Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi lays foundation stone for 3 highway projects at Sonepat

Prime Minister's Office
07-October, 2017 16:28 IST
PM addresses public meeting in Chotila, lays foundation stone for greenfield airport for Rajkot

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, today addressed a public meeting at Chotila, in Surendranagar district. He laid the Foundation Stones for a greenfield airport for Rajkot; six-laning of Ahmedabad-Rajkot National Highway; and four-laning of Rajkot-Morbi State Highway. He also dedicated to the nation, a fully automatic milk processing and packaging plant; and a drinking water distribution pipeline for Joravarnagar and Ratanpur area of Surendranagar.

The Prime Minister said that it was hard to imagine an airport in Surendranagar district. He said such development works empower citizens.

He said aviation cannot be about rich people. We have made aviation affordable and within reach of the lesser privileged, he added.

The Prime Minister said that the definition of development has changed. From the days when handpumps were seen to be a sign of development, today the waters of the Narmada River have been brought for the benefit of citizens. He said Surendranagar district tends to benefit a lot from the waters of the Narmada. He urged people to use water responsibly, and conserve every drop. The Prime Minister said that the Sursagar Dairy would bring enormous benefit to the people. He also recalled how former Chief Minister Keshubhai Patel had worked towards making better and safer roads.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi at Foundation Stones laying ceremony of the Greenfield Airport for Rajkot and other road development projects, at Chotila, Gujarat on October 07, 2017. The Union Minister for Civil Aviation, Shri Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati, the Chief Minister of Gujarat, Shri Vijay Rupani and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171007114862.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi at Foundation Stones laying ceremony of the Greenfield Airport for Rajkot and other road development projects, at Chotila, Gujarat on October 07, 2017.
s20171007114863.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi lays Foundation Stones of the Greenfield Airport for Rajkot and other road development projects, at Chotila, Gujarat on October 07, 2017. The Union Minister for Civil Aviation, Shri Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati, the Chief Minister of Gujarat, Shri Vijay Rupani and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171007114864.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi lays Foundation Stones of the Greenfield Airport for Rajkot and other road development projects, at Chotila, Gujarat on October 07, 2017. The Union Minister for Civil Aviation, Shri Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati, the Chief Minister of Gujarat, Shri Vijay Rupani and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171007114865.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi addressing at Foundation Stones laying ceremony of the Greenfield Airport for Rajkot and other road development projects, at Chotila, Gujarat on October 07, 2017. The Union Minister for Civil Aviation, Shri Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati is also seen.
s20171007114866.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi addressing at Foundation Stones laying ceremony of the Greenfield Airport for Rajkot and other road development projects, at Chotila, Gujarat on October 07, 2017. The Union Minister for Civil Aviation, Shri Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati, the Chief Minister of Gujarat, Shri Vijay Rupani and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171007114867.jpg

Prime Minister's Office
13-October, 2017 16:00 IST
PM to visit Bihar tomorrow

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, will visit Bihar on October 14, 2017.

The Prime Minister will address the Centenary Celebrations of Patna University.

At Mokama, the Prime Minister will lay the foundation stone for four sewerage projects under the Namami Gange programme; and four National Highway projects. The total outlay of these projects will be over Rs. 3700 crore. He will also address a public meeting.

The four sewerage projects include Sewage Treatment Plant at Beur, Sewerage System with Sewer Network at Beur, Sewage Treatment Plant at Karmalichak and STP and Sewer Network at Saidpur. These projects together will create new STP capacity of 120 MLD and upgrade the existing 20 MLD for Beur.

The four National Highway projects for which foundation stone will be laid include:

· 4-laning of Aunta–Simariya section of NH-31 and construction of 6-lane Ganga Setu

· 4 laning of Bakhtiyarpur-Mokama section of NH-31

· 2-lane construction of Maheshkhunt-Saharsa-Purnea section of NH 107

· 2-lane construction of Biharsharif-Barbigha-Mokama section of NH-82

nh31.gif

Prime Minister's Office
14-October, 2017 19:30 IST
English rendering of the text of Prime Minister’s address on the occasion of laying of foundation stones for several projects under the ‘Namami Gange’ scheme and National Highway Projects in Mokama, Bihar.

Bharat Mata Ki Jay (Victory for Mother India)-Bharat Mata Ki Jay (Victory for Mother India).

My dear brothers and sisters present here in large numbers,

My regards to the people of Mokama. I convey my regards to all of you on this holy land of Lord Parashuram. I am blessed on coming here in Mokama.

The whole country is gearing up to celebrate Diwali. Preparations for Chhath Puja are also underway. I congratulate you in advance for Dipawali and Chhath Puja. And gifts worth nearly Rs. 4 thousand crore are being given to Bihar on this pious occasion.

Brothers and sisters, a short while ago Gadkari Ji was talking about how many road projects, highway projects have been started by the government of India. And description was so long that I saw that you too were surprised that so many schemes can be implemented in such a short span of time to turn around the fortune of Bihar.

I am grateful to Nitish Ji and his entire team for supporting all the government of India schemes in every possible manner. When we had difficulties they came forward to solve our problems and in a way today both the central government and the state government have been working shoulder to shoulder with full dedication to realise the dreams of Bihar and you can see the results. Nitish Ji has touched upon several issues, since he is the chief minister, but he was also a member of Parliament from this area for several years so it’s natural to have an emotional attachment with you. And due to that emotional attachment he has that restlessness that this should be done or that should be done and so on. And I respect his feelings and I assure him that the government of India would walk with him shoulder to shoulder to realise the dreams of millions and millions of people of Bihar and it will take the journey of development to new heights.

Brothers and sisters, today I got the good opportunity to come to the land of Mokama, Nitish Ji showed me the design of the bridge from the above, the foundation stone for which is being laid here today, when we were coming here. He showed me the model and I am confident this kind of bridge will become the centre of attraction for the entire Bihar. And this bridge will connect Begusarai, the area of work of the first chief minister of Bihar Dr. Shri Krishna, with the state capital Patna. Even today, I bow down to Shri Babu who made Begusarai the industrial capital of Bihar by establishing Refinery, Fertilizer, Thermal Power Plant and Barauni Dairy.

Today, I have come to that land which is just a few hundred meters away from that temple of education which imparted the values to the national poet Dinakar Ji during his childhood. As one remembers Dinkar Ji his feelings inspire us even today. They show us the path of liberty from the blind faith. Be it an oppressed person or one who is persecuted or exploited, poor, deprived, villager, farmer, labourer, we feel an inspiration to respect them due to the emotions expressed by Dinakar Ji. This is the land on which Dinakar Ji was raised. Dinakar Ji had said:

‘Arti Liye To Kise Dhoondhta Hai Moorkh, Andh-Shraddha Ke Khilaf Chot Panhuchate The’

‘Arti Liye To Kise Dhoondhta Hai Moorkh, Mandiro, Raj Prasado Mein, Tahkhano Mein’

‘Are Devata Kanhi Sadko Par Gitti Tod Rahe, Devata Milenge Kheto Mein, Khalihano Mein’.

