Pakistan is abandoning its LNG expansion plans because the fuel is too expensive, and instead will use more coal

Even if we have corrupt people, as long as they don’t kill the golden goose and keep electricity and food prices low and allow a level field for FDI to come in and exports to grow, we can still manage. We will always have corrupt people, but there needs to be limits on what they can touch and divert. It I agree, Subsidies to unproductive enterprises need to end. Money should go to what will make us money for the long term, education and better healthcare and cheap electricity.

It’s the most realistic way.

At least they are seeing the light and gifting to domestic coal.

Just wait for the world to chastise Pakistan for going for coal, even though we make only 25% of global coal emissions per capita. This is why we need to move fast and get technology to build these mega plants completely in house, so we can never be cut off and our plants to re-industrialize can not be stopped.

Also, they want to lower our birth rate (which we need to grow on track to attract investors for decades to come and counter balance Indian plans for hegemony), but despite the burden with more electricity and dams we can grow our arable land by 55% which is approximately how much our population is expected to grow by 2050. At the same time we just need to adopt modern agriculture technologies to grow our crop yields by 3-5x, giving us more than enough food for the people and money from value added products made from those crops through exports.

But for all this we need cheap cheap electricity.

From 7:50-9:00 (built to the highest emissions standards in the US, Europe/Germany and Japan)

Also according to this video, these plants require a lot of water. Hopefully this will galvanize the need to manage our water supply better, along with the need to control floods , through the buildings of the Pakistani flood control system. In this way a canal can be built along the coast (where industry should be build; near ports and away from entrenched political figures in new industrial cities like gwadar) and coal plants can be built on the coast. Hub is already located on the coast, it should expanded and and the gird extend to Gwadar so we can completely free of dependence on Iran

Btw, once the technology is acquired and one mega plant is built and operational, it can be a very visible project that could attract FDI from overseas Pakistanis looking to invest in domestic power plants and help the country for a modest profit on a BOT model (still cheaper then imported oil prices), so eventually the plant will be owned by the state and the electricity costs can be brought down even further. In this way, getting these plants online can happen faster and we can move away from imported oil and gas. With cheap electricity we can also switch to electric cars, motorcycles and rickshaws, perhaps even making them in Pakistan. Creating another industry that can export products to the world.

If we build these plants on the coast we can build a 300 mile electricity (for about $2.5 Billion) electric to Oman and even sell to the GCC. Allowing investors to recoup invest ASAP if the GCC agrees to the deal. Perhaps we can arrange for a GCC-Pakistan-India oil/gas pipeline so India would buy less oil from Iran, and Pakistan could ditch the Iran-Pakistan-India pipeline. (India’s gonna buy oil and gas from the GCC, might as well make money off of it, and make it easier to attract a FDI for a new refinery)

Energy independence makes a huge difference in how a country’s prospects
COAL, BEAUTIFUL COAL

You cannot make any progress with Sharif and Zardari clan in power. This is an old experiment that has failed countless times.

Pakistan is most likely heading towards economic collapse. A few loans here and there won't solve the problem.

Energy can wait. Priority is Pakistani economy.

Bohat hi bade ********** hai.

Power generation is not a simple science.

You need a multi year plan.

Short term
- Increase energy prices to consumers
- Squeeze the IPPs as they are the main cause of huge debt (signed off by Noonies and Pipliyas)
- Work on renewable projects that can come online quick (wind, solar, biofuel etc)
- Current coal power plants can use a small mix of low quality local coal
- Do something about Iranian gas pipeline
- Ban energy guzzling electrical appliances

Medium term
- Build small scale hydro power projects
- Build power plants that rely on domestic raw materials (coal from Thar is of low quality)
- Look for offshore gas reserves
- Commission more nuclear plants
- Encourage residential to switch to renewals through net metering

Long term
- Build large scale hydro power projects
- Build large scale renewable energy projects

You can’t just make blanket statements on twitter. These boomer uncle bharways are leading us to nowhere.

