OPINION: Ladakh signals failure of Modi’s foreign policy and his lack of access to Xi Jin Ping

Ladakh signals failure of Modi’s foreign policy and his lack of access to Xi Jin Ping

Despite 59 visits abroad (at Indian taxpayer expense :woot:), his much flaunted ‘neighbourhood first’ policy and investment in building personal rapport with world leaders, Ladakh flareup signals the failure of Modi’s foreign policy. [Source: National Herald India]

nationalherald%2F2020-06%2F5afed8dd-c4d9-4d83-9700-2c20ca3d88a5%2FAmerica_pm__1_.jpg

user-dd606edb720ccbd76a44.svg

Sarosh Bana

Updated: 21 Jun 2020, 10:39 AM

The deadly clashes between Indian and Chinese troops along the Line of Actual Control (LAC) in eastern Ladakh on the night of June 15/16 reflect a colossal failure of India’s foreign policy.

Since coming to power in 2014, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi formulated a Neighbourhood First policy to signal India’s commitment to regional connectivity. He has also invested heavily in fostering personal relations with national leaderships across the world, with photo ops and bear hugs.

Of the 59 overseas visits he has made as Prime Minister, as many as five have been to China, with an additional four previously as Chief Minister of the state of Gujarat. He has moreover hosted Chinese President Xi Jinping in India on three separate occasions, in 2014 at Ahmedabad, in 2016 in Goa, and in 2019 at Chennai and Mahabalipuram.

[In other words, Indian taxpayers have been paying for India's territory in Ladakh being surrendered to the Chinese. They should demand a refund from Modi and BJP:cheesy:]

It is hence curious that the Prime Minister has so far not deemed it expedient to speak directly to the Chinese President [Maybe Xi Jinping no longer picks Modi's phone calls] that could possibly help defuse the present bilateral conflagration that has been the most violent since 1967 confrontation in eastern Sikkim sector. A gunshot was last fired on the India-China frontier in 1975, when four Assam Rifles paramilitary troops were ambushed by the Chinese at Tulung La in Arunachal Pradesh.

It was a sharp rebuke of the Modi government when Chinese troops waded into the Demchok and Chumar areas of Ladakh exactly when the Prime Minister was holding a summit with the Chinese President in Ahmedabad in 2014. It was PLA’s third incursion over the previous 10 days. It is profoundly offending for a world leader to see his country under attack by another country while he is hosting its leader on a state visit.

Curiously, on the day of the latest hostilities, the Prime Minister came on national television and, as the nation awaited to hear him on this flareup, remarked instead that the first “green shoots” of an economic recovery were discernible following the lifting of the COVID-necessitated lockdown.

On Friday, June 19, Modi at a ‘virtual’ All Party meeting denied any intrusion having taken place across the LAC. Simultaneously, he declared that the sacrifice of our Indian soldiers would not go in vain, and that India had not ceded an inch of its land to the Chinese. [Modi should resign from the job and let capable people in Congress party handle the crisis situation]

This flew in the face of assessments made by several former army commanders as also military analysts that the PLA has usurped about 60 square kms of Indian territory during their current transgressions, and has further started setting up camps and constructing infrastructure in and moving heavy armaments to those areas. Also, some Indian soldiers caught up in the faceoff have made known that the situation along the LAC is far grimmer than what is being portrayed by official agencies. [Bottomline: Modi's incompetence has cost India 60 square kilometers of territory :undecided:]

The Prime Minister’s assertions have an ominous implication. If there was no intrusion, then how, and more importantly, why, did the clashes occur? Besides, an absence of any infiltration would imply that the territory where the clashes occurred is neither disputed nor India’s, but China’s.

Surprisingly, India’s own Defence and External Affairs ministries have all along accused the Chinese of incursions. Another inference that could be drawn from the denial is that it would instead be the Indian troops that had breached the LAC, provoking a Chinese reprisal. If there was no incursion and besides no shots fired, how did our soldiers die within our territory?

Also unclear is that in the absence of any intrusion by the Chinese, what is being discussed or negotiated at the series of military-level talks and one parley between the two foreign ministers that have hitherto been held?

The Prime Minister did not explain why he had not reached out to the Chinese President to settle the issue. [He simply can't. Modi has zero knowledge of diplomacy. Besides, his close ranking advisors are as low IQ as him so it would be the case of a blind leading the blind.] The most obvious questions that arise are whether Modi lacks such access to, or does not enjoy the confidence of, the Chinese hierarchy, or if there is a communication gap between the two leaders that impedes any resolution of the flashpoint.

With the government, as also the military, largely withholding information on the alarming developments on the border, and branding all, including the Opposition and the media, “anti-national” when they pressed for answers, much of what informs the Indian public on this international issue is speculative at best, or drawn from unofficial sources and the social media.