Today, the people who will break stones for the projects that are being launched, they are our gods who make our fortune. And government of India is taking an important step to realise the dreams of Dinakar Ji.

Brothers and sisters, this land is also the land where lord Parashuram had meditated. Nobody can forget the grand history of the holy Simaria Bank located on the banks of mother Ganga at the confluence of three great ancient states – Ang, Magadh and Mithila. And when I have got the good opportunity to bow down to this holy Simaria Bank from this platform then I respectfully bow down to it. This is the land of brave-heart Babha Chauharmal, a fair is being organised in his memory every year at some distance from here. A large crowd gathers here and I also bow down to such a holy land.

My dear brothers and sisters of Bihar, as far as I can see, I see people everywhere. There are two three times more people outside this tent than those who are inside it. All those people are facing harsh sunlight outside. And they have been facing the heat under the sun for quite some time and despite suffering this hardship they have turned up here in large numbers to bless me, I bow down to you as well. I welcome you. But my dear brothers and sisters of Bihar, I would like to assure you that the government of India and the state government will not allow the hardships faced by you people here to go waste.

Our country also had this kind of people whose thinking was responsible for the backwardness of the country. I have read about this kind of politicians who used to talk like this if someone talked about constructing a road: ‘What is the need for a road, the roads are needed by those who have cars, do we poor people have cars, why do we need roads?’ The people with this kind of negative mentality, we cannot even think about the way they have ruined the country. If today you travel to a village where there is no road....MPs also come to meet me and they tell me that some roads under the Pradhanmantri Gram Sadak Yojna have not been constructed in their area, they ask me to give priority to their area. Whenever people from rural areas meet me they demand the roads under the Pradhanmantri Gram Sadak Yojna.

Brothers and sisters, in the last three years we have increased the budget so much, we have ramped up the speed of the work so much that today we have succeeded in constructing the twice as much roads than what we used to construct earlier and that is why this work of constructing the roads is taking place to bring about a change in the rural life. However, rural roads alone are not enough. We should connect our large economic centres, economic centres are growth centres as well and those place where economy thrives; we also need to connect these places with interior areas through the road connectivity.

Today, those projects worth thousands of crores of rupees for which the foundation stones have been laid, these projects are not for merely running the vehicles on them. The construction of road is meant for changing the economy of this place. And it is our attempt to bring prosperity here through the roads and these are roads that pull the prosperity and contribute in the making the area prosperous.

Brothers and sisters, Ganga, our lives are dependent on her. Today, if mother Ganga were not there then how terrible the situation would have been? However, we never made any attempt to save that Ganga, we were indifferent. Saving the Ganga is equal to saving our future generations. If we clean the river Ganga then nobody can stop its stream and that is why the government has been engaged in cleaning the Ganga by spending the billions and billions of rupees. And this is not merely the name of a river. And once again we will develop the same feelings of reverence towards rivers, initiatives for saving the rivers will be taken, an awareness about all the rivers of India will be generated. If we want to avoid the water crisis in India in future then this is the only way and we will have to take it seriously. And that is why this cleanliness mission that has been launched, and all the states, from Gangotri to Bengal Sagar, which have been associated with this mission, the first priority is being given to this thing by dividing their responsibility that Ganga should not be polluted. A campaign has been launched to stop the drainage of polluted water, to stop the water polluted with chemicals going into Ganga. And today foundation stones for several projects are being laid simultaneously in Bihar so that in the coming days we will be able to see mother Ganga the same way the way we have devotion for her. And when mother Ganga will be as per our dreams then there will be an unique joy in Chhath Puja, and there will be an unique feeling of devotion.

Brothers and sisters, during the last few days, government of India’s Railway ministry has started an important train for the people of eastern Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, and it is going to be of immense benefit during Diwali and Chhath Puja. Antyoday Express from Mumbai to Gorakhpur, this is the first Antyoday Express of the country and just one week ago I have flagged off from Surat the second Antyoday Train from Surat to Patna Jaynagar. We have made this arrangement that the poorest of the poor can board the train at the last moment without reservation.

We have connected Mahamana Express from Baroda to Banaras. People who have been working in Surat, in Baroda and in Ankaleshwar, people those who work in Maharashtra can reach their homes comfortably for the festivals of Diwali and Chhath Puja. This government has started these four important trains in the last few days at a very fast pace to connect Bihar and Eastern Uttar Pradesh, it is certainly going to benefit you people during Diwali and Chhath Puja.

Brothers and sisters, a short while ago Nitin Ji, Gadkari Ji presented a sketch to you, perhaps, this kind of massive work of building infrastructure in such a short span of time would never have been done in Bihar before. As Nitin Ji just said that in case of the work of roads alone, the work worth Rs. 53,000 crore has either been started or has been approved. You can imagine what kind of comfort these basic facilities, these basic facilities of infrastructure will provide.

We know it very well that the future will not allow the journey of development to move forward without connectivity. Road connectivity, rail connectivity, internet connectivity, gas grid, electricity connection and taps of clean water are required. These issues of connectivity are related to poor people and even in these things a project of waterways has been launched under the leadership of our Gadkari Ji. And if we successfully implement waterways then you will see the importance of rivers. Those people who are from the economic field even they won’t be able to resist the need to associate themselves with the rivers with a feeling of reverence. This kind of change is going to be come about in the field of the country’s economy due to the waterways to supply the goods to the poorest of the poor in the least possible expenses. This thing is going to become possible on the banks of the mother river due to waterways.

In the British era this waterway was there, at that time Mokama was known as Mini Calcutta. It had become the centre of big economic and transportation activity. The government of India has taken upon itself the task of restoring this reputation and I would like to assure you that in any case we will restore that reputation.

You must have seen that we have started a massive campaign to provide electricity to those villages where it was not available. There were 18,000 villages without electricity. We started with the dream to finish it within 1,000 days. We still have some months left however we have electrified nearly 15,000 villages so far and we have been working at a fast pace to electrify those remaining 2.5 to 3,0000 villages. Along with that we have recently launched Pradhanmantri Saubhagya Yojana. This Pradhanmantri Saubhagya Yojana, I’d urge Bihar to take full advantage of it. Under this Pradhanmantri Saubhagya Yojana, the government of India and the state government will work together to provide electricity to those houses which don’t have electricity connection. Even if someone lives in a shanty he even then he will get the electric bulb. Earlier if someone used to ask for electricity connection then the government used to tell that there is an electricity poll on that side and if we need to supply electricity then we will have to install 10 polls from there to here and it will cost nearly Rs. 30,000. And if you pay Rs. 30,000 then only you will get the electricity connection. So the lower class, middle class people, poor people used to reply that they don’t need electricity as they can’t afford to pay Rs. 30,000. People did not used to take electricity connection. Brothers and sisters, we have decided that no Indian family will be compelled to live in the 18th century like situation. The connections will be given free of cost, if there is a need to install polls then the government will install them, if there is a need to lay the wires then the government will do that and it will supply electricity to that house and the first connection will be given free of cost so that he can think about the education and lives of his children, can think in a new way and move forward in the direction of change.

