12-11-2013_18059_1.gif

ADB cancels loan as centre, other govts disagree
AMIN AHMED
0 Comment(s)
Print
Published 2013-12-11 07:22:34
ISLAMABAD, Dec 10: The Asian Development Bank has dropped the feasibility study to develop Karachi Strategic Master Plan-2020 after the federal and provincial governments and the city government of Karachi could not agree on the approach and scope for the master plan, it emerged on Tuesday.

The bank, which provided a loan of $13.33 million as technical assistance to carry out feasibility study of the project, had to cancel the loan at the request of the government, and an amount of $8.3 million was returned to the ADB prior to the closing date because of significant under-utilisation of fund as a result of slow and ineffective mobilization of consultants and lack of consensus and coordination among key stakeholders.

The technical assistance loan and the ensuing ADB assistance were promised on the finalisation of the proposed Karachi Strategic Master Plan-2020.

The Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) had provided support to the city government. Further financial assistance was set aside to help finalise the plan. However, despite the elaborate implementation arrangements, the federal government, provincial government and city government could not reach a consensus on project’s scope.

The project was expected to improve urban planning, management, and financing; expand urban infrastructure and services; ensure a sustainable and efficient financing mechanism for urban infrastructure; and increase investments for improving and expanding mega city infrastructure and services.

An evaluation report of the project, published by the ADB on Tuesday, stated that the Sindh government and the ADB recognised the need for a long-term and holistic approach to Karachi’s large-scale needs for infrastructure and reforms, but the recognition did not lead to a clear commitment to steps required for undertaking urban reforms in Karachi.

The report added that there was no evidence that project proposals as designed were relevant to the key stakeholders or that they recognised the potential of the project and acknowledged its role in promoting sustainable urban development in Karachi.

It noted that detailed government audits of the counterpart funds for the technical assistance loan identified misuse of funds and various unauthorized expenditures. This suggests that there was inadequate oversight and monitoring during implementation of the project.

According to the report, the project did not achieve any planned outcomes except for three studies, namely the Malir bund road study, developing IT platform for tracking and maintenance study, and forestation and aesthetic plantation study.

Although implementation risks were clearly identified during project design, neither the government nor the ADB was able to mitigate and manage complications arising from the varying emphasis and the resulting differences among the decision-makers.

Citing example, the report stated that the city government sought comprehensive and large support for various urban services, while the provincial government wanted to focus support only on urban transport, thus the project implementation suffered from a lack of unanimity.

The report explained that there was a lack of consensus among decision-makers about sub-sector focus. These factors, combined with implementation delays, caused project ‘failure’.

The evaluation confirmed that the commitment by government stakeholders was not adequately firmed up at the time of appraisal and this was a significant weakness of the project design, it stated. “A number of consultations were undertaken, but an adequate level of agreement was not achieved,” the report added.

The report said that ADB inception and review missions had run into delays and insurmountable bottlenecks.

These difficulties should have alerted the internal review system. However, the performance monitoring ratings indicated satisfactory performance on both development objectives and implementation progress during the implementation period from June 30, 2006 to August 30, 2009. It perhaps masked the problem and prevented it from getting any higher-level interventions, the report noted.

waise likha kya hai???

@FaujHistorian what do you say now, you were too much hopeful from nawaz shareef that he will develop Karachi?

------------------------------

time and time again its proving again and again why Karachi feels left alone and sense of deprivation, neither federal(PMLN) nor provincial govt(PPP) is interested in saving Karachi

the city which generates a big chunk of Pak economy is treated like a step son

@FaujHistorian what do you say now, you were too much hopeful from nawaz shareef that he will develop Karachi?

------------------------------

time and time again its proving again and again why Karachi feels left alone and sense of deprivation, neither federal(PMLN) nor provincial govt(PPP) is interested in saving Karachi

the city which generates a big chunk of Pak economy is treated like a step son

Well you know I call them

Pakistan Mullah League Nadan group.

Nadan because they seems to be totally confused these days.

Wrong this is what happens when establishments use cities as a safe heaven for their rouge assets

Is Murda wa Qatil Movement (MQM) an asset of establishment?

if so

Which one

Pakistani establishment or British establishment.

Please enlighten us.

Thank you

I am just thinking what is Big Village?

Has Karachi started to build houses from wood or mudd?
Has Karachi started to build short buildings, farms inside the karachi?
Has Karachi roads are fixing up (slowness is everywhere in Pakistan)?
Industry is being removed?
Airport? Railway Junktions? Hospitals? Union Council, DSOs, DIGs, what is being removed so far?

I am still confuse about how it will become Big Village?

Major development might be not done in past PPP+MQM Government, but nothing like it will become a village.

BTW just for your information, Contractors are being finalize for some very major infrastructure projects, Like Motorway, Metro... The only issue which is still delaying projects is the security problem.

Wrong this is what happens when establishments use cities as a safe heaven for their rouge assets

Well name some pakistanis in this. As for Indians we have Dawood there. I am sure hes the one who has ably shifted Underworld from Mumbai to Karachi. We can see that looking at Karachi's condition today.

I am just thinking what is Big Village?

Has Karachi started to build houses from wood or mudd?
Has Karachi started to build short buildings, farms inside the karachi?
Has Karachi roads are fixing up (slowness is everywhere in Pakistan)?
Industry is being removed?
Airport? Railway Junktions? Hospitals? Union Council, DSOs, DIGs, what is being removed so far?

I am still confuse about how it will become Big Village?

Major development might be not done in past PPP+MQM Government, but nothing like it will become a village.

BTW just for your information, Contractors are being finalize for some very major infrastructure projects, Like Motorway, Metro... The only issue which is still delaying projects is the security problem.
More than Security it is Funding. Pakistan dont have an established Industry. Only 2% people pay taxes. Where do you think the money will come? In such cases your only resort is FDI. And that too is not coming. So even if security is there, FDI wud be tough owing to payback possibilities. FDI is different from Aid and even that isnt coming nowadays.

How do you think Karachi will develop if it has to? How will the funds be arranged?

Well name some pakistanis in this. As for Indians we have Dawood there. I am sure hes the one who has ably shifted Underworld from Mumbai to Karachi. We can see that looking at Karachi's condition today.

Here comes a bharati with his own rona dhona.

looks like something is cooking

We the Urdu spanking peeple should read this other thread too.

3 MoUs signed for investment of $6.3bn signed

More than Security it is Funding. Pakistan dont have an established Industry. Only 2% people pay taxes.

Yaar why do you keep on posting the same falsehood over and over. As I said in the other thread.

In Pakitan we do pay a ton of taxes. Paani tax, bijli tax, phone tax, petrol tax, property tax, sales tax, agri taxes (5 minimum types) every salaried person pays income tax.

So when people say we don't pay taxes, they are generally talking about income tax from self-employed Pakistanis.

Here comes a bharati with his own rona dhona.
True that. Its our rona dhaona. Ab padosi rulaega to rona dhona aur kiske paas jaake karenge? Even you know Karachi is lawless compared to earlier times. Why refute the possibility of revival of Underworld whose Dawood is a proffesional. Even our ex High Commisions has quoted it and High Commisioners are binded by International Expatriat's law and not allowed to spread false propaganda, so it must be true.

looks like something is cooking

We the Urdu spanking peeple should read this other thread too.

3 MoUs signed for investment of $6.3bn signed

Yaar why do you keep on posting the same falsehood over and over. As I said in the other thread.

In Pakitan we do pay a ton of taxes. Paani tax, bijli tax, phone tax, petrol tax, property tax, sales tax, agri taxes (5 minimum types) every salaried person pays income tax.

So when people say we don't pay taxes, they are generally talking about income tax from self-employed Pakistanis.
Arre ignore this. I have replied u in other thread. Lets talk there. Kool?

"karachi turning into somalia" would be an appropriate title, specially with all that violence.