Only 45pc of annual KP development budget utilised till June: CGPA

Edevelop

55798ade092a0.jpg

PESHAWAR: The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) government has utilised only 45 per cent of total Annual Development Programme (ADP) funds allocated to the province with less than a month left till the close of fiscal year 2014-2015 (FY14-15), a press release from the Centre for Governance and Public Accountability (CGPA) revealed.

Of the total KP ADP allocation of Rs139.8 billion, only Rs62.9bn had been utilised as of June 5, 2015 ─ despite the release of Rs124.1bn in ADP funds.

Education
Only Rs9.3bn of the total development budget of Rs19.9bn for elementary and secondary education had been utilised as of June 5.

The CGPA says 2.5 million children are out of school in the province, and that the KP government's inability to spend the development budget is exacerbating the situation.

Roads
The utilisation of the budget allocation for roads in 2014-2015 was Rs17.3bn, of which Rs7.4bn or 43pc was utilised by June 5.

Regional development
Approximately 41pc of the regional development budget or Rs6.7bn of Rs16.4bn was utilised. The budget covers some discretionary funds.

Health
Of the Rs11.2bn allocated for health in the ADP 2014-2015, only Rs3.7bn or 34pc of the total allocation was utilised by June 5. The CGPA demanded that more funds for the provision of medical equipment and medicine to hospitals be allocated, which it said could improve the performance of KP's health sector.

The CGPA noted that although the provincial government had done well at expediting development during the fourth quarter, 55pc of funds for the year were yet to be utilised.

The CGPA urged the KP government to expedite utilisation of budget funds under the ADP in order to improve social indicators in the province and to avoid transfer of allocated money for public service delivery to next year.

CGPA Programme Manager Malik Masood demanded the KP government "ensure efficient and accountable mechanisms in order to improve ADP spending".

Speaking to DawnNews, KP Finance Minister Muzaffar Syed said that by June 30, 70-90pc of the ADP budget will have been utilised. He added that the hiring of consultants for projects, as well as the creation of feasibility reports had caused delays and under-utilisation of the budget.

Only 45pc of annual KP development budget utilised till June: CGPA - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

such a shame for incumbent provincial government if true

When you can't even utilise development budget, what else would you do?

there are conflicting new reports regarding this.
remember a an excellent target is 90%. anything above 80-85% is good and below 70% is poor.
if its true news than very poor performance by KPK in this regard.
however, the KPK minister finance claims that they will achieve a 90% target by July and that the news was false?

Imagine if they were ruling the federal govt and other provinces. The shape Pakistan would be in ..

They lack project management infrastructure, so as a preemptive measure, they just park their money with the federal government thereby recieving interest on that...This year they got about 4-5 Billion in interest income on placing idle development funds with federation.

yaar har topic ko zaroori nahi derail kar diya jaye

waise ye bongiyan kon maar raha hai, ye banda hai kon? typical maulvi speech, nothing else
Ab paalay huay hain to bardasht bhee karo :lol:

Have some shame. You Nooni Toons are such idiots.

You Metro Bus thekay daar? What about the bad situation of local hospitals? Police reforms? Govt Schools? Punjab is a bigger mess than you want to believe.

You should be ashamed such basic things your Nooras have not been able to deliver up until their 6th Punjab govt. How many times did Punjab govt did try to do local bodies elections? All of these are provincial subjects.

Bad management and governance if this is true. This is second consecutive year this has happened. Not a good going at all..

Have some shame. You Nooni Toons are such idiots.

You Metro Bus thekay daar? What about the bad situation of local hospitals? Police reforms? Govt Schools? Punjab is a bigger mess than you want to believe.