Look at Sahiwal Coal Power Plant project. That project was an example of what not to do. You build a power plant bang in the middle of prime agricultural land, import coal, that needs to be transported via sea and then through rail to Sahiwal. And add to the fact the transmission overheads. How cheap electricity would the plant be producing. A huge f-ck up tbh.
How?
IPPs will get you put on you on dance in international litigation
You can't renegotiate already sign deals
Anyway we tried and failed

Their is no coming back when you comit suicide same is true for signing deals

Sahiwal project employees are happy ask them. Now if the whole country is fucked who cares

I think plan should
1- suck it pay for high price slabs for IPPs
2- continue exports subsidy
3- add mix of solar-hydro (and nuclear if China is ready to give loans)
4- convert all gas and furnace oil to local coal

(can't convert the LNG Plants they are build for gas)

Suddenly the fvckers woke up and realized that coal also exists.

LOL Of course these morons are going to backtrack after papa America dictates that coal is bad for the environment.
True, unfortunately

Coal power plants operating currently can’t just be switched to local coal. The quality of local coal is not upto the mark.

But yes, there are many ways to skin the cat.

How?
IPPs will get you put on you on dance in international litigation
You can't renegotiate already sign deals
Anyway we tried and failed

Their is no coming back when you comit suicide same is true for signing deals

Sahiwal project employees are happy ask them. Now if the whole country is fucked who cares

I think plan should
1- suck it pay for high price slabs for IPPs
2- continue exports subsidy
3- add mix of solar-hydro (and nuclear if China is ready to give loans)
4- convert all gas and furnace oil to local coal

(can't convert the LNG Plants they are build for gas)
why have not pakistani expatriates invested in IPPs ?

True, unfortunately

How many times in the past have we heard that Pakistan sits on one of the largest coal reserves? How many times have we heard that Balochistan is sitting on top of huge mineral and natural resources? How many times have we heard that Pakistan has discovered huge oil and gas reserves?

You will hear a lot of noise in Pakistan. Now, coal has again been discovered, but absolutely nothing will happen. One phone call from daddy America and the stooges won't mention coal anymore.

IMF dictates Pakistan. IMF belongs to Western nations. Therefore Western nations own Pakistan. Pakistanis can create as many plans as they like. As long as the Americans don't approve the plan it will only remain a plan on paper.

How many times in the past have we heard that Pakistan sits on one of the largest coal reserves? How many times have we heard that Balochistan is sitting on top of huge mineral and natural resources? How many times have we heard that Pakistan has discovered huge oil and gas reserves?

You will hear a lot of noise in Pakistan. Now, coal has again been discovered, but absolutely nothing will happen. One phone call from daddy America and the stooges won't mention coal anymore.

IMF dictates Pakistan. IMF belongs to Western nations. Therefore Western nations own Pakistan. Pakistanis can create as many plans as they like. As long as the Americans don't approve the plan it will only remain a plan on paper.
Poor quality coal
Coal failed because Pakistan doesn't want to spend its own money wants WB to fund it

I think this thread is just talk because election is 6 months away so nothing will be build and imran khan was already working on hydro dams.

Next govt will work on this and pmln will call its their plan like always
Agree bilawal is our next pm

There should be more nuclear power plants IMO. Also get investment for Solar farms, windmills.

You cannot make any progress with Sharif and Zardari clan in power. This is an old experiment that has failed countless times.

Pakistan is most likely heading towards economic collapse. A few loans here and there won't solve the problem.

Energy can wait. Priority is Pakistani economy.
They serve at the mercy of the system and if the system needs them out, they they will have to be let go, and someone will fill their seats in whatever new version of PPP and PML-(Formerly N).

IMF dictates Pakistan
If Pakistan doesn't call IMF, IMF will be among the happiest of organizations. IMF's goal is to not have countries call it. It is like a Fire engine station or Emergency room of a hospital. They are there but would rather people do not call them.

Classical Desi attitude

Pakistani vote for biryani and now blaming IMF.

Bhai who told to vote for biryani and make up.

That is true. Countries approach IMF and Pakistan has set a record in this regard.

Energy security talks with US next month

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan and United States are all set to hold ‘Energy Security Dialogue’ on March 15, 2023 in Islamabad which would provide an opportunity to discuss TAPI, CASA-1000, purchase of US LNG and issues related to purchase of Russian oil, well informed sources told Business Recorder.

https://www.brecorder.com/news/40226146

The Americans are going to decide Pakistan's energy plan.