training and experience but how will you account for enemy combatants artificially boosted by drugs such as adrenaline and amphetamines. The US encountered this phenomenon in its recent conflict and we found that these combatants need something with a lot of stopping power to pacify. They typically shrug off multiple hits from a 9mm weapon and still keep coming.

US special operators are proficient on all kinds of weapons including the ubiquitous AK-47.

Just to see how you deal with a situation you're unprepared for.
@jaibi @PanzerKiel yeh Armed Forces ke interview me ajeeb o guareeb sawalaat kyun poonchte hain? Vulgar types ke

Yes, it's a part of training and then tests too. As a newbie it feels quite overwhelming and the sound is something that is hard to handle but it's mostly psychological.after the first firing you begin to get comfortable and then it's quite easy. Just like learning to ride a bicycle.
Do you ever train with a gun ? I never hold a real gun in life , i mean its hard to believe but its true .. how does it feel for a newbie like me to fire the first time ? if and whenever i did i will surely write about experience it would be fun :D

And please Bhai jaan nai bolen yaar , sharminda ker rahe hai :) ap mera naam le len .. Omer is my name ..

Yes, it's a part of training and then tests too. As a newbie it feels quite overwhelming and the sound is something that is hard to handle but it's mostly psychological.after the first firing you begin to get comfortable and then it's quite easy. Just like learning to ride a bicycle.

What about the blow back of gun ? i heard from people and even saw in videos that the push back can be hard on your shoulders, from the picture of me you can tell i am skin and bones with little to no mass hahah so do you think that someone like me will have hard time firing gun ? and how much a normal gun like AK weight ? 10 kg ka Aatay ka thela utha leta hun , lakin zaiya dair nai hahaha

Put a scope on this gun , it looks full commando style weapon :D

Sir ji, you're a mystero!

We did as well. The enemy was often drugged up but when you're strapped up it's important for officers to have a cool head because the situation asks for it. Your NCOs can always outgun you but as an officer you're the neurons while they're the muscles. In such a face often having sound tactics and superior psychological resilience often is the key. Here's one more thing that the American fighter would have a disadvantage of (not doubting their courage) it's the concept of shahadat as Pakistanis faced their enemy they have the same fearlessness as the enemy does.

Just to see how you deal with a situation you're unprepared for.

@jaibi

I've thought about the bold part of your post for a long time, and I don't see that as a disadvantage. The American solider's thinking is beyond that and they have a almost gaming complex to just kill. Their nationalism mixed with technological prowess is what's driving them through and through compared to Pak Army clinging to shahadat. Even in their beliefs they feel they will go to heaven regardless.

Put a scope on this gun , it looks full commando style weapon :D
I prefer the iron sight, allows me better situational awareness, besides cant really engage targets beyond 300m with it so scope is just extra weight.