Pakistan receives LD-10 Anti-radiation missiles

That lays waste. India makes plans and Pakistan counters and they end up wasting billions of dollars. It is the fate for all of their designs...india spent billions of dollar on building quick response force under the cold start doctrine and Pakistan responded with a TNW NASR and those billions of dollars now lay waste and India can't strike Pakistan without the war escalating into full fledge nuke exchange and India couldn't believe and even Uncle Sam couldn't help India other than spewing some hot puffs from his rear end and settling down on reclining chair.

Those comments reminds me of a story of an Ostrich which puts its head inside the Sand and predict she is safe in a storm. But BTW fantasy for Moral Boast.

On topic, and some FUNNY PART There have been some discussion of MAR-1 and LD-10 anti-radiation missile, but funny part is did any member here questioned whether MAR-1 is A2A Missile or LD-10 is a A2G anti-radiation Missile.

MAR-1 is an anti radiation missile, which is meant to attack the illuminating Ground Radar.
LD-10 is a SD-10 Derivative with anti radiation Seeker to attack the fighter planes which is guided toward the illuminating on board radar of the plane.

Sir, if you know a bit about EW and ECM systems, you would know that a jamming signal or electronic countermeasure signal increases attraction of an AR-missile towards it. Do Read about "Home on jam" on google.

A good way to jam a AR-Missile is to switch off the radar which ARM has targeted .and if its a mobile radar, change location.

ARM can destroy Radar and guidance system of enemy S-400, not the S- 400 missile system and tubes. If the enemy has integrated battle field communications with net centric warfare system then a redundant radar or guidance system can be in place and used for S-400.

Secondly, its already very difficult to get in range of S-400 through air and destroy its radar or S-400 missile system itself.

Nice Points, but I would like to add some more

1. In Simple words, the ARM missile fly toward the illuminating source, aka Radar, but since technology is changing, so do the Radars, which is now becoming LPI with low probability of detection, with AESA Seaker, the ARM missile Seaker should be able to pick the Frequency of the Radar, on which the missile will ride.

2. As far as S-400 air defence system is concerned, actually its very robust system, and I don't think it have any threat from the ARM missile such as MAR-1, owing due to range factor, which the carrier plane won't be able to come that much close to it to deliver. Also the S-400 System have a very strong layer of protection for itself and could shoot the ARM missile itself before it do any harm.

3. During the War time, the Radars are mostly kept in Silent mode, and are illuminating for just a couple of seconds, before going silent again.

4. Counter measures for the ARM missile are not Jammers, rather its the Deception which is Aerial illuminating deception decoy such as Aerial MK-2 decoy, which Su-30MKI is gonna getting with the Super Sukhoi upgrades.

Expendable+decoys.jpg

For S-400 we have Ra'ad but my dear India still not finalize the deal when they you will come to know what counter we have planned.

I assume Raa'd has been declared by Pakistan as the Strategic Weapon, which means it is not going to use in the conventional attack, because all its attack, will be considered as the Nuclear attack whenever it is detected via flight profile.

And what makes you think, that this subsonic missile could not be blown in the air with its Pantysr system.

And again FUNNY part is that the Strategic Missile like Raa'd is going to be used for against S-400 system, which is highly mobile. Does Raa'd is going to feed Pakistani control room all live pictures, and detection via data link back, and then the PAF or PA engineers are gonna feed instructions back, to change its course or the target, or the Raa'd has its own brain and will take few rounds of the area, before detecting the target, and then attack the S-400 system, something like attacking UAV like Heron. LOLZ

I assume Raa'd has been declared by Pakistan as the Strategic Weapon, which means it is not going to use in the conventional attack, because all its attack, will be considered as the Nuclear attack whenever it is detected via flight profile.

And what makes you think, that this subsonic missile could not be blown in the air with its Pantysr system.

Don't assume too much Babur and Ra'ad both will be used for conventional and nuclear strike.....

Keep Dreaming. You see this is the Blunder what pakistan had made by declaring their Babur, Raa'd, NASR as the strategic weapon. Ok tell why didn't India inducted Prahar and Shaurya Missile.

