What's new

My Thoughts | Lockdowns are Suicide

PakPrinciples

Reaction score
Country
Pakistan
** I originally wrote this back around March 20th, 2020 around when my laptop broke and I only received a replacement recently so a lot of the information may seem old now but I have updated it a little **

My Thoughts | Lockdowns are Suicide

The actions, most very late to this pandemic, world governments have taken made no sense and there are those in Pakistan who seem to be losing their minds over the spread of the novel coronavirus namely parties like the PPP and PML-N who have over exaggerated the threat this virus poses to Pakistan while admittedly others in the country seem to outright discount the threat all together.

I want to preface what I’m about to say with the fact that I am NOT a medical professional, I have no experience in dealing with infectious disease pandemics so we should always be consulting the relevant experts but what I am about to write is based on my readings of findings and research materials. I could be way off, the effect malnourishment and polio have had on our population isn't totally understood or known but I'm interested in seeing what others have to say on this.

SARS-CoV-2 is not airborne, at least there’s very little evidence to suggest this, instead what we do know is that it’s transmitted through contact with respiratory droplets containing the virus whether that comes from someone coughing on you, shaking your hands after having wiped their nose or having coughed on an object you touched in all cases getting respiratory droplets/bodily fluid containing the virus into your respiratory tract (mouth/nose).

We have a pretty good understanding of the symptoms which appear in stages, so it’s crucial to educate the public and have people self quarantine then report to local medical authorities when you exhibit the following:
  1. Mild Symptoms (81%)
    • Fever
    • Dry Cough (no phlegm)
  2. Symptoms in severe cases (14%)