No electricity thread

Dubious

RETIRED MOD
Scientific innovation for areas deprived of electricity

Before the discovery of electricity life still went on....

Since there is load shedding in Pakistan till the foreseeable future I am dedicating this thread to scientific innovation which helps us in this world when we have to live in such conditions....Please dont troll you live under a/c 24/7 good to know move on and live your life...there are other HUMAN BEINGS who are not as fortunate!

by Michelle Kennedy Hogan, 05/22/15
filed under: Eco-Inspiration, energy efficiency, Green Products, News

This $129 foot-powered clothes washer is now available for pre-order in the U.S. | Inhabitat - Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building

yirego_drumi_washer-537x537.png

A people-powered washing machine is a dream come true for some who live in remote areas, off-the-grid or in places where a washer and dryer are a hike to get to. The Drumi is reminiscent of the GiraDora, a foot-pedal washing machine prototype that never came to market in the U.S. Now, the Drumi is available for sale.

yirego-drumi-537x288.jpg

The Drumi is designed for campers, students, off-griders or anyone else who would rather use their foot to power their wash loads than electricity. At only 22 inches tall, the Drumi can handle 6 or 7 individual garments (about 5 lbs of clothes) at once, but only one pair of jeans. (If you’ve ever hand-washed a pair of jeans, this makes perfect sense to you.) Ideal for delicate items or baby clothes, the Drumi uses only five liters (just over a gallon) of water to clean a load of clothes.

To use it, you load the clothes in the drum, put detergent in the hopper and then add the water. You push the pedal for five minutes, which spins the drum back and forth, then push the button to drain the water. Add more water for rinsing, push the pedal some more, and drain. According to Yirego, a Toronto-based household design company, the washer uses 80 percent less water than a regular washer. It also uses liquid, powder and solid detergents.

Priced at $129 USD, the Drumi is available for pre-order and promises delivery, at latest, by July 2016. If you are interested in low-impact washers, other styles are also available including the Swoosh, the bucket using Venus, and the Laundry POD, which is like a washing salad spinner.

Read more: This $129 foot-powered clothes washer is now available for pre-order in the U.S. | Inhabitat - Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building

CYCLEAN BIKE-POWERED WASHING MACHINE
by Emily Pilloton, 08/22/07
filed under: Green Appliances, Renewable Energy

Read more: CYCLEAN BIKE-POWERED WASHING MACHINE | Inhabitat - Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building

washerdryer3.jpg

Turns out riding a bike can have more benefits than simply exercise or green-transportation… these days your pedal power can provide juice for your cell phone, the TV at your gym, and now even your washing machine. Pedal your way to cleaner clothes – and save energy and get fit in the process!

cyclean2.jpg

The contraption itself is built out of parts Gadsden found in scrap yards and dumps. All he needed was an old washing machine to strip down to just the drum and shocks- then he made a frame for the machine to sit on, and integrated a universal joint which connected the back of the machine to the wheelbarrow wheel. The last step in the construction process was building a frame for the bike to sit on using the brazons on the bike. Put it all together and he had a lean green eco-friendly washing machine that gets your clothes clean and your waistline leaner all in one fell swoop.

Read more: CYCLEAN BIKE-POWERED WASHING MACHINE | Inhabitat - Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building

Instead of paying gym fees to do some cycling do your laundry :enjoy:

Pedal-Powered Washing Machine Gets Big Company Backing

Jaymi Heimbuch(@JaymiHeimbuch)
Technology / Clean Technology
September 9, 2010

human-powered-washing-machine.jpg

Bike-powered washing machines aren't a new idea; however, at least one big appliance company is backing up the idea. Haier, an large electronics company out of China, showed off a human-powered washing machine concept at IFA 2010. It's fairly simple -- an exercise bike collects energy as the person pedals, and the charging battery then powers the washing machine. Supposedly 20 minutes of work is enough to wash one load of clothes on cold cycle. The idea of using human power to get off grid even a little bit is tempting -- and of course gyms are becoming quick to harness the power of people exercising. But could it work at home? Gizmag writes, "The rationale behind Haier's IFA display is that, like almost every major electronics manufacturer, it's keen to make consumers aware of its environmental commitment...That's not to say that the human-powered washer is a total gimmick. Haier told us that it is gauging consumer response at the show and might consider bringing the idea to market."

Even with a big company looking at pushing it forward, whether or not someone would bring this into their home is up in the air. I can see it being like one of those NordicTrack systems that seem so brilliant around the holidays when we're keen to loose a couple pounds but loses its shine a couple weeks later. After all, the Cyclean hasn't exactly taken off in the last four years.

