Pakistan Lahore factory collapse: Voices heard in rubble

Maarkhoor

151105104705_lahore-factory-accident_640x360_afp_nocredit.jpg
Image copyright AFP
Image caption بھاری مشینری کی مدد سے عمارت کی اوپری منزل کا ملبہ ہٹایا جا رہا ہے
پاکستان کے صوبہ پنجاب کے دارالحکومت لاہور میں منہدم ہونے والے کارخانے کے ملبے تلے دبے افراد کو نکالنے کی کارروائیاں جمعرات کو دوسرے دن بھی جاری ہیں۔

ریسکیو حکام کے مطابق اس حادثے میں ہلاک ہونے والوں کی تعداد 19 ہوگئی ہے جبکہ خدشہ ہے کہ متعدد افراد اب بھی ملبے تلے دبے ہوئے ہیں۔

لاہور میں کارخانہ منہدم ہونے سے ہلاکتیں: تصاویر

یہ واقعہ بدھ کو شہر کے نواح میں واقع صنعتی علاقے سندر انڈسٹریل اسٹیٹ میں پیش آیا تھا جب پہلے تین منزلہ کارخانے کی چھت اور پھر پوری عمارت منہدم ہوگئی تھی۔

جائے وقوعہ پر امدادی سرگرمیوں میں 400 سے زائد افراد حصہ لے رہے ہیں جن میں ریسکیو 1122، پاک فوج، ایدھی فاؤنڈیشن جح علاوہ فلاح انسانیت فاؤنڈیشن سمیت متعدد تنظیموں کے کارکنان شامل ہیں۔

پاکستانی فوج کے شعبہ تعلقات عامہ آئی ایس پی آر نے بی بی سی کو بتایا کہ حادثے کے بعد اب تک 103 افراد کو ملبے میں سے نکالا جا چکا ہے۔

لاہور کے ضلعی رابطہ افسر کیپٹن (ر) عثمان نے بی بی سی سے بات کرتے ہوئے کہا کہ اب بھی ملبے تلے دبے لوگوں کی صحیح تعداد کے بارے حتمی طور پر کچھ نہیں کہا جا سکتا تاہم اندازہ ہے کہ مزید 50 سے 60 لوگ اب بھی دبے ہوئے ہیں۔

اس سے قبل آئی ایس پی آر نے حادثے کے وقت عمارت میں موجود افراد کی تعداد اندازاً 100 سے 150 کے درمیان بتائی تھی۔

151105104705_lahore-factory-accident_640x360_afp.jpg
Image copyright AFP
Image caption آئی ایس پی آر نے بی بی سی کو بتایا کہ حادثے کے بعد اب تک 103 افراد کو ملبے میں سے نکالا جا چکا ہے
جائے حادثہ پر موجود حکام کا کہنا ہے کہ ملبہ ہٹانے میں ابھی مزید کئی گھنٹے کا وقت لگ سکتا ہے۔

موقع پر موجود ریسکیو 1122 کے ایک اہلکار نے بتایا کہ چند گھنٹے قبل ملبے سے آوازیں سنے جانے کی اطلاعات کے بعد ملبہ ہٹانے کا عمل روکا گیا تاہم اب دوبارہ بھاری مشینری کی مدد سے عمارت کی اوپری منزل کا ملبہ ہٹایا جا رہا ہے۔

اس سے قبل ریسکیو 1122 کے اہلکار نعیم مرتضیٰ نے بی بی سی کو بتایا کہ چھ مقامات سے عمارت کے اندر جانے کے لیے مشینری کے ذریعے راستہ بنایا گیا ہے۔ انھوں نے بتایا کہ ملبے کے نیچے موجود بہت سے افراد اب بھی زندہ ہیں۔

حادثے کے بعد لاہور کے سروسز، جناح اور شریف میڈیکل سٹی میں ایمرجنسی نافذ کر دی گئی ہے۔

وزیراعلیٰ پنجاب شہباز شریف نے شریف میڈیکل سٹی اور جناح ہسپتال میں موجود زخمیوں کی عیادت کی۔ انھوں نے جائے حادثہ کا دورہ بھی کیا اور اس واقعے کی تحقیقات کا حکم دے دیا ہے۔

151105104536_lahore-factory-accident_640x360_afp.jpg
Image copyright AFP
Image caption حادثے میں ہلاک اور زخمی ہونے والوں کے لواحقین جائے حادثہ پر جمع تھے
ریسکیو کے اہلکار کا کہنا ہے کہ مذکورہ عمارت کی دو منزلوں میں شاپنگ بیگ بنانے کا کارخانہ قائم تھا اور چوتھی منزل کی تعمیر جاری تھی۔

خیال کیا جاتا ہے کہ حال ہی میں آنے والے زلزلے سے اس عمارت کو جزوی نقصان بھی پہنچا تھا۔

خیال رہے کہ لاہور میں ماضی میں بھی بوسیدہ رہائشی اور صنعتی عمارتوں کے انہدام کے واقعات میں درجنوں افراد ہلاک ہو چکے ہیں۔
’ریسکیو آپریشن میں کئی گھنٹے درکار، کم از کم 19 ہلاک‘ - BBC Urdu

A major rescue operation is under way to save dozens of people thought to be trapped under rubble after a factory collapsed in Lahore, Pakistan.

