Absolutely - methodology in the sense that 'attacks on non-combatants' are not legitimate, no matter what the cause.
In the case of the various violent Baluch separatist groups, the fact that they have kidnapped, attacked and killed Baluch and non-Baluch educators, government officials (who are not involved in combat or policing operations) and settlers means that they are in fact terrorist groups.
I agree - and I have made the same argument against Palestinian, Taliban and Kashmiri groups that advocate and engage in those types of methods.And thats what I believe.. Intentional planned attacks on the civilian population to pressurize the govt or to spread anarchy is terrorism.. Pure and simple.. No justification of freedom fight, fighting for religion , Disputed area and all that crap.. Some means can not be justified by any kinds of ends...
In short, whatever be the cause, this blast is a open and shut case of terrorism in my book..
Talk about a 'massive military sweep' is just that, 'talk'.
Our 'bleeding heart commentators and civil society members' have apparently decided that exaggeration, wailing and crying and comparisons to East Pakistan are the best way to highlight the issues in Baluchistan, and that is where all this 'rhetoric' of 'military sweeps' comes int. Combine that with the inherent distrust and dislike of the Army in the 'civil society and liberals' group I mentioned, and you have the kind of nonsensical rhetoric you hear too often.
There have been no reports of any kind of 'military sweep', or for that matter an FC sweep, in Baluchistan. The military component of the COIN effort in Baluchistan is largely covert now, with targeted operations against violent separatists and their backers. Overt operations are largely limited to patrols and check-posts here and there.
we should start a military crackdown, there is no other options. We have to make an example of those who harm pakistan so no one will follow them.
What about the security agencies, most notably FC, who too have indulged in kidnappings which result in the mutilated bodies every now and then ?
The FC would argue that their covert targeted operations are focused on individuals that their intel and investigations reveal as being violent separatists and/or backers of violent separatists.
I am not suggesting that the covert FC operations are 'legal' under the Pakistani constitution, but that the FC would argue that they are not targeting 'non-combatants'. The FC's argument would not be that different from the argument made by the US and some of her Western allies in using 'extraordinary renditions' etc. in bypassing their own judicial systems and laws which they see as potentially releasing suspected terrorists.
First off, the FC has not admitted to the covert ops, though it is widely speculated.The FC has anytime proved that who they are covertly kidnapping and killing are strictly aiding combatants in any court of law ? If not are they the Judge,Jury & Executioner ?
If what they are doing is unconstitutional , as you yourself agree, then how come Pakistanis expect Baloch to have faith in the system - the very system FC break with impunity and don't get punished for ?
They have subjected Western citizens to extraordinary renditions precisely to avoid their judicial and law enforcement systems getting involved.BTW the difference between Pakistani &Western ops is that while US and its allies don;t do that on their own land, Pakistan do it in their own land.
First off, the FC has not admitted to the covert ops, though it is widely speculated.
And no Pakistani has 'faith in the current system' - law enforcement and the judiciary are broken and corruption is rampant.
The Baluch also have to deal with what the rest of Pakistan is dealing and suffering with - only a government that acts to reform these institutions can change perceptions in the Awam about 'having faith in the system'.
They have subjected Western citizens to extraordinary renditions precisely to avoid their judicial and law enforcement systems getting involved.
Given the politicized and weak state of law enforcement and the judiciary in Pakistan, that is not much of an issue in Pakistan which is why suspects are not sent 'overseas' to be tortured and killed, as the Western military and intelligence do.
Before 2006, the Baloch nationalism movement was very tame....
The Baloch are not dealing with what other Pakistanis deals with dammit. They are dealing with a systematic,govt (establishment) sponsored muzzling of their voice, an ethnic cleansing. Not the common corruption the average Punjabi faces.
Wait wait wait. Ethnic cleansing? Really. I think you were whining about dumping of dead bodies right? And now you say their is some ethnic cleansing by Pakistani forces committed against Baloch. OK. Now the human rights organization have said around 220 dead bodies have been found from different parts of Baluchistan. Now if we assume all of them were killed and dumped by Pakistani forces(which obviously isn't true) can you please tell me how it can be termed as an ethnic cleansing of a population around 5 million Baloch. How in the world can we cleanse Baluchistan ethnically by killing 200 people in around more than 1 year time?
Can you explain to us Pakistanis why your post looks illogical?
Ethnic cleansing in the sense - their ethnicity is what gets them kidnapped and killed.
And how come it's "obviously" not true ?
Baloch nationalism has been there right from 1948 when Maj.gen Akbar Khan invaded the sovereign state of Kalat and forcefully annexed it into Pakistan...this is the fifth war of independence and I don't see the Baloch resting.
Humko maloom hain jannat ki haqueekat, par dil ke behlane ko Ghalib, yeh khayal achha hai..