Karachi’s political turbulence fuels militancy

Taliban Hole Up in Karachi as Pakistan Weeds Out Swat Valley - Bloomberg.com

Taliban Hole Up in Karachi as Pakistan Weeds Out Swat Valley
Share | Email | Print | A A A

By Naween A. Mangi and Farhan Sharif

June 19 (Bloomberg) -- On June 7, Pakistan’s anti-terrorist police burst into a house in the Sohrab Goth suburb of Karachi. Inside, they said, were 10 suicide-bomber jackets, 60 kilograms of explosives, 10 grenades and Taliban militant Naeemur Rahman.

Fayyaz Khan, senior superintendent in the police’s crime investigation department, who led the raid, said the arrest of Rahman, an aide of Taliban Commander Baitullah Mehsud, is part of a daily battle to root out terrorists from Pakistan’s biggest city and prevent a major attack.

“Terrorists have a network here and whenever they get a chance to carry out an attack, they will grab it,” said Khan, “They want to do something major because when something happens here, it creates much more pressure on the government.”

Even as Pakistan’s military drives the Taliban from bases in the Swat Valley, 1,200 kilometers (750 miles) to the north, militants are holing up in Karachi, making it harder to rid the country of Islamic extremists. U.S. officials say the extremists pose a security threat in the nuclear-armed state and aid Muslim insurgents battling NATO forces in neighboring Afghanistan.

Karachi, a city of 18 million people, has two faces. One is the commercial capital, where women are seen in the workforce and in public life, entrepreneurs live in million-dollar homes and jeans-clad teenagers hang out in shopping malls and cafes.

The city is home to the country’s stock exchange, central bank and local headquarters for New York-based Citigroup Inc. and London-and Rotterdam-based Unilever. Karachi contributes more than 70 percent of Pakistan’s tax revenue, according to the local government.

‘Welcome Taliban’

The other face is the rundown warren of narrow streets in districts like Sohrab Goth and Baldia Town, where authorities have little control and walls and bridges are daubed with slogans like “Welcome welcome Taliban” and “Long live Taliban.”

“Karachi has more bombs, dynamite and Kalashnikovs than any other city in Pakistan,” said Fateh Muhammad Burfat, head of criminology at Karachi University.

Investors have been drawn to Karachi after Mayor Mustafa Kamal spent 200 billion rupees ($2.5 billion) in the last three years building bridges, underpasses and roads.

“The Taliban overshadow anything good,” said Farrukh Khan, president of the 175-member Overseas Investors Chamber of Commerce and Industry. “Most investors are taking it as a positive that there’s a consensus in the country to tackle the Taliban head on.”

Stock Gains

The Karachi 100 share index rose 20 percent this year while the currency weakened 2.5 percent. The government projects the economy will grow 2 percent in the year ended June 30, the slowest pace in eight years.

Karachi lures as many as one million job seekers every year, half of whom never return home, city authorities said.

“The problem for Karachi is there is no registration system,” said Burfat. “People are still coming from every corner of the country. Among these, many elements get involved in terrorism.”

The unmapped slums are perfect hiding places for Taliban seeking respite from the fighting, said Arif Hasan, an urban planner and author of “Understanding Karachi.”

“In a city as large as Karachi, anyone can hide,” Hasan said. “Police surveillance is weak and a high level of corruption means any one who has money can easily hide.”

Militants also use the commercial center as a source of money by kidnapping for ransom, robbing banks and trafficking drugs and arms, according to Kamal.

Kidnappings Rise

Since the Sept. 11, 2001, attacks in New York, there have been 355 reported kidnappings for ransom in Karachi, compared with 68 in the previous five years, said the Citizens Police Liaison Committee, a volunteer group.

In October 2008, film maker Satish Anand was kidnapped and held for six months until he paid a ransom, police said. A month earlier, Shaukat Afridi, who ran a fleet of oil tankers and supplied NATO forces in Afghanistan, died when his kidnappers blew up the house where he was being held. Wall Street Journal reporter Daniel Pearl was abducted in Karachi and killed in 2002.

Pakistan has suffered more than 25 bombings since the army began its campaign in the Swat Valley seven weeks ago. At least 31 people were killed in political violence in Karachi in the first week of June.

“Hearing gunfire at night everyday has become a habit,” said Ashraf Hussain, Pakistan’s only woman caddy, who travels from the north of the city to the Karachi Golf Club everyday. “I get on the bus every morning fearing how I will get home.”

Meanwhile, Fayyaz Khan and his anti-terrorist team carry out up to three raids a day to try to prevent a major attack.