Brothers and sisters, this is a unique feature of this government which even our critics have to admit after these three years. It was a habit of previous governments to make announcements while keeping the elections in mind and then to forget the people and the schemes. Today, there is this kind of government in Delhi that we prepare the road map of a scheme if we conceive it. And the government completely dedicates itself in arranging those resources, in implementing those schemes in a time bound manner to finish them during its tenure. You might have seen that the gas connections to more than 3 crore families, to the poor families, to the poorest of the poor families have been provided so far. They have started cooking chapattis on gas stove. We have a dream of providing gas connections to two crore more families in the next two years and we will accomplish that within the stipulated time and will bring about the change in poor person’s life.

We have started off with the cleanliness campaign. And I will call upon to everyone and would like to tell the government employees, would like to tell the educated youth, the financially sound families to think about a moment and think about those mothers and sisters who live in villages, who live in the shanties of cities and who have been compelled to defecate in the open. Who don’t have toilets, what do they do? They go out of their houses in the dark before the sunrise and come back after relieving themselves before the sun rises. And once the sun rises and if they need to relieve themselves during the day time then they wait until the night, until the sunset, until it is dark and till then they torture their bodies, till then they bear the pain and after that they go to defecate. What kind of adverse impact it will have on the health of my poor mothers and sisters? What will be the situation of our mothers and sisters? And that is why I especially urge to every state of the country that we should not be complacent in constructing toilets if it is our responsibility, we should honestly take it forward and we should make every effort to finish it if we have concerns for the dignity our mothers and sisters, if we have concerns for their health.

Today, we have linked five crore families in the country with toilets. In a country where the facilities for cleanliness were less than 50% of the requirement, today we have succeeded in taking this figure to nearly 80%, but we will have to take it further and therefore I especially urge to our people of Bihar to take one responsibility in their villages. Today, nearly 2.5 lakh villages in the country have declared themselves Open Defecation Free. I invite Bihar, lets come forward to make our villages, our tehsils, our districts open defecation free. And in the coming days, from the land where Mahatma Gandhi had launched Champaran movement, the land where Mahatma Gandhi gave the message of cleanliness, the land where Mahatma Gandhi had given the message of self dependence, such a land, and today the country has expectations of you. You also take the leadership in this thing as well and take Bihar to new heights and it will not be possible without the people’s participation. Tasks are not finished on the basis of government money alone, but when people decide then the work happens automatically and that is why I invite you people.

My brothers and sisters, you have blessed me by turning up in such a large number; I once again express my gratitude to you. And I assure you that the government of India is committed for the development of eastern India. And under the development model followed by us, be it eastern Uttar Pradesh, be it Bihar or West Bengal or Assam or Odisha or be it North East, all these regions will scale new heights of development. We have been working in the direction of setting up a fertiliser plant in your area. Our farmers are going to get benefit from that.

And with this single expectation that all of you will join this journey of development I call upon all of you to join me in saying this with your full strength:

(Bharat Mata Ki Jay) Victory for Mother India,

Thank you very much.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi at the ceremony to lay the Foundation Stone of Projects under Namami Gange & National Highway projects, in Mokama, Bihar on October 14, 2017. The Governor of Bihar, Shri Satya Pal Malik, the Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari, the Chief Minister of Bihar, Shri Nitish Kumar, the Minister of State for Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises (I/C), Shri Giriraj Singh and other dignitaries also seen.
s20171014115254.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi at the ceremony to lay the Foundation Stone of Projects under Namami Gange & National Highway projects, in Mokama, Bihar on October 14, 2017.
s20171014115255.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi at the ceremony to lay the Foundation Stone of Projects under Namami Gange & National Highway projects, in Mokama, Bihar on October 14, 2017. The Governor of Bihar, Shri Satya Pal Malik, the Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari, the Union Minister for Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution, Shri Ram Vilas Paswan, the Chief Minister of Bihar, Shri Nitish Kumar, the Minister of State for Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises (I/C), Shri Giriraj Singh, the Deputy Chief Minister of Bihar, Shri Sushil Modi and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171014115256.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi being briefed about the Projects under Namami Gange & National Highway projects, in Mokama, Bihar on October 14, 2017. The Chief Minister of Bihar, Shri Nitish Kumar is also seen.
s20171014115257.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi being briefed about the Projects under Namami Gange & National Highway projects, in Mokama, Bihar on October 14, 2017. The Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari and the Chief Minister of Bihar, Shri Nitish Kumar are also seen.
s20171014115258.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi being briefed about the Projects under Namami Gange & National Highway projects, in Mokama, Bihar on October 14, 2017.
s20171014115259.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi unveiling the Foundation Stones of Projects under Namami Gange & National Highway projects, in Mokama, Bihar on October 14, 2017. The Governor of Bihar, Shri Satya Pal Malik, the Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari, the Chief Minister of Bihar, Shri Nitish Kumar and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171014115260.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi unveiling the Foundation Stones of Projects under Namami Gange & National Highway projects, in Mokama, Bihar on October 14, 2017. The Governor of Bihar, Shri Satya Pal Malik, the Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari, the Chief Minister of Bihar, Shri Nitish Kumar and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171014115261.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi addressing at the ceremony to lay Foundation Stone of Projects under Namami Gange & National Highway projects, in Mokama, Bihar on October 14, 2017.
s20171014115262.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi addressing at the ceremony to lay Foundation Stone of Projects under Namami Gange & National Highway projects, in Mokama, Bihar on October 14, 2017.
s20171014115263.jpg

s20171014115264.jpg

s20171014115265.jpg

s20171014115266.jpg

s20171014115267.jpg

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...-bharatmala/story-nARuGYvameSVMUQBPV7CpL.html

Bharatmala is a mega plan of the government and the second-largest highways project after NHDP that saw development of about 50,000 km.
india Updated: Oct 24, 2017 23:12 IST
ht-pune_99dec8e4-b89c-11e7-83cc-689513d74e1b.jpg

Under the first phase to be completed by 2022, some 24,800 km of roads will be built as part of the Bharatmala programme.(PTI FILE)

In a fillip to India’s highway development programme, the Union cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday approved a plan to build thousands of kilometres of roads and highways over the next five years at a cost of about Rs 7 lakh crore, a spending push that could help generate jobs and lift the economy.

Announcing the Cabinet decision, Union finance minister Arun Jaitley called this public expenditure on infrastructure projects as “unprecedented” and “something which has not happened in the country till date.”

The plan involves constructing 83,677 km of roads, highways, green-field expressways and bridges in phases.

