ghazi52

PDF THINK TANK: ANALYST
Is it double roti or dabba roti? Desi Twitter debates bread

First of all, how dare you?

5e5cf30d569dc.jpg

After the blue and black dress controversy, social media has people shaking their heads in disapproval as they debate over bread.

A person on Twitter decided to let people know that all this time we've been referring to bread as double roti while the actual term was dabba roti and no one is okay with this take.

Akber Zeb Pirzada@zeb_akber

How old were you when you realised it is Dabba roti not double roti.

Many responded to this claim starting off with "First of all, how dare you?" and much much more.

But is it really?

Suleman Asghar Wains@Sulemanwains

https://twitter.com/Sulemanwains/status/1234414249990119424

Today I just realized that it's Dibba roti not double roti.

How old you were when you realized the same?

Because, no

black cat@KaliBilli

Whoever started this Dabba roti nonsense needs to go stand in the corner for spreading fake news.
Kahan se agaya dabba? Logic kya hai iski? Who calls bread "dabba" roti in urdu?

Right in the childhood

· 23h

Munnazzah Raza@MunnazzahR

I'm highly offended by this tweet. Please take it down. It will forever be double roti...
You had no right to ruin my childhood like that
1f62d.png
I was not prepared for this. Someone hold me.

We are not okay

shawarma lahme@RizwanPehelwan

· 17h
It's called double roti because we saw the British making sandwiches using two slices of bread so yup. Not dabba roti. Fucking weirdos.

asad bhaiyya@sadizid

Honestly upset at twitter for teaching me that I've been sharing this planet with a bunch of people who call it dabba roti. I was better off not knowing :(

No affiliations whatsoever

Kamila Shamsie@kamilashamsi

Previous retweet not an endorsement of the ‘dabba roti’ rather than ‘double roti’ theory.

Faith in humanity questioned

omar r quraishi

✔@omar_quraishi

Why the F would anyone believe that double roti was ever called anything other than double roti - kya ho gya hai logon ko

What is this centrist behaviour?

@Salahsfaction

Dabba roti or double roti.
It all increases your weight.
So avoid whatever it is called.

One word: Illuminati

Ahmed

✔@azkhawaja1

indeed, please stop spreading fahaash propaganda & misleading gullible awaam with self-concocted scienceain like this 'dabba roti' nonsense.
shawarma lahme@RizwanPehelwan

It's called double roti because we saw the British making sandwiches using two slices of bread so yup. Not dabba roti.

Kehdia na? Bas, kehdia

Cynosure@EimaannA

· 18h
Valar Dohaeris@partisanofKhan1

It is DOUBLE ROTI with two layers one brown, one white. Bus!

Time for a history and linguistics crossover

· 23h

JB@badnocs

Zabardasti Dabba kehlo tou aapki marzi. As a food lover gourmet chef, blogger, writer, food critic for 6 yrs at South Asia magazine UK, participated in int'l food festival in Montreal, owned & cooked at a restaurant in front of ppl&was on French TV channel live cooking, my view....................................

4:43 PM - Mar 1, 2020

Team double roti for life

paper boat@heymuzz

https://twitter.com/heymuzz/status/1234393838468333568

If you call double roti "double roti" and not "dabba roti" like some weird psycho, good morning to you.

Although, we all know the real champ
Al-Commie Karachi Kings laga ker wings @AmnaRaoIsSad

Dabba roti or double roti, both suck. Love yourself enough to make yourself a paratha....

3:18 AM - Mar 2, 2020 · Sindh, Pakistan

https://twitter.com/AmnaRaoIsSad
What do you think it is?

Double Roti

Dabba Roti

I just want a paratha, man

Double ka meetha. :tup:

Saying "Dabba roti ka meetha" sounds so strange.

Whatever it is. It is too expensive and unhealthy

Always knew it as Double Roti

Also called Pao Roti

its double roti, as it is thicker than the normal desi roti.

Person who came up with dubba theory should think out of dubba