Kashmir | News & Discussions.

So, is new media only reinforcing old stereotypes?

• Total voters
well shooting has never stopped as such...terrorists are still shooting at the forces..only change is that in early 90's the shootings were more frequent...BTW in last 10 years many new things were tried and perhaps a solution was also found ..but again terrorists ( freedom fighters according to you ) could not control their urge ...

So you would have the kashmir's firing shot at you then throwing stones?

The winds of change are blowing. You guys may be hard liners stuck in your old ways, but I think the current beating the Indian Security forces got, while trying to stop Anti-India protests, must've pierced the hearts and minds of at least a few of the Indians on the sub-continent that definitely no matter how many times they'd say it to themselves - all is not well in Kashmir.

What change are u talking abt??Kashmir will not gain independence from this.Such protests have happened before and will happen in the future but Kashmir will remain an integral part of India.

OK AFTER ALL THE COMMENTS BY "indian students" one thing is clear and evident NO INDIAN CARES ABOUT KASHMIRIS ALL THEY CARE ABOUT IS THE LAND OF KASHMIR!
Yes we do care about the Kashmiris thats why army is not shooting down protesters but instead carrying out Flag marches to enforce rule of law.
but i love the tag line (indian student)
We love it too:smitten::smitten:
why don't you guys add anudhati roy or barkha dutt

What are you trying to say:blink::blink:
you boys are not posting on and ndtv blog here
No we are not we are on:pdf:

Said by a Indian student

@Areesh

tnx for caring about my time but u see i dont care about my time :rofl:

anyways thank u :rofl:

i am no fanboy, isnt the kashmir with us at present :rofl:

Just telling you there enough dombs who repeat this BS time and time again when they don't have anything else to post. Like

"We have Kashmir, it is ours we want give it to anyone. It is our state. It belongs to us. It is our land and more BS like this."

Some goes to even beyond it and start posting smilies like :rofl: when they are frustrated about something and don't how to reply.

You are also doing the same.

btw i have a question how much for a stone do these guys get paid??? and does the "SIZE MATTER"??? does the target matter??? where is BARKHA DUTT WITH THIS IMPORTANT RESEARCH???

They tried the guns, and it didn't work.

Yes it did......it was only 9-11 and the mushy promises that stopped the flow of fighters......it can be switched back on any time we feel like.

The armed forces in Kashmir are under strict orders not to fire at anyone unless fired upon themselves, so they (the protesters) resort to stone pelting.

You seem to forget that in recent weeks the indian terror machine has killed over 14 teenagers accused of throwing stones......so your lilttle BS about how the indian occupation forces "are under strict orders not to fire at anyone unless fired upon themselves" is nothing more then that....bull5h1t.

Stone Pelting has great advantages over bullets -

1. Freely available, and greatly abundant.
2. Stones are not categorized as weapons, so do not attract firing from the armed forces.
3. No skill-set required for stone pelting.
4. Children can be easily employed to throw stones with the accuracy and impact as good as those of adults.
5. Stone pelting is not considered a terrorist activity and so the throwers are immune to anti-terrorist laws.

If stone throwing has that many advantages over a gun why dont you get the indian occupation forces to drop there weapons and use stones instead.

I have been to Sopur which considered the hub of such activities, and have had to bear the brunt of stone throwers, and talked to some too. The fact about stone pelting as a lucrative business is as true as it sounds. If you look for it, you may even find videos of the youth on youtube.com speaking on how the money comes and is distributed along with the stones in this northern part of the valley.

I bet stone pelting is not as a lucrative business as selling weapons and bullets and suppling the indian occuaption forces.

I just find it amusing seeing all the pakistanis here trying to solve the problems of kashmiris. they should fix their own country first where their army is murdering people on the afghanistan border which in turn is leading to more innocent lives being lost in lahore,peshawar etc

so,people first fix ur own problems and then try to solve other people's problem:cool:

The Indian officials even blamed Stone throwing on ISI :))) some orange idiots went to the extreme where they claimed that ISI was guding the stone pelters on cell phones :blink: despite the fact that You can not make a call from Pakistan into Indian Occupied Kashmir

Most terrorists use satellite telephones.

Rising Kashmir, Daily Newspaper, Srinagar Jammu and Kashmir - People defy curfew in B’la, Sopore

Hundreds of people participated in sit-in protests in Baramulla and Sopore town on Wednesday on a call given by Huriyat Conference as part of its ‘Quit Kashmir movement’.
Defying undeclared curfew, the people poured in from towns and rural areas of Baramulla district at various places and staged the Dharna at Main Chowk, Khwajabagh, Kanispora and Delina in Baramulla town. The people also staged a sit in Sopore town and were chanting pro freedom and anti India slogans on loud speakers.
The reports also confirmed that people staged Dharna in Rafiabad area of Rohama, Tragpora, Dangiwacha and at many other places.
The protesters were served with yellow rice ‘Tehri’ and Sharbat soft drinks being organized by the local Mohalla committees.
The Dharna was continue till last reports poured in.

