Pak Suzuki ready to invest $460m if new auto policy revised

The Sandman

6th May 2016,

ISLAMABAD - Suzuki plans to invest $460 million into Pakistan if the government provides the right incentives and amends its new auto policy, the company said Friday.

The government in March had announced a new auto policy that favours potential new entrants over existing manufacturers by offering them lower duties, part of a strategy to attract foreign car makers and loosen the dominance of Suzuki, Toyota and Honda.

The Pakistan Suzuki Motor Company, which assembles Suzuki cars for the local market, said it had concerns that the new auto policy may "damage the tremendous investment potential in the automobile sector by existing players such as Pak Suzuki Motor Co".

In an emailed statement to Reuters, Karachi-listed Pakistan Suzuki said: "If the incentives and benefits should be given then we are ready for $460 million investment in Pakistan."

The investment would include creation of a state-of-the-art new plant on an "urgent basis" and from this plant Suzuki would introduce four new models within five years, including two new models by 2018.

Plans to introduce new models would go some way towards soothing government anger about lack of competition and choice in the domestic car market.

Officials say they want foreign car makers to shake up the Japanese-dominated market because locally assembled cars are sold at relatively high prices but lag behind imported vehicles in terms of quality and specifications.

The existing Japanese manufacturers feel let down by the government's new auto policy because it prefers outside investment to their own, and removes many incentives for them to invest in the country, said two industry participants familiar with the matter.
http://dailytimes.com.pk/business/0...ady-to-invest-460m-if-new-auto-policy-revised
Besharmi aur beghairti ki bhi ek hadd hoti hai yr :disagree: @Muhammad Omar @Max Pain

These jerks have been making the same suzuki mehran model for the past 20 years. They have been given monopoly over our market for decades and they make totally useless and overpriced cars.

They can take that money and shove it.

Why we're not bringing in Chinese brands they make some really good cars imo and they can easily kill these japanese leeches
But they were shifting to Iran :lol:
They will never do that Iranians are not stupid like us and suzuki also know this :(

6th May 2016,

ISLAMABAD - Suzuki plans to invest $460 million into Pakistan if the government provides the right incentives and amends its new auto policy, the company said Friday.

The government in March had announced a new auto policy that favours potential new entrants over existing manufacturers by offering them lower duties, part of a strategy to attract foreign car makers and loosen the dominance of Suzuki, Toyota and Honda.

The Pakistan Suzuki Motor Company, which assembles Suzuki cars for the local market, said it had concerns that the new auto policy may "damage the tremendous investment potential in the automobile sector by existing players such as Pak Suzuki Motor Co".

In an emailed statement to Reuters, Karachi-listed Pakistan Suzuki said: "If the incentives and benefits should be given then we are ready for $460 million investment in Pakistan."

The investment would include creation of a state-of-the-art new plant on an "urgent basis" and from this plant Suzuki would introduce four new models within five years, including two new models by 2018.

Plans to introduce new models would go some way towards soothing government anger about lack of competition and choice in the domestic car market.

Officials say they want foreign car makers to shake up the Japanese-dominated market because locally assembled cars are sold at relatively high prices but lag behind imported vehicles in terms of quality and specifications.

The existing Japanese manufacturers feel let down by the government's new auto policy because it prefers outside investment to their own, and removes many incentives for them to invest in the country, said two industry participants familiar with the matter.
http://dailytimes.com.pk/business/0...ady-to-invest-460m-if-new-auto-policy-revised
Besharmi aur beghairti ki bhi ek hadd hoti hai yr :disagree: @Muhammad Omar @Max Pain

In ka qasoor nae, they know how to exploit us Pakistanis.
In the name of affordable tag, we buy a mehran worth 7 lakh 25 thousand by bulk and then we blame them.
inhon nay 50 percent market share hasil kiya hua hai aakar to aye gi na.
hakoomatain pichli ache hotein to yeh nobat hi na ate. ab jub hakoomat nay thora socha hai to Suzuki walon ko angoor to khattay lagain gay hi.

These jerks have been making the same suzuki mehran model for the past 20 years. They have been given monopoly over our market for decades and they make totally useless and overpriced cars.