“It’s a cat and mouse game,” said Khan, 40, who had plastic surgery after a bomb exploded in his hands in 2002. “We have to keep at it. The game is about who is one step ahead.”

To contact the reporters on this story: Naween A. Mangi in Karachi, Pakistan at Nmangi1@bloomberg.net; Farhan Sharif in Karachi, Pakistan at Fsharif2@bloomberg.net.

Interesting and at the same time alarming article.

I am curious to know more. How does the political and police machinery respond to such a threat in Karachi? Do they take sides? I am assuming the police would be predominantly Mohajir as they are the dominant community in Karachi? Or do they manage to stay neutral? And what about the civil/local govt. machinery in Karachi?

I am assuming the police would be predominantly Mohajir as they are the dominant community in Karachi?

Incorrect, Police are chosen based on BPS (Basic Pay Scale) quota and "merit"system.

Job-Opportunities-in-Police-Department-Sindh.jpg

Mohajirs and similar minorities do not enjoy significant representation in government offices purely due to the way the quota system works. Only a few posts are served as "merit" posts and these are given specially to Minority members who are excellent.

Furthermore you then have to consider the Rangers who also have a significant Internal Security Wing stationed in Karachi and a Political Wing to monitor the local ongoings.

The Rangers unlike the local police recruit nation-wide, so this removes the issue of bias.

How does the political and police machinery respond to such a threat in Karachi?

The Police don't, they leave it to the Rangers. The police is too politically implicated ( fingers in many pies so to speak)...

And what about the civil/local govt. machinery in Karachi?

Well lets put it this way... At present who is the Nazim (Mayor) of Karachi? ;)

Although i do have tremendous respect for the man, his political affiliations kind of determine which way he swings when push comes to shove.

try reading the newspaper buddy or google may help and this might help you find that just this year how many of top al qaida and taliban leaders are caught in karachi

All I'm saying is life goes on as normal. I understand your point, but I just mean that the political/ethnic clashes are much more apparent than the presence of these two terrorist groups. It doesn't mean they don't exist, it just means that they are probably being secretive which is equally worse.

If I learnt everything from the news then I'd be believing that there would be a bomb blast in every corner if I went to Pakistan.

=The Clarifier;1308535]All I'm saying is life goes on as normal.

life seems normal ! but there is a much bigger kios predicted by many authors and recent events , thats what the author is trying to say worse is to come and talibs and AQ can strike hard !!

I understand your point, but I just mean that the political/ethnic clashes are much more apparent than the presence of these two terrorist groups. It doesn't mean they don't exist, it just means that they are probably being secretive which is equally worse.

That is my point and thats what the purpose of this post is to identify the "secretive " hand behind this all !! hope you wil also try and understand the most ironic part that this secret hand remains un identified and in the article there is a official who in my view is pointing fingers or pointing towards the attitude of law enforcement i will quote him him again if you have missed it "" Pakistan Institute for Peace Studies Director Mohammad Amir Rana says security agencies are overlooking creeping Talibanisation for some areas.""

If I learnt everything from the news then I'd be believing that there would be a bomb blast in every corner if I went to Pakistan.[

suggestion try dawn or tribune !

Well lets put it this way... At present who is the Nazim (Mayor) of Karachi? ;)

Although i do have tremendous respect for the man, his political affiliations kind of determine which way he swings when push comes to shove.

Karachi does not have the Nazim system anymore. They have administrators now. Mustafa Kamal's term ended like 6 months ago. Then a drunk guy from PPP became Administrator and god knows who the current administrator right now.

MQM was warning everyone about Taliban and Al Qaeda moving in to Karachi and they wanted help from the federal govt but everyone just laughed off those claims.

Karachi in the grips of extortionists, terrorists
Syed Ali Raza Abidi 16 mins ago

The Sindh Home Minister inspired mixed reactions after his heated statements at the KCCI.

Earlier this month Sindh Home Minister Zulfiqar Mirza entered the Karachi Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KCCI) building for a media briefing where a businessman handed him a ‘parchi’ from extortionists and asked the minister to take action against the people who had been threatening him if they didn’t pay the required sum.

The ‘parchi’ practice

Being a part of the business community in Karachi for several decades, I can confirm that the parchi system is normal practice in Karachi. Political parties, gangsters, ‘community associations’ and representatives of so-called philanthropic and religious organisations pay regular visits to business units around the city for weekly, monthly, or annual collections.

This does not end here. Many of our public officers from provincial and federal agencies operating for facilitations of businesses condone the practice leaving the extortionists safe from summons and legal proceedings.