And for the Kid like you, should first study that missiles like Babur or Raa'd can strike the fixed ground target, because they hom toward the target via terrain guidance via matching the ground images, and detect the target during the final decend by matching the images of the target, which is feed inside the missile prior to the launch.

Keep Dreaming. You see this is the Blunder what pakistan had made by declaring their Babur, Raa'd, NASR as the strategic weapon. Ok tell why didn't India inducted Prahar and Shaurya Missile.
Don't talk nonsense kiddy we put u r cold start in u r rear end OK check the facts...

And for the Kid like you, should first study that missiles like Babur or Raa'd can strike the fixed ground target, because they hom toward the target via terrain guidance via matching the ground images, and detect the target during the final decend by matching the images of the target, which is feed inside the missile prior to the launch.
And for a stupid like you I am talking about SAMs just read my posts and S-400 or any other SAM battery can't move like bus or mortar they have to place and secure the area which means any recent drone or satellite photos could be used to destroy it with Babur or Nasr ...even Ghaznavi a ballistic missile is quite capable with 5 to 10 meter CEP.

Now cry me a river.....moron

Bhai Zebra bhi ghadha (donkey) hi hota hai...Just a fact....:lol:

Those comments reminds me of a story of an Ostrich which puts its head inside the Sand and predict she is safe in a storm. But BTW fantasy for Moral Boast.

On topic, and some FUNNY PART There have been some discussion of MAR-1 and LD-10 anti-radiation missile, but funny part is did any member here questioned whether MAR-1 is A2A Missile or LD-10 is a A2G anti-radiation Missile.

MAR-1 is an anti radiation missile, which is meant to attack the illuminating Ground Radar.
LD-10 is a SD-10 Derivative with anti radiation Seeker to attack the fighter planes which is guided toward the illuminating on board radar of the plane.

1. In Simple words, the ARM missile fly toward the illuminating source, aka Radar, but since technology is changing, so do the Radars, which is now becoming LPI with low probability of detection, with AESA Seaker, the ARM missile Seaker should be able to pick the Frequency of the Radar, on which the missile will ride.

2. As far as S-400 air defence system is concerned, actually its very robust system, and I don't think it have any threat from the ARM missile such as MAR-1, owing due to range factor, which the carrier plane won't be able to come that much close to it to deliver. Also the S-400 System have a very strong layer of protection for itself and could shoot the ARM missile itself before it do any harm.

3. During the War time, the Radars are mostly kept in Silent mode, and are illuminating for just a couple of seconds, before going silent again.

4. Counter measures for the ARM missile are not Jammers, rather its the Deception which is Aerial illuminating deception decoy such as Aerial MK-2 decoy, which Su-30MKI is gonna getting with the Super Sukhoi upgrades.

Expendable+decoys.jpg

And again FUNNY part is that the Strategic Missile like Raa'd is going to be used for against S-400 system, which is highly mobile. Does Raa'd is going to feed Pakistani control room all live pictures, and detection via data link back, and then the PAF or PA engineers are gonna feed instructions back, to change its course or the target, or the Raa'd has its own brain and will take few rounds of the area, before detecting the target, and then attack the S-400 system, something like attacking UAV like Heron. LOLZ
the chinese are very interesting people, they have a modular approach when it come to their weapons. what are the chances that the arm unit can be mounted to lets say..... the c802. thats just a thought.

the mar1 is a specailist missile which would have undisclosed technical aspects to it, i wouldn't render it useless just yet.

the ld-10 would likely be for air targets whiich would "sniff" and follow the scent to said awac, tanker etc.....

the cm-102 would likely be for ground based targets and would have an extended range. one thing i would like to remind you of is that the s400 has a instrument range of 400km. pakistan operates small singled engined fighters and would go easily within the 400km instrument range to about 300km. but if its coming from skimming altitude then that range would be closer to about 80km where the s400's short range protection systems (tor-m2 and later morfey) has a instrument range of about 70km. but what are the chances it would dectect a mar 1 at that range?

what anti radar missiles does india have?

That actually i guess will give LD 10 an advantage ...since it nearly identicle to SD 10...and every aircraft will be carrying SD 10 any way....so...