Under the first phase to be completed by 2022, 34,800 km of highways will be built. This will include 24,800 km of the ambitious Bharat Mala programme, at a cost Rs 5.35-lakh crore, announced two years ago, to build highways through economic corridors centred around manufacturing hubs, inter-corridors and feeder routes, border, coastal and port connectivity roads. 1,837 km of greenfield expressways will also be developed under the programme.

Of the 34,800 km stretch, 10,000 km are part of the ongoing National Highway Development Project (NHDP), which was started in 1998 when Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the PM.

The Modi government, like the previous NDA government, has given top priority to the sector that has hit a rough patch since 2007. The government has set an ambitious target of building almost 40 km of roads per day – up from 9km/day just three years ago – this fiscal. Between 2014-15 and 2016-17, the overall allocation to the highways sector has increased by 73 % — from Rs 1.3 lakh crore to Rs 2.25 lakh crore.

Infrastructure experts are happy that the momentum to the sector has continued.

“It’s the best stimulus that the government can come up with. It is heartening that the government is treating the highways as the single biggest stimulus related activity. The sector is highly construction dependent and the biggest multiplier to the economy. It will provide a robust road network resulting in economic spin-off,” said Vinayak Chatterjee, chairman of infrastructure consulting firm Feedback Ventures.

Finance secretary Ashok Lavasa said the government is looking to raise almost half the money from the market and private investments while the rest would come from the Central Road Fund, highway toll and monetising completed highway stretches.

The Centre’s move might be aimed at increasing government spending on creating infrastructure but economists are wary of the state’s capacity to spend.

“My first concern is the government’s ability to give out contracts and build the highway. If the past is an indicator, the state capacity to spend on public investment is limited,” said Ila Patnaik, professor, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy.

But ramping up government spending, at a time when subdued tax collections and sluggish economic growth have strained federal revenues, could widen the fiscal deficit beyond the targeted 3.2% of GDP.

There were signs that the government had little option but to spend its way out of trouble that was exacerbated, in part, by last year’s shock withdrawal of high-value banknotes as well as disruptions following the rollout of the new Goods and Services Tax.

In the last three-and-a-half years, the government has taken a slew of policy initiatives to raise revenue and lure back the private sector to invest in highways sector. With the appetite for public private partnership projects going down, the highways ministry decided to first move to the EPC (engineering procurement contract) model where the government funds the entire project.

According to credit rating firm Crisil, the construction sector was the most labour-dependent among all non-agricultural sectors.

Ministry of Road Transport & Highways
25-October, 2017 17:09 IST
Shri Gadkari says highways works worth Rs 8 lakh crore will begin before the end of 2018 under Bharatmala Pariyojana.

Bharatmala will provide NH linkage to 550 districts, and be a major driver for economic growth in the country

The Minister of Road Transport & Highways, Shipping, Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation Shri Nitin Gadkari has said that highways works worth Rs 8 lakh crore will begin before the end of 2018 under the Bharatmala Pariyojana. He was speaking to media persons in New Delhi today, a day after the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs, chaired by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi approved Phase I of Bharatmala Pariyojana. Bharatmala is a new umbrella program for the highways sector that focuses on optimizing efficiency of road traffic movement across the country by bridging critical infrastructure gaps.

Shri Gadkari said that Bharatmala will be a major driver for economic growth in the country, and help realize Prime Minister Shri Modi’s vision of a New India. He said the programme has been designed to bridge the gaps in the existing highways infrastructure so as to make the movement of man and material more efficient. Special attention has been paid to fulfill the connectivity needs of backward and tribal areas, areas of economic activity, places of religious and tourist interest, border areas, coastal areas and trade routes with neighbouring countries under the programme.

The Minister also said that Bharatmala will give the country 50 national corridors as opposed to the 6 we have at present. With this, 70 – 80 percent of freight will move along NH as against the 40 percent at present. The programme will help to connect 550 Districts in the country through NH linkages. Currently, only around 300 Districts have NH linkages. Bharatmala will also have a positive impact on the Logistic Performance Index (LPI) of the country. Apart from this, the Minister said the programme will also help generate a large number of direct and indirect employment in the construction activity, the development of highways amenities and also as part of the enhanced economic activity in different parts of the country that will result from better road connectivity .

A total of around 24,800 kms are being considered in Phase I of Bharatmala. In addition, Bharatmala Pariyojana phase –I also includes 10,000 kms of balance road works under NHDP, taking the total to 34,800 kms at an estimated cost of Rs.5,35,000 crore. Bharatmala Phase I – is to be implemented over a five years period of i.e. 2017-18 to 2021-22. Components of Phase I and estimated expenditure are as follows :

Sl. No.
Components
Length -km

Outlay -Rs crore

a.
Economic corridors development

b.
Inter-corridor & feeder roads

c.
National Corridors Efficiency improvements:

d.
Border & International connectivity roads

e.
Coastal & port connectivity roads

f.
Expressways

Total:

Balance road works under NHDP

Total

Bharatmala envisages improving the efficiency of the National Corridor (Golden-Quadrilateral and NS-EW corridor) by decongesting its choke points through lane expansion, construction of ring roads, bypasses/ elevated corridors and logistics parks at identified points. Around 5,000 kms of the National Corridor will be taken up in Phase-I of Bharatmala at an estimated cost of Rs 100,000 crore.

The programme has identified around 26,200 km of Economic Corridors or routes that have heavy freight traffic, of which 9,000 kms are being taken up for development in Phase-I at an estimated cost of Rs 1,20,000 crore. It is planned to develop these corridors end to end to ensure seamless and speedy travel and uniformity in standards. Besides this, around 8,000 km of Inter-Corridors and around 7,500 km of Feeder Corridors have also been identified under Bharatmala, of which around 6000 km will be developed in Phase I at an estimated cost of Rs 80,000 crore. Stretches of roads connecting more than 2 corridors are classified as Inter-Corridors routes, while other routes connecting to 1 or 2 corridors are termed as Feeder Corridors. These corridors will be developed so as to address the infrastructure asymmetry that exists at many places .

Bharatmala also envisages building 3300 kms of Border Roads of strategic importance along international boundaries and 2000 km of International Connectivity roads to promote trade with Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh and Myanmar . Out of this around 2000 km will be taken up under Phase-I at an estimated cost of Rs 25,000 crore.

In addition to the above, around 2,100 km of coastal roads and 2000 km of port connectivity roads have been identified under Bharatmala of which 2,000 kms are being taken up under Phase-I at an estimated cost of Rs 20,000 crore. About 1,900 km of stretches have been identified for development of green-field expressways of which around 800 kms will be taken up under Phase-I of the programme at an estimated cost of Rs.40,000 crore. The 10,000 km of balance road work under NHDP will be completed at a cost of Rs 1,50,000 crore.

