Johnnie Walker in Bollywood

anant_s

Johnnie Walker in Bollywood

I always notice Johnnie Walker whiskey bottles in Bollywood films. Perhaps I have a very specific obsessive compulsive disorder that deals exclusively with finding Johnny Walker bottles in the films. I have photos of Johnnie Walker bottles sprinkled throughout this blog, but I thought I’d follow the lead of Shweta at Apni East India Company, who keeps a chronicle of Bollywood chandeliers and create a separate page for all the Johnny Walker. Now we just need the sprawling central staircases of the Indian film industry captured, along with birthday cakes and parties, and of course my most favorite, Bollywood balloons.

This page will now include some of Johnny Walker bottles I’ve found over the years from various Hindi (and maybe some Tamil and Telugu) filums. I have found that when a Johnny Walker bottle appears in these films, trouble is never far behind. In fact, if a black label bottle is shown, instead of the less expensive red label, it not only symbolizes fancier richer people, but people with even more evil intent than consumers of the plain old red label. To illustrate this point, one of the darkest characters I’ve seen is Apoorva Agnihotri‘s character, Rajiv, from Pardes (1997) and just LOOK (DEKH!) at how many Johnnie Walker black label bottles lurk in his presence! 25b7c8e9f4e189a21634bc1f95bc3fa8.jpg

There are FIVE, and that’s not including implied bottles that may be behind him. Blogger and commenter Samir, the oenophile, has expressed that he’s working on a theory for who gets the girl in these movies based on which label they are pictured with and I have suggested that he work on such an algorithm. I am seeking a grant from the Johnnie Walker company to fund such an effort, or maybe they will just send me a few cases of the whiskey. It’s also important to note the trashy goris in the background poster, are also a classic sign of trouble and representative of loose morals of the west.

25. Thanedaar (1990)

Thanks to @sid_karane for sending me this screen capture of Sanjay Dutt looking on asMadhuri Dixit drinks a large goblet of Johnnie Walker black label.

b65d792794dc478772bc3ed11e203096.jpg

Is that a cigarette in her Madhuri’s hand? Well I suppose it’s better than this.

24. Dhoondth Reh Jaaoge (2009)

Kunal Khemu and Paresh Rawal work up a scheme over a bottle of JW.

5500fae47569a71e3db1b0a75183d5a1.jpg

23. An Evening in Paris (1967)

Sharmila Tagore’s Suzy charms the men, including a red-headed Pran, with red labeled Johnnie Walker bottles in the background.

726d43f7ae6c72e9095380b44eafff4d.jpg

Sharmila’s other character, Deepa, is urged by Pran to gulp down some whiskey while both a red and black label of Johnnie Walker look on enthusiastically from the shelf.

52a9c2997af9e7d42b97620e583269ec.jpg

A whole group of dancers perform for a Johnnie Walker red label bottle here:2b69e215ecb4518e26b80b2a0ad99444.jpg

22. Once Upon a Time in Mumbaai (2010)

In his underworld movie, Emraan Hashmi plays Shoaib Khan a character based on Dawood Ibrahim. Ajay Devgan plays Sultan Mirza, based on Haji Mastan. Needless to say, Johnnie Walker bottles are fruitful since underworld types enjoy Johnnie Walker. Hashmi’s Shoaib Khan is making evil plans here, breaking codes of morality, and is interrupted by his mentor, Devgan’s Sultan Mizra.

Despite being a criminal, Mirza is shown to be a godfather like figure to the people and a man of principles. He is against smuggling contraband as it is against his Muslim faith. (source)

edae661944f29c0be2016179a45d31c1.jpg

Now THIS is what I call a dramatic exit: spinning the Johnnie Walker red label and storming out of the room, straight to Delhi!

3e1860a3dab4ad476c311605ac968cf3.jpg

Hashmi’s Shoaib Khan’s descent into more and more serious crime coincides with him being sighted with the fancier Johnnie Walker black label, after all he’s portraying Dawood Ibrahim, currently second on Interpols most wanted list.

8230cc2508d4997a423fdb0c376d0f99.jpgAdjust karo!