At least 20 people died when the plastic bag factory, which was under construction, collapsed on Wednesday.

Officials say the priority is to get to parts of the debris where voices and cries for help can still be heard.

The cause of the collapse is still unknown. Building safety levels are often below standard in Pakistan.

There are reports that the earthquake which hit Pakistan two weeks ago, or faulty construction work, may have contributed to the collapse.

Two floors of the factory, in the Sundar Industrial Estate on the outskirts of the city, were operational, while a third was being built.

One of the trapped workers, Liaqat Ali, was able to call a television station from his mobile phone.

"We were working on the first floor when the roof collapsed," he said.

"Now, I can hear the rumble of heavy machines which gives me hope that I will come out alive."

At the scene: Shaimaa Khalil, BBC News, Lahore

_86516833_6c5919b6-ddbd-4c72-8c66-1befe42bf064.jpg
Image copyrightAFP
Image captionRescuers hope to find more survivors before it is too late
Layer upon layer of bricks, concrete and mangled metal rods is what remains of the four-storey factory.

In the gaps between the piles of rubble you can see bits of machinery, and piles of plastic strips used for the shopping bags the factory made.

Looking at the destruction it's very hard to imagine how anyone could still be alive under there. But a rescue worker I spoke to said he could hear voices and movement and told me there is still hope some people could be pulled out alive.

Relatives of the victims have gathered outside the factory premises. Some have been waiting for hours to hear about their loved ones.

A mother told me her four sons were working at the factory when it collapsed - three were injured and pulled out, but her youngest, a 14-year-old, is still trapped.

Cranes and bulldozers are being used and the army is assisting in the rescue efforts.

About 200 labourers are thought to have been in the building at the time of the incident, according to Jam Sajjad Hussain, a spokesman for the rescue services.

Other estimates in the Pakistani media have put the figure closer to 150 people.

Mr Hussain told the BBC that 98 people had been pulled out alive and many were then taken to hospital.

He said it was difficult to know exactly how many people were still trapped because the owner and administrative employees were among those inside the building.

_86516836_e7d98624-97f3-4417-8b73-bf7b108f53e9.jpg
Image copyrightAP
Image captionRelatives of those trapped in the rubble are waiting at the scene for news
_86516955_c02d5ae8-eb09-4a41-84af-b8b2b52b271f.jpg
Image copyrightEPA
Image captionOfficials say 98 people have been rescued from the debris so far
_86504500_pakistanlahore24641115.cmp.png

The army has said that it is deploying a team of engineers and experts to take part in the rescue.

In September last year at least 24 people were killed in Lahore when the roof of a mosque collapsed.

At least 17 people - including children - were killed in a factory collapse following a gas explosion in a residential area of the city in February 2012.
Pakistan Lahore factory collapse: Voices heard in rubble - BBC News

Such a loss of innocent souls!!

Building safety law's are so insubstantial in this subcontinent... always taken granted and citizens pay the price. Hang the corrupt babus responsible for this crime.

It's sad that so many people had to die due to corruption by the authorities. It's obvious no quality checks were carried out during the construction.

Sadly, nothing will happen. Life goes on. After all a rich man's life is worth more than a poor man's life.
Justice is a selective process in our country-the rich always escape the vice of the law and the poor always end up in it. Here we are talking about it but if we are in trouble we might do the exact same thing. Save our *** and leaving the poor to fry.

A society cannot progress unless it cares for its poverty stricken and weak masses.

Justice is a selective process in our country-the rich always escape the vice of the law and the poor always end up in it. Here we are talking about it but if we are in trouble we might do the exact same thing. Save our *** and leaving the poor to fry.

A society cannot progress unless it cares for its poverty stricken and weak masses.

Sorry, talk about yourself. I have been in positions where I "could have" done the same thing, i.e. turn a blind eye and carry home a briefcase, I didn't, because my concept of Haram and Halal is very clear.

Secondly and more importantly, despite it's flaws, you don't get promotion upon promotion in the PA, for leaving those who need you, behind.

Sorry, talk about yourself. I have been in positions where I "could have" done the same thing, i.e. turn a blind eye and carry home a briefcase, I didn't, because my concept of Haram and Halal is very clear.

Secondly and more importantly, despite it's flaws, you don't get promotion upon promotion in the PA, for leaving those who need you, behind.
It is good you have a moralistic stand. But not everyone has it. I will die for my country before taking a bribe too. That is my committment.

Tajer-bekar , team strength is strong as the cement and engineers in Tajerbekar cities

Thank god to Army that their soliders tried to help , Nawaz sharif aur Shabaz sharif tu bas , Notice lete hain aur 3 Lakh ka inam detain hain because ape ki life is worth 3 lakh rupees

3,741 Dollars that is if Shabaz sharif is feeling very generous

Uk KA aek jahaz phata tha Libya se 1 Million dollar per passenger collect kiye the

oh yess... one more thing they love to announce on media "Notice le liya" hahaha aur comittee bana di

Kal ral Sheer Mithi neend soya hoga apne Palace main

"Truly! To Allah we belong and truly, to Him we shall return." "inna lillahi wa innâ ilay-hi raji'oon"