Pakistan's political history-Part 1

The real mistake was the Objectives Resolution that intertwined matters of state with matters of religion. Everything else was downhill from there.
Indeed...thank you for going through it, it's a little lengthy and has some obvious mistakes-didn't have much time to review it. Due to some commitments i had to post it. Again thank you for over looking them, if there are some historical errors do point them out.
@WAJsal a delightful account, but there are warts. Good going.
Thank you, my good friend. You haven't even 'thanked' it. :mad: why, what did i ever do to you? :lol: i(f there are some historical errors do point them out.)
Pakistan as a country is a wonderful region but Pakistanis as people (in general, exceptions are not counted) and society have never been fair and just, this is reflected in our daily lives and conduct.
We deserve what we get, don't expect anything good, 'be the change you wish to see.'

Part 2 will be much better than this, it where our real problems start- Ayub and Yahya's tenure, wait for it.

Give it a read guys...
@niaz ,@fatman17 ,@Irfan Baloch ,@farhan_9909 ,@Side-Winder ,@notorious_eagle ...

Thank you, my good friend. You haven't even 'thanked' it. :mad: why, what did i ever do to you? :lol: i(f there are some historical errors do point them out.)

Sahib ka like wala button kahi kho gya hai :D Ub wo darty hain kay agar like kia to pata nahi positive like ho ga yah negative like.

@WAJsal Brilliant and informative account specially for someone like me who is interested in learning about the evolution of Pakistan.

A few details which I would like you to expand on at your leisure, please understand I mean no offense and they are purely driven by curiosity:

a. Reason for apathy against E. Bengal.
b. Steps taken to establish a strong industrial/educational base during the period in discussion
c. Any long term planning done by powers that be on what direction they want to take Pakistan towards?
d. Why were the common people silent during the blatant misrule post Liaqut Ali Khan's demise? Why wasn't there any popular uprising like in India during Emergency and Indira Gandhi Misrule

@WAJsal Brilliant and informative account specially for someone like me who is interested in learning about the evolution of Pakistan.
Glad i could help.
a. Reason for apathy against E. Bengal.
I can't think of any. Our people thought of themselves superior to them, moving onto Ayub and Yahya's tenure this behavior only increased. We forgot our founding fathers teachings and did the very opposite of what they would have done. This behavior will be discussed in better words in the coming part.
b. Steps taken to establish a strong industrial/educational base during the period in discussion
c. Any long term planning done by powers that be on what direction they want to take Pakistan towards?
What matters is them being in power, who cares about future planning. For example: lets take a look at our current situation, where we need a special emphasis on health and educational sector, instead the government looks to increase it's vote bank. Future planning-there has never been such a concept here, ever.
d. Why were the common people silent during the blatant misrule post Liaqut Ali Khan's demise? Why wasn't there any popular uprising like in India during Emergency and Indira Gandhi Misrule
No one to educate them. Muslim league failed to establish itself...

Glad i could help.

I can't think of any. Our people thought of themselves superior to them, moving onto Ayub and Yahya's tenure this behavior only increased. We forgot our founding fathers teachings and did the very opposite of what they would have done. This behavior will be discussed in better words in the coming part.

What matters is them being in power, who cares about future planning. For example: lets take a look at our current situation, where we need a special emphasis on health and educational sector, instead the government looks to increase it's vote bank. Future planning-there has never been such a concept here, ever.

No one to educate them. Muslim league failed to establish itself...

Thank you. Your responses leave me feeling sad at the tragedy of abortion of what Pakistan could have been. A firmness in internal condition and sense of purpose and future perhaps could have led it to be more internally focused and at the same time could have given impetus to better Indo-Pak ties.

Still it is admirable how pieces were picked up, duct-taped and forced to work along through the sheer will of all stakeholders. What matters is the future - and Pakistan has much to do in that front to blunt the traumas it has faced.

I don't dispute your account at the selfishness shown by Indian leaders during the crucial formative stages of India/Pakistan - the Gandhi account, we all have heard about in India and is a subject of much debate. Perhaps @Joe Shearer can further expand on it from the Indian perspective.

