Operation Searchlight : The tape and the transcript

omipial

New Recruit

the audio tape : (revised link)

part one : ww.esnips.com/doc/3a82153e-64c4-489f-9e4a-942a3c3a1268/searchlight1 (put a w in the url)

part two : ww.esnips.com/doc/803d66ba-f284-4f0e-b0e6-1d4211f0b80c/searchlight2

For over an year I was tracking him. The records showed only the initials. MM Hossain could be many names. The profession showed he was an engineer which he was not! Dr. Mozammel Hossain was in fact an physicst who earned his masters from Karachi University. In 1971 he was working as the chief scientific officer of Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission in Dhaka (then Dacca). Luck favored as he just returned from Zambia on a holiday. The man is living abroad for over 25 years!

The eventual war which led East Pakistan to Bangladesh had a long time line at its tail. But if one is tobe specific, it was on the fateful night of 25th March, 1971 when all hell broke loose on the Bengalis. What the Pakistan Army did, is debated by the conflicting sides. Claims are said tobe fabricated. But two people with the modern gadgets in their helm that time did try to get it documented. Late Professor Nurul Ullah made a video footatge of the Jagannath Hall Massacare of Dhaka University (may be you have seen it in you tube). Mozammel Hossain taped the wireless conversations of the Pakistan Army Units running havoc in the city with a radio and tape recorder. He converted the spool to audio cassette format and passed it to Calcutta to the exile government of Bangladesh.

I took an interview of him which is not published yet. Will be in my upcoming book. And I share some of the data he took with the people of Pakistan (I was born as one too), so that atleast some or one of them can say what happened was very much wrong. If someone really want to disagree it was not genocide. Please, I beg you to listen to the tape. Listen to General Tikka Khan, General Rao Farman Ali asking how many students were killed (300!), how many Police (three figure!!), the capture of Big Bird (Mujib), killing of Lt. Commander Moazzem Hossain and so on. Listen and you dont have to be sorry, cause if that was the price to be paid, so was paid.

a partial transcript is given below:

