Ola Electric sells ₹1,100 cr e-scooters in two-day sale

Surya 1

Ola Electric sells ₹1,100 cr e-scooters in two-day sale
Ola claimed it sold four scooters every second in the first 24 hours.
Ola claimed it sold four scooters every second in the first 24 hours.2 min read . Updated: 17 Sep 2021, 11:57 PM ISTTarush Bhalla & Prasid Banerjee

• The company offered its first electric scooter range comprising the S1 and S1 Pro models to customers. On Wednesday, the first day of the sale, Ola Electric clocked ₹600 crore in sales and claimed it sold four scooters every second in the first 24 hours.
Listen to this article

Ola Electric has sold more than ₹1,100 crore worth of electric scooters during a two-day sale, the electric vehicle company controlled by Ola Cabs’ co-founder Bhavish Aggarwal said.
The company offered its first electric scooter range comprising the S1 and S1 Pro models to customers. On Wednesday, the first day of the sale, Ola Electric clocked ₹600 crore in sales and claimed it sold four scooters every second in the first 24 hours.
MORE FROM THIS SECTIONSee All
US company this month said it will stop making cars in the country and end its over two-decades long presence
Indian auto dealers seek govt help after Ford exit setback
The company logo is displayed at the Samsung news conference at the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Las Vegas January 7, 2013. REUTERS/Rick Wilking/File Photo
Samsung in talks with Tesla to make next-gen self-drivi ....
The Tata Punch is expected to get a relatively higher ground clearance
Tata Motors finally announces the unveil date of micro ....
The phase-wise implementation will include setting-up 300 charging hubs in Delhi NCR by the end-of-the-year
Indian EV charging brand joins hands with Park+ to set- ....

“Over two days, we have done over ₹1,100 crore in sales! This is unprecedented not just in the automotive industry, but it is one of the highest sales in a day (by value) for a single product in Indian e-commerce history! We truly are living in a digital India," Ola Electric founder Aggarwal wrote in an internal blog.

He did not disclose the number of orders received by Ola.
Aggarwal said customers who could not purchase their scooters in the first sale could continue to reserve their Ola electric scooters, with the company planning a second purchase window starting 1 November, coinciding with the Diwali festival. Ola Electric will force traditional petrol scooter makers to redraw their strategies and accelerate their foray into the EV market, analysts said.
“The scooter market in India is around 5-6 million per annum, which is approximately 500,000 per month. In that, Ola has basically got orders for approximately 100,000 odd bikes, based on the ₹1,100 crore figure," said an equity analyst at a Mumbai-based brokerage on condition of anonymity.
Ola Electric was forced to defer purchases until 15 September as its website ran into technical difficulties on 9 September. On 15 August, Ola Electric ended weeks of speculation and unveiled its S1 and S1 Pro electric scooter models. The S1 was priced at ₹99,999, excluding subsidies by states and the Union government, while S1 Pro model was priced at ₹1.3 lakh.

Deliveries of the scooters are expected to begin in October in 1,000 cities and towns. Ola said in August it would sell its scooters through an omnichannel model, including both online and offline experience centres.

Ola will build the electric scooters at its so-called ‘Futurefactory’ in Tamil Nadu’s Krishnagiri district. The plant will have an initial capacity of 2 million electric vehicles a year which will be eventually expanded to 10 million units. The company announced last December a ₹2,400 crore investment in the first phase of the facility.
Ola is also expected to invest $2 billion over the next five years to build an electric two-wheeler charging network with its partners. “Ola Electric’s massive sales figure certainly augurs well for the growth of high-speed electric two-wheelers. It will go a long way in expanding the existing market for electric two-wheelers ," said Piyush Chowdhary, analyst, smart mobility at CyberMedia Research (CMR) a research firm. “The entry of Ola Electric in the electric two-wheeler space will push the market for EVs. That said, it will still take some time for EV two-wheelers to dominate."