33ee1ff96263487f968d0cc5bcc29126.jpgJohnnie Walker in Bollywood | Bollywood Food Club

21. Awaargi (1990)

This film has lots of Johnnie Walker whiskey, so much that I had to dedicate an entrie post to it HERE. One of the more rare images was this one, where the Johnnie Walker bottle sits off to the side, listening to Anil Kapoor’s Azaad threaten to give a tight slap to Meenakshi Seshadri’s Meena.

b26a2a755a1e52ba93c4ca4479f749e7.jpg

20. Do Anjaane (1976)

A rare siting of a woman (Rekha) with Johnnie Walker black label. I recall a lot of scenes with Prem Chopra’s character luring Amitabh’s character using Johnnie Walker whiskey, and even a train scene involving the whiskey and if I find that clip I’ll add it.

8f92f8caff51bf3a4d24d09f554096d1.jpg

19. Maine Pyar Kiya (1989)

A very bad man with his very good whiskey. This photo reeks of entitlement.4bb4860ba330bed9c1d5e12c636c52d4.jpg

18. Ram Lakhan (1989)

Vivia (Sonika Gill) is a vixen working with gangsters, but she’s smitten with Anil Kapoor’s fun-loving Lakhan, who walks the tight rope between goodaism and righteous law-abiding police work.

e1cb1fc76f9d0f313f48686bb73e33b1.jpg

How can you tell Vivia runs with gangsters? Well there’s Johnnie Walker on the premises. Opps, sorry her arm is blocking the whiskey!

50c9cddfdec67b665746db65c7bcc128.jpg

For much of the film I thought Vivia was Madhuri DIxit in a wig and blue contacts. Did anyone else think that?

17. Omkara (2006)

Saif Ali Khan and Deepak Dobriyal share some Johnnie Walker black label on a bridge.23bd13cf8711188bacdf0e51cae55d6d.jpg

Thanks to “encore” who added in the comments section,

“catch a glimpse of Johnnie Walker Black Label in Omkara. It makes its appearance in that memorable bridge scene with Langda Tyagi (Saif) and Tiwari (Deepak Dobriyal). Look for it starting 3:15″:

16. Vishwanath (1978)

Two bottles of Johnnie Walker, one red, one black, are witnesses to a murder (by Ranjeet!) in the first moments of this Subhash Ghai film.1306c94027f4a3f25ed85203adfc1248.jpgAfterwards, the Johnnie Walker does its usual thing and keeps company with gangsters/dacoits/goondas/scoundrels.ab7a079bf1aa37eab3444ae8dd9de192.jpg

15. White Rainbow (2005)

Hatrick!

1.) Indian woman drinking 2.) widow drinking 3.) She’s (Sonali Kulkarni) drinking Johnnie Walker, black label!
feb44f1e6defd4d01e9567a7670b1b34.jpg
d729fbc44380a97e9838529c66a01eeb.jpg5754e58729a4d87af398ab795703709f.jpg

14. Parbat Pe Apna Dera (My Home is In the Hills) (1944)

Dhanyivad to Shweta at Apni East India Company (whose cataloguing of chandeliers in Bollywood inspired me to do the same for Johnnie Walker) for sending me these images from the film. Until proven otherwise, these are the oldest recorded evidence of Johnnie Walker being consumed in and Indian film. Kanta Kumari pouring Johnnie Walker:

0d47218f2305c35dd580b48c0e0a67b4.png

07fb0786448b2a2d7fa15d31a6dbc470.png b7a9e97fde72d3bc6f966464be4ff9ef.png

13. Bachna Ae Haseeno (2008)

Kunal Kapoor and Ranbir Kapoor working things out over a bottle of Johnnie Walker black label.

fc6c7530f6ee0ad2a101e829ac6defa3.jpg

12. Dayavan (1988)

Dacoitery and Johnnie Walker black label go hand in hand, hai na?
1221fabbbbd525cae19bfaeed674f96f.jpg

11. Deewana (1992)

Amrish Puri with black label.8d745671a6e7161dfa5ce207f7d203e5.jpg

10. Dev.D (2009)

Abhay Deol‘s character drinks vodka (or is it gin?) in the film, but even he couldn’t escape a photo op. with a grand bottle of Johnnie Walker red label.60e342d2fb39fecce41ac34c4a598ded.jpg

