Lavish tourist resort to be built in Gilgit-Baltistan
By Shabbir Mir
Published: September 16, 2015
957498-gilgitbaltistan-1442383465-619-640x480.jpg

PHOTO: AFP

GILGIT: A day after Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif inaugurated the Rs27.5 billion road project at Attabad Lake, the Gilgit–Baltistan government announced it is going to construct a resort to boost tourism in the region.

“We have planned to construct a state-of-the-art tourist resort near the lake to help tourism flourish,” Chief Minister Hafeezur Rahman said on Tuesday. The design for the premises is ready, he told The Express Tribune.

The resort, which will cost Rs450 million approximately, will be located near the highway inaugurated by the PM on Monday.

The CM said the tourist resort will have facilities like boat services as well.

Encouraged by the record increase in tourism this summer, the CM said the G-B government has decided to rank hotels as per the facilities they offer and will also fix rates according to the ranking.

“I apologise for not providing facilities to tourists this year. However, we ensure they will have a much better experience next year.”

New war chest

PM Sharif has increased the amount of funds available for G-B CM, which will enable him to implement development projects of up to Rs750 million in the region.

“Previously the G-B CM had powers to implement projects worth up to Rs400 million only,” said Rehman talking to the media at his office
on Monday.

The decision was made by Nawaz Sharif on Monday after he was briefed by Hafeezur Rahman about the issues the regional government is facing.

“The low ceiling used to cause delays in projects that cost more than Rs40 million. executive committee of the National Economic Council was the forum that decided the fate of the suggested project,” he said, adding the decision will help speed up the construction of infrastructure and other ventures in G-B.

Published in The Express Tribune, September 16th, 2015.

Great news! GB is a heaven, second only to Neelam Valley. Hope the hotel gets built in time, and they should make use of local labourers.

There's already few great hotels there but we need more.

Great news! GB is a heaven, second only to Neelam Valley. Hope the hotel gets built in time, and they should make use of local labourers.

There's already few great hotels there but we need more.
About time. Pakistan has huge tourism potential.
Indeed a commendable step, will promote tourism. i would suggest them to keep the resort affordable for general public. which is the usual problem.
I am happy but a question arises:

People dont go to Swat to act like kings but for its natural beauty and away from city....

Most REMOTE places in West have been destroyed by tourists and catering for them....Western tourists now seek adventure in remote and peaceful places which are called "hidden gems"....

When you see a European he will live in a hostel sharing a room with 9- 10 people coz its cheap and coz it is right in the city center not caring about its lavish lifestyle but about its cost effectiveness and close to the city and also close to nature

like when people go for camping.....they dont bring their homes with them though there are trailer parks but those are parks!

So just a question is this really as right as we are thinking?

There the problem lies with too many, here there aren't any-rest figure you can easily figure out. These resorts will help, most certainly will-just need to keep it affordable and etc, etc.

Hmmm....well I havent been to the place hence the question!

You raise good point @Akheilos however, people must have a right to choose the kind of holidays they want. Also we don't have any lavist resorts in Pakistan, I'm glad government of GB knows their potential and want to improve the livelihood of people living there, as it will also creat jobs for the people of that region. We dont have highrises in cities even, except for few in Karachi and Islamabad, so its not like we will turn Attabad into a jungle of concrete lol

This reminds me of Malam Jabba resort that was destroyed by the taliban, did they rebuild it?

You raise good point @Akheilos however, people must have a right to choose the kind of holidays they want. Also we don't have any lavist resorts in Pakistan, I'm glad government of GB knows their potential and want to improve the livelihood of people living there, as it will also creat jobs for the people of that region. We dont have highrises in cities even, except for few in Karachi and Islamabad, so its not like we will turn Attabad into a jungle of concrete lol

This reminds me of Malam Jabba resort that was destroyed by the taliban, did they rebuild it?
The thing is when you get lavish resorts it is usually internationally funded ....all good but the money goes abroad not to us...

Hilton goes to USA
Holiday Inn goes to USA
and many other companies....We need something desi! Like build a resort like Mughal era or something local from the area...and make sure it stays local! THEN we can call it an improvement!

Some of my friends work in the tourism industry and I myself took some courses (related but not really tourism course) and also I travel alot and get to talk to people...Many tell me about their backpacking trips to india and what they liked or not. Their trips to deserts, jungles and other natural landscapes!

In the Alps you also get like cabins not lavish resorts but cabins to rent....small hotels but rarely (not unheard of) anything LAVISH

so yes I have an idea what MANY people look for!

We dont have highrises in cities even, except for few in Karachi and Islamabad, so its not like we will turn Attabad into a jungle of concrete lol
I personally didnt like the highrises in NYC....I went to Manhatten and was like Mehh....I went to Rome and I was like :smitten:

Sure Rome doesnt look all clean and all...But during that era they managed to make all that is remarkable! Like the great wall, the pyramids...these are things to awe about (at least for me) :angel:

Suddenly Today there's now 4 Tourism News...

Multan
Lahore
Gilgit

:woot::woot:

With CPEC and KKH routes Northern areas and Coastal areas will have huge crowd....

It makes me so happy I cant even explain :yahoo: the other day a group of germans were at wagah border, this is when we are still carrying the image of a country at war, imagine in few years when we'll be rid of these scums, tourism is the best thing that can happen to any country, well one of the best.

Suddenly Today there's now 4 Tourism News...

Multan
Lahore
Gilgit

:woot::woot:

With CPEC and KKH routes Northern areas and Coastal areas will have huge crowd....
INSHALLAH
MASHALLAH and
ALHAMDULILLAH bolo mayray wattan ko nazr lag jati hai :(