But I have to say, as someone who likes to cycle for exercise and multitask, I'd definitely consider something like this. It'd not only save me money from the energy bill each month, but I'd be able to quit my gym and save money there too. Not a bad deal. And I'd be forced to exercise since being lazy means no clean clothes.

Even with Haier's backing, it seems very unlikely to be popular if it makes it to market. Plus, the bigger environmental issue with washing machines isn't their energy use but their water use. A bike-powered system would be better suited for the clothes dryer portion of a wash load.

Pedal-Powered Washing Machine Gets Big Company Backing : TreeHugger

Maybe Pakistani markets would be better where you have no other option!

Doing that in 45 degree heat can make one see stars in daytime.
People still go to the gym (the stepping exercise) and pay for it :enjoy:

CYCLEAN BIKE-POWERED WASHING MACHINE
by Emily Pilloton, 08/22/07
filed under: Green Appliances, Renewable Energy

washerdryer3.jpg

cyclean2.jpg

The contraption itself is built out of parts Gadsden found in scrap yards and dumps. All he needed was an old washing machine to strip down to just the drum and shocks- then he made a frame for the machine to sit on, and integrated a universal joint which connected the back of the machine to the wheelbarrow wheel. The last step in the construction process was building a frame for the bike to sit on using the brazons on the bike. Put it all together and he had a lean green eco-friendly washing machine that gets your clothes clean and your waistline leaner all in one fell swoop.

Instead of paying gym fees to do some cycling do your laundry :enjoy:

Pedal-Powered Washing Machine Gets Big Company Backing

Jaymi Heimbuch(@JaymiHeimbuch)
Technology / Clean Technology
September 9, 2010

human-powered-washing-machine.jpg

Bike-powered washing machines aren't a new idea; however, at least one big appliance company is backing up the idea. Haier, an large electronics company out of China, showed off a human-powered washing machine concept at IFA 2010. It's fairly simple -- an exercise bike collects energy as the person pedals, and the charging battery then powers the washing machine. Supposedly 20 minutes of work is enough to wash one load of clothes on cold cycle. The idea of using human power to get off grid even a little bit is tempting -- and of course gyms are becoming quick to harness the power of people exercising. But could it work at home? Gizmag writes, "The rationale behind Haier's IFA display is that, like almost every major electronics manufacturer, it's keen to make consumers aware of its environmental commitment...That's not to say that the human-powered washer is a total gimmick. Haier told us that it is gauging consumer response at the show and might consider bringing the idea to market."

Even with a big company looking at pushing it forward, whether or not someone would bring this into their home is up in the air. I can see it being like one of those NordicTrack systems that seem so brilliant around the holidays when we're keen to loose a couple pounds but loses its shine a couple weeks later. After all, the Cyclean hasn't exactly taken off in the last four years.

But I have to say, as someone who likes to cycle for exercise and multitask, I'd definitely consider something like this. It'd not only save me money from the energy bill each month, but I'd be able to quit my gym and save money there too. Not a bad deal. And I'd be forced to exercise since being lazy means no clean clothes.

Even with Haier's backing, it seems very unlikely to be popular if it makes it to market. Plus, the bigger environmental issue with washing machines isn't their energy use but their water use. A bike-powered system would be better suited for the clothes dryer portion of a wash load.

Pedal-Powered Washing Machine Gets Big Company Backing : TreeHugger

Maybe Pakistani markets would be better where you have no other option!
haha Cycle Wali Washing Machine

This product originally invented by an Indian school girl remya....

haha Cycle Wali Washing Machine
Haan jub bijli ka haal jaysa hai naa....tub haans kay dikhna....I lost trust in idiots to be able to fix it in my lifetime...I rather invest in something that can adapt me to the situation....According to conservationists if you dont adapt you get extinct :coffee:

THIS can be for hostel...Make them whinny children appreciate their mummies!

Zero-Carbon Waterwheel Washing Machine is Completely Powered by Flowing Water

by Lidija Grozdanic, 03/18/14
filed under: Green Appliances, green technology, News

waterwheel-washing-machine-537x413.jpg

A team of Chinese designers has developed a brilliant Waterwheel washing machine that combines the mechanism of modern spinning washing machines with traditional washing techniques used in ancient China. The Waterwheel Washing Machine is cheap, zero emission, and completely powered by water.

Waterwheel-Washing-Machine-2-537x295.jpg

The washing machine incorporates a waterwheel that is naturally turned by the flow of a river. Waterwheels have been used for centuries prior to the invention of electricity for agricultural activities such as irrigation and grinding. The designers decided to take a step back and reconsider using this system as a sustainable alternative to modern technology.

