Kashmir | News & Discussions.

So, is new media only reinforcing old stereotypes?

• Total voters
If people want to visit their love ones graves so they can do that

but why people waiting for geelani`s instruction or their love waken after his comment ?????

This shows geelani`s intention.. :tdown:
Why not? Shouldn't there be freedom to go and pray as you please?

Who is geelani ?

A religious leader of Sunni sect who is using its religious post and Old age for gaining some political gains.

Interestingly he always been Anti India but Indian govt. take care of his security on the expenses of Indian Exchequer.

And you ust know that when USA denied him Visa the Indian govt. take him on specail aircraft and get him operated "Free of Cost" for his kidney surgery in Mumbai at the Tata Memorial Hospital successfully.

Does this matter what he says? I don't think on this side of border.

No....not at all, In fact he can't even win a municipal election and whenever he call for election boycott people of Kashmir defy him and hive vote in large numbers.

But he gets lot of publicity in english media in India and each and every media in pakistan.

A religious leader of Sunni sect who is using its religious post and Old age for gaining some political gains.

Interestingly he always been Anti India but Indian govt. take care of his security on the expenses of Indian Exchequer.

And you ust know that when USA denied him Visa the Indian govt. take him on specail aircraft and get him operated "Free of Cost" for his kidney surgery in Mumbai at the Tata Memorial Hospital successfully.

No....not at all, In fact he can't even win a municipal election and whenever he call for election boycott people of Kashmir defy him and hive vote in large numbers.

But he gets lot of publicity in english media in India and each and every media in pakistan.

Well said .....:tup::tup:

you must remind the Mujaheddin of Kashmir :smokin:
that,s are very sharp. From where they coming and vanished?.:sniper: after working.

yaar please at least speak English which can be understood. Noone's asking you to be queen victoria but make it legible at least.

Alarm bells: Stone-pelters join militant ranks

Srinagar : Police and security personnel are reporting a sudden surge in militancy in the Valley with a large number of local boys, who were part of the stone-throwing mobs just months ago, joining the ranks of militant groups, including the Lashkar-e-Toiba.

This is ringing alarm bells in the security establishment. For, one, this shift to the gun comes after a sharp fall in militant violence over the last few years. And, two, because these boys are not crossing over for training — but being trained here — there is an apprehension that groups fighting the Pakistani state across the border may also set up shop here, changing the very dynamics of the conflict.

Police say 150 militants are currently active in north Kashmir alone and in addition to the new local recruits, foreigners are also sneaking in.

Since last summer, police say, there have been 45 infiltration bids and 140 new militants have sneaked in. In fact, the Sopore police is searching for two militants from Chechnya, identified as Usman and Umar — the first time, police claim, Chechens have come to operate in Kashmir.

A confidential report compiled by J&K Police — a copy of which is with The Indian Express — shows how many of the boys arrested were part of the stone-throwing mob.

It reveals that a Lashkar commander Sajad Khan alias Shamas of Batamaloo who operates in Thannamandi, Rajouri, set up a module this October in his native locality in Srinagar.

And 14 youngsters joined it. Police claim that 18 grenades were recovered from them when the module was busted earlier this month. These young boys had no previous connection with militancy, said police, but actively took part in the stone-throwing.

The report has detailed intercepts of phone conversations and call details between Shamas and four of the youngsters who have been arrested. Shamas is still at large.

Police said grenades were recovered from Imtiyaz alias Arsalan, a school dropout and an auto rickshaw driver, who received “training in handling and operating hand grenades, pistols and IEDs” in a Rajouri camp.

Arsalan has three cases of stone-throwing against him registered in the Batamaloo Police Station. Between October 11 and 14, Shamas and Arsalan spoke as many as 22 times.

Another youngster, Aadil, police say, had grenades in his possession when he was arrested. He was in touch with Shamas too and was involved in grenade attacks on the CRPF at Safakadal and Reck Chowk, Batamaloo on July 4 and July 24.

Sources said 23 youngsters in the age group 15 to 25 have gone missing in the Sopore Police Station area alone. Police claim they have “credible inputs” that 15 of them have joined militant ranks and three of them have been killed in security operations.

Sources said several teenagers have been recruited in the volatile Zaingir belt where militancy is on a steep rise after the pro-Azadi protests. The Army set up a new camp at Pazalpora after occupying a newly constructed school building. The Army maintains a very high level of presence across the Zaingir belt with a major camp at Watlab on the Wular banks.

Sources said militants have made arrangements to train recruits in the handling of arms and ammunition. “There is no input suggesting that these new recruits are exfiltrating across the border for training. Those of the new recruits who have come under our radar are mostly teenagers and the youngest one is just 15 years old,” a senior police officer told The Indian Express.

The police are also looking at the case of a separatist politician from Bahrampora, in neighbouring Rafiabad, who has been arrested. He has allegedly been in touch with Furqan, the Lashkar’s most wanted commander in the Valley.

In adjoining Bandipore, however, police say there are no inputs suggesting fresh recruitments but a group of 25 new militants have arrived and are in the Vewan, Panaar and Sumlar-Chontimulla area.

Sources said Lashkar has sent new commanders identified as Abdullah, Ayoubi and Rehman in Bandipore, which came up as the Lashkar’s headquarters in Kashmir before 2007.

New recruitments are going on in the Awantipora Police district where reports of five youths joining Lashkar and

Hizbul Mujahideen have been confirmed. Police say that Manzoor Sheikh of Tengpora, Dadsar; Syed Ashiq of Panzgam have joined Lashkar while Adil Mir of Dadsar, Burhan-ud-din of Shariefabad and Showkat Dar of Bachipora, Panzgam have joined the Hizbul.