The identification of the project stretches under the various components of Bharatmala has been done based on detailed O-D(Origin-Destination) study, freight flow projections and verification of the identified infrastructure gaps through geo mapping, using data from Bhaskaracharya Institute for Space Applications and Geo-Informatics (BISAG) as well as from other sources. This O-D study has also taken into account integration of economic corridors with the ongoing projects under NHDP and infrastructure asymmetry in major corridors.

In addition to Rs. 5,35,000 crore for Bharatmala Phase-I, there is a requirement of Rs. 1,57,324 crore for ongoing schemes like NH(O), SARDP-NE, EAP and LWE under implementation in the Highways Sector. Thus, the overall outlay for Bharatmala and all existing schemes put together will be Rs 6,92,324 crore over a period of 5 years.

Gross Budgetary Support for the Bharatmala program and existing schemes from 2017-18 to 2021--22 will be restricted to Rs. 2,37,024 crore from Central Road Fund (CRF), Rs 59,973 crore as Budgetary support, Rs. 34,000 crore from expected monetization through ToT route and Rs. 46,048 crore collected as Toll-Permanent Bridge Fee Fund (PBFF) by NHAI.

Projects under Bharatmala Phase-I are to be implemented through NHAI, NHIDCL, MoRTH and State PWDs. Provision has been made for effective delegation in appraisal /approval of individual project stretches. Effective delegation has been made in appraisal /approval of individual project stretches

a. All PPP BOT (Toll) projects where no grant (or VGF) is given to the concessionaire and the construction and maintenance is financed by toll revenues will be appraised and approved by the Board of NHAI.

b. All EPC projects implemented by NHAI will be approved by NHAI Board after proper appraisal, within the budgeted financial resources approved under this program.

c. NHAI Board will be authorized to suitably delegate its powers on appraisal and approval of projects within NHAI.

All projects implemented under Bharatmala are to be technically, financially and economically appraised by an empowered Project Appraisal &Technical Scrutiny Committee to be setup in NHAI and MoRTH.

The Committee would comprise experts from NITI Aayog, and would be a dedicated unit which would place its recommendations on appraisal of projects to NHAI Board or Secretary, MoRTH, as the case may be,

Guidelines have been laid down for scrutiny of individual projects which are to be followed by all implementing agencies

Grand Challenge’ mechanism is to be adopted to encourage State Government participation in implementation of the program. Projects that are supported by proactive effort by the concerned State Governments shall be taken up on priority basis.

A total of around 600 projects have been identified across the components for Bharatmala. DPR preparation for 19,500 kms is underway currently.

The Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari addressing a press conference on “Bharatmala”, in New Delhi on October 25, 2017.
s20171025115718.jpg

The Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari addressing a press conference on “Bharatmala”, in New Delhi on October 25, 2017. The Principal Director General (M&C), Press Information Bureau, Shri A.P. Frank Noronha and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171025115719.jpg

The Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari addressing a press conference on “Bharatmala”, in New Delhi on October 25, 2017. The Principal Director General (M&C), Press Information Bureau, Shri A.P. Frank Noronha and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171025115720.jpg

NEW DELHI, October 25, 2017 21:45 IST
Updated: October 25, 2017 21:45 IST
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/bharatmala-will-put-more-freight-on-roads/article19919540.ece

2018 deadline for most projects

The Union government said on Wednesday that the road construction programme, BharatMala, will connect 550 districts to national highways.

“With BharatMala, 550 districts will get linked to national highways against 300 districts at present. We will have 50 economic corridors against the existing six,” Road Transport and Highways Secretary Yudhvir Singh Malik told a press conference.

Mr. Malik said 70-80% total freight will move on national highways against 40% freight at present due to BharatMala.

Road Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari said the government will roll out most of the projects announced under BharatMala by December 2018. “This is the biggest infrastructure programme that will give priority to tribal and backward areas and border regions,” Mr. Gadkari said.

He said the Ministry has prepared a detailed report for projects worth around ₹25,000 crore.

Mr. Gadkari said he has urged the Finance Ministry to increase the budget allocation for the road sector.

The projects discussed included schemes worth Rs 10,000 crore including three National Highways to be constructed in the state at Kherwara, Dungarpur, Sagwara and Banswara stretches among others, an official said.
http://indianexpress.com/article/in...iscuss-highway-projects-in-rajasthan-4918122/

By: PTI | New Delhi | Published:November 1, 2017 11:48 pm
raje-gadkari.jpg

Raje had called on Gadkari to discuss highways infrastructure, water and irrigation projects in the state. (File)

Highway projects worth Rs 10,000 crore in Rajasthan came up for discussion during a meeting between Union minister Nitin Gadkari and state Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje here today, an official said.

Raje had called on Gadkari to discuss highways infrastructure, water and irrigation projects in the state.

The projects discussed included schemes worth Rs 10,000 crore including three National Highways to be constructed in the state at Kherwara, Dungarpur, Sagwara and Banswara stretches among others, the official said.

Besides, projects under Sethubharatam were discussed during the meeting. Rajasthan Road Transport Minister Yunus Khan too attended the meet.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...-5-projects/story-w5Mnc9jnR4GQ1lho4vfzMO.html

For the first time ever, monetisation of 82 operating highways under a low risk TOT model has been initiated.

india Updated: Nov 01, 2017 17:39 IST

Press Trust of India, New Delhi
activities-construction-remaining-hindustan-carriageway-officials-completed_e6486e7c-befc-11e7-922e-12a52d781256.jpg

The corpus generated from proceeds of such project monetisation could be utilised by the government to meet its fund requirements regarding future development.(Parveen Kumar/HT File )

After putting up nine National Highways (NH) for monetisation that will garner $1 billion to the government, NHAI plans to auction a shorter bundle of 5 highways in the next tranche that could attract $500 million, an official said.

The Cabinet last year had authorised National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) to monetise operational NH projects completed under public funding for potential monetisation using the toll-operate-transfer (TOT) model.

“More than 10 bidders have evinced interest in the first bundle of nine highway stretches put for auction. We are expecting USD 1 billion in March from monetisation of these highways,” an NHAI official told PTI.

The bids will be finalised on January 7 while the funds will come to the government by March, he said.

The official said the next bundle to be put up for auction would be shorter.

“The next bundle of projects for monetisation will be shorter. A total of five projects will be there. We are expecting $500 million from that,” the official said.

For the first time ever, monetisation of 82 operating highways under a low risk TOT model has been initiated.

Road transport, highways minister Nitin Gadkari has earlier said the corpus generated from proceeds of such project monetisation could be utilised by the government to meet its fund requirements regarding future development.