The periphery of the Waterwheel Washing Machine features inset vanes that fill with water to drive the structure. It is divided into three separate cabins which allow three families to use it simultaneously. The project won a Red Dot Design Award in 2013.

Zero-Carbon Waterwheel Washing Machine is Completely Powered by Flowing Water | Inhabitat - Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building

Not soo sure dam tou bannay dayna nai iss koum nay washing machine chala na tou door ki baat!

This product originally invented by an Indian school girl remya....
Well too bad india didnt take it to the 2nd step if you read the article they admitted its nothing new!

Bike-powered washing machines aren't a new idea;

Kindly do read it doesnt kill :enjoy:

Haan jub bijli ka haal jaysa hai naa....tub haans kay dikhna....I lost trust in idiots to be able to fix it in my lifetime...I rather invest in something that can adapt me to the situation....According to conservationists if you dont adapt you get extinct :coffee:

THIS can be for hostel...Make them whinny children appreciate their mummies!

Zero-Carbon Waterwheel Washing Machine is Completely Powered by Flowing Water

by Lidija Grozdanic, 03/18/14
filed under: Green Appliances, green technology, News

waterwheel-washing-machine-537x413.jpg

A team of Chinese designers has developed a brilliant Waterwheel washing machine that combines the mechanism of modern spinning washing machines with traditional washing techniques used in ancient China. The Waterwheel Washing Machine is cheap, zero emission, and completely powered by water.

Waterwheel-Washing-Machine-2-537x295.jpg

The washing machine incorporates a waterwheel that is naturally turned by the flow of a river. Waterwheels have been used for centuries prior to the invention of electricity for agricultural activities such as irrigation and grinding. The designers decided to take a step back and reconsider using this system as a sustainable alternative to modern technology.

The periphery of the Waterwheel Washing Machine features inset vanes that fill with water to drive the structure. It is divided into three separate cabins which allow three families to use it simultaneously. The project won a Red Dot Design Award in 2013.

Zero-Carbon Waterwheel Washing Machine is Completely Powered by Flowing Water | Inhabitat - Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building

Not soo sure dam tou bannay dayna nai iss koum nay washing machine chala na tou door ki baat!

Well too bad india didnt take it to the 2nd step if you read the article they admitted its nothing new!

Kindly do read it doesnt kill :enjoy:
OK can they invent a Computer run on Water? Im sure they can!

The Electricity-Free Laundry Pod Washer Cuts Down on Water, Time and Energy
by Morgana Matus, 08/25/13

The-Laundry-Pod.jpg

Doing laundry can be aggravating enough without having to worry about quarters, hauling heavy loads, and wasting energy. The Laundry Pod from StoreBound avoids the stress of laundromats by providing a portable, human-powered machine that saves energy, water and money. The device uses a hand crank instead of electricity, requiring only a few minutes of work to wash a load of laundry. Similar to the GiraDora, the Laundry Pod is lightweight, easy to operate, and electricity-free.

The average visitor to a laundromat in the US can spend up to $5 per load of laundry, and if you have a conventional washing machine at home, it can drive up your utilities bills. At only $99.95, the Laundry Pod is a relatively inexpensive way to keep both a clean conscience and a clean closet. Perfect for small apartment spaces, camping, and displaced living, the Laundry Pod is a compact washer and spin dryer that takes advantage of a circular spinning mechanism powered by a hand lever. Standing at a little over a foot tall and weighing 6.5 lbs, the Laundry Pod is available in three different colors.

Only 1.5 gallons of wash water and 1/5 of detergent are needed to clean the 10 garments that can fit into the tub. Once loaded, the inside basket is spun by cranking the arm on the lid, needing only about two minutes of agitation. The drain valve and flexible hose easily siphons off soapy water. After the first cycle, fresh water can be added to rinse the load, drained, and the inner basket spun again using the hand crank to spin off excess moisture. The entire process takes about ten minutes to complete.

By purchasing a personal, human-powered machine, the owner can eliminate the need to waste fuel moving back and forth between laundromats and home, cut down on overall water and power usage, and save valuable time and money. The capacity of the Laundry Pod is a quarter of a conventional machine, so a little planning is involved to handle large amounts of dirty duds. Easier on the environment than large, metal machines, the lightweight plastic model can be easily transferred and even shared.

