PM Modi may cancel MFN status to Pakistan

Pakistan Cement Export took almost 20% down turn hit with afganisthan reducing its imports, which was somewhat counter balanced by India imports. But this will further break the exports if pakistan looses both india and afganisthan as cement export market.

india-imports-of-articles-of-stone-plaster-cement-as@2x.png

Afganisthan had almost 50% share in total cement exported by Pakistan and second biggest importer has been India, now both cutting it down, will further break the bones of export industry.

Let us not get carried away, We need pakistani cheap cement to build our Highways and Infrastructure.

In absence of that, Indian cement manufacturers will form cartels to blackmail GoI into paying High prices. It has happened in the past and will happen again.

All actions we take needs to first BENEFIT India and THEN harm pakistan. Let us not cut the nose to spite the face.

India imports cheap cement from both China and Pakistan, If Indian Manufacturers play spoil sport as you said Chinese imports can be increased, thats it... At some point we must give a chance to our domestic industries and involve them in the infrastructure projects..

Pakistan Cement Export took almost 20% down turn hit with afganisthan reducing its imports, which was somewhat counter balanced by India imports. But this will further break the exports if pakistan looses both india and afganisthan as cement export market.

Pakistan has heavily curbed the smuggling of cement and wheat to Afghanistan because it was causing hyper inflation of prices in local market...

I don't think GoI will withdraw MFN status instead they will inform WTO about how Pakistan not giving India MFN status and their by violating WTO rules.

Array bhai shor he machaoge ya kuch karoge bhi?

No one takes you serious, Modi has lost all credibility. He's become the laughing stock in and outside India.

No one cares for your MFN, the bilateral trade is too small to hurt any of us.

Pakistan has heavily curbed the smuggling of cement and wheat to Afghanistan because it was causing hyper inflation of prices in local market...

Well cutting down smugling is good, but with decline in exports and investments made in expansions will be heavily punished for investors, which might set a negative trend. Furthermore chinese are going to exploit this opportunity to further damage the much needed export potentials.

LOLLLL.... Every day..Modi calls a meeting to review and hope to harm/threaten/isolate Pakistan..but eventually has to backtrack on each.. First war, surgical strikes, diplomatically isolate, send Pakistan actors back, cancel indus water treaty, and now atlast MFN.....which is the last of our concern.. Infact MFN is no concern at all... Will be happy if India does it..
The interesting part is...Pakistan was ready for all of these indian actions..but poor Modi had to backtrack on all accounts, himself... After all the rants and hype, and war mongering, Modi eventually has to come to conclusion after evry meeting tht he can do nothing against Pak.. Must be painful for him and Indians... I pity Modi

Does India need cement?

Is India building a highway?

Is India building a railway?

Is India building skyscrapers?

India needs the cow dung,

20151231135315119.jpg
9d9e0d8fgw1ezgppu1hgtj20go0ci40c.jpg

Let us not get carried away, We need pakistani cheap cement to build our Highways and Infrastructure.

In absence of that, Indian cement manufacturers will form cartels to blackmail GoI into paying High prices. It has happened in the past and will happen again.

All actions we take needs to first BENEFIT India and THEN harm pakistan. Let us not cut the nose to spite the face.

All steps carry a cost, be they military or non-military. Otherwise we have to accept the cost of Indian blood being spilt & not being able to put a price on that.

The argument you make about Pakistani cement being required for the construction of roads & other infrastructure by GoI is an extraordinary one to make, one I'm afraid has no connection to reality. As is your expressed fear that in the absence of Pakistani exports of cement, Indian manufacturers will form a cartel & "blackmail" the Indian government. You have not much of an idea of what has been happening in the last couple of years.

"CEMENT TO BE SOLD AT RS 125 A BAG

After the announcement of building cement concrete roads by the Transport Minister, Nitin Gadkari, cement manufacturers have promptly offered cement at discounted price. Over three dozen cement manufacturers have offered to supply cement for as low as 125 a bag to the government for infrastructure development. On an average, the price tag of Rs 180-190 a bag is a whopping discount, of 30 per cent from the market price of Rs 270-300 for a 50 kg bag. Leading companies including ACC, Ambuja, Jaypee, UltraTech, Reliance, etc., have participated in the bids and quoted prices at over 200 factory outlets spread all over the country. Participating companies will have to give a bank guarantee of Rs 10 lakh each, which will be forfeited if they do not supply cement at the price quoted by them."

http://www.indiancementreview.com/News.aspx?nId=PuX7zDsqtiI9kQ+UPbCaaA==

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com...ed-government-portal/articleshow/46522204.cms

India imports cheap cement from both China and Pakistan, If Indian Manufacturers play spoil sport as you said Chinese imports can be increased, thats it... At some point we must give a chance to our domestic industries and involve them in the infrastructure projects..

