Pakistan F-16 Discussions 2

watch

first flight of PAF BK 52 F-16

nya aya hai bhai lagta hai ye viedeo dekh dekh ker to mery bal sufaid ho gai yaar.:D

Why more F-16s?

Pakistan should have enhanced its local defence industry with the help of its Chinese friends so that in future no other nation uses us only at the time of its need and later dumps us. Prudence demands that you learn your lessons from history and mistakes made in the past. Unfortunately, we get temporarily blinded by the glamour of the west, the numerous trips we get to make to the US for training or procurement and tend to spurn the professional and hardcore attitude of our allies in the east, till we get rebuffed and ditched.

Why more F-16s?

It is not the glamour of the west alone---it is the immediate threat coming from across the border---it also the highly superior american technology tyhat pak is getting---.

You people need to understand and acknowledge---when you are fighting a war with an enemy with superior weaponary and numbers---you got to counter it with better.

F 16 BLK 52 is an exteremly superior weapon system in its class and to date it can take out any of the opponents weapons systems mano am mano without prejudice.

America has given us what we wanted in that plane---albeit a few minor compromises---even though I am extremely critical of paf and its procurement----but I want to clear this with many posters---if the PAF had not felt that the BLK 52 could meet and greet the enemy in the air and on the ground0----they would have gone a different route---.

Now as for the chinese weapons systems and fire control radar---china is about 5 --- 8 years behind or more where the americans are on our BLK 52---.

I agree with you that we should have learnt our lesson from history---and learnt to use the americans in a better and an efficient manner---which means that when you agree to do a job----then don't scowl and make faces----do it with a smile on your face even if it tears your heart out---don't let them see you sweat----and do the bidding as if there is no tomorrow.

Instead of burning the u s flag and bashing u s in public forums and hurling threats----if the nation would have flocked itself together like a flock of covey---and stood together instead of being split in a thousand houses---we would not have had to worry about any issues.

As long as pak steps up its strikes against the al qaeda and their cohorts---there won't be any issues---and amwerica can't get out of afg at this time----looks like we may have secured the barn door for atleast for another 5 years.

☪☪☪☪;957952 said:
I think the Mirages of No5 sqd would be phased out and replaced with F16's.- Tailchoppers might be equipped with J10 later on however Griffins or Arrows Squardon might get J10's.Which jet's Tailchoppers is currently operating?

14 sqn is equipped with F-7Ps.

It could be how it was set up or that the UK sent rookie Typhoon pilots to the Anatolian Eagle. The typhoon's avionics and maneuverability/performance is far beyond an F-16.

Anyway i found the video AE-09/2 Training

YouTube - ?????? Anatolian Eagle 09 2
Typhoons take off at 6:12 after the F-4s.

PAF was not in this one though. So unless it was part of the exchange program idk where else they would encounter typhoons.

AE-07/2 Training was the only one PAF and the UK both joined.

While I am not going to comment on the content of the interview, Italians have flown their "leased" F-16s against their own Typhoons. What they found out was that in low level profiles, the F-16 could handle the Typhoon well enough in close in combat, however at medium and higher altitudes, Typhoon's superior TWR helped. A couple of things to be mindful of is that Italians fly loaned A/Bs which are blk15 ADFs of the USAF and do not have the latest avionics nor updated queuing system and HOBS AAMs.

The point made was about DACT at close range. The USAF thinks it can handle the Typhoon in close in combat even with F-15s (which is less maneuverable than the F-16s) if equipped with JHMCS. Despite Typhoon's Captor PD radars range, its standoff reach is the same as what is available to any aircraft flying an AIM-120C5 class BVRAAM. At higher altitude, the Typhoon could very well maneuver into a more favorable position, but that is something that has to be exploited (at least the RAF pilots are fully capable of exploiting that as they get used to the type).

