Live TV
Pakistan still not cracking down on militants, US intel chief says
By Nicole Gaouette, CNN
Updated 2:28 PM EST, Tue February 13, 2018
180102124340-01-pakistan-protest-0102-super-169.jpg

(CNN)Pakistan is holding back on cooperation with the US while failing to take tougher action against militant groups, Director of National Intelligence Dan Coats told lawmakers Tuesday.

Instead, he said, it's only trying to appear tougher.

"Ongoing Pakistani military operations against the Taliban and associated groups probably reflect the desire to appear more proactive and responsive to our requests for more actions against these groups," Coats told the Senate Intelligence Committee during a hearing about worldwide threats.

But, Coats added crucially, the actions Pakistan has taken to date "do not reflect a significant escalation of pressure against these groups and are unlikely to have a lasting effect."

Coats also told the committee that intelligence agencies believe Islamabad isn't likely to change its behavior soon -- continuing to slow walk cooperation with the US, while maintaining ties with the Taliban and the Haqqani network.

Pakistan "will maintain ties to these militants while restricting counter terrorism cooperation with the United States," Coats said.

President Donald Trump has very publicly emphasized US concern about Pakistan's reliability and integrity. His first tweet of 2018 put Islamabad in the crosshairs for its "lies and deceit."

"The United States has foolishly given Pakistan more than 33 billion dollars in aid over the last 15 years, and they have given us nothing but lies & deceit, thinking of our leaders as fools," Trump tweeted on January 1. "They give safe haven to the terrorists we hunt in Afghanistan, with little help. No more!"

The online blast previewed a January 8 announcement that the US would freeze security assistance to Pakistan -- close to $1 billion -- over its failure to clamp down on terror groups within its borders.

The Treasury Department on January 26 announced terror designations on members of the Taliban, the Haqqani Group and other groups, in an effort to boost pressure on the militants' abilities to operate. The designations "highlight, once again, the importance of Pakistan as a safe haven for the Taliban's senior leadership," according to Thomas Joscelyn, a senior fellow at the Foundation for Defense of Democracies. He noted that five of the six men listed have been based in Pakistan.

http://edition.cnn.com/2018/02/13/politics/coats-pakistan-militants-cooperation/index.html

WTF is problem with US! I think USA has initiated war against Pakistan.

"Pakistan still not cracking down on militants, US intel chief says"

Neither is America. In Syria, Afghanistan, Iraq, Libya, many South American countries and many other countries around the world.

Hand over those BLA terrorists you are hiding in the USA. While we are at it, hand over Guellen to Turkey as well and also those countless ISIS terrorists you have trained to fight against Assad.

And do us a favor and stop sheltering Fazalullah and co. as well.

It is in Pakistan interest not to be hostile to Taliban and Haqqanis. We should not brig that war into Pakistan. But USA wants to push the country and create ans excuse to take further action.

They need to justify the 1.4 trillion dollar budget for two years.

War is the only thing that keeps US economy rolling and its citizens occupied. Once no war for few years, US economy will collapse.

This is a fact! As far as USA is concerned, we are right now on the opposite corner of the ring. So expect no cookies from uncle Sam.

Prepare and let them bark. We need a media like RT. Absolute need of the hour!

But Afghan Govt having MOUs and agreements with Taliban, how taliban become threat to Afghan peace.
Thsi Intel Chief is not aware of all this and 70% Afghanistan under Taliban control.

Just building up the scenario same like Iraq's WMD..all lies. Hope Pakistan is ready to deal with it.

Nor Pakistan will do on some tom or dick's wish........We are not India or Afghanistan.

How can we crack down the US, it is too powerful for us!!

The intel chief is emphasizing on the word 'Terrorists', right?

amreeka to aap kay tattoo project ko bhi sponsor karay ga is aid mae, Trump aap ko dekhnay kay liya betab hai aur aap aisi dil jalane wali baatain kar rahay hai.
No Thanks i can sponsor my tattoos on my own and he will not be even privileged to see my body tattoos either so buz offf:sick:

The US always demand to Pakistan "Do more", even Pakistan lost their assets and their manpower to finish the terrorism from Pakistan.
Pakistan growing up and up this is the terrifying situation for the US and other Pakistan Enemies country.