It does not matter which country it comes from .... china, pakistan, Afghanistan etc. Its cheaper to buy from pakistan due to less shipping cost.

All steps carry a cost, be they military or non-military. Otherwise we have to accept the cost of Indian blood being spilt & not being able to put a price on that.

The argument you make about Pakistani cement being required for the construction of roads & other infrastructure by GoI is an extraordinary one to make, one I'm afraid has no connection to reality. As is your expressed fear that in the absence of Pakistani exports of cement, Indian manufacturers will form a cartel & "blackmail" the Indian government. You have not much of an idea of what has been happening in the last couple of years.

"CEMENT TO BE SOLD AT RS 125 A BAG

After the announcement of building cement concrete roads by the Transport Minister, Nitin Gadkari, cement manufacturers have promptly offered cement at discounted price. Over three dozen cement manufacturers have offered to supply cement for as low as 125 a bag to the government for infrastructure development. On an average, the price tag of Rs 180-190 a bag is a whopping discount, of 30 per cent from the market price of Rs 270-300 for a 50 kg bag. Leading companies including ACC, Ambuja, Jaypee, UltraTech, Reliance, etc., have participated in the bids and quoted prices at over 200 factory outlets spread all over the country. Participating companies will have to give a bank guarantee of Rs 10 lakh each, which will be forfeited if they do not supply cement at the price quoted by them."

http://www.indiancementreview.com/News.aspx?nId=PuX7zDsqtiI9kQ+UPbCaaA==

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com...ed-government-portal/articleshow/46522204.cms

Actually I have a far better idea than you.

The Large Indian companies DID form a cartel and blackmailed the GoI by pricing the cement at Rs. 300 a bag. But Nitin Gadkari threatened them with legal action and threaten to either purchase smaller cement factories and supply the cement for the infrastructure from those factories and freeze out these big guys.

Its only AFTER that, you now see the big guys offering a "discount" to the GoI :lol:

Wrong, Pakistan will understand the difference only when MFN status is taken back. It will be a great blow to Pakistani exports, which is very well below 3% to India. But given the current rate of overall exports by Pakistan, this Indian move won't be good if not hurt much for Pakistan.

http://dunyanews.tv/en/SpecialReport/322901-Pakistans-Exports-slump-by-1440-since-July-2016

http://www.dawn.com/news/1262398

Stop exaggerating. Pakistan has hardly any trade with India. If anything, it is India is which is actively seeking Pakistani trade routes to CAS. Pakistan has nothing to lose.

Your country men answered it better...production of cement does not run on emotions..it runs on availability of raw materials for different kind of cements...we beg India to suspend the IMPORT of Pakistani cement because it will break the domestic shortages and bring prices down...Pakistan is going through a development phase so we need all the cement we can get for building power plants, metro, railways, dams etc in efficient cost...infact duty free import of Pakistani cement by India is a weapon working against our local economic goals..once again..WE BEG INDIA TO SUSPEND DUTY FREE IMPORT OF PAKISTANI CEMENT....

Regardless of whether you suffer shortage or not and whether it has effect on domestic Pakistani prices or not, the cost to the Pakistani producer is substantial (if GoI blocks their export to India), both in terms of present capacity utilisation as well as possible future expansions of their facilities. Your argument that Pakistani infrastructure development is somehow suffering because of exorts to India suggest either a argument that is untrue or general stupidity on part of the authorities in Pakistan. Maybe you can take a lesson from how the Indian government has hammered prices down by 30-50%, in some cases going as low as Rs.125/- per bag of 50kg by leveraging the quantity that it will consume.

Do you guys include smuggling data in the official trade figures? I was of the view, these government data is the one with white transactions (hence not smuggling) :coffee:

I
Actually I have a far better idea than you.

The Large Indian companies DID form a cartel and blackmailed the GoI by pricing the cement at Rs. 300 a bag. But Nitin Gadkari threatened them with legal action and threaten to either purchase smaller cement factories and supply the cement for the infrastructure from those factories and freeze out these big guys.

Its only AFTER that, you now see the big guys offering a "discount" to the GoI :lol:

I'm not sure what better idea you have but even your own reply suggests that this has nothing to do with Pakistani cement and GoI had dealt with any threat of cartelisation effectively long before.