Military reforms of Sher Shah Suri

Under sher shah suri Pashtuns were forced to join the army and he made a law declaring no Pashtun would be allowed to take part in any other field.

Ok whatever helps you sleep at night. And lol at Yousafzais being their former masters. Hahaha! What's next? Afghanis invaded Atlantis?

And you got the whole history of Khanpur wrong, so no point in arguing with you any further. And if Gakhars were as weak as you then your own king wouldn't give them his daughter. Nuff said.
Our king giving daughter to ghakkars?. Must be the folk song of ghakkars. Thats how you ghakkars claim high status, by linking yourselves through fictional link with Afghan royalty?. Typical desi mindset

Under sher shah suri Pashtuns were forced to join the army and he made a law declaring no Pashtun would be allowed to take part in any other field.
Ofcourse, they were not meant for lohar, carpenter, hajam, chamar jobs, there were already plenty of skilled karigar and castes in india. The reason he issued such a stern decree, is that many pashtuns of india at that time were gone into state of peer faqeeri after defeat at the hands of mughals. Pashtuns were not indegenous to india and were not that numerous, so sher shah couldnt afford this uselessness. Unlike previous turkic dynasties, lodhi and suri were pashtun-centric empires, running on the basis of pashtunwali and tribal system. Sher shah was definately driven by pashtun nationalism saying same stuff as khushal khan khattak. Thanks to his much needed stern-ness, largest pashtun army was ever assembled in the history. His army was even greater than Ahmad shah abdali, whose standing army was only 40 thousands.
His son, islam shah faced a religous fitna of shiekh alai that got popular among pashtuns of india. Shiekh alai adhered himself to fake imam mehdi, of jaunpur, and his followers, most of whom were pashtuns, gave up on wordly affairs and families.

Grand trunk road from Bengal ocean shore to Punjab. Another major road was built from Agra to Jodhpur. Another was built from lahore to Multan. Along all these roads, he built 1700 serais were built with separate lodgings for hindus and muslims. At the each of road, trees were grown for shade and wells were dug for comfort of travellers. The army was tasked of patrolling the road, to provide security to the merchants and any one travelling on the road, this increased trade. At each serai along the road, two horses were available for carrying news on daily basis, 3400 horses total for postal service and intelligence.

Today, the Grand Trunk Road (GT Road) remains a continuum that covers a distance of over 2,500 kilometres (1,600 mi). From its origin at Chittagong, it traverses to Sonargaon in the Narayanganj District of central Bangladesh, it reaches India

Grand Trunk Road - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Our king giving daughter to ghakkars?. Must be the folk song of ghakkars. Thats how you ghakkars claim high status, by linking yourselves through fictional link with Afghan royalty?. Typical desi mindset

Yes the chief of Khanpur would lie about his ancestry right? The current Khanpur lord Erij Zaman' mother is the daughter of Khan of Makhad, and grandmother a daughter of the then king of Afghanistan. Now cry me a river.

And lol at desi mentality. We're a much more respectable people than your kind will ever be. Almost every third party account for your people has been negative. And you're a mahajar who fled his own homeland and now talking about grandeur which he never had. And we don't need to claim a high status. We are a people of high birth, don't need anyone's approval. And just to let you know I'm not a Gakhar. Just have a slight ancestry from them.

Surrender is not in our blood unlike Afkunis. Sher Shah's grandson surrendered to Akbar lol. I'm surprised Akbar was magnanimous and spared his life. Ibrahim Lodhi wasn't too lucky. He learnt the hard way by getting his head roasted on a tawa.

Yes the chief of Khanpur would lie about his ancestry right? The current Khanpur lord Erij Zaman' mother is the daughter of Khan of Makhad, and grandmother a daughter of the then king of Afghanistan. Now cry me a river.

And lol at desi mentality. We're a much more respectable people than your kind will ever be. Almost every third party account for your people has been negative. And you're a mahajar who fled his own homeland and now talking about grandeur which he never had. And we don't need to claim a high status. We are a people of high birth, don't need anyone's approval. And just to let you know I'm not a Gakhar. Just have a slight ancestry from them.

Surrender is not in our blood unlike Afkunis. Sher Shah's grandson surrendered to Akbar lol. I'm surprised Akbar was magnanimous and spared his life. Ibrahim Lodhi wasn't too lucky. He learnt the hard way by getting his head roasted on a tawa.
Non-sense, no such marraige exists in the records of barakzai rulers, must be some persian concubine. I have book with me of barakzai rulers and their lineages, no mention of any petty ghakkar chief. I have searched google, and some one (most probably you ) has edited into wikipedia article about ghakkars. Laughable desi complex
And your grip on history is pathetic. The only grandson of sher shah, i.e son of islam shah ,was murdered by adil shah.

