ISRO’s new test set to put India into Cryogenic Orbit
Published April 30, 2015 | By admin
SOURCE : ECONOMIC TIMES

gslv-d5-10.jpg

The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) on Tuesday successfully tested its indigenous cryogenic engine for 635 seconds, the full duration of an actual flight. A successful cryogenic engine will let India launch 4-tonne satellites — the INSATs — into geostationary orbit.

These satellites are the backbone of India’s communications, weather forecasting, broadcasting and other applications. Tuesday’s test is the fifth ground test of the cryogenic engine.

Earlier tests were of short duration of 10-20 seconds. When ready, ISRO will use this engine as the upper stage of the heavy lifter GSLV Mark III. This vehicle is ready and has had a short flight last year, but is waiting for the cryogenic engine for a full flight.

There are several tests to be done before the engine can integrate with the rocket, but it has crossed a major hurdle on Tuesday. This means that the technology has been achieved and the design is sound,” says K Sivan, director of the ISRO Liquid Propulsion Centre (LPSC)in Trivandrum.

ISRO’s Mark III version of Geostationary Launch Vehicle is being developed to carry fourtonne class satellites into geostationary orbit. This would mean that the country can launch large weather and communication satellites on its own, while also offering cheap launch services to others.

ISRO’s new test set to put India into Cryogenic Orbit | idrw.org

I know this engine is quite hi-tech, Put how would you explain to someone with no or little knowledge of this

@gslvmk3 . can you please help me to know or guess that as per current or purposed infrastructure by pakistan government, how long it will take to make a slv and cryogenic engine to pakistan ?
Thanks in advance !
.लोल

I know this engine is quite hi-tech, Put how would you explain to someone with no or little knowledge of this
There are two types of Cryogenic engine used in world mainly.

Gas Generator and Staged Combustion

CE-7.5 was Stage Combustion
and
CE-20 was Gas Generator

Read on wiki about Stage Combustion and Gas Generator .

जबरदस्त हंसी that you asked this silly "COMMONSENSE" question.

Bhai muje bhi doosri post mein inko reply karna padta hai. Thoda bahut estimate bhi to hona chahiye na. beijaati karne se pehle

To generate more power, you need more fuel that has a weight penalty. Increase in weight once again result in to a need of more powerful engine and you are trapped in vicious circle. To put satellite in High orbit or to carry more load, you need an engine which is light weight and generate more power burn for a long time. Cryogenic engine meet these criterion. It uses liquid oxygen and liquid hydrogen as fuel. This generates a lots of power and heat which may burn the engine. So both fuel are cooled to few degree above absolute Zero temperature (-273* C). First of all these coolant cool the engine to save them from getting damaged and ultimately go to combustion chamber to mix and burn. This give the launch vehicle a capacity to carry heavier satellite to higher altitude. Cryogenic engine makes this difference.

Bhai muje bhi doosri post mein inko reply karna padta hai. Thoda bahut estimate bhi to hona chahiye na. beijaati karne se pehle
The plan was formulated way back in 1999 to convert Shaheen into SLV, for a payload of 50 kg to LEO.

Even after 16 yrs they not able to convert simple missile into SLV. So, what you conclude from this?

The plan was formulated way back in 1999 to convert Shaheen into SLV, for a payload of 50 kg to LEO.

Even after 16 yrs they not able to convert simple missile into SLV. So, what you conclude from this?

They just tested the Shaheen III of 2750 range but not able to make SLV why ???

@Chinki maal ??

They just tested the Shaheen III of 2750 range but not able to make SLV why ???

@Chinki maal ??

Not a priority, that's why.

Military Forum Latest Posts