Indeed...thank you for going through it, it's a little lengthy and has some obvious mistakes-didn't have much time to review it. Due to some commitments i had to post it. Again thank you for over looking them, if there are some historical errors do point them out.

We deserve what we get, don't expect anything good, 'be the change you wish to see.'

Part 2 will be much better than this, it where our real problems start- Ayub and Yahya's tenure, wait for it.

Give it a read guys...
@niaz ,@fatman17 ,@Irfan Baloch ,@farhan_9909 ,@Side-Winder ,@notorious_eagle ...

Whoops!

Error corrected.

@WAJsal Well written, good and detailed.

Just a little thing here:
It is stated that General Akbar and his supporters were keen to take over the government and bring a Socialist revolution in the country. If this revolution was successful Pakistan’s history would be much different. Feudal system would be abolished, chances of military interventions would be slim-it was something not to be.
We don't really know that for sure - the feudal system could have been abolished, but not necessarily. Generally, when writing a history, such assumptions should either be explained and backed, or just left out. A little details about Gen. Akbar's socialist ideas and connections with the Pakistan Communist Party etc. would have been nice.

Though it is interesting to think about what could have happened had this actually happened - especially considering the Cold War. Pakistan's stance would've been very different if it had become a Socialist state back then. But the situation probably would not have been any better than what it is now, considering that Pakistan would suffer the consequences of the USSR's collapse if it was aligned towards them.
By 1953 civil servants were completely dominated on civil servants.
Also, this doesn't seem right.

Just a little thing here:
Unfortunately i can't edit now, plus i didn't get much time to go through it, so thank you.
We don't really know that for sure - the feudal system could have been abolished, but not necessarily. Generally, when writing a history, such assumptions should either be explained and backed, or just left out. A little details about Gen. Akbar's socialist ideas and connections with the Pakistan Communist Party etc. would have been nice.

Though it is interesting to think about what could have happened had this actually happened - especially considering the Cold War. Pakistan's stance would've been very different if it had become a Socialist state back then. But the situation probably would not have been any better than what it is now, considering that Pakistan would suffer the consequences of the USSR's collapse if it was aligned towards them.
I came to a conclusion that our history would be much different had this coup been successful. I got a little emotional and shared my thoughts where i shouldn't have. We should have stayed neutral, much could have been easily averted. going through our history makes me want to :hitwall:.
Also, this doesn't seem right.
Politicians* :p:

Give it a read guys...

Honnourable WAJsal,

I had read the your post but decided not to comment because like most articles this is mostly about the history of West Pakistan; not of Pakistan as it was during the first 25 years and therefore decided not comment.

One should keep in mind that all histories including that of Herodotus, the person who wrote the first history book ever; always describe the way the writer sees it. Such as calling a half filled glass “Half empty or half full”. Since now you have tagged me, please take my criticism not as finding faults but the history as I see it. I would describe what in my opinion are important facts/events, and unless included, Pakistan history will remain incomplete.

Firstly, the propaganda that Pakistan was a dream of Allama Iqbal is incorrect. Allama never mentioned or desired total independence. The Two Nation Theory proposed separation of Muslim majority areas within the larger Indian federation.

IMO readers of Pakistan history must know that Ch. Rehmat Ali was the first to use name of Pakistan and call for full independence in his famous pamphlet “Now or Never; Are We to Live or Perish Forever” of 1933. Incidentally, Ch. Rehmat Ali offered name of Bengistan for the Muslims areas of Bengal & Assam.

One should also not forget that partition was extremely painful. It was the biggest migration in history. About 15-million people, roughly half from each side were displaced and about a million died, more than half were Muslim migrants from East Punjab & UP crossing the border on trains.

Political scene of East Pakistan where 54% of the Pakistanis lived until 1971 and the events that led to the break-up of Pakistan are important.

An agitation against the imposition of Urdu as national language was started by the students of Dacca University students as early as 1947 which blossomed into full scale language riots in 1948. IMO this along with the fact that despite being in the majority; East Pakistanis felt that they were being treated below par is the root cause of the resentment against Punjabis which finally caused the break - up of Pakistan in 1971.

Among the notable leaders of Bengali origin that are now completely forgotten in Pakistan is the Sher-e Bengal, Abdul Qasim Fazal Haq. It was Fazal Haq who moved the Lahore Resolution (now called Pakistan Resolution) on March 22, 1940 asking for the independent state of Pakistan. Another prominent leader of early Pakistan also forgotten is Abdul Hamid Bhashani. It was because of Maulana Bhashani’s efforts that Sylhet (part of Assam) was won over thru a referendum and became part of Pakistan.

Passing of the Objective Resolution on March 7, 1949 which declared Pakistan to be an Islamic State is also a milestone in Pakistan’s history. This gave the originally anti-Pakistan Islamic parties the basis to demand implementation of the Sharia Law; something against the wishes of the Quaid who envisaged a liberal progressive Pakistan.

A sad event which has plagued NWFP (KPK) politics since 1947 was the Charsadda Firing. On 12th August 1948 provincial police was ordered by the Chief Minister, Abdul Qayyum Khan to open fire upon unarmed Khudai Khidmatgars of Bacha Khan on the orders of. It is claimed that about 600 were killed.

British only partitioned what was under their control, how the independent states amalgamated into Pakistan is worth knowing. When and how independent states of Bahawalpur, Khairpur, Chitral, Swat, Dir. Kharan, Makran etc joined Pakistan is also important.

People of Gilgit & Baltistan rebelled against the Dogra rule and by Nov. 1947 managed to throw out Kashmir State troops and joined Pakistan without any outside help. Therefore when I hear that bigoted JI Amir Munawwar Hassan calls the TTP butchers 'Shaheed' even though Pakistani Baltis have been dragged out of the busses and butchered by TTP for being Shia; I feel extreme anguish and curse TTP & their followers to hell. Baltistanis certainly deserve better.

On the 1951 murder of Liaqat Ali Khan: alleged role of Dualtana ( Chief Minister of Punjab) & Mushtaq Ahmad Gurmani; who were responsible for the security of the Prime Minister; should also be touched upon.

Role of Sindhi leaders such as Pir Ilahi Bukhsh & GM Syed during and after partition should also be included.

How Baluchistan came to be part of Pakistan should be mentioned. Are Pakistanis aware that Kalat, Kakran, Las bela & Makran had joined together and declared independence in June 1958 with Khan of Kalat as Khan-e Azam? Iskender Mirza had to send Pak troops to recapture the area.

Perhaps I am the wrong man to comment. Having falling in love with Pakistan at an early age, I still feel nostalgic about Quaid’s Pakistan which had two wings. Secondly I feel the that it is wrong not to appreciate the States that joined Pakistan thru their free will and recognise hostility of the States with the separatist tendencies.

I have already seen history being altered in India and in Pakistan. Additionally, people tend to make saints of their heroes. I am different. I admire a person more if despite having the weaknesses of normal humans, he manages to achieve greatness

Soon all of my generation would die out and Pakistanis will be fed adulterated history. For example Sirajul Haq recently stated that if the Quaid and Allama Iqbal were alive today, they would have joined Jamaat Islami. Nothing can be greater ‘Untruth’.

At one time Allama Iqbal was full of admiration for Mirza Ahmad of Qadian, he never stops praising Hazrat Ali (RA) and also questioned whether the Amir (Hazrat Omer RA) has the power to amend the Azaan and institute Traveeh. Therefore he would have been hounded out by the Salafis (similar to Dr Javed Ghamdi). Quaid on the other hand would have been killed right away by Lashkar Jhangvi for being a Shia

It is important that early Pakistan’s history should be truthful and leaders described as they were, wart and all. Else forthcoming generations would be brain washed with the lies. In this very forum there is a post which calls the RSS bigots as ‘Founding Fathers of India” completely ignoring that it was RSS who murdered ‘Bapu’ of all Indians, the Mahatma Gandhi.

Finally, Ghulam Mohammed has been referred to as Ghulam Ali on a few places. Please correct this as well.

I am an oldman who is passionate about Pakistan and when provoked, gets carried away therefore seek your indulgence.

Thank you for you reply, and for sharing your knowledge. The very reason for tagging you was to get an opinion from an experienced, and knowledgeable person-such as yourself.
Since now you have tagged me, please take my criticism not as finding faults but the history as I see it.
I find nothing wrong in criticism, criticism pay's way to do more.
Political scene of East Pakistan where 54% of the Pakistanis lived until 1971 and the events that led to the break-up of Pakistan are important.

An agitation against the imposition of Urdu as national language was started by the students of Dacca University students as early in 1947 which blossomed into full scale language riots in 1948. IMO this along with the fact that despite being in the majority; East Pakistanis felt that they were being treated below par is the root cause of the resentment against Punjabis which finally caused the break - up of Pakistan in 1971.
Sir, as far as separation of East Pakistan is concerned, i have knowingly skipped it; it will surely be mentioned in second part. Will not forget to mention it.
People of Gilgit & Baltistan rebelled against the Dogra rule and by Nov. 1947 managed to throw out Kashmir State troops and joined Pakistan without any outside help. Therefore when I hear that bigoted JI Amir Munawwar Hassan calls the TTP butchers 'Shaheed' even though Pakistani Baltis have been dragged out of the busses and butchered by TTP for being Shia; I feel extreme anguish and curse TTP & their followers to hell. Baltistanis certainly deserve better.
Curse of TTP is a result of mistakes we made, every community has suffered from it-be it the Christians, Ismailis, Shias, the whole country.
Soon all of my generation would die out and Pakistanis will be fed adulterated history.
This was the very reason for writing this article, sir. I hope i have done some good and educated some fellow members.
Finally, Ghulam Mohammed has been referred to as Mohammed as Ghulam Ali on a few places. Please correct this as well.
Thank you for pointing it out, unfortunately it is a little to late as i can no longer edit my post.

Honnourable WAJsal,

I had read the your post but decided not to comment because like most articles this is mostly about the history of West Pakistan; not of Pakistan as it was during the first 25 years and therefore decided not comment.

One should keep in mind that all histories including that of Herodotus, the person who wrote the first history book ever; always describe the way the writer sees it. Such as calling a half filled glass “Half empty or half full”. Since now you have tagged me, please take my criticism not as finding faults but the history as I see it. I would describe what in my opinion are important facts/events, and unless included, Pakistan history will remain incomplete.

Firstly, the propaganda that Pakistan was a dream of Allama Iqbal is incorrect. Allama never mentioned or desired total independence. The Two Nation proposed separation of Muslim majority areas within the larger Indian federation.

IMO readers of Pakistan history must know that Ch. Rehmat Ali was the first to use name of Pakistan and call for full independence in his famous pamphlet “Now or Never; Are We to Live or Perish Forever” of 1933. Incidentally, Ch. Rehmat Ali offered name of Bengistan for the Muslims areas of Bengal & Assam.

One should also not forget that partition was extremely painful. It was the biggest migration in history. About 15-million people, roughly half from each side were displaced and about a million died, more than half were Muslim migrants from East Punjab & UP crossing the border on trains.

An agitation against the imposition of Urdu as national language was started by the students of Dacca University students as early in 1947 which blossomed into full scale language riots in 1948. IMO this along with the fact that despite being in the majority; East Pakistanis felt that they were being treated below par is the root cause of the resentment against Punjabis which finally caused the break - up of Pakistan in 1971.

Among the notable leaders of Bengali origin that are now completely forgotten in Pakistan is the Sher-e Bengal, Abdul Qasim Fazal Haq. It was Fazal Haq who moved the Lahore Resolution (now called Pakistan Resolution) on March 22, 1940 asking for the independent state of Pakistan. Another prominent leader of early Pakistan also forgotten is Abdul Hamid Bhashani. It was because of Maulana Bhashani’s efforts that Sylhet (part of Assam) was won over thru a referendum and became part of Pakistan.

Passing of the Objective Resolution on March 7, 1949 which declared Pakistan to be an Islamic State is also a milestone in Pakistan’s history. This gave the originally anti-Pakistan Islamic parties the basis to demand implementation of the Sharia Law; something against the wishes of the Quaid who envisaged a liberal progressive Pakistan.

A sad event which has plagued NWFP (KPK) politics since 1947 was the Charsadda Firing. On 12th August 1948 provincial police was ordered by the Chief Minister, Abdul Qayyum Khan to open fire upon unarmed Khudai Khidmatgars of Bach Khan on the orders of. It is claimed that about 600 were killed.

British only partitioned what was under their control, how the independent states amalgamated into Pakistan is worth knowing. When and how independent states of Bahawalpur, Khairpur, Chitral, Swat, Dir. Kharan, Makran etc joined Pakistan is also important.

On the 1951 murder of Liaqat Ali Khan: alleged role of Dualtana ( Chief Minister of Punjab) & Mushtaq Ahmad Gurmani; who were responsible for the security of the Prime Minister; should also be touched upon.

Role of Sindhi leaders such as Pir Ilahi Bukhsh & GM Syed during and after partition should also be included.

How Baluchistan came to be part of Pakistan should be mentioned. Are Pakistanis aware that Kalat, Kakran, Las bela & Makran had joined together and declared independence in June 1958 with Khan of Kalat as Khan-e Azam? Iskender Mirza had to send Pak troops to recapture the area.

Perhaps I am the wrong man to comment. Having falling in love with Pakistan at an early age, I still feel nostalgic about Quaid’s Pakistan which had two wings. Secondly I feel the that it is wrong not to appreciate the States that joined Pakistan thru their free will and recognise hostility of the States with the separatist tendencies.

I have already seen history being altered in India and in Pakistan. Additionally, people tend to make saint of their heroes. I am different. I admire a person more if despite having the weaknesses of normal humans, he manages to achieve greatness

Soon all of my generation would die out and Pakistanis will be fed adulterated history. For example Sirajul Haq recently stated that if the Quaid and Allama Iqbal were alive today, they would have joined Jamaat Islami. Nothing can be greater ‘Untruth’.

At one time Allama Iqbal was full of admiration for Mirza Ahmad of Qadian, he never stops praising Hazrat Ali (RA) and also questioned whether the Amir (Hazrat Omer RA) has the power to amend the Azaan and institute Traveeh. Therefore he would have been hounded out by the Salafis (similar to Dr Javed Ghamdi). Quaid on the other hand would have been killed right away by Lashkar Jhangvi for being a Shia

It is important that early Pakistan’s history should be truthful and leaders described as they were, wart and all. Else forthcoming generations would be brain washed with the lies. In this very forum there is a post which calls the RSS bigots as ‘Founding Fathers of India” completely ignoring that it was RSS who murdered ‘Bapu’ of all Indians, the Mahatma Gandhi.

Finally, Ghulam Mohammed has been referred to as Ghulam Ali on a few places. Please correct this as well.

I am an oldman who is passionate about Pakistan and when provoked, gets carried away therefore seek your indulgence.

My humble salutes, Maestro.

Thanks for the tag. :)
I like your style of writing. :tup:

Pakistan was not given military equipment, which it was supposed to get by India.
Half truth!
Beware of half truth, you may have gotten hold of the wrong truth!!!
It is true that India was supposed to pay a sum of Rs 75 crores to the newly formed Pakistan, as part of the compensation to be paid by Indian Government.
The first installment of Rs. 20 crores had been paid, but then, the Pakistani army invaded Kashmir which had acceded to India at the time.
IMO, the blame for Kashmir issue lies on the ruler of Kashmir- Hari Singh. Selfishly, he wanted Kashmir to be an independent country- that was next impossible. It was predictable that Kashmir would have been either gobbled up by China, or would have to merge with one of the newly formed countries- India and Pakistan.
Back to the payment issue- Indian government refused to hand over the balance of Rs. 55 crores, asking for the Kashmir issue to be resolved first, since any money given to Pakistan would have been used for military purchases and used against India. Gandhi was against this decision and argued that this meant going back on an agreement made in earnest and not a good beginning for relations between two newborn countries. But, it made complete sense to block the payment when India was facing territorial threat.

