Pakistan as a transit trade and tourism hub

Neo

RETIRED

New Recruit

Pakistan as a transit trade and tourism hub

ARTICLE (February 01 2008): Pakistan is blessed with a unique position in the world geography, situated as it is on the cross roads of East and West, and as one of the choicest corridors connecting the land-locked Central Asian States to the open sea.

The sea and air connections to the outside world are well known, and need no repetition, even if the ground realities demand serious attention for improvement. However, the land borders with neighbours (China, Afghanistan, Iran, and India) deserve more consideration than has been the case so far.

THERE ARE SEVERAL CROSSING POINTS ON THE POROUS BORDERS, BUT THE MAIN OFFICIAL OUTPOSTS, WITH FORMAL PARAPHERNALIA, ARE:

1. North (Chinese Border): Khunjerab along the historical Silk Road

2. N. West (Afghanistan): Khyber (NWFP) and Chaman (Balochistan West (Iran): 3.West (Iran) Taftan and Gwadar (Balochistan)

4 East (India): Wagah (Punjab) and Khokhrapar (Sindh)

a) KHUNJERAB:

The road starting from Rawalpindi, and travelling through Hassan Abdal, Abbottabad, Mansehra, onto Besham, runs from that point on, parallel to the River Indus in its northern reaches, via Karakoram Ranges.

It passes through Chilas (skirting Nanga Parbat peak, 8126 metres above sea level) to reach Gilgit, where it changes course along Hunza River. Passing Baltit (Hunza), it travels on through Karakoram Range passes, via Misgar and Bara Khun, to reach Khunjerab Pass, which is the gateway to Sinkiang province of China.

The road is hazardous, built at a tremendous cost of lives with the help of Chinese engineers, and it becomes snow-bound and impossible to travel throughout the winter months. It remains closed for traffic for nearly six months of the year.

The road passes through one of the world's most scenic spots along lofty peaks which are among the world's ten highest (after Everest) and a great tourist attraction. The pristine natural beauty is simply breathtaking, but very few hardy and venturesome souls can reach there.

Developing the infrastructure (hotels, restaurants, telecom facilities, fuel supplies and other amenities along the route) supplemented by worldwide publicity will invite hordes of tourists and nature-lovers. That will give a great fillip to the local economy, besides bringing in valuable foreign exchange,

Widening the roads, and making them safe for vehicular traffic will give a great boost to trade, not only with China, but also with Tajikistan and other neighbours, who have contiguous borders with China. A concerted diplomatic drive, to attract customers, is needed to open-up immense possibilities of transit trade, in addition to tourism.

b) KHYBER:

A few miles out of Peshawar, on the road to Jalalabad (Afghanistan), lies the renowned Khyber Pass, a gateway from times immemorial for adventurers and invaders, tourists and traders of all hues and description. One significant feature of this route and territories alongside it, has been some turbulent and militant tribes inhabiting the area.

Peace in this area will also boost transit trade in the region, for cargoes destined to entire South and South East Asia and farther afield, in their transactions with the land-locked Central Asian States.

An important aspect of this development will be the facilitation of import of energy (oil, gas, and electric power) from the exporting countries of Central Asia to the power hungry sub-continent.

Tourism, of course, will be additional icing on the cake, as the route will open vistas as far west as Europe, to the farthest corners of Asia-Pacific region.

c) CHAMAN:

Straddling the southern border of Afghanistan, Chaman has been the transit point for cross-border trade in produce (fruits, - fresh and dry - woollens, rugs, handicrafts, and essential food items and consumables of all description) for centuries. The wars in Afghanistan have affected the area badly, and the influx of refugees and their concomitant smuggling operations - merchandise as well as the detestable arms and drugs - have compounded the problems for achieving a decent, peaceful atmosphere for normal trade. Some foreign elements are also engaged in queering the pitch, for their own interests, one of which is to create problems for Pakistan.