LD-10 allow more missiles to be carried on JFT because it could be mounted on dual racks an will be good against close range FCRs.

I have searched for an LPI Radar in Indian Armed Forces use and didnt find any. I just checked for the modern radar systems. The S-300 uses TOMBSTONE Radar which has LPI functionality, the S-400 uses GRAVESTONE Radar which doesnt have LPI functionality. The Spyder SAM system uses ELM 2106 or ELM 2084 radar, but the LPI radar of Elta is ELM 2140 and is not an Air surveillance radar but ground surveillance radar to detect ground troops. If you have information of any Land based LPI radars under use of IAF, do share.

Surprisingly,I did find an LPI Radar under Pakistan Air Force use which is Crotale system Radar. Power managed systems such as French CROTALE have been placed in land based LPI radar category. Experience has shown that CROTALE is capable of quickly acquiring a target and decreasing its transmitting power to maintain a minimal SNR. This makes it very difficult for a hostile receiver to detect unless special techniques are employed (McRitchie and McDonald 1999, ).

Taking out an S-400 system protected by layers of many SAM's is tricky but not impossible. PAF is slowly adding ARM's to its inventory and the ranges of ARM's are increasing. It depends where IAF places an S-400, escorting SAM's and IAF aerial assets and how PAF utilizes waypoints to avoid detection,terrain camouflaging to avoid decetion, jamming, stand off weapons, ARM's, UAV's/UCAV's, decoys and electronic deception techniques.

This may or may not be true. A switched off radar is useless in war time as it cannot guide own aircrafts for strikes also neither can it utilise SAM's rendering SAM's useless also. However AWAC's in the air can be a replacement for detecting incoming PAF strikes but again it depends how closely its flying to the border to keep an eye on incursions by PAF jets. A radar used for couple of seconds and then switched off may not be even worth destroying as its already useless. In any case, PAF will devise strategies and adjust its tactics accordingly to situation.

PAF wont be targeting SU30MKI with ARM's. PAF has many other ways to tackle SU30MKI.

Expendable+decoys.jpg

Babar will be used for deep strikes including SEAD/DEAD.

Pakistan must get YJ-12 including its ARM version which can hit upto 400km.

the chinese are very interesting people, they have a modular approach when it come to their weapons. what are the chances that the arm unit can be mounted to lets say..... the c802. thats just a thought.

the mar1 is a specailist missile which would have undisclosed technical aspects to it, i wouldn't render it useless just yet.

the ld-10 would likely be for air targets whiich would "sniff" and follow the scent to said awac, tanker etc.....

the cm-102 would likely be for ground based targets and would have an extended range. one thing i would like to remind you of is that the s400 has a instrument range of 400km. pakistan operates small singled engined fighters and would go easily within the 400km instrument range to about 300km. but if its coming from skimming altitude then that range would be closer to about 80km where the s400's short range protection systems (tor-m2 and later morfey) has a instrument range of about 70km. but what are the chances it would dectect a mar 1 at that range?

what anti radar missiles does india have?

In case of what India have, did you forgot the development of NGARM Missile (Range 100-125 km) been developed by the DRDO.

From Russia

KH 31 PD -- A2G

Novatar KS–172 ARM Missile -- Range 300 KM and 400 KM (Anti Awaac) -- Under Development.

R-27EP AA-10 Alamo-F, a longer range passive anti-radiation missile with a range of up to 70 nm (110 km)

Future and Indian Interest

AGM-88 HARM This is U.S missiles, but Indian Airforce seems to be interesting in it. May be it could be attached with the Rafale deal, with french-U.S, or Indo-US deal have to be made.

KH-58USHKE

http://eng.ktrv.ru/production_eng/323/511/540/

Babar will be used for deep strikes including SEAD/DEAD.

Pakistan must get YJ-12 including its ARM version which can hit upto 400km.

Are you MTCR Signatory ??

In case of what India have, did you forgot the development of NGARM Missile (Range 100-125 km) been developed by the DRDO.

From Russia

KH 31 PD -- A2G

Novatar KS–172 ARM Missile -- Range 300 KM and 400 KM (Anti Awaac) -- Under Development.

