Lagay Raho
I don't blame this government, tough measures need to be taken now and for the next five years so that we aren't another IMF basket case in 2023. Taxes need to be raised, credit expansion checked, energy prices will rise, pkr will be kept weak, both deficits of the government budget and the current account balance need to be reduced, and important economic reforms will need to be taken.
These will be DEEPLY unpopular with ordinary people. I also believe that all the promises PTI made about 5 million homes, 10 millions jobs, other government funded projects and investments should not even be attempted, as they will throw off the efforts of these tough measures. The government needs to be honest with the people, the next five years we first have to save Pakistan, we can start building export industries back, and then think about quick growth.
Unfortunately, no government, political party thinks long term or that deeply about Pakistan. And our media are a bunch of retards, only good for promoting political bickering, they don't seem to have even the slightest knowledge of economics, any idiotic criticism from them regarding an IMF loan and tough measures is wrong.
@Jungibaaz
Rofl how much industrial growth has happened in Pakistan under IMF programs from 1994 onwards.
How can one build industry with a cost of doing business, cost of living the highest in Asia all thanks to the consistent IMF programs.
Please Don't make excuses Pakistanis are sick and fed up with the same old statements Pakistan khatrey main, IMF zaroori hai.
IMF is not for the poor or middle class. Its for the fat cats, banks and other US agents who can't compete with foreign made products.
Go poll and take referendum asking Pakistanis would they want their economy to default or take IMF, majority will say better default so that all suffer and change their behaviour.
IMF has massacred the daily wage earners, middle class of Pakistan.
@Jungibaaz
Please again don't employ same excuses there were many options available [some of it are available in his parliament speeches when he was in opposition] or even govt. could've shown with their actions IMF was a last resort . Taking on the har**mkhor corrupt bureaucratic mafia that resists restructuring or change of behaviour, his own pathetic body language. Announcement of cuts in exports. On just one fall of stock exchange he ran to Indonesia to enter IMF program the next day. Meek guy with pathetic decision making.
There will be another IMF program in 3 years time with this govt. not there and dacoit DAr schooling PTI how to handle babus in Pakistan Govt.
Even if Asad Umar had 'attempted' some action to reform or show the same old corruption and govt. employees won't work. The public would've tried to swallow this IMF disaster. Asad Umar is not only implementing the corrupt afsar mafias same old pathetic decisions of taxing basic necessities but following it with inaction and behaving like a puppet in their hands.
Ishaq Dar also deliberated this mafia but handled them better resisted price hikes on basic necessities like gas and actually provided a breather to the common man by managing gas prices. Instead pushed taxes on mobile recharge and other items.
The mafia and pro-US agents have cornered Imran Khan and PTI to do exactly what they cried against for 15+ years. Asad Umar and Dawood like meek pro-American corporate figures are making him look like a joke and farce.
You're proving my point with this response. The point I made in the earliest post was about how Pakistanis prefer political bickering over an economic discussion about the facts. You've stated that there were other options.
Forget everything else, I agree that you could have gone to any lender, not just the IMF. But what do you do about the unsustainable current account deficit, dwindling reserves (you need to fix this today, no delay), bad fiscal policy etc. What's your solution?
And please spare me the talk about PTI, PMLN, party political bs, it's a pointless discussion, I couldn't care less about either party or any party.
Can't repeat myself again and again which we all know about.
the issue is what has PTI's govt. done to fix the real problem that is the elements within the govt. that blow a huge gap in CAD, push reserves to a minimum, bad fiscal policy decisions every 5 years.
The issue is what Asad Umar has done to protect his middle class constituents. Many voted for change to address and remove the corrupt elements from the Finance ministry and reforms to improve decision making in Pakistan's interest. And now they'll get more help from IMF to continue to bleed us.
What Pakistanis they see is this meek jacka** with hands folded.
View attachment 506613
who has surrendered and delegated all decisions to the same corrupt mafia that Dar successfully restrained and managed. Bohut bakwaas karta tha parliament main can't even manage his own office let alone the sharks in the finance ministry.
@Jungibaaz
There are several PTI ideas which PTI has somehow forgotten.
PTI talked about overseas Pakistani at length pre-election.
Launching bond overseas Pakistani, overseas Sukuk etc...
An article in dawn suggested an idea , of encouraging private pension savings of overseas Pakistanis to Pakistan.
Attracting the overseas Pakistani to move their private pension pots on similar lines of UK's Recognised Qualified overseas Pension scheme.
Govt. can offer incentives in this regard. Successful Pakistani professionals get great tax incentives in investing in such plans and their employers contribute too.
A voluntary pension scheme in Pakistan, this is just a few there are many more written in dailies and provided to PTI leadership who have done nothing in this regard. Especially on the overseas Pakistani front. Only placed appointed Ministers who have not done anything notable. Building Taskforce pe another task force without end.
@Jungibaaz
Jaan ki amaan paaon tu aik baat arz karoun.....?
First of all I am non political person even never voted in my life neither my Father vote anymore....
But after the initial performance and U turns.....it always reminds me a Punjabi folk lore....
Aik Banday ko saza hoi....
Ya tu 100 rupaya dey...ya 100 jotay kha...ya 100 payaz kha...
Becharay ne 50, 50 sab kha liya and poora 100 rupiya b dey diya....I don't know why P.M Khan reminds me of that man.
That is why we don't vote because system is corrupted and through this system you can elect only electable not Imandaar exactly what Imran learned during those years but he won the satisfaction that he became P.M chaloo zidd poori hoyi magar ab....Bhai jab yeh fail ho gaya na tou pora youth fail ho jaye gha.....This is isn't just a problem with Imran Khan, the entire system is rotten and incompetent. PTI made huge promises that they have no hope of delivering.
I don't support PTI either, but it's not PTI's fault that they are having to go asking for bailouts again, it was the previous government's tajarba kaar team of idiots. However, PTI have stupidly promised things to people and are set to look like hypocrites for criticising previous governments for doing the same thing now.
I've said it before, Pakistani politics needs to grow up fast, parties need to become more pragmatic, the media needs to become smarter and evolve beyond cross-party shit shovelling and focus on broader issues.