The unsettled state of affairs in the Balochistan province does nothing to ease this situation. The potential for prosperity for the people of Pakistan and Afghanistan, once peace returns to the province of Balochistan, is tremendous.

d) TAFTAN:

On the extreme western border of Balochistan in the north, astride the triangle where the borders of Pakistan, Afghanistan and Iran meet, and close to the copper belt of Saindak, lies Taftan. Besides the road from Quetta, it is also linked by rail that goes from Quetta to Zahidan (Iran) operated by Pakistan Railways. Unfortunately, the state of the railway coaches and its schedule of operations (frequency of services) leave much to be desired.

The train passes through desolated arid deserts and dry hills, where water, even for drinking, is scarce, and the wayside restaurants and bus stops are nothing to be proud of. Worse still is the customs outpost on Pakistan side of the border, where cleanliness is a word nobody ever heard of, to say nothing of the apathetic and often derogatory attitude of the officials towards the travellers and visitors to and from abroad.

Taftan is a vital gateway to Iran and beyond. Pilgrims and others travel to Iran, Iraq, Syria, Turkey and onto Europe even, along this route, quite often. The contrast from the other side of the border, Mir Javeh (Iran), is so striking that one hangs his head in shame for being a Pakistani. It is high time some higher ups visit the place to set things right, as Taftan has the potential to become a focal point of mass transit - both for men and materials, from near and far.

d) GWADAR:

Besides being a free port in the making, Gwadar is also significant as a land route point to and from Chahbahar (Iran), a few miles away to its west.

Situated as it is on the coast of Sea of Oman, overlooking the Strait of Hormuz and Gulf, with the deep waters of Arabian Sea in the south, Gwadar is meant to be the gateway for much of Central Asia. In addition, its potential as a land border towards Syria, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, etc) cannot be overlooked for trade and tourism, to say nothing of the pilgrimage traffic. Its development possibilities must be seriously looked into, as the future is great.

e) EASTERN BORDER POSTS

WAGAH AND KHOKHRAPAR:

One can only hope for an improvement in the situation, which will greatly benefit not only Pakistan and India, but also, all the Saarc countries, as well as the entire Middle East Region, Central Asian states and South-East Asia. Possibilities could extend to the Oceania and regions on the periphery of the Pacific, all the way to South America in the East.

On the Western side, even countries in Europe and North Africa could benefit from opening of these routes to human and goods traffic, affording huge opportunities to Pakistan for lucrative returns.

To sum up, a set of imperatives are needed to be put in place, in order to optimise the potential benefits of the land, as well as the sea and air routes for inland destinations.

THESE ARE:

i) Upgrading the roads and railways to an international standard, with proper maintenance.

ii) Proper facilities on the ground for handling the traffic, whether people or cargoes.

iii) Deployment of a courteous and correct officialdom, at all strategic points

iv) Inculcation of the habit and culture of cleanliness in our own people, in all its manifestations

v) Promotion of the possibilities and potentials of Pakistan as a destination as well as a transit route, to attract world attention.

vi) Training guides for tourists, and consular staff for promotion of trade and associated affairs.

vii) Educating public for being courteous and helpful to well-meaning foreigners, and last, but not the least:

viii) Restoration of peace and tranquillity to the land, to make all this possible.

Some foreign countries owe their economic prosperity exclusively or mainly to tourist trade. Examples: Greece, Spain and Thailand.

Why can't we in Pakistan emulate their example?

Secondly, with WTO looming large on the horizon, we cannot afford to be isolated. To ignore this fact will be at our own peril.

Business Recorder [Pakistan's First Financial Daily]

How Baluch will allow us to develop tourism and trade in proince, we are killing them, using gunship helicopters regularly,our jawans are harassing, disappearing them, killing and arresting their leaders. We need to change our policy, Baluchistan prove as a economic hub but as well as hell for all of us if we continued our actions.

We need to review our plans, release their leaders and missing persons, establish open courts and trial their arrested fararis, compensate displaced people, and let Baloch people to rule their province.

I worked for few months in NADRA, we had a policy to encourage Punjabi and Pushtoons and discouraging Baluch youth without any reason. If we dont respect and trust hem then why they should respect and trust us.

OUR military and para-military forces (mostly Punjabi & Pushtoons) are traeting Baluch like animals.

I am afraid we are loosing Baluchistan very fastly........

Just remember what we do for the balochs in the past we almost forget them .. but now things are changing and hope fully in some time things going to cool and camm when they have work in there own area , every one is happy when he is earning money extra then its need's.

Lets seee time will change many thing's ..

and Inshallah we are not loosing any thing.... Not a Single inch of this Presious Land :pakistan:

How Baluch will allow us to develop tourism and trade in proince, we are killing them, using gunship helicopters regularly,our jawans are harassing, disappearing them, killing and arresting their leaders. We need to change our policy, Baluchistan prove as a economic hub but as well as hell for all of us if we continued our actions.

We need to review our plans, release their leaders and missing persons, establish open courts and trial their arrested fararis, compensate displaced people, and let Baloch people to rule their province.

I worked for few months in NADRA, we had a policy to encourage Punjabi and Pushtoons and discouraging Baluch youth without any reason. If we dont respect and trust hem then why they should respect and trust us.

OUR military and para-military forces (mostly Punjabi & Pushtoons) are traeting Baluch like animals.

Obviously an Indian pretending to be Pakistani.

Balochistan is pretty quiet. Always has been, except for one every 10 years they manage to blow up a pipeline or a helicopter. I'm sure New York or Delhi sees worse violence than Balochistan.

Why dont you tell us which part of India you are really from, and you might actually get half serious replies. I mean, that was not even a question, just a rant.
I take it as you have never been to Pakistan if you think we refer to each other by ethnic groups like that.

wth, another indian in desguise? when will we get rid of them once for all? Probably never knowing the nature of these peoples.

I've never been a big fan of these strategic based projections. IMHO Pakistan has suffered a great deal from this strategic culture. It's time the emphasis was taken away from the supposedly indispensable geostrategic importance of the country and put where it rightly belongs... genuine national building and human development. If the latter two are lacking, the importance of a warm water port on the Arabian sea, or the Khyber pass will mean very little.

A good post, Energon. A lot of hard work is required to build a nation and there is no short cut to that.

This kind of talk appears to be more of a rent seeking mentality which can never work for a country of 160 million plus people.

I've never been a big fan of these strategic based projections. IMHO Pakistan has suffered a great deal from this strategic culture. It's time the emphasis was taken away from the supposedly indispensable geostrategic importance of the country and put where it rightly belongs... genuine national building and human development. If the latter two are lacking, the importance of a warm water port on the Arabian sea, or the Khyber pass will mean very little.

I don't think the "strategic projections" are meant to replace "genuine nation building", but rather to augment that nation building and act in support of it - more along the lines of a catalyst. The revenues generated from such projects would provide the fiscal space to undertake "nation building projects" to a much larger degree than would be possible in their absence. The majority of these projects are being externally financed anyway, so GoP resources being diverted from nation building projects are minimal.

Even if some resources that could be utilized elsewhere end up going into such projects, an analysis of the revenue growth projected from the successful completion of such projects against the situation ten years down the road in their absence needs to be taken into account as well. At this point I don't see how a cost-benefit analysis on the nation as a whole can be against undertaking such ventures.

I think what Energon is trying to say, is that Pakistan has focussed on matters outside its own borders, and been obsessed with securing its own strategic position, while ignoring internal problems at its own peril.
The reasons behind this are varied, ranging from emotion-driven politics to Chauvinistic Military rulers....

^^^ Within the context of the thread I can only assume that he was referring to the Gwader port and assorted pipeline and transit trade based "strategic projections".

I think the debate on "ignoring internal problems" in pursuit of "geo strategic importance" is a matter for a different thread, and involves a lot more than what the above statement implies. It would be wrong, for example, to ignore the historical animosity between India and Pakistan, unsettled territorial issues etc. while analyzing any such "neglect" or "bad policies" on the part of Pakistan. But that takes the thread away from the much narrower scope of "trade based strategic importance".

Pakistan will have to adopt secularism if it wants people to visit pak!!

Even if taliban ends up in pak in next 1-2 yrs,it will atleast take 5 years for pak to become completely stable!

People are not really interested in promoting hindu and sikh pilgrimage !!

Taxila,mohonjodro,harappa,Mt Kailash and nankana sahab are major tourists spot in pakistan!!!
There are some muslims shrines!!

But without adopting secular culture,its difficult to promote tourism !

People can only become secular if textbooks teach them secular history!

By reading secular people will not only learn to be tolerant but they will get to know their real history!!They will also learn to promote their history,nationalism!!

For promoting tourism, pak should learn from turkey and malaysia!!

Turkey is 98% muslim,still its secular,and same goes for malaysia!

Malaysia is a famous tourism destination in asia!!Most of tourist are non-muslims.it receives more tourists than india!!
6 laks indians visit malaysia yearly!Only few are muslims!!

Python Ji,

People don't visit countries that are simply "secular" - they visit countries that are interesting and "safe". On the safety issue we have a bit of a perception problem that is indeed linked to the Taliban, and will not be resolved until some manner of peace is attained in the Tribal belt, but a lack of secularism is not the issue.

There is quite a bit more to Pakistan than what you mentioned. Check out the General images threads (Karachi, Lahore Islamabad) and this thread:

http://www.defence.pk/forums/general-images-multimedia/8507-beautiful-pakistan.html

My post was actually based on the basic premise of the original article which was aptly put forth in its very first paragraph:
Business Recorder said:
Pakistan is blessed with a unique position in the world geography, situated as it is on the cross roads of East and West, and as one of the choicest corridors connecting the land-locked Central Asian States to the open sea.
Although all the information listed in the article is sound, none of it can really be put to good use unless other more critical issues concerning basic human and societal development are first addressed. On account of a variety of complex reasons, these rudimentary factors have never been given much attention; instead, leaders have always chosen to concentrate on the geocentric assets of Pakistan to forge relationships with more powerful nations in hopes to expedite development. Furthermore, the impression has always been that what Pakistan has to offer to the highest bidder is indispensible, akin to the petroleum reserves of the Gulf states; obviously banking on this strategy hasn't yielded much in terms of benefit.
In the mean time, there has been so little in terms of human development that in some places the fabric of society itself has been severely compromised. It should hence come of no surprise that significant portions of the population have taken to radicalism that indoctrinates its followers with "other worldliness" and/or "world worthlessness"

I'm not saying that the listed assets are devoid of value, or that they shouldn’t be exploited; surely they warrant development. However there are more important preambles that need to be fulfilled first. Nobody will truly take long term, serious, and healthy interests in Pakistan, especially as a hub for trade, until the basic issues of societal stability are aggressively tackled. Hence, before discussing how important Pakistan may be for the world, first there needs to be serious introspection on how Pakistan can aptly take care of its own people and acquire basic nation building competency through establishment of civil service organization, institutions, centralized law and order etc.

This is a mammoth project that will take at least a couple of decades; and until then deserves to be the center of all meaningful discussions related to future development.

Energon,

I guess we both read that part with a slightly different perspective - I don't disagree with your assertion that basic human and societal development needs to be taken into account, nor do I disagree that they have been neglected, I was merely arguing that within the scope of the projects/vision mentioned in the article, there isn't necessarily any room for criticism.

On the other hand, I completely agree with the views you expressed that Pakistan has for too long focused on mere rhetoric about its "geo strategic position" and not undertaken any of the human and social development projects that would allow it to truly take advantage of its position. A marked improvement has however been seen in recent years on this count, and we will hopefully continue to improve.