Pakistan overturns sentence of doctor who helped find bin Laden

Pakistan should follow the example of US.

Charge him for endangering national security and fry him using secret evidence.

Get it over with.

Did he ever spy on the ISI, or any other agencies responsible for the nation's security? He spied on a terrorist that was wanted even in Pakistan.

It appears that the people in Pakistan are not angry that his actions might have led to a U.S. strike, rather the people are angry that his actions might have caused the demise of Osama.

The appeal, filed on June 1, 2012, said Afridi was kidnapped by Lashkar-e-Islam in 2008 and ordered to pay one million rupees ($10,660).

The tribal court had said that Afridi paid two million rupees to the group and helped to provide medical assistance to militant commanders in Khyber.

The militants have denied any links to Afridi, saying they fined him for overcharging patients, and have threatened to kill him.

Afridi had helped the CIA by running a fake vaccination campaign in Abbottabad a month before the US forces raid on a compound in Abbotabad that killed Osama bin Laden. Then-US Defence Secretary Leon Panetta confirmed Afridi had worked for US intelligence by collecting DNA to verify bin Laden’s presence.

He was picked up by Pakistani intelligence agents from near Peshawar, two weeks after the raid.

He was sentenced on May 23, 2012 to 33 years in prison and fined Rs320,000 on charges of colluding with Lashkar-i-Islam (LI) and its chief, Mangal Bagh. However, the tribal court had not entertained evidence relating to Shakil Afridi’s involvement with the CIA, citing lack of jurisdiction.

Dawn.com

Afridi had helped the CIA by running a fake vaccination campaign in Abbottabad -
Pakistan's press still says the vaccination program was fake? Amazing. Can't even trust Dawn to sort fact from fiction.

Raymond Davis Ver 2.0... But unlike ver 1.0 this is an absolutely right decision (irrespective of the reason why Pakistan made this decision). Quite a bit late, but correct nonetheless..

Did he ever spy on the ISI, or any other agencies responsible for the nation's security? He spied on a terrorist that was wanted even in Pakistan.

It appears that the people in Pakistan are not angry that his actions might have led to a U.S. strike, rather the people are angry that his actions might have caused the demise of Osama.

Colluding with a foreign intel agency is definitely a crime.

First of all , if you aren't even aware of the concept of treason then there's no point making a comment on it . Simple .

Helping , catching a wanted criminal of course is no crime , its much appreciated . On the other hand , the question is who exactly was provided that information to capture the terrorist ? The country's secret services or law enforcement or that of a foreign country for personal interests * unless sanctioned by the state itself ?

Leaving the state's interests for a second here . Assuming that a Chechen rebel is spotted in Mumbai by an Indian citizen but reported to FSB instead of RAW and Police , who then hunt him down , what do you think happens to the person who reported to FSB for monetary and other benefits in India ? Gets a Pravam Vir Chakra ? :azn:

certainly giving the information about chechen terrorists to fbi in india by an indian will not be an act of treason, and in many other countries also, at the most it could be an insult to local agencies. but you will not understand it. because the matter is not about giving info to foreign agencies, but giving info about your beloved amir, no matter how you deny this fact. whole world know it. "aapki halat us billi ki tarah hai jo aankh band karke dudh piti hai aur sochti hai ki use koi nahi dekh rahaa hai" baki log isliye nahi bol rahe hai kyonki us dudh me zaher mila hai.

Lion turned out to be the same sheep in lions clothing we had the displeasure of baring twice over in the 90's.

Dr. Afridi is a criminal, a traitor and he put the entire nation at risk. To hell with this sort of 'justice'.

Lion turned out to be the same sheep in lions clothing we had the displeasure of baring twice over in the 90's.

Dr. Afridi is a criminal, a traitor and he put the entire nation at risk. To hell with this sort of 'justice'.

The choice between doing the right thing and being patriotic is very tough...sometimes you just have to do what is right..like what Snowden did... and yes,,i would support it in India's case too

Based on the nature of his collaboration with a foreign intel agency (whether friendly or not is immaterial to the case) and his confession at having done so; and given the fact that his espionage entailed violating his oath as a doctor by administering fake vaccines and lying to his patients, it's hard to imagine a lighter sentence being handed out.

He should remain in solitary confinement. If anything, 33 years is a very light sentence to begin with. In some countries he'd have received either life in prison or the death penalty.

Contrast:

hqdefault.jpg

Alice More: Arrest him!
More: Why, what has he done?
Margaret More: He's bad!
More: There is no law against that.
Will Roper: There is! God's law!
More: Then God can arrest him.
Alice: While you talk, he's gone!
More: And go he should, if he was the Devil himself, until he broke the law!
Roper: So now you'd give the Devil benefit of law!
More: Yes. What would you do? Cut a great road through the law to get after the Devil?
Roper: I'd cut down every law in England to do that!
More: Oh? And when the last law was down, and the Devil turned 'round on you, where would you hide, Roper, the laws all being flat? This country's planted thick with laws from coast to coast– man's laws, not God's– and if you cut them down—and you're just the man to do it—do you really think you could stand upright in the winds that would blow then? Yes, I'd give the Devil benefit of law, for my own safety's sake.

Excerpt from A Man for All Seasons, a movie biography of Thomas More.

How it appears or may appear to you is irrelevant. He is being tried based on legalities, not on peoples' sentiments.

Incidentally, it was proven that he also had ties and provided largesse to a banned militant organization in Pakistan. That in itself is a serious charge.

The choice between doing the right thing and being patriotic is very tough...sometimes you just have to do what is right..like what Snowden did... and yes,,i would support it in India's case too

The two aren't as mutually exclusive as you think. Pakistani authorities could have nailed em.
But this guy was after his own personal gain, marginalizing the interests of his own nation.

Snowden and Dr Afridi are world's apart. The motives are different, the situation is different.
Also, he was on a hepatitis B drive, he betrayed the people he pretended to help.

It's a case of bruised ego mainly. It's highly questionable that Afridi knew what he was doing or who he was working for. In a real court of law the chances are high that he will be set free or will only be convicted for the charge of a false polio drive and not espionage.

Bruised ego is why india hung Afzal Guru

You of all people should keep your beaks elfy-glued shut! :laugh:

A doctor who violates Hippocratic oath shouldn't be called a "doctor!".

Contrast:

hqdefault.jpg

Alice More: Arrest him!
More: Why, what has he done?
Margaret More: He's bad!
More: There is no law against that.
Will Roper: There is! God's law!
More: Then God can arrest him.
Alice: While you talk, he's gone!
More: And go he should, if he was the Devil himself, until he broke the law!
Roper: So now you'd give the Devil benefit of law!
More: Yes. What would you do? Cut a great road through the law to get after the Devil?
Roper: I'd cut down every law in England to do that!
More: Oh? And when the last law was down, and the Devil turned 'round on you, where would you hide, Roper, the laws all being flat? This country's planted thick with laws from coast to coast– man's laws, not God's– and if you cut them down—and you're just the man to do it—do you really think you could stand upright in the winds that would blow then? Yes, I'd give the Devil benefit of law, for my own safety's sake.

Excerpt from A Man for All Seasons, a movie biography of Thomas More.

Point taken, but I have disagree, and not just because of my allegiance and any associated political predisposition.
I think you misunderstood the play on the word justice, within all confines of the law of the land and God's own laws, the man is guilty, the extent may vary.