Besides, the funds could be used for operation and maintenance of highways and could address development/strengthening of highways in unviable geographies.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...lty-bidding/story-QD7z7Sofs1VXLLAqKq2qdO.html

The termination of contracts have been done since 2014.
Updated: Nov 03, 2017 23:10 IST
Indo Asian News Service, New Delhi
wednesday-november-november-commuters-wednesday-hindustan-elevated_f8f00f04-c0bd-11e7-80b5-65d6945df80e.jpg

NHAI opened for trial run an elevated u turn road from MG Road to Delhi and Sector-17c for daily commuters on Wednesday evening, in Gurgaon, India.(Parveen Kumar/Hindustan Times)
The National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) has terminated the work contracts of several companies, including Larsen and Toubro and Essel Infra, due to faulty bidding for Public Private Partnership (PPP) projects and Engineering Procurement Construction (EPC) projects.

The termination of contracts have been done since 2014, and NHAI has asked for representations, if any, on the works to be made to the General Manager (Technical) of the division concerned at the NHAI head office by November 6.

Among the projects of infra giant L&T that have been cancelled include a six-lane project in Maharashtra’s Pimpalgaon-Nasik-Gobde section.

“The L&T has also been barred to bid for PPPs till March 28, 2019 and for EPC projects till March 28, 2018,” said official documents from the NHAI, which are with IANS.

Essel Infra has been barred from bidding for PPPs till July 21, 2019 while it also cannot participate in EPC projects till July 21, 2018.

According to NHAI, the notice cum list was uploaded to the website for three days and has been removed now as the message has been conveyed to the companies.

Other companies whose projects have been cancelled and barred from participating in EPC and PPP projects include Hindustan Construction Company, AMBA infrastructure, and Soma Enterprises.

Hindustan Construction Company has been barred to bid for PPPs till March 30, 2020 and from EPC projects till March 30, 2019, while the NHAI has terminated its 4-lane project in West Bengal, said the official document.

Several projects in Bihar being done by companies such as Gammon Infrastructure, and Progressive Constructions in a joint venture with MVR have been cancelled.

Gammon was barred from participating in PPP projects till August 28, 2017.

KSS Petron Private Ltd, Valecha Engineerings, and Karystroy Service Investments Pvt Ltd have been barred from participating in PPP projects till March 19, 2020, while they cannot participate in EPC mode projects till March 19, 2019.

Corson Corviam has been barred from participating in PPP contracts till March 3,2020 while it can’t bid for EPC mode projects till March 14, 2019.

Transstroy (India) Ltd has been barred from PPP projects till May 5,2020 while it won’t be eligible to participate in EPC projects till May 5, 2019.

In the northeast, JKM Infra and NKC projects won’t be eligible to participate in PPP projects till January 2020 and EPC projects till January 1, 2019.

In West Bengal, Madhucon Infra’s four lanning of Barasat-Krishnagar section on NH-34 has been cancelled and it can’t bid for PPP projects till May 2, 2019 and EPC projects till May 2, 2018.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...-november-7/story-8JlpAjMcg1OawIp3ccHzON.html

The projects of companies such as L&T and Hindustan Construction Company were terminated as the concessionaires’ defaulted on their contractual agreements like failing to meet the physical milestones for completion.
india Updated: Nov 04, 2017 07:25 IST
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
expressway-virtually-standstill-vehicular-authorities-circumstance-hardships_b398e7d8-c102-11e7-922e-12a52d781256.JPG

Some of the companies including L&T and HCC have already challenged NHAI’s decision.(Representational Photo)

The National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) will decide on November 7 on whether developers of 20 road projects, whose contracts were terminated since April 2014, should be debarred from bidding for future highway projects.

Senior NHAI officials said the projects were terminated as the concessionaires’ defaulted on their contractual agreements like failing to meet the physical milestones for completion. These companies included Larsen & Toubro (L&T) and Hindustan Construction Company (HCC), whose projects were terminated in March 2016 and March 2017. These companies were given time till November 6 to make their representation on the termination notice issued by NHAI.

The NHAI had uploaded the list of 20 projects on October 30, 2017 on its website. However, following representation from the National Highways Developers Federation (NHBF), an apex organisation of all contractors/ builders of national and state highways in the organised sector, NHAI on Friday withdrew the list.

“The list put up has projects that have been terminated in the past. According to the procedures, all the defaulters are given a chance for hearing before going ahead with termination. NHAI will consider the representations sent by these companies in its executive board meeting on November 7, following which a decision will be taken if they will be debarred from tendering in future highway projects,” NHAI chairman Deepak Kumar told HT.

However, some of the companies including L&T and HCC have already challenged NHAI’s decision. “L&T IDPL, a subsidiary of L&T, terminated a concession agreement for the 60 km stretch of Pimpalgaon Nashik Gonde Project due to ‘force majeure’ events arising from law and order issues as per provisions of the agreement, after completing the project,” a statement issued by L&T group said.

The statement added, “In our opinion the termination cannot be treated as a concessionaire event of default. The matter is sub-judice as it is under arbitration / conciliation. As per NHAI directions, the matter has been represented and a decision is awaited from them shortly.”

Meanwhile, a HCC spokesperson said, “The HCC BOT project (build-operate-transport) concerned, namely Raiganj Dalkhola Highways Ltd., has been delayed for six years due to land acquisition delays on account of NHAI. We feel that the action by NHAI is premature, especially considering since the alleged termination is undergoing an adjudication or conciliation process.”

The NHBF of Friday made a representation to the PMO and NHAI chairman to withdraw the notice. “It amounts to public defamation of these companies, some of whom have raised disputes and referred the matter for arbitration,” said PC Grover, director general, NHBF.

Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs
09-November, 2017 14:45 IST
Skywalk & FOB at ITO among 5 projects approved for funding of Rs. 643.58 crore through Urban development Fund: Hardeep S Puri.

Foundation station laid for Skywalk and FOB at ‘W’ Point, ITO

Sh Hardeep Singh Puri, Union Minister of state (I/c) for Housing and Urban Affairs has said that the Skywalk and FOB at ITO is among the 5 projects approved for funding of Rs 643.58 crore through the Urban Development Fund by the Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs. The other projects involving construction of flyovers, underpasses etc are coming up at Mahipalpur, Narela, ISBT Kashmiri Gate and Rani Jhansi Road. The project has been mooted for one of the busiest crossings in Delhi. It is an intersection point, with a metro station, the Tilak Bridge railway station and seven major arterial roads. This leads to inter-crossing of pedestrian with the vehicular traffic, posing a potentially dangerous situation to the pedestrians.

Speaking at the Foundation laying ceremony held in New Delhi here today, Shri Puri stated that the Skywalk and Foot Over Bridge(FoB) will provide safe and comfortable passage to a large number of pedestrians, who come to this area. At present, vehicular peak hour traffic volume is around 16,000 to 20,000 PCU on ITO Chowk and 12,000 PCU on ‘W’ Point. Around 29,000 pedestrians cross both the points. The entire cost of Rs 54.34 crore of the project is being funded through Urban Development Fund (Rs 43.47 crore) and by DDA (Rs 10.87 crore). The project is expected to be completed by March, 2018. Ms Meenakshi Lekhi, MP was also present on the occasion.