R-27EP AA-10 Alamo-F, a longer range passive anti-radiation missile with a range of up to 70 nm (110 km)

Future and Indian Interest

AGM-88 HARM This is U.S missiles, but Indian Airforce seems to be interesting in it. May be it could be attached with the Rafale deal, with french-U.S, or Indo-US deal have to be made.

KH-58USHKE

http://eng.ktrv.ru/production_eng/323/511/540/

Are you MTCR Signatory ??
interesting missiles you go there, and oh your quote to the other guy............ pakistan already has the c602 what has been modded so it has a range of 400km+ that was easy as the original missile had a range of 400km+. same thing applies to the yj-12, well thats if pakistan goes for such an old missile which i doubt.

I have searched for an LPI Radar in Indian Armed Forces use and didnt find any. I just checked for the modern radar systems. The S-300 uses TOMBSTONE Radar which has LPI functionality, the S-400 uses GRAVESTONE Radar which doesnt have LPI functionality. The Spyder SAM system uses ELM 2106 or ELM 2084 radar, but the LPI radar of Elta is ELM 2140 and is not an Air surveillance radar but ground surveillance radar to detect ground troops. If you have information of any Land based LPI radars under use of IAF, do share.

Surprisingly,I did find an LPI Radar under Pakistan Air Force use which is Crotale system Radar. Power managed systems such as French CROTALE have been placed in land based LPI radar category. Experience has shown that CROTALE is capable of quickly acquiring a target and decreasing its transmitting power to maintain a minimal SNR. This makes it very difficult for a hostile receiver to detect unless special techniques are employed (McRitchie and McDonald 1999, ).

With the technology advancement, more and more modern Radar have LPI mode. With LPI means, that the emitting Radio waves are not scattered, rather shaped to make it difficult for the detection, also the Use of very high frequecy or quickly changing the frequency or the band, will make it difficult for the detector on board of the missile to hom toward the emission. All Modern PESA and AESA Radars are LPI radars.

Taking out an S-400 system protected by layers of many SAM's is tricky but not impossible. PAF is slowly adding ARM's to its inventory and the ranges of ARM's are increasing. It depends where IAF places an S-400, escorting SAM's and IAF aerial assets and how PAF utilizes waypoints to avoid detection,terrain camouflaging to avoid decetion, jamming, stand off weapons, ARM's, UAV's/UCAV's, decoys and electronic deception techniques.

Actually, every Modern Airforce is adding its ARM capability, and it is a must for the SEAD operation. IAF have long ago acquired this capability by acquiring the ARM missile both A2A (R-27) and A2G (KH series) Missiles, and also have Heron UAVs which could circle around the radar, pick up the target and strike it from Israel.

This may or may not be true. A switched off radar is useless in war time as it cannot guide own aircrafts for strikes also neither can it utilise SAM's rendering SAM's useless also. However AWAC's in the air can be a replacement for detecting incoming PAF strikes but again it depends how closely its flying to the border to keep an eye on incursions by PAF jets. A radar used for couple of seconds and then switched off may not be even worth destroying as its already useless. In any case, PAF will devise strategies and adjust its tactics accordingly to situation.

Sorry to Say, but this is in reality how the Radar works during war time. The radar is turned on only for few seconds to radiate its radio waves in the sky, and then put to the listening mode, to listen to the returning signals and its analysis. No radar is emitting all the time.

PAF wont be targeting SU30MKI with ARM's. PAF has many other ways to tackle SU30MKI.

I Specifically saying about the Super Sukhoi MKI with the SEAD/DEAD configuration, which would include the SIVA HADF pod -- This is the Pod, which gives the precise coordinates of the Radar, and without that, no ARM could be fired. Jammers for the protection of the planes against the SAM threat, and the Aerial Decoy MK-2 which would create number of fake targets in the sky.

interesting missiles you go there, and oh your quote to the other guy............ pakistan already has the c602 what has been modded so it has a range of 400km+ that was easy as the original missile had a range of 400km+. same thing applies to the yj-12, well thats if pakistan goes for such an old missile which i doubt.