Surrender is not in our blood unlike Afkunis.
Yea we know exactly whether potohari army soldiers surrenders or not, you cant hide things in modren history. Indian army have interesting things to tell.
Potohari tribes, have proved from their history, that they have been consistently worshippers of rising suns. They opposed early muslim conquerors just because they were hindus, after conversion they started sucking upto Afghans, mughals, afsharids, sikhs and british. You make fun of hindu rajputs of rajasthan, atleast they were power player of india, were not like wannabe and fake rajputs of potohar. Your potoharis sucked upto mughals so much yet no representation in army like rajputs. Not even representation in mughal nobility. Ghakkars made rishtadari with mughals, for gains, yet the greatest rank any ghakkars has ever achieved in mughal empire, is kamal khan ghakkar being subordinate of zain khan koka. Martial race certificate from british, keep boasting about that.

Yea we know exactly whether potohari army soldiers surrenders or not, you cant hide things in modren history. Indian army have interesting things to tell.
Potohari tribes, have proved from their history, that they have been consistently worshippers of rising suns. They opposed early muslim conquerors just because they were hindus, after conversion they started sucking upto Afghans, mughals, afsharids, sikhs and british. You make fun of hindu rajputs of rajasthan, atleast they were power player of india, were not like wannabe and fake rajputs of potohar. Your potoharis sucked upto mughals so much yet no representation in army like rajputs. Not even representation in mughal nobility. Ghakkars made rishtadari with mughals, for gains, yet the greatest rank any ghakkars has ever achieved in mughal empire, is kamal khan ghakkar being subordinate of zain khan koka. Martial race certificate from british, keep boasting about that.

Chalo khush hou jao, whatever helps you sleep at night. Aur beti sabh se pehle kisne dee thee, woh tau sabh ko pata hai. I need not say more. And I didn't edit any Khanpur history. But yeah they're lying if it will help an Afghani mahajar sleep.

And speaking of surrender. The only army platoon to not surrender in East Pakistan was led by a Potohari Brigadier Tajammal Malik. And the surrender ceremony was signed by General Niazi....so... Oh and did I mention that "I'm your cow" ritual that was observed by Babur, Sikhs and British.

Sher Shah Suri was perhaps the greatest ruler in the 16th Century Indian Sub-Continent.It was his sheer bad luck that he died pre-maturely during the siege of Kalinjar.It's a pity that his successors were not competent enough to rule the empire that he created within a span of only 5 years.If he had lived for a few decades more he would have for certain created the largest empire in the Indian Sub-Continent history.He was not only an exceptional Military leader but also an extremely efficient Administration.Jalaluddin Akbar later on followed many of his administrative reforms during his reign including the land reform laws which was created by him.

Yeah. That way he was similar to Maharaja Ranjeet Singh.

Oh bhai

Not ALL Pashtuns.

Only the ones close to GT Road (Peshawar + Charsadda areas).

It was more like conscription that went on along GT Road trouble spots from Peshawar to Lahore.

This made it easier to keep peace along the major road.

That's all.

Oh bhai

Not ALL Pashtuns.

Only the ones close to GT Road (Peshawar + Charsadda areas).

It was more like conscription that went on along GT Road trouble spots from Peshawar to Lahore.

This made it easier to keep peace along the major road.

That's all.
Actually the decree was issued for the Pashtuns settled in India, Sher shah's didnt extended his rule to Peshawer/charsada or any Pashtun territory on other side of river indus. Peshwer/charsadda at that time was under mirza kamran, brother of humayun and local ghoria khel tribes were their supporters.

Hostilities aside. Who were the Miyanas? Where were they settled in India, and you mentioned Sher Shah Suri also attacking them. Were they pashtun and are they extinct now? Akbar sent Kamal Khan Gakhar to deal with them in some region called Malwa.

Malwa is present day Madhiya Pardesh state of central asia, it seems they were settled there at that time , later we find them in Deccan where they became important wazirs and nobles of Bijapur. After fall of bijapur to mughals, they established the state of savanur in northern Karnataka which gradually lost territories to Marathas and later to Tipu sultan. Savanur survived as princely state of British india. By shajra, they are cousins of Tareens and tribes like lunis, jafars etc of Baluchistan are their sub-tribes.

The sons of Miana became progenitors of as many sub-tribes or sections, some of which never became numerous. Most of its clans have become extinct or have lost their identity
(History of the Pathans - Volume 1 - Page 409)

According to Tarikh Sher Shahi, Sikander Khan miana was ruler of Handia and Sewas regions of Malwa while Mahesan was ruler of bhopal during Sher Shah's times. Sher Shah bestowed Sewas to some Shujaat Khan while the miana ruler , sikander khan, fled at the approach of sher shah but was later captured. When Sher Shah suri left Malwa to Agra, Naseer Khan Miana (brother of Sikander Khan Miana), faced Shujat khan with 6,000 horses but got defeated.
The History of India, as Told by Its Own Historians. The Muhammadan Period ... - Sir Henry Miers Elliot, John Dowson - Google Books

In Book by Professor Qannungo on Sher Shah, it is mentioned some 3,000 miana Afghans were killed on order of sher shah suri for some unknown reason.