OGRA proposes Rs83.50 per litre price hike in petrol: sources

According to your Prime minister he said the prices of petroleum is solely based on international market right? Well prices are going down globally, so it also go down in Pakistan.

You and your dumb leader thinks everyone in Pakistan are stupid. Its not the 90’s dude. People are smarter and informative than you think.
Global prices may be going down slightly, but the contracts made have to be honored. Plus PKR has depreciated significantly against USD. The past government had been taking fiscal hit by not increasing prices even though both the international price & PKR depreciation had occurred. As I said earlier, freezing prices was a political decision because of pressure being applied by the united opposition. Only a fool would fail to see this.

You don't even live in Pakistan. Why does it bother you how much we pay at the petrol pump/gas station? Did it occur to you that gasoline prices have soared in USA & instead of worrying about your own country, you are typing away furiously about another country 11,000 miles away? I well remember paying $0.87 per gallon; how much do you pay now?

Well you are being little bias here,that decision was taken purely due to the fact that,public was already having enough.Till two months ago opposition wasn't in position of bringing VoNC,though they were talking about it since 2018.
This is what you think. do note that government has IB & other organs for communicating information that does not get to us until it gets to newspapers. The VoNC move had been building momentum over the past few months. Such subsidy as was provided by PTI (both oil products & electricity) is a typical election year move.

Do you really think that government actually cared about general population that it would go against directives of a major lender like IMF, even though the lending program is not complete? This was all a calculated move. Now when the new government would have to undo the price freeze, just watch IK roar with indignation, going back to his rhetoric pre-2018. Its all planned.

Don't worry, media will now remain quiet.

Pehle din atay hi badshah salamat nay "senior sahafion" ko aftar par jo bulaya hai.
Pichlay badshah salamat bhi apnay choochay bulatay rehtay thay. Akhri din bhi pasandeedah choochon to bulaya tha.

When rulers surround themselves with sycophants, reality leaves their minds.

you have sources to back your claims or is it just a "political statement"?
I have experience & therefore I don't need sources. Deficit spending is an election year tactic. Just look at all the past governments. They all do it when getting into an election year. Just check yourself.

If you actually studied both political science & economics, you would not be asking such questions.

In India petrol sells at Rs 105/ltr or about USD 1.4. At that rate Pak petrol prices will be around Rs 250/litre. GOP should charge that price and the profit can be used to subsidise food and essentials for poorer citizens. This will encourage car pooling and use of more eco friendly transport and cut down on import bills.

Regards

In India petrol sells at Rs 105/ltr or about USD 1.4. At that rate Pak petrol prices will be around Rs 250/litre. GOP should charge that price and the profit can be used to subsidise food and essentials for poorer citizens. This will encourage car pooling and use of more eco friendly transport and cut down on import bills.

Regards
India taxes Petrol at 100%. Pakistan need not follow the same policy.

Secondly, I wonder if Pakistan is privy to cheaper petrol because of close connection with Saudi Kingdom. Certainly, the deferred payment option will be a kind of discount for Pakistan. So Pakistan can probably afford to keep fuel pump price at 170 or 180 mark :pop:

Global prices may be going down slightly, but the contracts made have to be honored. Plus PKR has depreciated significantly against USD. The past government had been taking fiscal hit by not increasing prices even though both the international price & PKR depreciation had occurred. As I said earlier, freezing prices was a political decision because of pressure being applied by the united opposition. Only a fool would fail to see this.

You don't even live in Pakistan. Why does it bother you how much we pay at the petrol pump/gas station? Did it occur to you that gasoline prices have soared in USA & instead of worrying about your own country, you are typing away furiously about another country 11,000 miles away? I well remember paying $0.87 per gallon; how much do you pay now?
Everyone can talk big, this is what PML n promised the people, now lets see that happen. (see attached pic).
you guys are in office now you must have a plan, Dont blame the previous government for current situation, I assume the current gov would have done their homework and analyzed the situation. blaming others isn’t the answer. Now you better deliver instead of going their way.

And why cant an american ask, its okay to interfere in your country but cannot raise a question thats what you find offensive, where do you draw the line??

Plus i have total right to ask while I am sitting 11,000 miles away, as we have a major stake in Pakistan economy.
Gasoline prices hiked up here but now its going down every 3rd day the price goes down, and the 0.87/ gallon was in 1978 that was over 50 years ago. Right now its 4.98/ gallon still more expensive than pakistan.

So petrol price should go down there as well. those are your leaders words not mine.