Dear Marlin, its not the ARM missile what matters, rather the precise detection of the Radar, Airdefence that matters. For example, if you want to deliver the ARM missile on the Ground SAM system, then you can't depend on the RWR warning system to give you the coordinates, because it will only gave you the warning, type, and the direction, rather a HADF Pod, which will give the precise coordinates, which will be feed and programmed to the on board ARM missile before launching. In case of IAF, we have SIVA HADF pod, which could do the Job, so you should ask the Pakistani members how are you gonna detect the Radar, and its position.

Second, when we talk about the SEAD and the DEAD operation, now the IAF are going to get a good capability with Super Sukhoi with SEAD aka Kriniti Jammer, Aerial Decoy MK-2, Siva HADF, 6 KH-31PD ARM, and Jaguar/Rafale F3R for DEAD operation. For DEAD operation, Super Sukhoi armed with 6 Brahmos-NG per aircraft, gives hell lot of capability. Did you realized, why IAF send its Jaguars and MKI to the Nevada for the exercise in USA, so that to learn, and develop new tactics. Did you realized why IAF goes for the sucidal UAV Herons from Israel for the ARM attack on the Radar installation for the SEAD operation. Do you realized, why India is investing in K-100 Navator long range radar to target the AWAACS to make them blind. In short, to cripple our western enemy airdefence and airsuperiority within 72 hours.

LD 10 has already ignited fires on other side of border....

With the technology advancement, more and more modern Radar have LPI mode. With LPI means, that the emitting Radio waves are not scattered, rather shaped to make it difficult for the detection, also the Use of very high frequecy or quickly changing the frequency or the band, will make it difficult for the detector on board of the missile to hom toward the emission. All Modern PESA and AESA Radars are LPI radars.
Electronically Scanned Antennas (ESAs) can be used to produce irregular scan patterns by creating multiple beams to search different scan volumes at different frequencies but that alone doesnt qualify them as LPI. Need to have other properties also like ultra low side lobes, very high sensitivity range, random signal radars (RSR)(correlates the returning signal with a delayed sample of the transmitted signal) and other factors which qualify only a few AESA/PESA as LPI.
SAR and MW radars can also be LPI. FLIR/IRST system can qualify to some extent as LPI. Need to have all characteristics available

Actually, every Modern Airforce is adding its ARM capability, and it is a must for the SEAD operation. IAF have long ago acquired this capability by acquiring the ARM missile both A2A (R-27) and A2G (KH series) Missiles, and also have Heron UAVs which could circle around the radar, pick up the target and strike it from Israel.
IAF SEAD/DEAD tech can be discussed in Indian defence section, we are discussing PAF ARM capabilities here, not PAF AD systems to counter IAF ARM tech.

Sorry to Say, but this is in reality how the Radar works during war time. The radar is turned on only for few seconds to radiate its radio waves in the sky, and then put to the listening mode, to listen to the returning signals and its analysis. No radar is emitting all the time.
Although i disagree as not only SAM network gets severely affected but also radar needs to transmit next pulse to listen to its response and for that it needs to be switched on again. Anyways, lets assume its switched on for a few seconds and then switched off. The inertial guidance system of ARM can still lead the missile towards it.

I Specifically saying about the Super Sukhoi MKI with the SEAD/DEAD configuration, which would include the SIVA HADF pod -- This is the Pod, which gives the precise coordinates of the Radar, and without that, no ARM could be fired. Jammers for the protection of the planes against the SAM threat, and the Aerial Decoy MK-2 which would create number of fake targets in the sky.
May i remind you again that this thread is about SEAD/DEAD capability of PAF. I am not interested to discuss SU30MKI coming in with SEAD/DEAD config and it can be discussed in some Indian Forces section.

Expendable+decoys.jpg

Actually to be fair, the Babur & Ra'ad can be used in conventional terms and can strike Indian ground radars. The Americans have been masters of using similar subsonic cruise missiles to take out mostly Russian air defense systems in Iraq. Also to be clear, my post wasn't in regards to the Russian 300/S-400 systems but against India's fielding of robust Israeli and western ecm & jamming technology. I don't have much faith in these Russian systems which have repeatedly proven to be duds in war.

Also for detecting, I think the Erieye can detect ground radars & air defense systems. No?