Read more: The Electricity-Free Laundry Pod Washer Cuts Down on Water, Time and Energy | Inhabitat - Sustainable Design Innovation, Eco Architecture, Green Building

They forgot the part you get arm muscles in no time :unsure:

I think that people should attach a launderette next to the gym...No matter what exercise you do arms or legs...You get power for laundry! Maybe get a battery and you can save your energy in it and then go plug it in a washing machine :woot: I am a genius @Manticore @S.U.R.B. @Emmie @Slav Defence

Gym me Ac hota hai madam.:mad::p:
run your a/c on the cycle I am planning to put up some on cooling systems ...Instead of criticizing and whining try contributing like a normal person of science would :enjoy:

OK can they invent a Computer run on Water? Im sure they can!
Get the blueprints ready my dear....You can be an inventor :woot:

Mitticool freeze...
Mansukh bhai Prajapati, a traditional clay craftsmen, has transformed traditional clay items into an innovative range of products which he calls Mitticool, ‘mitti’ meaning clay in Hindi. The Better India sheds lights on the entrepreneurial journey of this tenacious innovator.

Born in Nichimandal village of Morbi, Rajkot, Mansukhbhai was exposed to traditional clay making since childhood. But, due to the precarious financial situation of the family, he had to leave studies early and take up various odd jobs to support the family.

Entrepreneurial Streak

In 1988, he left his job and took a loan of Rs. 30,000 to start his own earthen plate manufacturing factory. Mansukh bhai modified the roof tile making hand press and developed a hand press machine having a capacity to produce 700 earthen pans per day. He sold one pan for 0.65 paisa and within 2 days he could sell the entire 1st batch.

This continued for some time. However, he started getting negative feedback from customers regarding the durability of the tavas (pans). He then experimentally varied the proportions of clay to get a mix which was more heat resistant and durable.

In 1990, he got his unit company registered. And in 1995 he got a bulk export order for water filters from Nairobi, Kenya. Finally, the Trade Mark ‘Mitticool’ was registered in 2001.

Tragedy

In the calamitous earthquake of 2001, Mansukh bhai suffered huge irreparable loss. His stock was decimated to a large extent, and whatever remained, he distributed it among the earthquake victims in Kutch.

Idea for Mitticool Fridge

In February 2001, Sandesh Gujarat Daily carried a photo feature on the earthquake where at one place it showed a broken water filter of Mansukhbhai with the caption ‘Garibi Ka Fridge Tut Gaya’ (Fridge of the Poor got broken)

This caption motivated him to work hard and create a fridge that could be used by rural masses. In 2002, he started working on the refrigerator design and came in contact with GIAN (Grassroots Innovation Augmentation Network), which assisted him in various stages of product development.

Mitticool – The Natural Refrigerator

The principle of cooling used in this simple machine is the same as that of earthen pots. It does not require electricity or any artificial energy and therefore has no recurring costs. The refrigerator preserves the original taste of fruits and vegetables.

During testing, the shelf life of coriander was extended by 4 days as against 1.5-2 days in room temperature. Shelf life of vegetables like brinjal, chilly & okra was increased on an average by 5-6 days vis-à-vis room temperature.

Mitticool fridge

GIAN facilitated design improvements in the fridge through National Institute of Design (NID), Ahmedabad. Mitticool refrigerator has been featured at a conference organized by the Centre for India and Global Business, Judge Business School, University of Cambridge, UK in May 2009. Bosch and Siemens Hausgeräte (BSH), Germany, one of the world’s largest home appliance companies, have also written to GIAN and showed interest in the product.

- See more at: When An Earthquake Hit Gujarat, He Invented "Mitticool", A Clay Fridge That Runs Without Electricity - The Better India

PASSIVE VACCINE STORAGE DEVICE
Senegal2013-double-web.jpg

Diseases like polio have been eradicated in many countries through vaccination; however, they are still prominent in parts of the developing world. One of the greatest challenges to reaching children for vaccination is the sensitive nature of vaccines themselves, vaccines must be kept at precise temperatures until use, to prevent spoiling. Unfortunately, many parts of the developing world lack the infrastructure and electricity to maintain reliable temperature controlled distribution systems. As a result, countless lifesaving vaccines spoil between manufacture and use.
As part of IV’s Global Good program, our team at IV Lab developed an insulated container, to strengthen and extend vaccination services in developing countries. The passive vaccine storage device, Arktek™ is designed to keep vaccines at appropriate temperatures for a month or more with repeat vaccine retrievals and no need for electricity. The device combines the best attributes of vaccine cold boxes and stationary refrigerators currently used. Unlike other vaccine cold boxes that keep vaccines cold for one to five days, our device holds temperatures for over a month, and unlike refrigerators, it is transportable, low cost, low maintenance, and can be used anywhere.

Arktek uses super insulation techniques similar to those used to store cryogenic fluids; its design is specific to vaccine storage and can maintain the necessary temperatures using only ice. Vaccines can then be retrieved without jeopardizing the remaining vials and the insulated container can remain in the field for repeated use.