The public has the right to know what is happening to its own country, and while it does not desire to probe the political or military strategy to be employed under the circumstances, it must understand the ramifications of what is transpiring at our borders. Nationalistic rhetoric and layers of secrecy are not the answer.

As with Balakot, the government is once again upbraiding the Congress party in particular, and its leadership, for seeking clarity on the Ladakh standoff. The administration has gone so far as to label those seeking answers as “anti-national”, without realising that keeping citizens in the dark itself tantamounts to being anti-national. Indeed, relevant ministers or their officials should have been holding news conferences daily on the developments at our borders, the media being the interface between the government and the public.

Perhaps for the first time ever in such a national security issue, the Additional Directorate General of Public Information (ADG PI), a Major General rank official who deals with media relations and release of military information, has been conspicuous by his silence.

India today finds itself in a situation where it will need to fend entirely for itself in any outbreak of hostilities, whereas Pakistan, for instance, can always look to China for military support in such circumstances, China and Russia can look to each other for such support, Israel and several other countries can expect American backing, and at the present time, countries like Nepal, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Sri Lanka and the Maldives too could turn to Beijing for assistance.

[In other words, India is facing an existential crisis unlike anything since 1947. It is now surrounded by hostile neighbours on all sides.]

The most that New Delhi can expect would be a bailout from the White House as had happened in the conflict with Pakistan in the Kargil region of Ladakh in 1999, when then US President Bill Clinton, at the behest of India, telephoned then Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif to pull out his troops that had intruded far into our territory.

What will be even more worrying is the fact that the ‘popularity’ of the present dispensation may well be on account of its largesse to its trading partners, as evinced from its balance of trade deficit that was over $70 billion for 2019-20.

[In other words, BJP has turned India into a nation of cuckolds.:cheesy:]

@Joe Shearer @jamahir @xeuss @waz

A very well written article based on hard facts.
Bro the thing is modi is giving an impression from his bought Indian media that India didn't lose any land and himself so far didn't accept it. Because he knew if he accepts that means two things.
1) A war with China,a ultimate defeat and with that the end of his political career.
2) If you won't take any action means he will be extremely unpopular in India.
Either way his political career is no more so the best way to deal with this is to not accept it in the first place.
Any other patriotic leader would have taken action in this situation but modi is just here to fulfill his personal desires at the cost of the dignity and respect of Indian nation. Infact his journey in Indian politics from extreme poor tea seller was a way to get out of poverty and power . Later in his journey he got radicalized by RSS though.
Shame to those bhartis who still believe in " modi hai tou mumkin hai" yes modi hai tou ye zalalat aur ruswasi mumkin hai.

Why? The US President Bill Clinton did bail out India in 1999 during Kargil War. I remember watching it on Live TV. Vajpayee's confidence had been completely shattered. Clinton literally saved his image then.

Maybe Trump will do it again for his pal Modi.

Indian nutcases wouldn't accept , no matter what evidence you present. He had denied earlier quotations I provided from authentic book by US Diplomat.
He would keep paddling the lie that Nawaz telephoned Clinton to save Pakistan.
When as a matter of fact the USA found out that Pakistan army (read Musharraf) was getting its nuclear arms ready to launch at the Indians rather than thinking of withdrawal.

Here is quote from Denise Kux, the State Department official on South Asia Desk describe it in his book "Disenchanted Allies".

"Taken aback and dismayed by the Kargil adventure, the U.S. government responded vigorously- far more so than the Johnson administration had reached during the early stages of the 1965 Kashmir war.

President Clinton telephoned Nawaz Sharif to urge him to have his forces withdrawn and sent Gen. Anthony Zini to Islamabad to second this message directly with the Prime Minister and with Gen. Pervez Musharraf, who had replaced Karamat as chief of army staff. Brushing aside Pakistan's claim that it was not directly involved with the Kargil operation and lacked control over the mujahideen, the U.S. general urged Islamabad to see to it that the intruders pulled back across the Kashmir line of control."

There is absolutely no doubt the Americans approached Pakistan/Nawaz Sharif after request from India to halt Pakistani intrusion into Kargil. Clinton phoned Nawaz issuing threats and later dispatched Zini to pressure Pakistan. Zini presented satellite images to Nawaz showing that it was Pakistan army occupying Kargil heights and not Mujahideen.

Nawaz and Clinton meeting in Washington came way down the line. In which Clinton confronted Nawaz with the evidence that Pakistani army is mobilising its nuclear arsenal to be used against India.

Nawaz panicked and cause damage to Pakistan and lives of Pakistani soldiers were lost. Nawaz is a traitor, he was bullied by Clinton and he surrendered without any arguments.

