Pakistani man urges Modi not to give asylum to ex-legislator who is accused of killing his father

terry5

Palestinian Territory, Occupied
Ajay Singh said former legislator Baldev Kumar was trying to gain sympathy in India by saying that Sikhs were being troubled in Pakistan.
Scroll Staff

Sep 14, 2019 · 01:05 pmUpdated Sep 14, 2019 · 04:17 pm
92280-dztzymsspu-1568457948.jpg

AFP
https://scroll.in/latest/937310/pak...gislator-who-is-accused-of-killing-his-father

The son of a former legislator from Pakistanhas appealed to Prime Minister Narendra Modi to not give asylum in India to a man who was named as an accused in the murder of his father, The Indian Express reported on Saturday.

Baldev Kumar, himself a former legislator from Prime Minister Imran Khan’s party Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, came to India with his wife and two children last month and has sought asylum. He is presently living in Khanna in Ludhiana district of Punjab. Kumar claimed he had left Pakistan as minorities were deprived of their rights in his country.

Kumar had been arrested in 2016 in connection with the murder of Soran Singh, the chief advisor to the province’s then-Chief Minister Pervez Khattak, and expelled from the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf. However, a court in Buner acquitted him in 2018. He claimed that he was “framed and implicated” in the case and Singh was “actually murdered by Islamic extremists”.

Singh’s son Ajay Singh said he hoped that Modi will not protect a murder accused booked under the anti-terrorism Act of Pakistan. He said despite Kumar’s acquittal in the case, an appeal against him is still pending in the Peshawar High Court and he had been summoned for the case on September 30. “We hope India will behave like a responsible country here,” he told The Indian Express.

However, Kumar denied this and said he had not received any summons from the High Court. “How did immigration officials grant me visa if I were still an accused,” he questioned.

“My colleague was murdered by Islamic terrorists who cannot tolerate Sikhs or Hindus living in Pakistan and I was framed,” he added. “Tehreek-e-Taliban had even announced that they murdered Soran Singh but I was arrested and kept in jail for two years.” Kumar said he will not go back to Pakistan now as his 11-year-old daughter is undergoing treatment for thalassemia in India.

“He [Kumar] is doing a drama in India to gain sympathy saying that Sikhs are being troubled here,” Ajay Singh said. “His motive is to evade the law. We believe and hope that Modi will not shield a murder accused.”

On Tuesday, a minister in Pakistan’s Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Shaukat Ali Yusafzai had said Imran Khan’s party had no objection to Kumar seeking political asylum in India. He said Kumar was free to live anywhere he wanted. His party membership was reportedly suspended over alleged role in the assassination of Singh.

“I have come here to seek asylum and will request [Prime Minister Narendra] Modi Sahib to help us,” Kumar had told reporters in Khanna earlier this week. Asked why he wanted to leave Pakistan and move to India, Kumar had said: “The whole world is watching what is the situation in Pakistan now. We were expecting from [Pakistan Prime Minister Imran] Khan Sahib that when he came [to power], the fate of Pakistan will change.”

_60858ce8-d511-11e9-bf18-74205beb354d.jpg

Ajay Singh is the son of Dr Sooran Singh, the PTI member of provincial assembly, who was killed in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in April 2016 (HT Photo )
A day after former legislator of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province Baldev Kumar, sought asylum in India, Pakistan-based Ajay Singh said Kumar was the prime accused in the murder case of his (Ajay’s) father Dr Sooran Singh. Ajay said Baldev, who is staying in Khanna of Ludhiana district, fled to India to escape conviction in the case which is pending in the Peshawar high court.

52-year-old Sooran Singh, who was PTI’s member of the provincial assembly (MPA) and also the special assistant to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa chief minister on minority affairs, was assassinated in Pir Baba area of Buner district of the province in April 2016. Singh’s car was ambushed by unidentified assailants near a shrine. A doctor by profession, he was elected as a member of provincial assembly (MPA) in 2013.

Ajay, who is pursuing in MBBS in Pakistan, lives with his mother Ravinder Kaur and sister Rasna Kaur (7) at Pir Baba village of Buner district. He said, “Baldev Kumar was political rival of my father in Buner constituency and wanted to be an MPA. He considered my father as hurdle in his way and wanted to eliminate him. He conspired to kill my father by hiring five target killers who killed my father. Baldev paid Rs 10 lakh (Pakistani currency) to the killers.”

While speaking to Hindustan Times over phone from Pakistan, Ajay said, “The police nabbed the killers, who spilled the beans saying Baldev was the conspirator behind the murder. He was booked for murder and arrested under the Anti-Terrorism Act (ATA) .”