This project will benefit the public at large who visit these offices along with the employees working in over 25 major offices located in the ITO area i.e. Police HQ, PWD HQ, Institute of Engineers, ICAI, Income Tax office, Central Excise, DDA, School of Planning and Architecture, GST office, Supreme Court, Pragati Maidan, ASI, College of Art and Lady Irwin College etc. A new complex for the Hon’ble Supreme Court is also coming up near the Pragati Maidan Metro Station which will further increase the volume of pedestrian traffic. “Considering the importance and the high visibility of any Skywalk in the area, the design of the Skywalk should be unique, highly functional, aesthetic and should be recognized as one of the Landmarks of Delhi, he stated. “Having going through the walkthrough and presentations, I am sure that upon completion of the project, not only the pedestrians will be provided with safe passage but the entire area will have a different look, which is definitely going to be a landmark in Delhi”, he further said.

Besides, we have recently sanctioned Solid Waste Management project for the three MCDs under which a total of Rs 300 Crore will be spent where each MCD will get Rs 80 crore for implementation of the project through Urban Development Fund and the rest of the contribution from Govt of India. All these projects when completed will definitely go a long way into improving the facilities and quality of life of the people of Delhi. We are also committed to fund similar projects in future also.

Ministry of Road Transport & Highways
09-November, 2017 15:14 IST
Shri Nitin Gadkari directs highways projects around Delhi NCR to take steps to reduce air pollution

The Minister of Road Transport & highways, Shipping, Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation Shri Nitin Gadkari has said that directions have been issued to Project Directors, Contractors and field level officials working on highways projects around Delhi NCR to take stringent steps to check pollution arising out of the construction work. The steps to be taken in this regard include sprinkling water at all construction sites and camp, covering of dumpers transporting construction material / waste including flyash, in the region, covering of exposed soil at the construction sites and adherence to air quality norms by all plants and machinery. Field officials have been directed to inspect the construction sites regularly to ensure that all the pollution control measures are adhered to in a strict manner.

Shri Gadkari also said that thorough research needs to be done to find the cause of this pollution. He said this year the smog has descended despite the ban on crackers and restrain on burning of crops. The minister further said that the Road Transport & highways Ministry will offer all possible help for such research.

The Union Minister for Health & Family Welfare, Shri J.P. Nadda delivering the inaugural address at the Transport Ministers’ Forum on Road Safety, in New Delhi on November 13, 2017.
s20171113117705.jpg

The Union Minister for Health & Family Welfare, Shri J.P. Nadda delivering the inaugural address at the Transport Ministers’ Forum on Road Safety, in New Delhi on November 13, 2017. The Secretary, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, Shri Y.S. Malik and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171113117706.jpg

The Union Minister for Health & Family Welfare, Shri J.P. Nadda at the inauguration of the Transport Ministers’ Forum on Road Safety, in New Delhi on November 13, 2017. The Secretary, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, Shri Y.S. Malik and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171113117707.jpg

The Union Minister for Health & Family Welfare, Shri J.P. Nadda at the inauguration of the Transport Ministers’ Forum on Road Safety, in New Delhi on November 13, 2017. The Secretary, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, Shri Y.S. Malik and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171113117708.jpg

http://www.thehindu.com/news/nation...ly-observes/article20379044.ece?homepage=true

The Supreme Court had clarified in the July 11 order that its nationwide ban on sale of liquor within a distance of 500 metres along national and state highways does not extend to municipal areas.

The court had clarified that the 500-metre ban does not prohibit licensed establishments within municipal areas.

The apex court explained that the December 15, 2016 ban on liquor sale only extends along and in proximity of highways which provide connectivity between cities, towns and villages.

This clarification from the apex court had effectively made infructuous any pending litigation in high courts on declassification of state or national highways to district roads by state governments or local authorities. In short, stretches of highways running within city limits are now, by default, exempt from the liquor ban.

In May, the Tamil Nadu Bars and Clubs Owners Association had described to the court about the “crippling effect” of the ban in the State. Senior advocate Arvind Datar had conveyed to the Bench of how businesses literally crumbled and over two lakh employees were rendered jobless.

The apex court order was based on a special leave petition filed by NGO Arrive Safe Society challenging a notification issued by the Chandigarh administration on March 16, 2017 — post the Supreme Court's ban order on December 15, 2016 – declaring three stretches of state highways as “major district roads.”

http://indianexpress.com/article/in...er-truck-overturns-in-bihar-vaishali-4935438/

The incident, in which 10 cattle were also injured, occurred when the truck overturned at a steep curve near Kanhauli mor, police said.

By: PTI | Published:November 13, 2017 3:05 pm
cattle.jpg

Representational pic (Google)

At least 20 cattle were killed on Monday when a truck carrying them overturned on Hajipur-Mahua road, due to dense fog in Bihar’s Vaishali district, police said, reports PTI.

The incident, in which 10 cattle were also injured, occurred when the truck overturned at a steep curve near Kanhauli mor, Mahua police station Officer-in-Charge Shashi Bhushan Kumar said.

The injured cattle were being attended by veterinary doctors at a nearby hospital, he said.

The truck, which was on its way to Hajipur from Samastipur, has been seized by police, while its driver managed to flee from the spot, Kumar added.

vaishali_district_map.png

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...n-slow-lane/story-j1mjEbkVRMRorHzlYk9pAO.html

At the heart of the delay are problems in acquiring land and reams of red tape in the several district administrations through which they highway cuts
india Updated: Nov 13, 2017 14:12 IST
default_author.png

Chandan Kumar
Bareilly, Hindustan Times
_3faae306-c84d-11e7-8cd0-7e09bc26593d.jpg

Official papers accessed by Hindustan Times suggest the work was supposed to have been completed within 910 days (30 months) on August 26, 2013. In reality, ‘no actual construction started’ till August 2013.(HT Photo)

It’s a project stuck in the slow lane despite being crucial for a National Highway. Six years in the making, the widening of the National Highway 24 between Lucknow and Bareilly, which would have opened doors for development in the region, is unlikely to be completed before June.

At the heart of the delay are problems in acquiring land and reams of red tape in the several district administrations through which they highway cuts. In some cases, officials took decisions that made matters worse.

The situation is such that a Google Maps search for a journey between Bareilly and Lucknow suggests a route that is 30 kilometres longer, showing it to be 36 minutes faster than the NH24. In reality, the NH24 can get slower by over an hour at times.

“Is sadak pe samay or paisa dono zyada lagta hai uske saath jaan ka khatra alag se hai (This road, NH24, takes more time and money. It is dangerous as well),” said Hatinder Pal, a driver of one of the few buses that ply on the stretch.

Haphazard construction work poses a grave risk to drivers.

