krash
BC LUMS to sahi kanjar khana ban gaya hai
From Ammar ali jan to Nida Kirmani aur ab yeh
Bhai jan, you will find people with burkas and turbans, then people in shorts and tank tops, and then everyone else in between at LUMS. You'll see the children of business tycoons in Karachi and of dirt poor shepherds in Gilgit room together in the dorms. You'll see Molvi Profs teaching Applied Math, die hard feminists teaching Islamic Anthropology, and world renowned foreign Profs teaching random courses. It is an educational institute where people adhere to academic principles, i.e. everyone is welcomed to express their opinion which is their right, opinions are responded to with arguments not character attacks or censorship, your worth is your ability not where you come from, not what you wear and not what you look like, you can do whatever you want as long as it is not against the law or anyone else's rights, but most importantly they live and let live. In fact, it's a testament to LUMS' academic tradition that it produces students and Profs from all walks of life with all sorts of socio-political views. Unlike most others churning out the same ignorant hordes year in and year out. This is the only way societies progress.
I bet my reputation that there is no other institution in Pakistan which adheres to academic principles the way LUMS does. Hence also the reason why it produces some of the brightest minds in Pakistan and has done it for decades now. At least it did when I was there. The rest of Pakistani educational institutes, in specific, and Pakistan, in general, could stand to learn a lot from there.
Btw, she was only a teaching fellow for a year at LUMS back in 2013. Teaching fellows are not professors by any stretch of the imagination. They are post grad students who help out with undergrad labs and tutorials. Sort of like a TA but with different duties. Also, Humanities/Social Sciences students are a bit weirder than the norm in the their political views everywhere, reasons for it are beyond the scope here. Just sit with a few and you'll know.
Please don't propagate untrue stereotypes around. We used to hear and laugh at these stories.