Muslim-American body issues fatwa against airport body scanners

Honestly the most telling experience about American tolerance comes if you're traveling through America, Muslim, male, 20s/30s.

If I think that started happening to all of Americans you will see legislation pass so fast against these draconian measures. One thing is certain, these measures can't go on indefinitely in good conscience. Only that most Americans don't have to go through them and are selfishly okay with letting the Muslims undergo this.

At JFK this dude in his 50s was being all patriotic when he was stopped alongside me. When they let him go, he turns around and while collecting his bags had the nerve to say, "See we must all do our part and I don't mind going through a little more security". He got told off by me, that dude you got done in 30 minutes, while he was leaving I had already spent 4 hours in the questioning areas. It took about 2 more hours for them to let me go.

This fatwa is stupid
Only sahabas can give fatwas
There's nothing morally wrong(maybe a bit embarrassing) but it's a legit procedure. What if someone is hiding bombs in their private parts?
Also, technically you're only looking at a monitor, not the actual human.
No sir ulemas can give Fatwas

This is a massive violation of any individuals civil rights, the fact that Muslims are being targeted only increases our vociferous objection but it escapes me why on Earth aren't everyone speaking up for their rights?

This is bullcrap. I'm sorry you had a bad experience with a jerk, but everyone is treated the same. 100% of the time? No, but it is far more even-handed than you are trying to portray.

That picture I posted is one of my favorites. Racist and Islamophobic USA installs a Muslim Woman in a sensitive security position. And she pats down the nun. If nothing else shows that there is no "special line for Muslims" at the airport, this shoud be it, unless you are in denial.

I live this stuff, it's an integral part of my job. In uniform, as an airline pilot, I am subject to severe scrutiny as well.

By the way, I hate those body scanners, but the alternative is a lengthy pat-down. If you want to fly, you've got to play the game.

This fatwa is stupid
There's nothing morally wrong(maybe a bit embarrassing) but it's a legit procedure. What if someone is hiding bombs in their private parts?

You are one of the very few sensible people to think so from Pakistan...

This is bullcrap. I'm sorry you had a bad experience with a jerk, but everyone is treated the same. 100% of the time? No, but it is far more even-handed than you are trying to portray.

That picture I posted is one of my favorites. Racist and Islamophobic USA installs a Muslim Woman in a sensitive security position. And she pats down the nun. If nothing else shows that there is no "special line for Muslims" at the airport, this shoud be it, unless you are in denial.

I live this stuff, it's an integral part of my job. In uniform, as an airline pilot, I am subject to severe scrutiny as well.

By the way, I hate those body scanners, but the alternative is a lengthy pat-down. If you want to fly, you've got to play the game.

I agree. I dont mind being checked because i have nothing to hide. As long as its the same rule for all then whats the problem? If its to do with security for the benefit of all then stop complaining guys. If i lost a family member in this manner i would be gutted if it could have been stopped by tight security and it wasnt.

No sir ulemas can give Fatwas

Who is a legit ulema and who isn't? How do we know?
Qayamat itne kharib aagai hai ke bap beton ka aur bete bap ka qatl kr de te hain, ham kisi alim per kese bharosa kr sakte hain?

what is this Fatwa thing all about? I hear a lot about these. How relavent are they in todays world?

I think going through a body scanner is much better option vs lengthy pat-down.I don't really see the big deal about these scanners - They are for our safety and much better then having pat down search by some dude.

Honestly the most telling experience about American tolerance comes if you're traveling through America, Muslim, male, 20s/30s.

If I think that started happening to all of Americans you will see legislation pass so fast against these draconian measures. One thing is certain, these measures can't go on indefinitely in good conscience. Only that most Americans don't have to go through them and are selfishly okay with letting the Muslims undergo this.

At JFK this dude in his 50s was being all patriotic when he was stopped alongside me. When they let him go, he turns around and while collecting his bags had the nerve to say, "See we must all do our part and I don't mind going through a little more security". He got told off by me, that dude you got done in 30 minutes, while he was leaving I had already spent 4 hours in the questioning areas. It took about 2 more hours for them to let me go.

AA: Do you suspect any particular reasons why you were held up for that long?

what is this Fatwa thing all about? I hear a lot about these. How relavent are they in todays world?

Unfortunately, most are blind enough to believe them :(

I'll explain what fatwa means: It means do not use your common sense, do not use dictionaries, do not even try to touch the Quran yourself - instead go to a mosque/website and get a 'fatwa' and also drop some $$$ in the donation box on the way out, and come back to sacrifice some of your sons

Here are some REAL LIFE examples

CAN I BUY MY WIFE BREAST ENLARGEMENTS?
No, accorning to “al-Liqa’ al-Shahri” breast enlargements is not allowed unless it is done to produce more milk. But you can use creams.

(DP: There are implants that produce more milk? Huh?) Islam Question and Answer - Ruling on breast enhancement surgery

IS BIRD POOP CLEAN?
Bird poo is clean as long as it’s not a bird of prey. In fact, The urine and dung of animals whose flesh may be eaten are taahir (pure). I think this means you can eat the poo of many animal and not get sick. Hooray! Islam Question and Answer - The urine and dung of animals whose flesh may be eaten are taahir (pure)

But this is the most epic of them all::::::
Islam Question and Answer - Ruling on eating mermaids

This fatwa is stupid
Bhai
Please dont venture into areas where you have no knowledge. Instead of calling something stupid, please learn the reason for issuance of a fatwa.
Araz

---------- Post added at 07:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:33 PM ----------

I would prefer being seen naked through a scanner rather than dying in mid air explosion.

Ahmad
The objection is not to the security aspect. But unnecessary exposure of the body for someone else to see. There are other ways in which security can be assured.
Araz

Bhai
Please dont venture into areas where you have no knowledge. Instead of calling something stupid, please learn the reason for issuance of a fatwa.
Araz

---------- Post added at 07:35 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:33 PM ----------

Ahmad
The objection is not to the security aspect. But unnecessary exposure of the body for someone else to see. There are other ways in which security can be assured.
Araz

I just have faith in Allah SWT

I am pleased to learn that. However you now have to take the next satep and learn what Allah SWT and his Prophet(PBUH) have said. It is not enough to sit down after having said I believe. What after that!!
Araz

Everyone feels the scanner burn now. Been scanned like dozen times already. They are trying to improve the system. That said, don't fly if you don't like it.

---------- Post added at 07:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:09 PM ----------

AA: Do you suspect any particular reasons why you were held up for that long?

They were perplexed how AA was issued American visa. They have seriously lowered the bar.