: 88. Thank you so much. Nothing more from my side. Everything is going fine. Over.
Control : 88, Roger. Out to you, hallo 41, message. Over. Control : 41, regarding the escape routes west of the railway line, escape routes west of the railway line that is in your area, hope that necessary blocks have come into position so that elements that are facing 26 and 88 in the campus do not pull out westwards. Over.
: 41, we are very extensively patrolling the area. Every minute we are passing through and we are on the watch. Over.
Control : 41, Roger. I was certain that you would be in full command. The elements of 26 have also sorted out our friends of the daily people. That should please you. Out. Control : Hallo, 99 for 88. Highest Control wants to know as to what type of fire came from the other side. Over.
: 88 for 99, wait. I call to my Imam and then you will talk to him.
:88 for 99. My Imam listening. Send your message. Over.
: 99 for 88. Highest Control wants to know as to what type of opposition has been faced in areas Jagannath, Iqbal, and Liaquat. Over.
: 88 for 99. Initially lot of fire was received from Jagannath and Iqbal Halls. Roger so far. Over.
: Roger. Over.
: 88, once we opened with Romeo Romeo; after that we ever heard any fire; but we have disposed off a few. Roger so far. Over.
: 99 for 88. Roger. Over.
: 88 for 99. Now I am going to Liaquat because their set is out of order. I do not know their progress. After checking up that then I will let you know. Over.
: 99 for 88. Please let us know as to whether there was any automatic fire from other side and was there any grenade etc. thrown. Over.
: 88 for 99. Lot of 303 fire. We have not heard automatic nor we have heard any grenade. Over.
: 88. Roger. Out.
: 26 for 99. Markhor on set. Send your message. Over.
: 99 for 26. Please let us know as to what all objectives have been captured by now. Over.
: 26 for 99. Two Thousand captured, then Ramna P.S. captured, Kamlapur P. S. captured, TV, Radio under control, Exchange captured. All first phase ya Ali. Over.
: From our position in Commissioner's office we could see a lot of fire in area Purana Paltan. Is it the Head Office, or some other place? Over.
: 26 for 99. The area 2000 is on fire. I say again, area 2000 is on fire. Over.
: 99 for 88. What about People's Daily? Over.
: 26 for 99. Blasted, I say again, blasted. Our two men seriously wounded are being evacuated to CMH, and two minor injuries. Over.
: 99 for 26, any approximation of the other side's casualties? Over.
: 26, no. It's difficult to judge at the moment. Please are at fire or had been completely destroyed. It's not possible at the moment to say anything. Over.
: 99 for 26. Have you done away with Police Lines also? Over.
: 26 for 99. Yes I say, Two Thousand, Police Lines on fire. Over.
: 99 for 26. Good show. Out.
: 55. Loud and clear. Over.
: 55. Markhor listening. Send. Over.
: 55. Send your message. Over.
: 55 Aapne call kiya tha. Message send karen. Markhor listen kar raha hain. 55, send your message. Over.
: 55…..
: 55, Say again. Over.
: 55 ….
: 26 for 88. Send progress. Over.
: 55. Roger. Where exactly have these been contacted? Over.
: 26 for 88. Aapki awaz phat rahi hain aur Jagannath ke bare me progress batayenge. Jagannath ke bare me. Over.
: …. …. To report to you.
: 26 for 88. Roger. Out.
: 55. I say again, on our .. .. front there was a road block and we are removing it, and .. .. .. other elements. Over.
: 55. Jolly good show. Your elements are expected at 26. They will be particularly helpful to 88 who is having some difficulty. Keep coming. Out.
: 55. Re-net. Yeh aapni netting check karen set ki. Samajh nehi ati aap keya kah rahe. 55, 55, 55, 55 .. Netting call. Net now. Netting calls ends.
: 55 , 55. How do you hear me? Over.
: 55, 56 … .. Over.
: 55, abhi tak whistle a rahi hain. Transmitter to do-barah net karo. 55, 55, 55, 55. Here netting call. Net now. Netting call ends.
: 55. How do you hear me? Over.
: 55 … …
: 55. Roger. Mike ko thora dur rakh kar bola karen. 55, nothing more. Out.
: Message. Over.
: 26 for 88, 26 for 88, message. Over.
: 88 for 26. We are moving …
26 for 88. Report progress of Jagannath, I say again, Jagannath. Over.
: 88 for 26. My Imam is moving .. ..
: 26 for 88. Roger out.
: Markhor to Markhor. Over.
: 16. Wait. Out.
: What was the casualty suffered by the other side? Over.
: 16 .. .. four killed.
: Roger. Have the wounded been given necessary medical aid?
: .. .. .. EPR hospital. Over.
: 16. Very good. Out to you, hallo 26, hallo 26, hallo 26, message. Over.
: 55. Location. Over.
: 55, I am short of Farm Gate and we are now removing the road blocks with explosion and other materials. We are still at the same place. Over.
: 55. Roger. Hope nobody has dared to come out against you. Over.
: 55. We deployed Cheetah all around. Negative so far. Over.
: 55. Roger. The dozer and recovery elements with you? Over.
: 55. Yes. The dozer is now moving forward on to the spot to remove .. .. .. in strength, and they are also helping us. Over.
Control : 55. That's excellent. Keep coming. We are at this original building area. You may try and avoid any unnecessary damage to the roads that can be saved. Out.
: . . . . Over.
: . . . for 77, 16 for 77. Message. Over.
: 16, fetch Markhor. Over.
: 16 . . .
: 16, as discussed earlier, the Imam of your original force will carry out the necessary drill and sort out the various categories according to which they will reorganise. Suggest until first light or until the Imam of your host appears you stay put. Over.
: 16. Wilco. Out.
: . . . for Imam. Over.
: . . . Wait. Out.
: Imam listening. Send your message. Over.
: 41, Position regarding the Physical Training Institute and the Police stations of your area. Over.
: 41. Physical Training Institute not thoroughly searched, but we have armed troops posted. There is no Police Station in the area. Over.
: 41. Thank you. Out.
: 41. We have a large number of people who have laid a number of road blocks, collected and being used for clearing. Will they be required back to you, or can they be disposed off? Over.
: 41, That is good use of labour. Suggest you use them for the present and retain them until we get it cleared from Imam. Then accordingly you can either let them off or we will take them away. Over.
: 41. Roger. Out.
: 88. Message. Over.
: 88. Send your message. Over.
: 88. Jo aapka ek element Romeo Sierra Uniform ke saath hain uske through puchiye keh aya Romeo Sierra Uniform dariya main patrolling kar raha hain ya nehi. Over.
: 88. Roger. Over.
: 88. Out.
: . . . just wanted to remind you that your element with Romeo Sierra Uniform should ask them to carry out patrolling in the river boats. Patrol the river as discussed by Imam. Over.
: 88. We have already started that, I say again, we have already started that. Over.
: 88 . . . I will extend to him all . . . .
: 88. Very good. Keep it up. Out.

