Pak Suzuki ready to invest $460m if new auto policy revised

Yes, i had that gut feeling , but still remained stuck to the original claim of their's.
Time changes.It's quite possible if they are kept occupied in "other things" they may let this actually happen to make some retarded political slogan out of it for later usage.

Once one gets past the political aspects, then still remain the problems of making an actual business case. The Pakistani market, for all its rapid growth, is simply not large enough to merit its own modern manufacturing plants, given that there is excess capacity available elsewhere for all the possible new entrants.

Yeah, that's what I am afraid of too. It's because of the massive bribes that the auto assemblers pay actively to ensure that their monopoly is not threatened. And their monopoly has grown exponentially, from the base price of the cars to spare parts and service etc., the prices are so damned unreasonable and unjustifiable yet there is no challenge or regulatory action to it.

What I have said above is no fear, but a fact, born out by the actual policies implemented. The rest is all hogwash.

Suzuki swift is a reliable car and light too which makes it pretty nippy especially the 1.6 L sports model.

Can you import cars from abroad in Pakistan? or does the govt shaft you with taxes like in India? because I know for a fact second hand luxury cars are much cheaper abroad than India

They can go to hell for all anyone could care...instead they should be bought under the hammer of accountablity and forced to refund customers whome they have scammed with tin box products selling at a premium price.

Here I can get a nice second hand Volvo C70 with a hard top, leather, fully loaded with 25k mileage for 6-7k and in India that same model is like 25-30k!

If you know people can you pay bribe to import foreign cars?

We should open trade with India ... I think bussiness is the only medium through which enimity btw India and Pakistan can end ... What do you guys think?

In ka qasoor nae, they know how to exploit us Pakistanis.
In the name of affordable tag, we buy a mehran worth 7 lakh 25 thousand by bulk and then we blame them.
inhon nay 50 percent market share hasil kiya hua hai aakar to aye gi na.
hakoomatain pichli ache hotein to yeh nobat hi na ate. ab jub hakoomat nay thora socha hai to Suzuki walon ko angoor to khattay lagain gay hi.
than what should we buy?
might i remind you that govt doesnt allow import of vehicles

its govt that is facilitating local industry while their products are killing thousands of Pakistanis probably more than what terrorists killed due to lack of airbags and other safety issues

Agree...there are a number of factors involved in it, but there is us if we go for our CONSUMER rights... If stop purchase of mehran and go for used civic, and other older models wouldn't it just bring suzuki to think something out of mehran? It is somehow dependent on us too..if we can afford a mehran worth 7 lac, why not go for any other second hand small car...? Why not just 1 time try to put a full stop to mehran's sales and force this crapki to bring something to replace this tin?? But there's that only dumb would buy a Mehran in 7 lac,..

You are missing the important picture here. The folks who can only afford a Mehran as a brand new car cannot afford the spare parts and fuel consumption of a used Honda Civic and thus have NO option really.

As I said in my earlier post, I would like to request our Indian members to tell us how many options they have for a new car up to INR 460,000. That will explain everything to my fellow Pakistanis.

https://www.cardekho.com/new-cars+1-lakh-5-lakh

This is my personal favourite in the range

Outback-Bronze.jpg

Someone needs to show Suzuki the door...... enough of their tissue paper cars...............

Consumers in Pakistan have cheaper and better alternatives available, Suzuki has 50% share because they enjoyed monopoly and concessions from the government. Even first quarter of 2016 saw record sales for them. Even according to previous auto policies manufacturers were supposed to encourage use of local parts and raw materials. Yet despite availability of local manufacturing of components Suzuki routinely jacked up prices, using import dollar exchange rate parity as an excuse.

Mehran has been a big cash cow for them along with Suzuki Ravi/Carry and Bolan. All three are outdated models and will have to go out soon according to new auto policy for old models still in production.

Its simple they are already making big profits and if they want to continue to make profits then they have to re-invest else lose business opportunity.

Another thing is whatever replacement models Suzuki brings it should not be allowed to dictate prices like before, their strength was in low price segment. Replacement car models should have similar prices to whats being replaced.

For people with budgets, they can buy good quality used cars, you can always buy a decent used City/Civic for the price of a Mehran. Availability of parts from sherhah and other scrap markets means even premium cars have cheap parts available.

Govt. should pursue policies which ensures healthy competition in the market and breaks monopolies in this sector. Such policies will attract new entrants in the market not only from outside but also from within.

This investment is not required or needed if it comes with conditions.
#Suzukicarskill should be hashtag we use and maybe they wake up to their safety records... maybe start a twitter campaign @Horus you have the greatest following I think here, please do something along these lines....

i think "Pakistan" only needs to invite Korean companies like "Hyundai" and "KIA" Rather than calling for European companies which are far expensive to buy and maintain. Korean Brands are just vanishing the Japanese auto makers in Middle East they are spreading their brands here in KSA like Fire in a jungle. even i am a Kia user.Their stuff is as better as Japanese. even with more features within a same price as of any Toyota or Honda vehicles.

Both Hyundai and KIA actually entered the Pakistani market in 90s or early 2000s but had to pack up and leave due perhaps inadequate demand (?)

Suzuki is doing what in crude terms is called "Randi Rona". As soon as they sensed that their outdated stuff might face competition they started coming up with these expansion plans--on paper only. As a consumer, I say
"Thanks, but no thanks" to Suzuki. You served this market for decades but you earned back your money many many times over to the point of sheer exploitation.

The new auto policy is one of the few things that this government have got right and have actual potential for delivering something good for this country.

I would say screw Suzuki and stick with the policy. Keep chasing new automobile manufacturers and try bring as many new players in the field as possible. We may even get this to a level where this industry starts earning impressive foreign exchange for us and be an important player in our GDP. Just keep moving in the right direction that we have finally started doing in this case.

The new auto policy is one of the few things that this government have got right and have actual potential for delivering something good for this country.

I would say screw Suzuki and stick with the policy. Keep chasing new automobile manufacturers and try bring as many new players in the field as possible. We may even get this to a level where this industry starts earning impressive foreign exchange for us and be an important player in our GDP. Just keep moving in the right direction that we have finally started doing in this case.

Isn't that the typical story for Pakistan: lots of claimed "potential" that is never truly realized. The odds for success of this new policy in realizing its claimed potential are slim to none, sir, truth be told.