Here is the interview of the guy behind this
Nathan Myhrvold on CNN’s Global Public Square with Fareed Zakaria | Intellectual Ventures Laboratory

I think that people should attach a launderette next to the gym...No matter what exercise you do arms or legs...You get power for laundry! Maybe get a battery and you can save your energy in it and then go plug it in a washing machine :woot: I am a genius @Manticore @S.U.R.B. @Emmie @Slav Defence

run your a/c on the cycle I am planning to put up some on cooling systems ...Instead of criticizing and whining try contributing like a normal person of science would :enjoy:

Get the blueprints ready my dear....You can be an inventor :woot:

@Akheilos

I had heard about it in Pak as well.Once in a news channel here they telecasted a news clip about people using their bike at northern part of Pakistan to gather energy and use it at the night time....
(It'll take a lot out of me to search that clip out so, if you can believe me on this )

In the past (still they do) people used to attach a dynamo with their cycle to gather energy for their light source attached at the front and back of their bikes.

Also at gym, if you see the fitness equipment like that cycling bike, it has got an electronic display on it,with all the gadgets and systems that start running in the background as soon as you kick in,all depending upon the source which is the human power that is being applied to it.

@Akheilos

I had heard about it in Pak as well.Once in a news channel here telecast a news clip about people using their bike at northern part of Pakistan to gather energy and use it at the night time....
(It'll take a lot out of me to search that clip out so, if you can believe me on this )

In the past (still they do) people used to attach a dynamo with their cycle to gather energy for their light source attached at the front and back of their bikes.

Also at gym, if you see the fitness equipment like that cycling bike, it has got at electronic display on it,with all the gadgets and systems that starts running in the background as soon as you kick in,all depending upon the source which is the human power that is being applied to it.
Haan our govt will push us to village living lifestyle with metro :p:

April 3, 2015

An eco-friendly and cheap cooling system developed by a Mexican researcher uses solar energy to maintain temperature of food and water at nine degrees Celsius for three months.

solarcooling.jpg

Refrigerating systems have been under the spot light ever since they were found guilty of polluting the atmosphere with the Chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs), causing a depletion in the ozone layer. As of the 1970s, the negative effect of these compounds has globally acknowledged and heavily regulated. Nevertheless, their use in refrigerating systems continues to be apparent, and it will remain so until year 2020 (2030 for developing countries), when all CFCs should be faced out, as agreed during a United Nations-sponsored Montreal summit .

It is somewhat needless to say that any technology that can accelerate the process of complete elimination of these chemicals by providing an eco-friendly and affordable alternative, is more than welcome. One such development comes from the Institute of Science of the Meritorious University of Puebla (BUAP), in Mexico, by researcher Susana Elvia Toledo Flores. A solar-powered, eco-friendly, cooling system.

The cheap and easy to to produce technology has very few components- a solar collector, an adsorbent bed, a condenser and an evaporator. The system also uses only the mineral zeolite, water and methanol.

It works by a thermodunamic adsorption-desportion cycle. It uses solar radiation, methanol (as a refrigerant) and the mineral zeolite (as an adsorbent). During the day, solar radiation heats up the zeolite, bringing up the vapor pressure of the methanol, which condenses the refrigerant. This is then stored in a tank, connected to the evaporator. At night, the temperature of the adsorbent bed decreases, so as the refrigerant pressure, causing the methanol to evaporate, while the adsorbent is cooling, maintaining the temperature of the confined environment.

Flores has already developed a fully-functioning prototype, which was introduced to the public for a first time last month, during the International Congress of Solar Energy in Germany. It works continuously 24 hours a day, and can keep the temperature constant at nine degrees Celsius for up to three months.

The next challenge in front of the researcher is to make the system cool down to five degrees. She believes that this cheap and eco-friendly technology will not only help communities, who have limited access to electricity, to preserve their food and medical supplies, but it could also act as an air-conditioner.

Image (c) BUAP

Solar Cooling System Preserves Food Without Electricity - The Green Optimistic

Haan our govt will push us to village living lifestyle with metro :p:

Now the healthy enough :oops: housewives will be getting their gym exercise in their laundry or kitchen ... you name it.
This is a revolutionary phenomenon, if one chooses to apply it.:D
At least they may stop reading the totkass to get slim in 20 days, with a pic of Angelina Jolie at the background.:D

I will better wait for electricity to come and them do laundry ,.. These products won't be effective like Washing machine . may be for baby cloths and stuff . for 10000 rupees for the first one (pedal machine) buy one inverter