9. Hera Pheri (1976)

Amitabh Bachchan uses Johnnie Walker red label to help sooth the pain of a broken bromance with Vinod Khanna. He first spies what he needs here:8dd7c1f9b0a15cc50faa7c583b0607ef.jpg

The Johnnie Walker bottle actually co-stars in this sad number:

28c1637820e72851f5f9047b90ddf0f8.jpg d759bcc9735e3f4a55a6a0170adfd62c.jpg

391a59641bc7af4d6a8d70be10b86737.jpg

8. Mehbooba (2008) features 1 gori extra, 1 large cell phone, 1 Sanjay Dutt, 1 bottle Johnnie Walker, black label.

bb6d997656296f44af92854def23f77c.jpg

7. Namak Haraam (1973)

Rajesh Khanna gets his socialism on with Amitabh Bachchan over a bottle of JohnnieWalker black label.3da97099e144148e9adb6db788803471.jpg

6e03e12271fd2b4cd4c2631d40c6fc04.jpg

6. Parinda (1989)

Nana Patekar‘s character about to experience death by Johnnie Walker, black label.2e2e52d081d77bf4c2680c38259a5a3a.jpg

5. Raja Hindustani (1996)

Not even Karisma Kapoor or some item girls can ease the emotional atyachar of Aamir Khan’s character, but a bottle of Johnnie Walker black label helps.
a7cbf7d5a7839d1a813bee7886e0bf23.jpg

He starts out with a bottle of J&B, but about three minutes in he has the good sense to switch over to Johnnie Walker.

3511367f0df654a454298f32b4e0c699.jpg

4. Sawan Bhadon (1970)

Jayshree T shaking it for a bottle of Johnnie Walker, red label.940794039aee878c6919245429d86c04.jpg

3. Superstar ( 2008)

Kunal Khemu‘ s character takes away his torment with a swig of Johnnie Walker, red label.

d347e14404898ac43071c180f177426a.jpgAdditionally, he seems to gargle with it: 5a01e191d4fe8a1975c2897835b3d494.jpg

2. Hare Rama Hare Krishna (1971)

What better way to show the how the low morals of American life affect NRIs than to show Mr. Jaiswal (Kishore Sahu) slamming down some Johnnie Walker while threatening to slap Mrs. Jaiwal (Achala Sachdev).

8875d87b9552dcaad8184eb5f9a9e4bb.jpg

1. Jewel Thief (1967)

Dev Anand plays two characters in this film, the jewel thief, Amar, and his innocent look alike, Vinay. How can Vinay pass himself off as a thief? Why by drinking Johnnie Walker of course, like a true thief.

4dc9820312ef67c2ebfbbe4d555d324d.jpg

And I know this isn’t Bollywood, it’s the handsome Jon Hamm with some Johnnie Walker inMad Men (season 3 episode 5 to be exact) because sometimes I have to make an exception and go beyond the Indian film industry.
7a8ada24f268b5191d637d5f4b8859b9.jpg

c9452646c69d15a78ecc05902cdd0c59.jpg

• Oooh! Ooooh! I’d like to submit this scene from Konchem Ishtam Konchem Kashtam where Prakash Raj and Sidd split a bottle of Johnny Walker (although you never quite see the label.) I’m keeping track of my screencaps of Prakash Raj drinking, I’ll see if there are anymore Johnny Walkers.

bhai purane din mat puch yaar .... 2.30 am alarm laga ke TV 6 dekha karte kabhi

khali photo mat chipka ... agar peeta hai toh ... jaam se jaam bheeda :cheers:

1 ltr ki nahi mlthi yahan ,70cl ki botl jaldhi khali ho jathi heh :coffee:

botl heh ,nimbu heh,pani heh sab teek heh:cheers:

1 ltr ki nahi mlthi yahan ,70cl ki botl jaldhi khali ho jathi heh :coffee:
botl heh ,nimbu heh,pani heh sab teek heh:cheers:
Sax hai jigar ... bakchodi ek side .. par ho daru peeta hai uske saath apna alag connection hai. chahie borde ke is side ho ya us side.