Clashes again erupt as curfew relaxed in Srinagar

Srinagar: At least 37 people, including 20 policemen, were injured as mobs pelted stones at the security forces in the Kashmir Valley after the Friday prayers and later when curfew was relaxed in Srinagar to enable the people observe the Shab-e-Meraj religious festival.

As the authorities announced that curfew throughout the city was relaxed with effect from 8 p.m. Friday till Saturday morning, mobs took to streets in the old city's Khwaja Bazaar area and started pelting stones on the security men.

Curfew lifted in Srinagar for Shab-e-Mehraj prayers

'Two youth were injured in these clashes and one of them identified as Anis Ahmad was shifted to the Soura Medical Institute where doctors said the victim had sustained a rubber bullet injury in his leg', a senior police officer said here.

Union Home Secretary G.K. Pillai had announced in New Delhi that there would be no curfew anywhere in Kashmir from Friday evening for the Shab-e-Meraj festival.

The head cleric of Srinagar had Friday appealed to the state government to relax the curfew so that people could observe the Shab-e-Meraj religious festival.

Mufti Azaam Bashir-ud-Din also appealed to the people to perform their religious duties connected with Shab-e-Meraj (anniversary of the night-time ascension of Prophet to heaven from Jerusalem and marked by visits to graves of family and friends to pray for their souls) peacefully.

After the fresh eruption of violence in the city, police said the situation would be reviewed Saturday morning and a decision taken whether the curfew would be reimposed or not.

Earlier, youth also resorted to violence in the Hazratbal area of the city prompting security men to use batons and tear smoke shells to disperse the violent protesters.

'Some youth resorted to stone pelting in the area after which the curfew was reimposed there,' the officer said.

Elsewhere in the Valley, 35 people were injured in violent incidents in north Kashmir's Baramulla and south Kashmir's Kakpora and Shopian towns.

One person suffered a rubber bullet injury in Baramulla town as a mob resorted to heavy stone pelting at the security men after the Friday prayers.

'Suhail Ahmad sustained a rubber bullet injury as the security forces stepped in to quell violence and defiance of the restrictions imposed there. The injured youth was shifted to Srinagar for specialised treatment where doctors said he was out of danger. Eleven security men including an officer were injured in Baramulla,' an official said.

'Another angry mob attacked the south Kashmir Kakpora police station and tried to torch it. A deputy commandant of the Central Reserve police force (CRPF), an officer of the state police are among the one dozen security men injured in the Kakpora incident where the mob was finally dispersed by the security men,' the officer said.

Miscreants also torched a hut of the forest department in Shopian town.

Chief Minister Omar Abdullah has convened an all-party meet here Monday to reach out to all the mainstream political parties to end the cycle of violence in the Valley.

However, Mehbooba Mufti, president of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), told reporters here she would boycott the meeting as a protest against what she called the mishandling of the situation by the Omar Abdullah government.

The authorities issued fresh curfew passes to the local media persons to enable them discharge their professional duties here.

Because of the cancellation of all previously issued curfew passes, the local media persons could not discharge their professional duties and the publication of all the newspapers had been stopped by their managements for the last two days.

35 injured in Kashmir violence

The army was requisitioned by the civil administration for assistance here Wednesday, a day after widespread violence in the city following the recovery of a teenager's body. The victim's relatives allege that he had been forcibly drowned by security forces during clashes.

Three more people, including a 25-year old woman, were killed in Tuesday's violence. The army carried out flag marches at many places in the city in the last two days here.

However, no flag march was carried out anywhere in Srinagar by the army on Friday.

Thousands defy curfew in Indian-held Kashmir

SRINAGAR: Thousands of residents defied a strict curfew in Indian-held Kashmir (IHK) on Friday, prompting police to fire rubber bullets and lob tear gas shells, as fresh rebel attacks injured two policemen, officials said.

In Baramulla, over 4,000 residents flouted a curfew, prompting police to fire rubber bullets, release teargas and swing batons, officers said, adding that nine policemen and 11 protesters were injured in the ensuing clashes.

Authorities arrested 60 suspected separatist activists during overnight raids by police and paramilitary soldiers.

At least 30 activists who had participated in recent street demonstrations were arrested in Anantnag, a police officer said on condition of anonymity.

He said at least 30 others were arrested in Srinagar and other towns.

Police and protesters also clashed in southern Kakpora town after hundreds of villagers defied the curfew and were blocked by police from marching on the main road, police said, adding that 12 policemen and eight protesters were injured.

The clashes came even as Indian security forces widened a curfew in IHK on Friday to contain violent protests over the killing of civilians.