: Hallo 26. Over.
: 26. Send. Over.
: 26. Did you manage to pick up anybody important from the Daily People? Over.
: 26 No, negative. But our troops have gone for some other important persons and we are waiting for their progress. Over.
Control : 26. Roger. Has the office of Alpha Lima been occupied so far? Over.
: 26. No. Target has been left for the early morning. Over.
: 26. Roger. Except that any records and papers might already be burnt or destroyed by the occupants. However, do as you are planning, and you are making excellent progress. Let us know every little thing that happens. Out.
: Hallo 99, 99. Markhor. Fetch Chota. Over.
: 99. Wait. Out.

: Send your message. Over.
: Out to you, hallo 26, 26, message from 77, Markhor ko inform kare keh Imam ne kaha hai, first light se pahle pahle jetne yeh dead bodies hai who clear ho jani chahye; aur sab concening ko batah de. Over.
: 26. Roger. Aap apne Imam ko aur Markhor ko yeh khabar de deh. Out to you, hallo 41, hallo correction, hallo 16, hallo 41, hallo 88, did you receive? Over.
: 16. Wilco. Out.
: Out to you, hallo 88, did you receive this message which 41 just now read back? Over.
: 88 . . . disposed off. Over.
: 88. Yes, arrange to dispose them, you can use local labour and dispose them off away from the public places. Over.
: 88. When you can give us an estimate of casualties suffered by other side? Nothing more. Out.
Control : Out . . . necessary detachments for . . . the results of these are awaited. Suggest you can draft your sit. Rep. On the lines of what has occurred since about 01-00 hours this morning. Over.
: 99, hallo 99, since 01-00 hours for about half an hour we were not in contact with you, and after that we had to shuttle in between telephone and this place which is quite some distance. So we missed most of the transmission. Over.
Control : 99, subsequently these were reported to you starting from the from Belal's boys when they "caged the main bird" and subsequently the two telephone exchanges, the Police station at Ramna, People's Daily, the Reserve lines, then the action that is still continuing in area of university, plus the houses in Gulshan, correction, houses in Dhanmandi, the occupants of which had, were not traceable. Over.
: About the last transmission, which are the occupants who were not traceable from Dhanmandi?
: 99, regarding Tajuddin and Bhuiyan, they were not found at their places; similarly this place the Physical Training Institute which was supposed to have arms has not so far revealed any. Over.
: Is it the same Physical Institute in Mohammedpur area? Over.
: 99, yes. So there is nothing at that end yet. We will also take care of the Malkhana and the Lalbagh Fort. But that will follow. So you have most of the gist. Over.
: 99, we have heard everything from call signs 26 and 88, but what about the other call signs? Over.
Control : 99, 16 had very little resistance in which they killed four and wounded about ten, after that they were in full control of the position (Peelkhana of the East Pakistan Rifles, now Bangladesh Rifles) within about half-an-hour of H-hour. As regards 41, their operation to Tajuddin and Bhuiyan and the Training Institute, they captured some other people, but the main targets had packed up and left much earlier. Apparently they have all panicked and started leaving the city from some time yesterday. So they have blocked all the roads and secured the Second Capital Exchange, and have also set up blocks for any people trying to escape from the campus towards the west across the railway lines. Over.
: 99. Roger. Over.
Control : 99. Hope you are comfortable with your hostages. Over.
: 99. I am thinking as to how to feed them now. Over.
Control : 99. It will do them no harm if they don't see food for a while. So they can adopt the same policy that you have been doing for the last so many weeks. Out. (He is referring here to the policy of non-cooperation followed by Bengalis towards the west Pakistani soldiers during the first three weeks of March, 1971 when food etc for them had to be air-lifted from West Pakistan, or taken by force locally).
: Wait kare, oh aadmi bolane kiliye gaya hai. Wait. Out.
: Markhor dur hainm who nehi a sakte, aap message bata de, hum pass kar denge. Over.
: Message. Over.