You should be ashamed such basic things your Nooras have not been able to deliver up until their 6th Punjab govt. How many times did Punjab govt did try to do local bodies elections? All of these are provincial subjects.
http://www.punjab.gov.pk/system/files/mac0513_DEV.pdf
http://www.punjab.gov.pk/system/files/mac0513_EXP.pdf

such a shame for incumbent provincial government if true
Its not a shame if KPK government is actually taking time and effort to actually plan these projects properly unlike Nooni Punjab government with its lavish spending on Metro BS. :D

When you can't even utilise development budget, what else would you do?
Actually, they are utilising it just fine. Stop blaming PTI for the mess caused by PMLN already!

there are conflicting new reports regarding this.
remember a an excellent target is 90%. anything above 80-85% is good and below 70% is poor.
if its true news than very poor performance by KPK in this regard.
however, the KPK minister finance claims that they will achieve a 90% target by July and that the news was false?
Not being able to use the development project doesn't mean bad performance unlike PMLN which does overdraft on the budget every year and still can't deliver on its promises! :D

Imagine if they were ruling the federal govt and other provinces. The shape Pakistan would be in ..
Yeah, imagine that. You would then see no cherished Metros of yours, would you? :D

They lack project management infrastructure, so as a preemptive measure, they just park their money with the federal government thereby recieving interest on that...This year they got about 4-5 Billion in interest income on placing idle development funds with federation.
They are parking money because project planning takes time. They don't wanna blow up planned development budget with twice or more of the original cost as your PMLN do in the province and federal level :D

Bad management and governance if this is true. This is second consecutive year this has happened. Not a good going at all..
This is not actually a bad governance. Wasting money on non-viable projects without proper management is a bad thing in the long run.

Why we are having only KP budget figures, why not other provinces, KP is more transparent and transparency is always there in reporting even if its against there performance.
Because Nooni trolls of the PDF only wanna exposed "bad" performance in KPK and don't give a damn about their corrupt friends in other provinces :D

This is called height of incompetence and corruption. Just 3pc on energy lol
Basically as revealed by KPK Govt own documents they are investing this money in banks and stock exchange, which is against the law by the way so they can recover some money in the form of interest they lost during dharna.

Its not a shame if KPK government is actually taking time and effort to actually plan these projects properly unlike Nooni Punjab government with its lavish spending on Metro BS. :D

Actually, they are utilising it just fine. Stop blaming PTI for the mess caused by PMLN already!

Not being able to use the development project doesn't mean bad performance unlike PMLN which does overdraft on the budget every year and still can't deliver on its promises! :D

Yeah, imagine that. You would then see no cherished Metros of yours, would you? :D

They are parking money because project planning takes time. They don't wanna blow up planned development budget with twice or more of the original cost as your PMLN do in the province and federal level :D

This is not actually a bad governance. Wasting money on non-viable projects without proper management is a bad thing in the long run.

Because Nooni trolls of the PDF only wanna exposed "bad" performance in KPK and don't give a damn about their corrupt friends in other provinces :D

Are you feeling ashamed or trying to save face? Truth is after two years in KPK

New schools built- 0
New universities- 0
New hospitals- 0
Electricity-Not even a 1MW produced.
IK promised 1 billion trees and 300 small dams where are they?
Free and Fair LB elections. well we all know what happened there.

I can give benefit of doubt to KPK govt if some of the projects are under construction like we all know about Shaukat Khanim which is good, but other then SK its none.

New schools built- 0

New hospitals- 0
They are renovating old hospitals and modeling them on IK's working SKM hospitals:
HEALTH DEPARTMENT

Electricity-Not even a 1MW produced.
Its already underway:
Power Sector | The Progress of PTI in KPK

IK promised 1 billion trees and 300 small dams where are they?
There is not much we can do with these 300 small dams when your Nooni Toons sitting in Federal government keep on obstructing this initiative:
There was a vision to provide much of Pakistan’s power needs through myriad such schemes in the canals and mountains, but it fell by the wayside with the arrival of American aid in the form of mega dams. The PTI government has recently given new life to the vision, and is taking concrete steps on the ground to implement it.

In return, the PML-N government, which never raised concerns about the cost of generation from the Nandipur project, is obstructing the scheme, arguing its costs are too high. Again, it is hard not to see this as obstructionist politics standing in the way of reviving a promising vision, and innovative approaches, to solving Pakistan’s power crisis.
PTI’s hydel vision - Newspaper - DAWN.COM

Seriously? You guys even have any shame left? :D

There's a thing called project management...try learning something about it....