This new development, security officials say, comes against the backdrop of the widely circulated rhetoric of Al-Qaeda’s Ayman Al Zawahiri who issued a 10-page policy statement on Pakistan and Kashmir on August 10, 2008 in which he called for the urgent need to “liberate (the) Kashmir Jihad from (the corrupt) ISI.”

Did I forget to tell you that I am Indian from my dad's side? Your thinking is twisted by your leaders because the whole reason to encourage you to leave your homes and form another nation was based on doing, believing, hating and not understanding everything we do. This blame goes to your leaders not to us.

We didn't initiate the war on the state of J&K; your pakhtoon tribesmen did. So what were you expecting us to do? Sit and do nothing?

What about the militancy that you have been gifting our people for last 25 years? You can reject every allegation just to please yourself but that won't wash the blot away.

What are u talking about water blocking? Your interior minister himself said that water shortage is due to mismanagement. Now call him our paid agent too because you will only deny what any Indian will say. That is the core of your existence as a separate state. To do everything opposite of what we do.

Respect we can but not retaliate we cannot. From the latest proof of your one-sided attack was Kargil. We only responded. What do you expect us to do? you violate Geneva conventions on treating prisoners of war badly, you attack our hills and try to take them over and finally when none of this works, use religion as an ideology to create insurgency.

You have done what you think was right; we are doing what we think is right. In short, the war is only your choice; not ours. However, that doesn't mean we will not defend without mercy.

Indian military's stand is clear; no initiation from our side for anything; but definitely we be the ones to finish any risen conflict.

:cheers::cheers::cheers::cheers:
where were you all this time
:cheers::cheers::cheers::cheers:

Though this is indeed an alarming news,looking it from a different perspective it makes the job of the security forces more easy......:)

Srinagar : Police and security personnel are reporting a sudden surge in militancy in the Valley with a large number of local boys, who were part of the stone-throwing mobs just months ago, joining the ranks of militant groups, including the Lashkar-e-Toiba.

Police say 150 militants are currently active in north Kashmir alone and in addition to the new local recruits, foreigners are also sneaking in.

A confidential report compiled by J&K Police — a copy of which is with The Indian Express — shows how many of the boys arrested were part of the stone-throwing mob.

And 14 youngsters joined it. Police claim that 18 grenades were recovered from them when the module was busted earlier this month. These young boys had no previous connection with militancy, said police, but actively took part in the stone-throwing.

The report has detailed intercepts of phone conversations and call details between Shamas and four of the youngsters who have been arrested. Shamas is still at large.

Police said grenades were recovered from Imtiyaz alias Arsalan, a school dropout and an auto rickshaw driver, who received “training in handling and operating hand grenades, pistols and IEDs” in a Rajouri camp.

Arsalan has three cases of stone-throwing against him registered in the Batamaloo Police Station. Between October 11 and 14, Shamas and Arsalan spoke as many as 22 times.

Another youngster, Aadil, police say, had grenades in his possession when he was arrested. He was in touch with Shamas too and was involved in grenade attacks on the CRPF at Safakadal and Reck Chowk, Batamaloo on July 4 and July 24.

Sources said 23 youngsters in the age group 15 to 25 have gone missing in the Sopore Police Station area alone. Police claim they have “credible inputs” that 15 of them have joined militant ranks and three of them have been killed in security operations.

Sources said militants have made arrangements to train recruits in the handling of arms and ammunition. “There is no input suggesting that these new recruits are exfiltrating across the border for training. Those of the new recruits who have come under our radar are mostly teenagers and the youngest one is just 15 years old,” a senior police officer told The Indian Express.

The police are also looking at the case of a separatist politician from Bahrampora, in neighbouring Rafiabad, who has been arrested. He has allegedly been in touch with Furqan, the Lashkar’s most wanted commander in the Valley.

This is the reality of those paid protesters :tdown:

A separatist leader who have connection with terrorists :frown:

lolzz earlier Indians were saying stones were imported from Pakistan to be thrown on Indian occupier army and paid goons

and lolzz Indian occupiers are coming up with BS to cover up the indigenous Kashnmiri protests

If the news is true, then I would love to see them join these groups..now our soldiers dont have to worry about injury to stone pelters and dont have to show any restraints. :sniper:

Han wo toh hai but it is always sad to see the lives of young kids being ruined in such a sad way even more so when they are our countrymen.

I don't know but I don't really like what we are doing in Kashmir. I'm not saying that we should leave kashmir or anything but at least we must look to have a more humane and people friendly presence there.

Things like shopian, etc. are not helping our cause anyway.

But then again, it has always been Congress' policy to respond to stupidity with even more stupidity.

It's sad. Very sad.

Han wo toh hai but it is always sad to see the lives of young kids being ruined in such a sad way even more so when they are our countrymen.

I don't know but I don't really like what we are doing in Kashmir. I'm not saying that we should leave kashmir or anything but at least we must look to have a more humane and people friendly presence there.

Things like shopian, etc. are not helping our cause anyway.

But then again, it has always been Congress' policy to respond to stupidity with even more stupidity.

It's sad. Very sad.

as someone said..there are only two ways to live..either you respond or you wait for things to change for you...i would pick the earlier one and make sure things work nicely for my country instead of waiting for things to improve by themselves...and while doing so loose our soldiers and reputation and also the face the propaganda against ourselves in our own land(if you understand what I mean).

Yes. And that country includes everyone. These Kashmiri too.