: 99. Send. Over.
: 99. Romeo India Alpha Zulu, usko wapis kis location par bhejna hain. Jo bhi vehicle available hain abhi jane wali, us se usko wapis bhejna hain. Over.
: 99. Kownsi set ko wapis bhejnahain? Over.
: 99. I say again, Lima November Kilo, Romeo India Alpha Zulu, is ko jobhi kowi vehicle aap ki location se wapis ja rahi hain to use udhar bhej de. Over.
: 99. Ehan se to koyi vehicle janewali nehi hain; bahar haal main confirm karta hun. Agar koyi ho to use bhej denge. Over.
: 99. Nothing more. Out.
: . . . koyi nehi aya. Admi bheja hai, unko bolane kiliye. Jab bhi mil jata hai, bola lete hai. Over.
: 41. Main Imam bol raha hun. Unhe yeh bole keh jo . . . kiya jaye. Over.
: 41. Roger. Over.
: 41. Roger. Out.
: 88. Message. Over.
: 88. Is Imam listening? Over.
: 88, 41 as you know is in position on the west of the Campus area. If you need any support from him you can mutually coordinate because he feels he can come in from behind onto any resistance still there. Of course, you will have to coordinate your fires. Over.
: 88. Roger. How far have you got? How much more to go? Over.
: 88. Quite appreciate your difficulties. How far are you from the railway lines? Can you give me some landmark now that daylight is approaching? Over.
:Control : 88. That is most encouraging. Your Markhor can give us any further progress as it happens. Thank you for now. Out to you, hallo 41, did you receive?
: Wait. Out.
: Hallo 26. Is Markhor listening? Over.
: Hallo 26, 26, 26. Markhor for Markhor. Over.
: 26, 26, 26, 26. Over.
: 77. Can you receive 26? Over.
: Hallo 99. Fetch Chota on set. Over.
: 41 . . . .
: 99 . Wait. Out.
: Imam listening. Send your message. Over.
: 99. Wait. Out.
: 41. Regarding your last transmission about assisting 88 from the west, I have discussed it with him and he feels that he has more or less finished the job and therefore anyone coming in from the west might complicate matters regarding fire control and so on within own troops. So he suggests that for the present you don't come in. Over.
: 41. Roger. Over.
: 41. Out to you, hallo 99, 99. Fetch Chota. Over.
: 99. Wait. Wait. Out.
: Hallo 26, 26, 26, Hallo 26. Over.
: 26, 26, 26, 26, Hallo 26. Over.
: 26. Send. Over.
: 26. Markhor to Markhor. Is your Imam's location at the House? At the Papa House? Over.
: 26. Yes. Over.
: 26 The Bakhtar element should have got to you by now. There has been a mix-up in that you have got a call sign 16's Cheetah with you and your Cheetah is here with us. I am sending your Cheetah in the same transport to come to us at our location here. Is that understood? Over.
: 26. Message not understood. Say again. Over.
: 26. Has the Bakhtar element with the Cheelah escort joined you? Over.
: Yes, Bakhtar has joined us. Over.
: 26. The Cheetah element with this Bakhtar is not yours. Your Cheetah element has by mistake come to us here at our present location. I am sending them in a transport to join you and you can return the Cheetah element of 16 with . . .
: 26. Wilco. Over.
: 26. What is the progress regarding the personalities? Over.
: . . . . Working in this net please don't disturb others. Out.
: 99. Send. Over.
: 99. May I know with whom formation call sign 44 is working? Send it in serial number.
: Seref call sign 41 hai. 44 koi call sign hamara nehi hai. Over.
: 99. Just before Markhor has passed this message to contact with other wire, by other wire call sign 41, 26 and 44 . . . . Over.
: 99. Only 26, 41 and 88. That message was only for 26, 41 and 88. Over.
: 99. Roger. Out.
: . . . . all stations Alpha Kilo, as suggested earlier, please insist that all black flags and all Bangladesh flags are removed immediately, if not already done so. Otherwise give a good dose to those who are still flying them. Out.
: . . . I say again, as already discussed, ensure that no buildings fly black or Bangladesh flags. . .
: . . .. don't allow anybody to fly any flag Bangladesh and black type. That was only. . . Out.
: . . . .and is this, did you take this? Over.
Control (Tikka Khan) : . . . that must be done. Otherwise, you know, it's likely to lead to a lot of complications and implications. Besides, I want specially Dhanmandi to be searched from house to house. You can take your time, you may select if (diminished)