“We have widened the curfew to ensure a violence-free Friday,” a police officer, who declined to be named, told AFP.

Five more towns were placed under fresh curfew. Violent flashpoints such as Sopore, Srinagar and Anantnag remain restricted.

In Sopore, suspected militants launched three gun-and-grenade attacks on security forces on Friday that left a policeman and a paramilitary trooper injured, a police spokesman said. afp

Kashmiris are in no mood to relent!

@civfanatic
You agree that Pakistani based militants have killed of JKLF activists and then you don't agree that Mirwaiz Umar Farooq father was killed by militants? And this is what the Hurriyat (M) activists say andArif Jamal also noted in his book Shadow War. His father was pro-dialouge and was talking to GoI so him dyingwas a loss for the GoI. Samething happened with Sajjad Lone's father.
The point is that any pro-independance or a sepratists who starts a dialouge with GoI is targetted. I can give you a long list for that.

The thing is that with HR violations everyone is united, even pro-Indian Kashmiris and the Indian civil society.

And I'm not sure if you know but the author usually holds an anti-government stance in most of his articles and in his intial articleswas also calling for protests against the encounter killings. IF you read the article he is not praising the government for anything.

Geelani is popular? He got booted out in the recent elections of hisown organisation Jamaat-Islami.
http://www.defence.pk/forums/kashmir-war/53403-geelani-suspended-jamaat-islami-jammu-kashmir.html

Many Pakistanis don't realise that Geelani is as popular in Kashmir as the religious parties are in Pakistan i.e. not much but they have small core of dedicated people.

I told you if mirwaiz farooq was killed by millitants there is no way his supporters would have been in forrefront of anti india struggle . His being pro dialouge does not change that fact . Also the party that is procastinatinating most in solving J&K is GOI and any body who might be pro dialouge is more of threat to India than pakistan esp if he has mass following .

Geelani bieng thrown out of Jamaat-i-islami is internal politics of Jamaat. He was thrown out becuase jamaat didn't like his hardline stance on kashmir . The story goes like this in early 90s jamaat came heavily into armed struggle through HM at that time Geelani was ameer-i-jamaat . But local level workers of Jamaat were elimnated by counterinsurgents (Ikhwanis ) of Kuka paray ...Who was under Indian payrolls . So after decline in millitancy JI wanted to distance itself from armed struggle but Geelani couldn't take that step as he thought that it would be wrong to distance JI from rmed struggle having backed it earlier .Afterwards he wrote a book critcizing Ji for abandoning armed struggle and on this he was removed from JI.

I can't comment upon religous parties of pakistan but in kashmir Geelani sahab represents our struggle against Indian occupation and infact he is the most popular leader in kashmir .

Some of the guys are actually pretty good.

Its obvious that this is done professionally if you notice their technique. Ask 9 out of 10 guys here to throw a stone at a stray dog in anger. See how accurate their throw will be in both line or length. Also check out the technique of release, and then ask them to chuck not one, but 20 stones, 50 stones, 100 stones. See how many of their shoulders will be able to take it.

Most of these pro pelters use the roundarm bowling action. Which gives me an idea. Why not get these guys into fast bowling academies? Am sure we could actually finally unearth some good raw bowling talent from amongst these youngsters. And given a choice between chucking stones versus a shot at the Indian cricket team, am sure we all know what they would opt for.

Though there is always the chance of stone pelting on the rebound by the rejects ......

Cheers, Doc
bwahahahaha... Seriously? Indians are now going to allege, stone pelting training camps in Pakistan? :D

Maybe they've been pelting Indian security forces so long that they've gotten good at it! It's all about the numbers which are adding up against India!

Just telling you there enough dombs who repeat this BS time and time again when they don't have anything else to post. Like

"We have Kashmir, it is ours we want give it to anyone. It is our state. It belongs to us. It is our land and more BS like this."

Some goes to even beyond it and start posting smilies like :rofl: when they are frustrated about something and don't how to reply.

You are also doing the same.

well lady question is not of replying,wat we can do if u dont want to understand one thing.it's upto u to understand that it is an integral part of india.rest depends on ur quick learning.

i don't know what the Pakistani media publish myth about Indian kashmir in pak,we indian really don't care it. may be their is some conflict in kashmir due to pakistan but we will solve it soon.

For those Pak member who who always blame indian govt. for kashmir matter

" look at yourself,Indian kashmir is much develop than pak kashmir so stop blaming on us"

other wise still we are able to repeat the 1971 and this time P O K.

btw i have a question how much for a stone do these guys get paid??? and does the "SIZE MATTER"??? does the target matter??? where is BARKHA DUTT WITH THIS IMPORTANT RESEARCH???

she is taking coaching frm zaid hamid.:rofl::rofl::rofl:,dekhtey z.hamid ko kitna aata hai:woot::woot::woot: