Pak to restore temple pond with 'Shiva's tears'

Jade

Some people in Pakistan's government circles believe that the restoration of the Katas Raj temple and its holy pond has been ordered in view of the likely visit of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh to Chakwal, reports Amir Mir

Under instructions from President Asif Ali Zardari, Pakistani authorities are finally taking measures to preserve the sacred Hindu pond at the Katas Raj Temple, which is located in Chakwal district of Pakistani Punjab. The pond had been drying up at a rapid pace due to the environmental degradation caused by the construction of industrial complexes in nearby areas.

The Katas Raj temple, built between 650 and 950 AD, attracts a large number of Hindu pilgrims from India and Pakistan during early spring and autumn. They visit the site to bathe in the holy lake, as part of an ablution ritual, to 'wash off their sins'.

According to Hindu mythology, the holy pond at the Katas Raj Temple in Choha Saidan Shah area near Chakwal was formed by the tears of Lord Shiva, which he is believed to have shed after the sudden death of his wife Sati.

When Sati died, Lord Shiva cried so much and for so long that his tears created two holy ponds -- one at Pushkar in Ajmer and the other at Ketaksha, which literally means raining eyes, in Sanskrit. The word Katas was eventually derived from Ketaksha.

The Pandava brothers had spent a substantial part of their exile at the site in Chakwal and Katas is mentioned in the Mahabharata.

The epic states that once Pandavas came across a lake and were about to quench their thirst. A Yaksha, the protector of the lake, appeared and said only those who rightly answer his questions would be allowed to drink water. Four of the Pandavas failed and were made lifeless by the Yaksha. But the eldest and wisest of them all, Yudhishtira, was able to answer all his questions, following which his brothers were revived.

Pak to restore temple pond with 'Shiva's tears' - Rediff.com News

Good gesture. Indian tourists can be lured to visit Pakistan. More cultural exchange is needed. Hope no one tries to harm this process.

Peace process should be made an utmost priority so that both govt.s can focus on their internal problems which is growing day by day.

Lets get rid of internal extremists and leave each others throats for just one decade atleast. We can fight, if we want, to after that...

Will pakistan show the same enthusiasm to restore and repair its century old canal system so that they dont have to blame india for their mismanagement of water resources????

You have to ruin the party. Don't you think the departments will be different.

And issues don't have any other common denominator except it includes both India and Pakistan word.

Bringing and presenting truth is an art, you just don't have to present in each other thread.

Members on both member are not on each other's throats on this news but you have provided one.

Make another thread to discuss this and don't derail it.

You do like to be centre of controversies on PDF. Kindly spare this thread. Let us enjoy renovation of our temples.

hat's off n crore salute to the peaceloving neighbourer pak for such great act. i am speechless to express the gratitude to you. from 100 billion secular indians & congress govt i thank u. all seculars plz congratulate pak for such wonderful act.

Any Islamic country would not advocate the restoration or construction of a temple as it is against the teachings of Islam where Idol worship is banned in any form. Pakistan too has been created on Islamic principles only catering to the interest of Islam.
It's a brave effort if they are genuinely going for the restoration of the said temple. But will the majority muslims support this effort, that's to be seen.

You have to ruin the party. Don't you think the departments will be different.

And issues don't have any other common denominator except it includes both India and Pakistan word.

Bringing and presenting truth is an art, you just don't have to present in each other thread.

Members on both member are not on each other's throats on this news but you have provided one.

Make another thread to discuss this and don't derail it.

You do like to be centre of controversies on PDF. Kindly spare this thread. Let us enjoy renovation of our temples.
Its not my problem if you interpret my post wrongly.Tell me on the list of priorities which is the most important?Arey jo kaam zaroori hai woh karo pahale.Same thing going on in india with akbarabadi mosque and delhi metro.

Its not my problem if you interpret my post wrongly.Tell me on the list of priorities which is the most important?Arey jo kaam zaroori hai woh karo pahale.Same thing going on in india with akrabadi mosque and delhi metro.
Ma'am I think you don't understand the importance of public perception and confidence building measures. Such acts will help in convincing people that peace is possible then only govt. can go ahead. Do you think our govt. will go forward if Indian populace don't want to have peace with Pakistan. They want to come to power next time.

Indian people are too emotional. resolving water dispute means nothing to us, renovating temple is way better news for 80% hindus in India. Look at the posts here. How people who openly criticize Pakistan in every thread are praising their efforts with high regards.

An average person in India do the job, take care of family and one thing mostly, Prayers to God. He don't think about water issues with Pakistan. He thinks of god everyday. Its a psychological effort.

Go an tell any people that you meet today that Pakistan is renovating hindu temples. may be they will praise Pakistan for first time in their life.

These are not lone step, its a part of the mechanism to bring the peace. Hope you can look at bigger picture.

Any Islamic country would not advocate the restoration or construction of a temple as it is against the teachings of Islam where Idol worship is banned in any form. Pakistan too has been created on Islamic principles only catering to the interest of Islam.
It's a brave effort if they are genuinely going for the restoration of the said temple. But will the majority muslims support this effort, that's to be seen.

Islam forbids Idol worship but those that practise it cannot be stopped from doing it, conversion by force or coercion is a sin.
BTW, I'm happy that the govt has taken such steps, these temples are an important part of our cultural heritage and must be protected, the comments over at Rediff are less than encouraging but...........Haters gonna Hate!

Its their temple, if they don't do it. Who will?

Actually the temple falls in the jurisdiction of the Pakistan Hindu Association, basically a collection of Important Pakistani Hindus who took the responsibility of maintaining temples from the govt back in the 60s. So it's not the government's responsibility in actual case.