There's no difference between us and them.. we baniya awam are crying for that for over a decade too ... Ultimately it is us who purchased and rose the demand of tincan like Mehran... Its sales are never going to end until we put a stop on it.... But we love mehran that's the fact who's maintenance is cheap, because we are cheap...we never came out of mentality of CG-honda,  :cuckoo:

I must confess that I hardly know anything about Suzuki Pakistan Company. But what I've gathered so far is that it produces very obsolete models of car.
But let me tell you in India, Suzuki ( under the brand name of Maruti Suzuki ) is the best in class for economical and semi luxury cars. It produces and exports more than any other tens of world class auto makers in India.
There must be something wrong in the Auto Policy which has led to present situation where you are allowing foreign car makers to dictate terms with Government and Consumers. :what:

Then there are pretty nice alternatives available for every crap that suzuki sales here... I saw FAW V2 by myself then I went into its features and details...an international standard car like V2 is a more than a bargain for money... Airbags, ABS, electric mirrors and what not, but then I see Suzuki swift running with an engine and few lights that we Pakistanis like.... Not to forget FAW is joint manufacturing partner of Audi in China... And I saw some huge, reallll realll huge faw trucks here running in Lahore, I was amazed with built quality first impression of that truck... I have put my faith in FAW, might be having it by soon...

Good if they go,their cars are made of cardboard and low quality.
One of my friends died due to their non existent quality check.

Invest this money to improve your cars in Pakistan. Keep your bribes with U. Thanks but no Thanks.

I must confess that I hardly know anything about Suzuki Pakistan Company. But what I've gathered so far is that it produces very obsolete models of car.
But let me tell you in India, Suzuki ( under the brand name of Maruti Suzuki ) is the best in class for economical and semi luxury cars. It produces and exports more than any other tens of world class auto makers in India.
There must be something wrong in the Auto Policy which has led to present situation where you are allowing foreign car makers to dictate terms with Government and Consumers. :what:
That's why I always wanted indo-pak open trade, when the local assemblers will realize the real threats coming to knock them out from India only then they will ever add any basic safety feature... If automotive trade will be allowed you will see flood of cars running into Pakistan from india, same with the bikey crap... I can easily afford indian made duke 125 (80k in INR= almost 150k Pakistan, take 250k from me and let me have it(include taxes) , that I am a huge fan of...we are really depressed with automotive crap that we are getting here in Pakistan.. :pissed:

Suzuki behaves diferent with diferrent countries. Suzuki cars are good in india.i have jus got suzuki brezzaa. Meheran aka maruti suzuki 800 in india is absolete car . I think this is because of no local and international competition inside pakistan. Gop has to bring in local players along with international players so suzuki feels the heat and behaves accordingly. Its more of problem with auto policy till date than suzuki itself. See how india and iran has developed local players and hence their market.

Again no talk of benefits to it's customer but a promise that they'll introduce new models.
Well Suzuki understands that if the new entrants gets to develop a healthy competition with them then, they'll have to introduce new models anyway and in addition work out a decent pricing plan.
With the new auto policy in place Pakistanis will be getting the assembly plants as well.
It's a done deal ; on the contrary reversing it will only dig the fangs deeper.
Suzuki should worry about an advantage of head start that they have here by being in the market already.
If they think that they should expand it and stay relevant then it should be done, before some precious time runs out.

It is called COMPETITIVE Market

• Invest
  • if your product has quality people will buy it
No one sided favoritism

If Suzuki were serious they would still invest the money and then with quality of their cars capture the market

What is needed is ambition by Suzuke

We want Suzuki to compete not take gifts fom policy makers

Market is open for Germany - Japan - USA - Korea - China setup plants , create new models and win the money by Trade

Again no talk of benefits to it's customer but a promise that they'll introduce new models.
Well Suzuki understands that if the new entrants gets to develop a healthy competition with them then, they'll have to introduce new models anyway and in addition work out a decent pricing plan.
With the new auto policy in place Pakistanis will be getting the assembly plants as well.
It's a done deal ; on the contrary reversing it will only dig the fangs deeper.
Suzuki should worry about an advantage of head start that they have here by being in the market already.
If they think that they should expand it and stay relevant then it should be done, before some precious time runs out.

The government itself will continue to ensure that there is no "healthy competition" in the local markets, despite all the lip-service and tall claims.