Attachments

• 11987C87-FE05-4BFB-A2E5-BBB22500EE34.jpeg
    11987C87-FE05-4BFB-A2E5-BBB22500EE34.jpeg
    96 KB · Views: 30
This is what you think. do note that government has IB & other organs for communicating information that does not get to us until it gets to newspapers. The VoNC move had been building momentum over the past few months. Such subsidy as was provided by PTI (both oil products & electricity) is a typical election year move.

Do you really think that government actually cared about general population that it would go against directives of a major lender like IMF, even though the lending program is not complete? This was all a calculated move. Now when the new government would have to undo the price freeze, just watch IK roar with indignation, going back to his rhetoric pre-2018. Its all planned.
Last Govt didn't knew how to use Police let alone IB or anyother org.If they were so smart as you want us to think than they would have stopped VoNC in start through hook or crook.
The fact is that Pakistani awam isn't capable of taking more burden,and it seems that new Govt has also realised that.

2.5 Billion PKR daily subsidy . How long can economy afford this ?
As long as it an afford perks and privileges for babus and netas.

Last Govt didn't knew how to use Police let alone IB or anyother org.If they were so smart as you want us to think than they would have stopped VoNC in start through hook or crook.
The fact is that Pakistani awam isn't capable of taking more burden,and it seems that new Govt has also realised that.
You'd be surprised what people can put up with once forced by circumstances.

The fact is that the government can not keep the deficit going. Its way too tough. Every tankful of petrol that I get for my car puts more pressure on the country's finance & this would disproportionately be borne by poor people. I honestly feel shame that my lifestyle is being subsidized by the poor. I don't want it this way.

Once VoNC got going and lack of Establishment's support became common knowledge, even parties like BAP dissociated themselves from the PTI government. IK did try hook & crook as we all saw & continue to see. But in the end, it is all futile.

Everyone can talk big, this is what PML n promised the people, now lets see that happen. (see attached pic).
you guys are in office now you must have a plan, Dont blame the previous government for current situation, I assume the current gov would have done their homework and analyzed the situation. blaming others isn’t the answer. Now you better deliver instead of going their way.

And why cant an american ask, its okay to interfere in your country but cannot raise a question thats what you find offensive, where do you draw the line??

Plus i have total right to ask while I am sitting 11,000 miles away, as we have a major stake in Pakistan economy.
Gasoline prices hiked up here but now its going down every 3rd day the price goes down, and the 0.87/ gallon was in 1978 that was over 50 years ago. Right now its 4.98/ gallon still more expensive than pakistan.

So petrol price should go down there as well. those are your leaders words not mine.
Dude, I don't run the government. My influence begins & ends with my vote & my voice.

The current deficit spending is just not sustainable. And I will certainly blame the PTI government. Why should I not?

You'd be surprised what people can put up with once forced by circumstances.
Don't you think public is doing that since 2000?
And there is tipping point where public would simple go mad.

The fact is that the government can not keep the deficit going. Its way too tough. Every tankful of petrol that I get for my car puts more pressure on the country's finance & this would disproportionately be borne by poor people. I honestly feel shame that my lifestyle is being subsidized by the poor. I don't want it this way.
Increased POL prices mean,increase in inflation many folds as compared to toady which public won't be able to sustain.

Once VoNC got going and lack of Establishment's support became common knowledge, even parties like BAP dissociated themselves from the PTI government. IK did try hook & crook as we all saw & continue to see. But in the end, it is all futile.
Establisment got a new "yes man" with added bonus of guy being smart in running task at hands.

Don't you think public is doing that since 2000?
And there is tipping point where public would simple go mad.

Increased POL prices mean,increase in inflation many folds as compared to toady which public won't be able to sustain.

Establisment got a new "yes man" with added bonus of guy being smart in running task at hands.
Bro, what about deficit spending? Who gets to foot the bill? I will willingly accept Rs. 200/liter, which forces me to pay my fair share. The impact of deficit spending is much worse than simple inflation. Its like delaying the inevitable but with interest.

When was that ? Maybe 1988 ??

India taxes Petrol at 100%. Pakistan need not follow the same policy.

Secondly, I wonder if Pakistan is privy to cheaper petrol because of close connection with Saudi Kingdom. Certainly, the deferred payment option will be a kind of discount for Pakistan. So Pakistan can probably afford to keep fuel pump price at 170 or 180 mark :pop:
Pakistan gets 25 or 50 cent discount on petroleum from Saudis