Kargil ghosts still stalk India’s military

Pakistan still occupies four kargil peaks

pakistan1.jpg
On July 26, the country celebrates Vijay Diwas to commemorate India’s victory in the Kargil war. But five years since the war, four strategic Indian posts in Kargil are still under Pakistani control and the government is not ready to spell out the truth, reports VK Shashikumar
Point 5353, Bunker Ridge, Saddle Ridge, Dalu Nag. These are posts in the Kargil sector that the soldiers of the Indian army knew incontrovertibly to be their own. They form a sort of memory map of disjointed emplacements along the treacherous mountains in the Kargil sector. Features that are joined in various military maps of the area by dotted lines.

Army sources confirmed to Tehelka that at least two of these features are under Pakistani control, thanks to botched up military operations and a government that wanted to hide the truth. The fate of the other two features, Dalu Nag and Bunker Ridge, is still shrouded in mystery.

Tehelka - The People's Paper

Burn Baby Burn. :flame:

Infiltrators came like a Cheetah and ran like a Hyena leaving behind their Shiny Stingers,their Dead and wounded and Scared POWs

Tiger Hill is still in India along with Siachin.

pakistan1.jpg
On July 26, the country celebrates Vijay Diwas to commemorate India’s victory in the Kargil war. But five years since the war, four strategic Indian posts in Kargil are still under Pakistani control and the government is not ready to spell out the truth, reports VK ShashikumarPoint 5353, Bunker Ridge, Saddle Ridge, Dalu Nag. These are posts in the Kargil sector that the soldiers of the Indian army knew incontrovertibly to be their own. They form a sort of memory map of disjointed emplacements along the treacherous mountains in the Kargil sector. Features that are joined in various military maps of the area by dotted lines.

Army sources confirmed to Tehelka that at least two of these features are under Pakistani control, thanks to botched up military operations and a government that wanted to hide the truth. The fate of the other two features, Dalu Nag and Bunker Ridge, is still shrouded in mystery.

pakistan1.jpg
On July 26, the country celebrates Vijay Diwas to commemorate India’s victory in the Kargil war. But five years since the war, four strategic Indian posts in Kargil are still under Pakistani control and the government is not ready to spell out the truth, reports VK ShashikumarPoint 5353, Bunker Ridge, Saddle Ridge, Dalu Nag. These are posts in the Kargil sector that the soldiers of the Indian army knew incontrovertibly to be their own. They form a sort of memory map of disjointed emplacements along the treacherous mountains in the Kargil sector. Features that are joined in various military maps of the area by dotted lines.

Lol 4 peaks these are your peaks along with 70 peaks including Tiger Hill which we annexed in 1971 and forced you to sign Simla Agreement.

Come back when you took all those peaks which we annexed in 1971 not to mention Siachin in 1984 :lol:

By Brig.Javed Hussain former SSG

In October 1947, following the announcement of Kashmir’s accession to India, the Gilgit Scouts, a predominantly Muslim force raised by the British for internal security, revolted against the Dogras, and in a series of daring actions in1948 captured Kargil, Drass, Zoji La Pass and Skardu. However, in November 1948, Zoji La Pass and Kargil were recaptured by the Indians while the Kargil heights remained with the Gilgit Scouts.

During the Rann of Kutch conflict, these heights were captured by the Indians for the first time on May 17, 1965, for use as a bargaining counter in the negotiations. As a result of the agreement reached, the heights were returned to Pakistan in June 1965. In the first week of August 1965, Operation Gibraltar was launched. One of the areas used by the infiltrating force was the Kargil heights. To block these routes, the Indians captured the heights for the second time in the third week of August 1965. But after the signing of the Tashkent Agreement, the heights were once again returned to Pakistan.

On the outbreak of war on the western front on December 3, 1971, the Indians captured the heights for the third time on December 9, 1971. This time, however, they retained the heights in line with the Shimla Agreement under which the violable Cease Fire Line (CFL), created in December 1948 on cessation of hostilities in Kashmir, was converted into an inviolable Line of Control (LoC), on the basis of actual possession of territory at the time of the ceasefire in December 1971. When the Indians captured the heights on three different occasions, the Pakistani force that was overwhelmed, consisted mostly of lightly armed, inadequately equipped Karakoram and Gilgit Scouts, both paramilitary outfits.

pakistan1.jpg

Lol 4 peaks these are your peaks along with 70 peaks including Tiger Hill which we annexed in 1971 and forced you to sign Simla Agreement.

Come back when you took all those peaks which we annexed in 1971 not to mention Siachin in 1984 :lol:

By Brig.Javed Hussain former SSG

In October 1947, following the announcement of Kashmir’s accession to India, the Gilgit Scouts, a predominantly Muslim force raised by the British for internal security, revolted against the Dogras, and in a series of daring actions in1948 captured Kargil, Drass, Zoji La Pass and Skardu. However, in November 1948, Zoji La Pass and Kargil were recaptured by the Indians while the Kargil heights remained with the Gilgit Scouts.

During the Rann of Kutch conflict, these heights were captured by the Indians for the first time on May 17, 1965, for use as a bargaining counter in the negotiations. As a result of the agreement reached, the heights were returned to Pakistan in June 1965. In the first week of August 1965, Operation Gibraltar was launched. One of the areas used by the infiltrating force was the Kargil heights. To block these routes, the Indians captured the heights for the second time in the third week of August 1965. But after the signing of the Tashkent Agreement, the heights were once again returned to Pakistan.

On the outbreak of war on the western front on December 3, 1971, the Indians captured the heights for the third time on December 9, 1971. This time, however, they retained the heights in line with the Shimla Agreement under which the violable Cease Fire Line (CFL), created in December 1948 on cessation of hostilities in Kashmir, was converted into an inviolable Line of Control (LoC), on the basis of actual possession of territory at the time of the ceasefire in December 1971. :lol: . When the Indians captured the heights on three different occasions, the Pakistani force that was overwhelmed, consisted mostly of lightly armed, inadequately equipped Karakoram and Gilgit Scouts, both paramilitary outfits.

We should have attempted with more kargils until now.

Unlike as believed,even still today we are far more stronger than India and only under a war we can bring them on table for kashmir.

Believe me few sorties over delhi and mumbai will force them to surrender kashmir to us.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.... Do it man!!! Who stopped you from doing it in last 60yrs??? Why didnt u????

OUCH sister that must have HURT many egos :sarcastic:
Razia bahen ji,

Kashmiri muslims are different from you indian muslims.Like us they will never accept themselves as indian muslims.thanks
Farhan Bhai, india me differences to bahot hain. UP ke muslim Gujarat aur Kerala ke muslims se alag hain. muslim hi kyon, tamil hindu, assam aur kashmir ke hinduon se alag hain... lekin jab baat mulk ki aati hai to hum sab ek hain. Aaj ke zamane me jung ki baat karna theek nahi hai, kyonki with weapons of mass destruction, there wont be any winner of war, all will be losers. No permanent solution is possible through war.

pakistan1.jpg

Did you know, entire Kargil was annexed by India from Pakistan ? And you are talking about 4 peaks here, which were empty over LOC anyway ?

main?bhai jaan main to aadha pagal hoon,agar mere hath main hota to ya abhi tum log na hotey ya pir hum.

anyway though i believe someone like me will one day take control of Pakistan.

Mujhe to is baat parr bhi hansi athi hai k aik pakistani indian ki akarr kaise bardasht kr leta hai warning to bhot door ki bat hai

sirf over the internet pagalpanti na dikhao.. Do something for real. Don't be a couch potato..

We should have attempted with more kargils until now.

Unlike as believed,even still today we are far more stronger than India and only under a war we can bring them on table for kashmir.

Believe me few sorties over delhi and mumbai will force them to surrender kashmir to us.

Funny, your title says Research and Development!! If this is the quality of the Research and Development, then god save the organization and people you work with. Anybody who is even remotely connected to any sort of R & D would term your post as juvenile. Please compare all possible parameters (military, economical, social, etc.) and tell us how Pakistan is stronger than India and would surrender Kashmir.

Please don't use N- word considering the fact that whether Pakistan drops one or all nukes on india, there wont be a soul left alive in Pakistan to celebrate after retaliation from Indian nuclear attack which will be massive and disproportionate.

main?bhai jaan main to aadha pagal hoon,agar mere hath main hota to ya abhi tum log na hotey ya pir hum.

anyway though i believe someone like me will one day take control of Pakistan.

Mujhe to is baat parr bhi hansi athi hai k aik pakistani indian ki akarr kaise bardasht kr leta hai warning to bhot door ki bat hai

Its good that control of pakistan is not in your hands!! Khud be allah ko pyare hote aur baki bekasoor pakistanio ko bhi allah ke paas pahucha dete bhartiyon k haatho.:disagree::disagree::crazy::crazy:

Razia bahen ji,

Kashmiri muslims are different from you indian muslims.Like us they will never accept themselves as indian muslims.thanks

Please come and visit some of the corporate houses in India. Many Kashmiris are working along with us. Steadly Kashmiris are coming in mainstream. Soon all the unemployed youths will be engaged by India in its economic powerhouse. You will see that majority kashmiris will be proud to be called as an Indian. India's strategy is to win Kashmiris not by bullet, but by using its soft power, something that you won't understand with your medieval mindset of using only violence as a factor to defeat an enemy. There are other far more effective ways too.

"Dhanoa says the political directive to not cross the LoC did restrain the air force in its operations."

That pretty much tells how india was nervous in engaging Pakistan inside her territory. And their goes the chest thumping talk out the window.

I wonder whether it was a political directive or such an airforce's own fear, who couldnot locate men on peaks for weeks.

I always said and will say ,india will celebrate 65,71,99 victories whilst knwoing very well in her heart the humiliations suffered by her and also that all these celebrations are meant to boost her forces' dwindling morales.

Its a thing of pure common sense thay when for last 70 yeas a major chunk of ur army, 700,000 troops are deployed in a small region ,where their army officers fear to be sent to and have miserably failed in quashing the insurgency and who question themselves whats the point of this occupation,why they are wasting their lives there, then its not too hard to understand why IA morales are so low and easy to guess that they will go down further in the future,inshaAllah.

"Dhanoa says the political directive to not cross the LoC did restrain the air force in its operations."

That pretty much tells how india was nervous in engaging Pakistan inside her territory. And their goes the chest thumping talk out the window.

I wonder whether it was a political directive or such an airforce's own fear, who couldnot locate men on peaks for weeks.

I always said and will say ,india will celebrate 65,71,99 victories whilst knwoing very well in her heart the humiliations suffered by her and also that all these celebrations are meant to boost her forces' dwindling morales.

Its a thing of pure common sense thay when for last 70 yeas a major chunk of ur army, 700,000 troops are deployed in a small region ,where their army officers fear to be sent to and have miserably failed in quashing the insurgency and who question themselves whats the point of this occupation,why they are wasting their lives there, then its not too hard to understand why IA morales are so low and easy to guess that they will go down further in the future,inshaAllah.
you still dont get it MAAM .... do you :azn:

ok let me tell you why indian govt showed restrain not to cross LOC back then as they wanted to proove pakistani army as reckless and agressive while opposite for indian goverment and they suceeded in it and the biggest loss pakistanies ever had was the trust they always enjoyed with western nation (it becomes more of an issue when all the assets of your elite are in western nations) and to regain that the cost is paid till date by pakistani awaam so tell me maam who was the winner and who was the looser in short and long term :coffee:

as for indian armies moral it was never this high specially after they were granted free passes for shooting season :devil:

Naik-Digendra-Kumar1.jpg

http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/world/war/kargil-99.htm
you still dont get it MAAM .... do you :azn:

ok let me tell you why indian govt showed restrain not to cross LOC back then as they wanted to proove pakistani army as reckless and agressive while opposite for indian goverment and they suceeded in it and the biggest loss pakistanies ever had was the trust they always enjoyed with western nation (it becomes more of an issue when all the assets of your elite are in western nations) and to regain that the cost is paid till date by pakistani awaam so tell me maam who was the winner and who was the looser in short and long term :coffee:

as for indian armies moral it was never this high specially after they were granted free passes for shooting season :devil:

Infiltrators came like a Cheetah and ran like a Hyena leaving behind their Shiny Stingers,their Dead and wounded and Scared POWs

Tiger Hill is still in India along with Siachin.

Attachments

• Naik-Digendra-Kumar1.jpg
    Naik-Digendra-Kumar1.jpg
    74.2 KB · Views: 28
Farhan Bhai, india me differences to bahot hain. UP ke muslim Gujarat aur Kerala ke muslims se alag hain. muslim hi kyon, tamil hindu, assam aur kashmir ke hinduon se alag hain... lekin jab baat mulk ki aati hai to hum sab ek hain. Aaj ke zamane me jung ki baat karna theek nahi hai, kyonki with weapons of mass destruction, there wont be any winner of war, all will be losers. No permanent solution is possible through war.
I am pretty sure if plebicite is announced.. most kashmiri and hyderabadi muslims will prefer to be in pakistan.. rest of the muslims will vote other way(majority with India, minority with pak).

I am pretty sure if plebicite is announced.. most kashmiri and hyderabadi muslims will prefer to be in pakistan..

So you mean to say we will allow small Pakistans within our mainland

The previous division happened because the Line could be drawn clearly

How will you do it now ;any ideas and suggestions