This is just my humble opinion, and its open to debate. The post is not meant to offend anyone.

Honnourable WAJsal,

Firstly, the propaganda that Pakistan was a dream of Allama Iqbal is incorrect. Allama never mentioned or desired total independence. The Two Nation proposed separation of Muslim majority areas within the larger Indian federation.

A sad event which has plagued NWFP (KPK) politics since 1947 was the Charsadda Firing. On 12th August 1948 provincial police was ordered by the Chief Minister, Abdul Qayyum Khan to open fire upon unarmed Khudai Khidmatgars of Bach Khan on the orders of. It is claimed that about 600 were killed.

I have already seen history being altered in India and in Pakistan. Additionally, people tend to make saint of their heroes. I am different. I admire a person more if despite having the weaknesses of normal humans, he manages to achieve greatness

It was a privilege to read this post of yours. I had to spend an hour googling, to sort out all the context but it was an hour well spent.

We are now in an age where information is increasingly becoming a free commodity. One can shape the narrative, put a spin on facts but the kernels of pure and adulterated Truth would remain unmolested. So fear not and have faith in your posterity to carry forth the torch of knowledge.

Bigots like Hindu Fringe Groups in India and some on your side can certainly be louder in their rhetoric and try to drown the voice of reason and logic but in the end all they will have are fading echos.

Regards

Thanks for the tag. :)
I like your style of writing. :tup:

Half truth!
Beware of half truth, you may have gotten hold of the wrong truth!!!
It is true that India was supposed to pay a sum of Rs 75 crores to the newly formed Pakistan, as part of the compensation to be paid by Indian Government.
The first installment of Rs. 20 crores had been paid, but then, the Pakistani army invaded Kashmir which had acceded to India at the time.
IMO, the blame for Kashmir issue lies on the ruler of Kashmir- Hari Singh. Selfishly, he wanted Kashmir to be an independent country- that was next impossible. It was predictable that Kashmir would have been either gobbled up by China, or would have to merge with one of the newly formed countries- India and Pakistan.
Back to the payment issue- Indian government refused to hand over the balance of Rs. 55 crores, asking for the Kashmir issue to be resolved first, since any money given to Pakistan would have been used for military purchases and used against India. Gandhi was against this decision and argued that this meant going back on an agreement made in earnest and not a good beginning for relations between two newborn countries. But, it made complete sense to block the payment when India was facing territorial threat.

This is just my humble opinion, and its open to debate. The post is not meant to offend anyone.

It is but obvious that India would protect it's interest. I was confused about the time-lines involved and whether the refusal of India to pay the balance was pre or post Kashmir issue. Thanks for clarifying the same.

Take it from this Zionist: it's not enough to provide a good example as your enemies will misrepresent and distort it, accusing you of crimes or hypocrisy, while trying to take advantage of your goodness to rob you or demand money.

@WAJsal

Thank you for tagging me on this thread.

I read it, a well chronicled summary of events. May I point out as someone before me too has done that most of what I read relates to events &happening of West Pakistan.

Would you be kind enough to add details of East Pakistan too in the corresponding period.

You have done a good job. I look forward to reading subsequent posts on this subject.

Given the fact that he was in terminal stages of TB & he must have known it don't you consider it to have been a folly on part of Jinnah for not to have nominated or nurtured a successor ? Maybe I am wrong but most efforts to put in place essentials like a Constitution ought to have begun in right earnest when it was certain Pakistan would be formed. They needn't have waited till 14 Aug for it.

A commendable effort.