Baldev Kumar remained in Buner jail for two years before the anti-terrorism court acquitted him and five others in the murder case on April 26, 2018. “We challenged this acquittal in Peshawar high court in June 2018. As the case is pending, Baldev fled to India where he is misguiding the people and government to secure asylum. To garner support of the Sikhs in India, he made his appearance as a Sehajdhari Sikh,” Ajay said.

“He is the killer of my father who served the humanity as a doctor throughout his life. I appeal to the Indian government not to grant him asylum. The Indian government should send him back so that he can be punished for what he did,” he said.

It may recalled that PTI MPA Arnab Jahandad had hurled a shoe at Baldev in protest against the latter’s presence in the assembly in February 2018 when the latter came to take oath.

Pakistan minister of science and technology Fawad Hussain Chaudhry in a Twitter post had said, “Irony is Baldev committed a cold-blooded murder of Sooran Singh only because he was next in the line for MPA list. A group of Indians is celebrating what? A criminal only to avoid case in Pak has asked for Political asylum?”

Notably, Baldev who reached Khanna with his family, stated that minorities are being prosecuted in Pakistan and they don’t feel safe under the regime of Imran Khan, which led him to seek asylum in India.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/citi...er-s-murder/story-lgM5iZoUT7MIocdHJjcuaK.html

Complete and utter scumbag, no morals, no loyalty, and no shame; Im sure hell be very popular over there

I hope moohdhi ji gives asylum to a man accused in a murder!

_60858ce8-d511-11e9-bf18-74205beb354d.jpg

Ajay Singh is the son of Dr Sooran Singh, the PTI member of provincial assembly, who was killed in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in April 2016 (HT Photo )
A day after former legislator of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province Baldev Kumar, sought asylum in India, Pakistan-based Ajay Singh said Kumar was the prime accused in the murder case of his (Ajay’s) father Dr Sooran Singh. Ajay said Baldev, who is staying in Khanna of Ludhiana district, fled to India to escape conviction in the case which is pending in the Peshawar high court.

52-year-old Sooran Singh, who was PTI’s member of the provincial assembly (MPA) and also the special assistant to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa chief minister on minority affairs, was assassinated in Pir Baba area of Buner district of the province in April 2016. Singh’s car was ambushed by unidentified assailants near a shrine. A doctor by profession, he was elected as a member of provincial assembly (MPA) in 2013.

Ajay, who is pursuing in MBBS in Pakistan, lives with his mother Ravinder Kaur and sister Rasna Kaur (7) at Pir Baba village of Buner district. He said, “Baldev Kumar was political rival of my father in Buner constituency and wanted to be an MPA. He considered my father as hurdle in his way and wanted to eliminate him. He conspired to kill my father by hiring five target killers who killed my father. Baldev paid Rs 10 lakh (Pakistani currency) to the killers.”

While speaking to Hindustan Times over phone from Pakistan, Ajay said, “The police nabbed the killers, who spilled the beans saying Baldev was the conspirator behind the murder. He was booked for murder and arrested under the Anti-Terrorism Act (ATA) .”

Baldev Kumar remained in Buner jail for two years before the anti-terrorism court acquitted him and five others in the murder case on April 26, 2018. “We challenged this acquittal in Peshawar high court in June 2018. As the case is pending, Baldev fled to India where he is misguiding the people and government to secure asylum. To garner support of the Sikhs in India, he made his appearance as a Sehajdhari Sikh,” Ajay said.

“He is the killer of my father who served the humanity as a doctor throughout his life. I appeal to the Indian government not to grant him asylum. The Indian government should send him back so that he can be punished for what he did,” he said.

It may recalled that PTI MPA Arnab Jahandad had hurled a shoe at Baldev in protest against the latter’s presence in the assembly in February 2018 when the latter came to take oath.

Pakistan minister of science and technology Fawad Hussain Chaudhry in a Twitter post had said, “Irony is Baldev committed a cold-blooded murder of Sooran Singh only because he was next in the line for MPA list. A group of Indians is celebrating what? A criminal only to avoid case in Pak has asked for Political asylum?”

Notably, Baldev who reached Khanna with his family, stated that minorities are being prosecuted in Pakistan and they don’t feel safe under the regime of Imran Khan, which led him to seek asylum in India.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/citi...er-s-murder/story-lgM5iZoUT7MIocdHJjcuaK.html
If this was a targeted political hit using hired assassins, why is the anti-terror court involved? I don't get it.