CMR estimates that 15 million conventional two-wheelers are sold in India every year, accounting for nearly 99% of the two-wheeler market. “Significant barriers like higher initial purchasing prices, lack of charging infrastructure and limited sales and service network for electric two-wheelers continue to inhibit the widespread adoption of electric two-wheelers," it said.

Right, add more chaos than to the already chaotic India.

And who will account for the pollution created through the production of these scooters ?

Right, add more than to the already chaotic India.

And who will account for the pollution created through the production of these scooters ?
Yaar, please shift to moon. The earth can't take you.

You and your comrades are not Earth.
I can't understand why you can't take anything that is somewhat praiseworthy for India. I don't understand why people stay where they hate it so much. We are very grateful to our country for what it provides us (an identity). We don't take pleasure in berating our motherland on an enemy forum. However I know you won't be able to fit in any society on earth. So just move to moon. lol.

I can't understand why you can't take anything that is somewhat praiseworthy for India. I don't understand why people stay where they hate as much. We are very grateful to our country for what it's worth. I know you won't be able to fit in any society on earth. So just move to moon. lol.

I don't hate India. On PDF I am among the few Indian members who want the betterment of India. A just, comfortable and harmonious society and that includes the people of India to be not subjected to chaos, crime and pollution. On PDF I have often suggested, not only for India but also for the world, that all privately-owned personal transport vehicles ( cars and two-wheelers ) must be banned and the intra-city public transport be made only through mass transport ( buses ) and taxis. Imagine how many accidents, crime and how much pollution and general chaos will be eliminated from India. And this at immediate level. The secondary effect will be elimination of those aforementioned effects through drastically reduced factory production of those vehicles. This must also be done for the other two most polluting countries - China and USA. This would be the real commitment of governments and countries towards "Sustainable development" goals that they regularly declare at international forums including the UNO.

I am not the only one talking about this. A planned city in Saudia called NEOM and a planned district of Shenzhen city ( China ) called Net City will also eliminate cars.

I don't hate India. On PDF I am among the few Indian members who want the betterment of India. A just and comfortable society and that includes the people of India to be not subjected to chaos, crime and pollution. I have often suggested, not only for India but also for the world, that all privately-owned personal transport vehicles ( cars and two-wheelers ) must be banned and the intra-city public transport be made only through mass transport ( buses ) and taxis. Imagine how many accidents, crime and how much pollution and general chaos will be eliminated from India. And this at immediate level. The secondary effect will be elimination of those aforementioned effects through drastically reduced factory production of those vehicles. This must also be done for the other two most polluting countries - China and USA.

I am not the only one talking about this. A planned city in Saudia called NEOM and a planned district of Shenzhen city ( China ) called Net City will also eliminate cars.
Which is why I said to move to moon and start a colony with your ideologies. I am pretty sure people in this colony will be goats not humans. Communism is for goats which expect all people to adhere to such stupidity all in the name of betterment. People are not goats, each of them are inherently selfish, we just need to create policies that will cater to such selfishness and yet provide for society aka. Capitalism.

Communism wants people to become goats with no character of their own. So next time you bring in your stupidity, leave me out. I am not interested.

Communism is for goats which expect all people to adhere to such stupidity all in the name of betterment. People are not goats, each of them are inherently selfish

1. How did you decide that a Communist society doesn't allow for people's individual characters ?

2. Even I am selfish to a degree but I also want the betterment of others and also contribute to protecting Earth's ecosystem ( to talk about this thread's topic ). Many governments talk of enabling "Sustainable development" goals at international forums including the UNO but how do they really plan to do them ?

we just need to create policies that will cater to such selfishness and yet provide for society aka. Capitalism.

How has Capitalism worked out for India in the last 3000 years ?

So next time you bring in your stupidity

In this case will you also call Saudia and the Chinese Tencent company stupid for speaking of no-personal-car-based transport ?

So next time you bring in your stupidity, leave me out. I am not interested.

But you were the one who first replied to me on this thread.

. . . . .