A very well written article based on hard facts.

Check out National Herald India for more such stories. It's even more anti-BJP/RSS/Modi/Hindutvadi compared to Pakistani websites (also it is pro-Pakistan/China). :woot: Not a big surprise as the paper is run directly by Rahul Gandhi. :cheesy:

Either way his political career is no more so the best way to deal with this is to not accept it in the first place.
That has been his strategy from Day 1 of his political career. Even as he orchestrated the massacre of 2000 Muslims in Gujarat, he had lived in denial for as long as he could.

Any other patriotic leader would have taken action in this situation but modi is just here to fulfill his personal desires at the cost of the dignity and respect of Indian nation.
He is a coward. And cowards have absolutely no concept of dignity and self-respect. Even as a Pakistani, you completely GET it but the Hindutvadi Sanghi Indians are so brainwashed they can't accept the reality.

Infact his journey in Indian politics from extreme poor tea seller
I have it on record that he NEVER sold tea on a railway station. In fact, he has never done an honest day's hard work in his entire life. He was a Sanghi preacher and had a gift of gab. So he learns rhetorical BS and practices them enough so one day he gets elevated to CM post of Gujarat, and ultimately PM post in India. A real dream come true.

But he's a con artiste. Never sold any tea or worked hard in his entire life.

Shame to those bhartis who still believe in " modi hai tou mumkin hai" yes modi hai tou ye zalalat aur ruswasi mumkin hai.

I give Modi credit where it's due. He has been able to defy the famous adage that "you can't fool all the people for all time." Indeed it's so easy to fool the Indian people. I do admire him for that even though he is our sworn enemy (Leftists of India such as me).

Feels like India could only exist the way it has been existing, a secular, a-religious state which was tolerant and accommodating to all religions and Nations within. RSS, Modi and BJP's entire philosophy has fallen flat on its face and now the existence of India is under question.

It will take India 20-30 years to do undo what Nirandra mode has done and if India wants to survive, it must start it now!
Even though the nehru Gandhi family was corrupt and deep side were just RSS goons but they were very seasonal politicians who understand the Indian society and it's politics far better than these RSS and stupid chai Wala. We must give them credit for artificially uniting India for a long period of time .That was a very fine states man ship in this respect.
It doesn't matter 20-30 years ,again at someday in future someone like modi will again pop up and threaten this region because one India is impossible realisation. They can definitely delay this problem but cannot fix it permanently . The permanent solution lies in the disintegration of this very diverse piece of land called India into smaller states . That day has to come bcz bakre ki maa kab Tak khair manaye gi.

Indian nutcases wouldn't accept , no matter what evidence you present. He had denied earlier quotations I provided from authentic book by US Diplomat.
He would keep paddling the lie that Nawaz telephoned Clinton to save Pakistan.
When as a matter of fact the USA found out that Pakistan army (read Musharraf) was getting its nuclear arms ready to launch at the Indians rather than thinking of withdrawal.

Here is quote from Denise Kux, the State Department official on South Asia Desk describe it in his book "Disenchanted Allies".

"Taken aback and dismayed by the Kargil adventure, the U.S. government responded vigorously- far more so than the Johnson administration had reached during the early stages of the 1965 Kashmir war.

President Clinton telephoned Nawaz Sharif to urge him to have his forces withdrawn and sent Gen. Anthony Zini to Islamabad to second this message directly with the Prime Minister and with Gen. Pervez Musharraf, who had replaced Karamat as chief of army staff. Brushing aside Pakistan's claim that it was not directly involved with the Kargil operation and lacked control over the mujahideen, the U.S. general urged Islamabad to see to it that the intruders pulled back across the Kashmir line of control."

There is absolutely no doubt the Americans approached Pakistan/Nawaz Sharif after request from India to halt Pakistani intrusion into Kargil. Clinton phoned Nawaz issuing threats and later dispatched Zini to pressure Pakistan. Zini presented satellite images to Nawaz showing that it was Pakistan army occupying Kargil heights and not Mujahideen.

Nawaz and Clinton meeting in Washington came way down the line. In which Clinton confronted Nawaz with the evidence that Pakistani army is mobilising its nuclear arsenal to be used against India.

Nawaz panicked and cause damage to Pakistan and lives of Pakistani soldiers were lost. Nawaz is a traitor, he was bullied by Clinton and he surrendered without any arguments.

I 100% agree with the sequence of events you described. I have myself read it before. But, Joe doesn't agree with me on this.

There was a reason why Pakistanis wanted Modi to come back in power - and today you are witnessing those reasons. Modi has destroyed India within and without has brought it down to a point where its collapse is imminent.