While I am not going to comment on the content of the interview, Italians have flown their "leased" F-16s against their own Typhoons. What they found out was that in low level profiles, the F-16 could handle the Typhoon well enough in close in combat, however at medium and higher altitudes, Typhoon's superior TWR helped. A couple of things to be mindful of is that Italians fly loaned A/Bs which are blk15 ADFs of the USAF and do not have the latest avionics nor updated queuing system and HOBS AAMs.

The point made was about DACT at close range. The USAF thinks it can handle the Typhoon in close in combat even with F-15s (which is less maneuverable than the F-16s) if equipped with JHMCS. Despite Typhoon's Captor PD radars range, its standoff reach is the same as what is available to any aircraft flying an AIM-120C5 class BVRAAM. At higher altitude, the Typhoon could very well maneuver into a more favorable position, but that is something that has to be exploited (at least the RAF pilots are fully capable of exploiting that as they get used to the type).

This all of course depends on the pilots as was the case with the SU-30MKIs at Red Flag. Typhoons can be exploited just like the F-16 can be exploited. The typhoon does have the overall advantage in a air to air engagement though.

Part of the advantage is due to TWR etc. If the F-16 finds the Typhoon in a close in situation at a favourable altitude, then the F-16 is at equal footing. This was the point of the Italians. Someone who knows about the strengths and weaknesses of both platforms (like the Italians) would ensure that Typhoon does not play to F-16's strength and on the other hand the F-16 pilot would try to ensure that the fight stays at an altitude where the F-16 has sufficient energy to keep up with the Typhoon.

Secondly, this is in the WVR arena, in BVR, I think the newer versions of F-16s with AIM-120C5s/Ds and updated radars would pose considerable challenge to the Typhoons.

Part of the advantage is due to TWR etc. If the F-16 finds the Typhoon in a close in situation at a favourable altitude, then the F-16 is at equal footing. This was the point of the Italians. Someone who knows about the strengths and weaknesses of both platforms (like the Italians) would ensure that Typhoon does not play to F-16's strength and on the other hand the F-16 pilot would try to ensure that the fight stays at an altitude where the F-16 has sufficient energy to keep up with the Typhoon.

Secondly, this is in the WVR arena, in BVR, I think the newer versions of F-16s with AIM-120C5s/Ds and updated radars would pose considerable challenge to the Typhoons.

Well the Block 60s would certainly be a threat anything below won't as Eurofighters will have Meteor integration which i would put above the AIM-120C version. Plus the CAESAR radar would rival and possibly pass up the AN/APG-80 AESA.

IF you give the same pilot the same flight hours in both aircraft he would end up being a bigger threat in the Eurofighter then the F-16.

The Typhoon is still a maturing platform so give it sometime.

Well the Block 60s would certainly be a threat anything below won't as Eurofighters will have Meteor integration which i would put above the AIM-120C version. Plus the CAESAR radar would rival and possibly pass up the AN/APG-80 AESA.

IF you give the same pilot the same flight hours in both aircraft he would end up being a bigger threat in the Eurofighter then the F-16.

The Typhoon is still a maturing platform so give it sometime.

Jigs, Both CAESAR and Meteor integration are down the line (latter not before 2015, years after AIM-120D induction, and CAESAR is even farther off). If you speak about what current Typhoon operators are using, their BVR capabilities are in the same league as those of the blk-50/60 F-16s. In the future, F-16s would also be fielding AIM-120Ds which would give them even longer reach in terms of operational BVR AAMs. Most of the capabilities that are being envisaged for the Typhoon to fulfill its multirole, are already available with the newer blocks of F-16. Yes in certain areas Typhoon may have better options, however, overall, the difference isn't really that great.

Typhoon is a nice aircraft but about 15 years too late. This is something that many in Europe are saying themselves too. Typhoon has yet to attain a full MR capability and if (some countries are not even bothering with a MR configuration) and when it does, it will happen around the same time as some of these very nations will be receiving their F-35s.

There are too many jobs and too much European pride riding the Eurofighter program for it to be shelved now in view of what is available to Europe in the form of the F-35.