The project, under the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI), was meant to turn the 150-kilometre stretch between Bareilly and Sitapur into a four-lane road. It began in March 2011, a year before the 2012 assembly elections in UP, after a push by the then Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) government. The BSP later included it in its list of achievements.

According to official papers seen by Hindustan Times, the work was supposed to have been completed within 910 days (30 months) on August 26, 2013. In reality, ‘no actual construction started’ till August 2013.

Though the delay was overlooked by the new Samajwadi Party establishment that came to power in 2012, banks funding the project grew wary of it. Concerned about their return, they even froze the account in which funds were allocated, forcing the NHAI to do a revaluation in 2014.

“The bank later released funds only after reassurance from NHAI and a major overhaul in the team managing the project of Bareilly Highway Project Limited (BHPL), the construction firm which was awarded the contract,” said Mukesh Sharma, the project manager from NHAI.

The delay also led to an increase in the project cost, which almost tripled from an estimated Rs 1,046 crore in 2011 to Rs 2,800 crore. The cost will be recovered from the public through tolls.

“The actual work started after revaluation of the project in 2014,” said Sanjay Tomar, the project incharge of BHPL, adding the company didn’t have enough place to work on.

“Land required for construction was covered with forest or farms, which were to be made available by NHAI, but the availability of land was delayed,” Tomar said.

The NHAI blamed local administration of the districts through which the highway passes. The administrations of Bareilly, Shahjahanpur, Hardoi, Lakhimpur and Sitapur quoted several issues.

The issues included delays in procuring land, providing compensation and resettlement.

The construction company claimed it was provided less than 40% of the cleared land till late 2014. The clearing of land was delayed partly because the time required to mutate (transfer) the land ownership for construction and partly because of “excess involvement of local bureaucracy.”

The Bareilly district administration, for instance, held three peace meetings to shift a temple from a private property despite having the approval from the owner.

In Shahjahanpur, the administration took two years to remove a mazar and a temple that were encroaching on an important section of the route.

Curse for local economy

The delay increased paperwork and led to a long period of inconvenience. In absence of a uniform stretch for construction, the BHPL deployed machinery at several places along the 150-km stretch and started work on smaller available sections. This resulted in long traffic jams. Over the years, traffic was diverted to other routes.

This meant lower footfalls for businesses along the stretch, many of which packed up.

According to BHPL’s estimates, more than 200 eateries, 150 jaggery plants, 15 major markets and several small production units that lined the highway were uprooted in the last five years. Some were moved to clear encroachment. Others left due to lack of business.

The infrastructure boom, which was at its peak till 2015, disappeared.

“I planned to open a school near Shahjahanpur but dropped the idea after there was no improvement in the road,” said Jagtar Singh, a Sikh farmer in Uchaulia, Shahjahanpur, who has now invested his compensation money in Bareilly.

A year more

Once the land was cleared for construction, work on it accelerated from the end of 2014. At present, 77% work on the route has been done. “The completed regions are in different sections which are being connected now,” Tomar said.

Yet the pace of work on underpasses and rail over bridges (ROBs) is still a worry. The section has eight major bridges and four ROBs. Work on them is far behind the schedule.

Both NHAI and BHPL officials assert the project will be completed by June 2018, the revised deadline.

“The company has expanded operations into six sections from four sections to ensure better management of the project to ensure timely completion,” claimed Sharma.
uttar-pradesh-region.jpg

The Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari at the NH-24 for an on the spot inspection of the highway project under construction, in Delhi on November 14, 2017. The Secretary, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, Shri Y.S. Malik and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171114117797.jpg

The Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari addressing the gathering at the NH-24 for an on the spot inspection of the highway project under construction, in Delhi on November 14, 2017. The Secretary, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, Shri Y.S. Malik and other dignitaries are also seen.
s20171114117798.jpg

The Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari at the NH-24 for an on the spot inspection of the highway project under construction, in Delhi on November 14, 2017. The Secretary, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, Shri Y.S. Malik is also seen.
s20171114117799.jpg

The Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari at the NH-24 for an on the spot inspection of the highway project under construction, in Delhi on November 14, 2017.
s20171114117800.jpg

The Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari at the NH-24 for an on the spot inspection of the highway project under construction, in Delhi on November 14, 2017.
s20171114117801.jpg

The Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Shri Devendra Fadnavis meeting the Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari to discuss issues related to Shipping and National Highways, in New Delhi on November 14, 2017. The Union Minister for Railways and Coal, Shri Piyush Goyal is also seen.
s20171114117883.jpg

The Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Shri Devendra Fadnavis meeting the Union Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Shri Nitin Gadkari to discuss issues related to Shipping and National Highways, in New Delhi on November 14, 2017. The Union Minister for Railways and Coal, Shri Piyush Goyal is also seen.
s20171114117884.jpg

http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities...hi-extended/article20445502.ece?homepage=true

New Delhi, November 14, 2017 20:37 IST
Updated: November 14, 2017 20:37 IST

The ban on the entry of trucks in the national capital was today extended till further orders due to fluctuating levels of air pollution, a senior Delhi government official said.

The ban on the entry of trucks in Delhi was imposed from 11 p.m. on November 9 after the pollution levels touched ‘severe plus’ category. The ban expired at 11p.m. on November 12.

“The air pollution level kept fluctuating even after the prescribed period of ban on trucks. It has been extended till further orders and a notification to this effect has also been issued,” the official said.

The notification has asked the Delhi Traffic Police and the Municipal Corporations of Delhi to prohibit the entry of heavy and medium goods vehicles, except those carrying essential commodities, in the national capital.

As per the Graded Response Action Plan (GRAP) implemented in Delhi, the ban on entry of truck in Delhi comes into force when PM2.5 levels cross 300 microgramme per metre cube and PM10 levels rise over 500 microgramme per metere cube.

15TH-THGRP-ROAD-01

The roads are rated based on the level of safety.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/highways-to-be-rated-on-safety-features/article20460978.ece

NGO unveils IndiaRAP assessment

In a bid to make Indian roads safer and curb fatalities, a global charity on Wednesday unveiled an India Road Assessment Programme (IndiaRAP) that will rate highways’ safety levels, and seek to eliminate the most unsafe roads.

“Local leadership is the key to life-saving success in all of our partnerships across 80 countries worldwide. As India invests in large-scale road upgrades across the country, maximising the safety of this investment will deliver strong transport, health and economic benefits,” said Rob McInerney, chief executive officer, International Road Assessment Programme.

Since 2010, teams from the global organisation have already undertaken star rating assessments on more than 10,000 km of roads across several states in India.

The ratings are assigned on the basis of the level of safety which is ‘built-in’ to a road for vehicle occupants, motorcyclists, bicyclists and pedestrians. Five-star roads are the safest while one-star roads are the least safe.

The IndiaRAP programme is being supported by FedEx Express and will be hosted by the Asian Institute of Transport Development, and will work with government agencies as well as investors, researchers and NGOs to assess existing highways and promote the use of better design to make roads safer.