People were making fun of PMIK when he said Modi reelection is good for Pakistan. Now who is laughing?

Even though the nehru Gandhi family was corrupt and deep side were just RSS goons but they were very seasonal politicians who understand the Indian society and it's politics far better than these RSS and stupid chai Wala. We must give them credit for artificially uniting India for a long period of time .That was a very fine states man ship in this respect.
It doesn't matter 20-30 years ,again at someday in future someone like modi will again pop up and threaten this region because one India is impossible realisation. They can definitely delay this problem but cannot fix it permanently . The permanent solution lies in the disintegration of this very diverse piece of land called India into smaller states . That day has to come bcz bakre ki maa kab Tak khair manaye gi.

I can agree with your remaining post except for that portion in Red. The Nehru-Gandhi family have been bitter enemies of Hindutvadis from Day 1. Mahatma Gandhi (although not connected to the family) was assassinated by a Hindutvadi. Pandit Nehru had banned RSS and jailed all its leaders. So did Indira Gandhi. Rahul Gandhi is the only Indian politician who CONSISTENTLY bashes RSS-VHP-Hindutvadis regardless of the electoral consequences it has had for Congress party in a religiously polarized India.

Let's not forget it was the Congress who just massacred sikhs in 1984 just like modi massacred sikhs in 2002. Deep inside they were as communal as the RSS but they were smart enough not to be expressive and open like RSS and modi.And that was the reason RSS types didn't like them and that's what got Gandhi killed. Unlike RSS they had a very different clever approach of acheving their goals. They were the first ones who didn't recognize Sikh religion in the first place and classified it as a branch of Hinduism.
They were like "bagal mein churi mun mein ram ram"

Why you worried about him!! I wouldn't give him two seconds of my time.
I consider him a friend now, probably a leftist like me but he self-describes as a centrist. We only differ in a few opinions, and he's not a Sanghi.

People were making fun of PMIK when he said Modi reelection is good for Pakistan. Now who is laughing?

I think many of us on PDF including me were rejoicing and wishing that Modi wins.

A man with nothing between the two ears is a God's gift to its enemies.

Let's not forget it was the Congress who just massacred sikhs in 1984 just like modi massacred sikhs in 2002. Deep inside they were as communal as the RSS but they were smart enough not to be expressive and open like RSS and modi.And that was the reason RSS types didn't like them and that's what got Gandhi killed. Unlike RSS they had a very different clever approach of acheving their goals. They were the first ones who didn't recognize Sikh religion in the first place and classified it as a branch of Hinduism.
They were like "bagal mein churi mun mein ram ram"

I wish I could convince you that the Nehru-Gandhis don't have an Islamophobic bone in their bodies. But I understand they are hated in Pakistan as well.

@Soumitra

Do I look like a Sanghi to you? Please do me a favor and clarify how much someone like me will be welcome in your RSS shakha. This shall convince @AfrazulMandal that I am on his side, not yours. LOL. :woot:

I am surprised to not have your "vishish tipani" on this "desh virudhi" thread.

This is what I have said in another thread

--

There is a world of difference between Indian Muslims and Muslim Indians. The former will lay down their lives to defend the country, no doubt about that. The latter put religion before country. They are buddy buddy with Pakistanis, support terrorist, stone pelters, seperatists, maoists etc and are threat to the unity and integrity of India.

There are many examples here

There is @jamahir who is buddy buddy with Pakistanis, but he is harmless. He lives and dreams of a cloud cuckoo utopia and even the Pakistanis don't take him seriously.

People like @xeuss and @The_Showstopper also toe the Pakistani line and dis on India. They continuously put their religion before the country. Many times they skirt dangerously close towards separatism. I don't remember what their views are on Kashmir or Ladakh but going by their conduct I won't be surprised if it matches with Pakistanis.

Then there is a person like @AfrazulMandal who is a full time separatist. He is hiding in Australia. Recently he was thrashed left right and centre on Twitter so he now comes here to blow his steam. The Pakistanis obviously welcome him with open arms.

Apart from these there are enablers like @Shantanu_Left who give cover fire and of course @Joe Shearer who is their mentor.

@Soumitra, your reply to Shantanu's insertion ?

P.S : You keep complaining about the JNU students being a burden on Indian taxpayers such as yourself.

You want me to take that leftist scumbag's opinion seriously. Go play in your cloud cuckoo land

Leftists and Islamists are 2 cancers of India. To progress we have to eliminate both of them

Any instance he praised Pakistan OVER India?
Anytime you praise Pakistan means you are praising an enemy country. there are some lines you do not cross.

Ask Lal Krishna Advani, He was the deputy PM, a mentor of Modi, but he went to Karachi and praised Jinnah, now he is resting in Marg Darshak Mandal