Fisheries versus extortionists

In one case in August 2010, the fisheries compound in Karachi (where processing factories of seafood products are located) was targeted. Nearby gangs gave each unit a parchi of up to Rs10 million to be paid or “face the consequences”.

This resulted in a number of crimes. An exporter was abducted on his way to work and was later released after the ransom was paid. On another occasion, one exporter was robbed of Rs5 million where his stock was removed from cold storage at gunpoint while criminals took the guards and workers hostage in his factory.

After the seafood industry approached Mirza to take action and the premises was provided 24 hour protection with two police mobiles stationed near the compound. However, the mobile security was gone within a week. The exporters eventually decided to arrange for private security for the harbour.

Similar cases have been reported from around the city – especially industrial areas – as the majority of extortionists are from poor and illegally occupied localities nearby. For now the demands for extortion have been reduced or are being carried out in a more covert fashion.

Mirza’s fiery retaliation

In order to understand Mirza’s outburst at KCCI, one must consider the performance of his ministry since he was made responsible for maintaining law and order in the province:

Crime Reported during the period from 01-01-2010 to 30-09-2010

Crime Reported during the period from 01-01-2009 to 31-12-2009

Crime Reported during the period from 01-01-2008 to 31-12-2008

The data above is not cause for pride or glory for any Pakistani, especially if it concerns the city that contributes to around 70 per cent of the total revenue for the whole country.

I am still confused about Mirza’s speech and his selective approach. When the businessmen at the session complained about the security situation and highlighted the shortcomings of his department why did he lash out at the MQM?

Everyone attending was stunned to hear his words since his speech presented nothing conclusive with regard to the matter.

Mirza’s words would have held value if he had disclosed the names of the culprits responsible for the Shershah market killings that took place due to the non-payment of extortion money. Instead of discussing who was responsible, he chose to say that the incidents were a result of ethnic differences and that the alleged oppressor (MQM) was counter-attacked in retaliation only because the citizens murdered in Shershah were from an Urdu speaking community.

He claimed that he begged the Governor of Sindh Ishratul Ebad to prevent target killings in case other ethnicities adopt similar techniques .

From the 60 target killers that have been put behind bars, Mirza claims that 26 are from MQM, some from ANP and a few from Haqiqi and Sunni Tehreek. If these people are really target killers then where are their charge-sheets and why haven’t they been handed over to the courts?

Despite overseeing the arrest of hundreds of Taliban and al Qaeda operatives Mirza continues to accuse Karachi-based political groups for the killings. But citizens of the city know better. Karachi is a hot-bed for terrorism and it is no longer a hidden fact that that violence is being stirred by a third force.

well i live in karachi and i grew up here! and i know one thing and one thing only since childhood! JO ALTAF KAA GHADAR HAI WOH MAUT KAA HAQDAAR HAI!

even this time on EID there was a shoot out in liyari between MQM and PPP over "KHAAL" goat & cow hides!

now PPP blames MQM ANP blames MQM Imran Khan blames MQM JI blames MQM

hell there must be something wrong with MQM and its aim to NOT de-weaponize karachi!

ANP is no less evil then MQM but MQM is the stronger of the two in karachi and holds alot more power and we saw that when they closed down karachi on ONE PHONE CALL FROM UK BY A BRITISH NATIONAL!

ANP has currently very limited power in karachi and with such little power they cannot control a whole city MQM on the other hand can and does!

well i live in karachi and i grew up here! and i know one thing and one thing only since childhood! JO ALTAF KAA GHADAR HAI WOH MAUT KAA HAQDAAR HAI!

even this time on EID there was a shoot out in liyari between MQM and PPP over "KHAAL" goat & cow hides!

now PPP blames MQM ANP blames MQM Imran Khan blames MQM JI blames MQM

hell there must be something wrong with MQM and its aim to NOT de-weaponize karachi!

ANP is no less evil then MQM but MQM is the stronger of the two in karachi and holds alot more power and we saw that when they closed down karachi on ONE PHONE CALL FROM UK BY A BRITISH NATIONAL!

ANP has currently very limited power in karachi and with such little power they cannot control a whole city MQM on the other hand can and does!

Arey to tum zinda kaisay ho abhi, kisi ne mara kyun nahi abhi tak tumhe? Liar?

id say mqm goonery does exist but some pathans are also using the same tactics...but as far as i knw they are not locals of karachi
pro mqm is quite strong here

because i never vote and i avoid my sector incharge and his thugs! :wave:

How u are alive when u say u are against MQM and MQM people are all over karachi, so how are u living peacefully here in karachi, liar? Sorry if i hurt u!