PMLN experience: Tax base shrinks by a third !

there is a fundamental problem here. our system has divorced reforms with accountability. everyone wants to make new laws etc without holding the criminals/thieves accountable. When I know that I will not be held accountable for a certain crime, what incentive do I have in obeying the existing law what to talk about the new laws/reforms?

But when our political elite themselves are the biggest thieves of public money, why ever expect the accountability!

EXACTLY ! :tup:

Ok. there are the figures

tax receipt is around 21 bn usd and budget is around 40 bn usd

http://finance.gov.pk/budget/Budget_in_Brief_2014_15.pdf

Budget for this year is 4.3Trillion pkr(with deficit of 4.9%) so in dollars it is 43.8Billion dollars considering that PKR exchange value was 98 in june or 42.1Billion dollars by current exchange rate.

Last year Budget was 35.5Billion dollars.

Next year Expected Budget is between 50-55Billion dollars

2014–15 Pakistan federal budget - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Latest rate is 101, $43 billion.

India Budget 2013-14

270Billion dollars

India Budget 2014-15

299Billion dollars.

10.7% increase.i don't get it how the hell our budget is being expanded at 22% last year,infact even the expand in 2013-14 budget was more than 10%

Than how the hell our revenue witness more than 16% growth last year while upto 19% this year against the target of 24%?
direct taxes and increase in economy base plus fall in rupee. in real terms govt has shown no improvement at all. even PPPP govt was showing around 10+ improvement with no increase in taxation

Than how the hell our revenue witness more than 16% growth last year while upto 19% this year against the target of 24%?

Chori?daketi?:rolleyes:
On serious note even indian condition is not good but pakistan is even worse off in this,,,these stupid people need to pay up instead of going to those dharnas and dancing around :mad:

Jaise haqim awam nexapne ooper musallaq kiye hain waisa hi phal unko milna hai. Parhay likhay samaghdaar aur sab se barhkar eemandar aur qabil afraad ko jab tak nahi chunay ge hamare mulk ka kuch nahi honay wala
Dear God @Aether! Sooo many difficult words...Kiya Urdu dictionary kholi wi hai?

I dont have time to use laptop these days so for 5 mins i try to come online from mobile and quickly type a message if deem fit.. so... Typos can happen or perhaps auto correction may have lead to typos

I'm not saying to be corrupt. On the contrary, I'm saying to disobey a corrupt system. My tax money is never going to be spent on me or my children. Why should I participate in such a corrupt system? I don't call that logic fail. Instead, I call it acknowledging the ground realities.

A thief always justifies his actions. Unfortunately, most Pakistanis are self righteous hypocrites. The roads that you use, the subsidy that your children get in medical schools all come from the tax payments of big corporations and honest citizens.

And people like you wouldn't pay taxes even under a 100% clean government unless forced. The problem in Pakistan are not just the leaders, but the self righteous masses themselves. Out of all Pakistan, I would consider only some 20% of the people to be honest men and good citizens to be honest. Unfortunately most people themselves are corrupt but always pretend to be holier than thou.

Isn't filling income tax returns,a citizen's duty.Other than reminding people about filing their tax returns the government can't do much about it.
Like doing Income tax raid is done by mafiya right? Why should any government make efforts to catch people who do not file tax?

All that sarcasm was lost on the Income Tax collections numbers from India. :lol:

182.gif