Recorded by : Dr. M. M. Hussain Atomic Energy Centre, Dacca
Recorded at B-174, Khilgaon Chowdhury Para, Dacca Time of recording: From about
01-30 hours to 09-00 hours To March 26, 1971, with gaps.

Key:
26: located at the Presidents House. Operating in Ramna, University Campus etc
41: West of Campus, Dhanmondi
88: Campus, southern part of the city upto the river
99: Commissioners office (now Foreign Affairs Office)
16: EPR lines, Peelkhana (Now BDR lines)
55: Farmgate area
54: HQ transport section

77/Control : Chief of Ops Maj Gen Mittha

Papa House : The then Presidents house on Baily road
Liaquat : Engineering University (now Buet) male students dormitory
Iqbal: Dhaka university student hall (now sgt. Zohurul Haq hall)
Jagganath : DU hall for non-muslims
2000: Rajarbag Police line
People : Daily People (Bhutto was residing at the hotel opposite)

Highest control : Gen. Tikka Khan
Imam : Commandar
Markhor : Adjutant
Chota: Intelligent Officer
Cheeta : Infantry
Tattoo : Transport Officer
DSAML: Deputy Sector Administrator, Martial law
Big Brother : Tank
Bakhtar element : Tank/Bulldozer
Romeo Romeo : recoilless rifle
Alpha Lima : Awami League
Main Bird : Sheikh Mujibur Rahman

Thank you very much for these.I wish you all the best for your book.

This thread is worth commenting and discussing upon,so everyone please participate.Let us have views from both the sides.

EDIT:
Can not listen to audios,is there a problem?

This thread is worth commenting and discussing upon,so everyone please participate.Let us have views from both the sides.

EDIT:

thanks for ur concern.
better click on the links and go direct to the esnips. the audios are clear, i re checked them

May I ask you what are you trying to prove here...or you are under the false flag???

sorry didnt get u.
no sir, im under the right flag.

trying to prove nothing here. its document, pure document sir.
part of my collection which i shared with you.

i guess u didnt like it. sorry if i piss u off. but again, truth hurts. i understand :whistle:

Oh, the massacre video is chilling. Wow how brutal people become when they get guns in hand. This is why i hate guns, people feel they have power over others, its unnatural. We are not naturally (or by god) made that way.

Thanks for sharing.

EDIT:

the problem is fixed. just put an extra w before the urls given at the top of the posts

The nurul ullah Video
[url="
- Bangladesh Genocide: Dhaka University Massacre[/url]

What is this uselessness?

This topic has been discussed to death on this forum.

There was no genocide. Many of the killings were done by the Bengali Muktihi Bahini themselves and blamed on Pakistani soldiers.

Even that videotape is blurred. You can't see diddly in that. It's even described as blurry.

My own opinion is that no discrimination occurred (most of the initial leaders of the new Pakistan were of Bengali stock), and definitely no genocide occurred. Here's one example of how the Bengalis were caught lying and blaming murders on Pakistani troops.

The Telegraph - Calcutta : Look

It's undeniable proof that there was a lot of bullshyt propaganda in that war.

Do a search of the threads. There's no need to flood the forum with all this rubbish.

sorry didnt get u.
no sir, im under the right flag.

trying to prove nothing here. its document, pure document sir.
part of my collection which i shared with you.

i guess u didnt like it. sorry if i piss u off. but again, truth hurts. i understand :whistle:

Truth is bitter as well buddy, but not what you are trying to promote here...its not fault , you are a victin of shear propaganda by our enemy.:pakistan: