India's vice-president lays foundation stone in Gurdaspur for Kartarpur corridor

India's Vice-president M Venkaiah Naidu on Monday laid the foundation stone for the construction of the four-km-long corridor connecting Dera Baba Nanak in India’s Gurdaspur district with Gurdwara Kartarpur Sahib in Pakistan.

Prime Minister Imran Khan will perform the groundbreaking of the corridor on Wednesday [Nov 28]. The proposal to construct the corridor providing visa-free access to Sikh pilgrims was renewed by Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa in August this year.

"The corridor will become a symbol of love and peace between both countries," Naidu was quoted as saying in Gurdaspur by Hindustan Times.

"This is a momentous and historic day [...] we are fulfilling the wish of thousands of Sikh devotees,” he said.

India's Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh, however, took a more confrontational tone while speaking at the event and issued a 'warning' to Pakistan to not "vitiate the atmosphere", reported Hindustan Times.

Earlier, Punjab minister Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa protested against the presence of names of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) leaders on the foundation stone, according to India Today.

Randhawa used tape to black out his own and other Punjab ministers' names on the foundation stone.

"I did this in protest against Parkash and Sukhbir Badal's names on stone. Why is their name here? They are not part of the executive, it is not BJP-Akali event," the minister was quoted as saying.

According to India Today, a controversy erupted right before the foundation stone laying ceremony as cabinet minister of the Punjab government, Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa, termed the ceremony a "step taken in a hurry".

"The Modi government is going in for laying the foundation stone two days before Pakistan will do the ground-breaking ceremony on their side, without preparing the layout. The hurry was only to pre-empt the ground-breaking ceremony by Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan on November 28," claimed Bajwa, who is a member of the Indian National Congress.

He alleged that not only the local Congress leaders, but even the ministers from Gurdaspur district have been "ignored".

Kartarpur corridor
Lying dormant due to the tense relations between the two countries since 1988, the proposal to construct the corridor providing visa-free access to Sikh pilgrims had been renewed by Army Chief Gen Qamar Javed Bajwa in August this year.

Earlier, the Pakistan government had invited Indian Minister for External Affairs Sushma Swaraj, Indian Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu besides 17 Indian journalists to the Nov 28 Kartarpur corridor groundbreaking ceremony.

The invitation was accepted with "unalloyed joy" by Sidhu, who termed the development as "historic". Who added that he had lodged an application with the Ministry of External Affairs for permission to attend the groundbreaking event.

"This day will indeed break ground," Sidhu said in his letter. "As our two nations take this first step, the Kartarpur Spirit can make pilgrims of us all, venturing out on a journey that breaks the barriers of history and opens the borders of the heart and the mind."

Meanwhile, the chief minister of Indian Punjab thanked Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi for the invitation but declined it in a letter addressed to the foreign minister.

Swaraj had earlier excused herself from attending the ceremony, citing "prior commitments" but had announced that India's Minister for Food Processing Industries Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Minister of State for Housing and Urban Affairs Shri Hardeep Singh Puri will attend the ceremony in Kartarpur Sahib as representatives of the Indian government.

While the idea was shared by the army chief with the Congress leader and Indian Punjab minister Navjot Singh Sidhu during his visit to Pakistan in August for attending Imran Khan’s oath-taking ceremony, the Pakistan government announced the date for the groundbreaking ceremony of the corridor only this week after the Indian Union cabinet agreed to avail the offer of the passageway in view of the 550th birth anniversary of the founder of the Sikh faith, Shri Guru Nanak Dev Ji, next year.

According to the proposal, the Indian government will construct and develop the Kartarpur corridor from Dera Baba Nanak in Indian Punjab’s Gurdaspur district to the border, while Pakistan will build the other part of the corridor connecting the border to the Gurdwara in the Kartarpur Sahib area of Narowal district.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1447766

@Maarkhoor @Canuck786 @Major Sam @CIS-TRANS @Proudpakistaniguy @Jinn Baba @SmartGeek @volatile @BATMAN @Tameem @MUSTAKSHAF @Kabira

i mean just look at these ungrateful indians, and our stupid govt, who is dying to gift this corridor to Indians, I mean the manner is pathetic..

The Indians are aiding & abetting terrorism inside Pakistan, Chinese Consulate is attacked in karachi, indian journalists running campaign for BLA, and our govt. just look at them, inviting indian FM, CM Punjab without following any diplomatic process, as a result got snubbed by the indians, first by rejecting our invitation, and now these statements by Captain Amrindar singh.

Here is detailed statment by Captain Amrindar Singh reported by whole indian media...

"Speaking at the event, Captain Amarinder said, "I would like to ask Pakistan army chief Qamar Bajwa something, as a soldier. Which army teaches you to violate ceasefire and kill jawans on the other side? Which army teaches you to send people to attack Pathankot and Amritsar? This is cowardliness."

Captain Amarinder went on to say. "Pakistan should be ashamed of the bloodshed [it is responsible for]. I condemn the killing of innocents by Pakistan." Captain Amarinder also cautioned, "I am warning you (the Pakistan army chief), we are also Punjabis, you will not be allowed to enter here and vitiate the atmosphere."

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...-singh-pakistan-army-chief-1396389-2018-11-26

بھارتی پنجاب کے چیف منسٹر، بھارت کی وزیر خارجہ نے تقریب میں شرکت کی دعوت ٹھکرا دی،.. بھارت بی ایل اے کے زریعے چینی کاؤنسلیٹ پر حملے کرا رہا ہے اور یہ بارڈر کھولنے اور دعوتیں دینے کے لیئے مرے جا رہے ہیں

There are elements within government and Army from both sides who don’t want peace. Can you imagine if there is peace and Kashmir issue is resolved, who would hurt the most? The army general and politicans from both sides. Where will Moulana Fazulur Raham be?
When we have peace we won’t need 1.6 to 1.8 million Pakistan arm forces, we can reduce it to 1/4 and also reduce the perks and privileges of inservice andd retired generals, otherwise we will run out land there will be generals in queue to get free land.

This is how I will do it....
Army active personnel = 350,00 (300,00 reserved)
Air Force active personnel = 85,000 (10,000 reserved)
Navy active personnel = 25,000 (5000 reserved)
Marines active personnel = 10,000 (3,000 reserved)
Paramilitary forces active personnel = 300,000 (100,000 reserved).

I mean, just compare...

At one side India, who is Abetting terrorism inside Pakistan, harbouring terrorists like Aslam Achu etc., and whom we have gifted Kartarpur Corridor, their officials condemn, warn & accuse Pakistan for imaginary/baseless terrorism at foundation ceremony of Kartarpur border.

At the other Side, we have PTI govt. Pakistan backstabbed by India recently, multiple terrorist incidents done by india inside Pakistan, we have all the proof, and our govt. is not telling the world, adopting mysterious quiet & at the same dying to invite indian officials for foundation laying ceremony without following due Deplomatic process...

Pathetic...

they have a free pass because they are not PMLN, PTI is allowed to back stab and fanboys will call it a master stroke, like many already are calling opening this border as Imran's master class policy decision.

thanks for throwing in your bullshit brainless propaganda as usual. But here's the thing, no one cares of what you post anymore except your close brainless fellas.
so keep going mate...

There are elements within government and Army from both sides who don’t want peace. Can you imagine if there is peace and Kashmir issue is resolved, who would hurt the most? The army general and politicans from both sides. Where will Moulana Fazulur Raham be?
When we have peace we won’t need 1.6 to 1.8 million Pakistan arm forces, we can reduce it to 1/4 and also reduce the perks and privileges of inservice andd retired generals, otherwise we will run out land there will be generals in queue to get free land.

This is how I will do it....
Army active personnel = 350,00 (300,00 reserved)
Air Force active personnel = 85,000 (10,000 reserved)
Navy active personnel = 25,000 (5000 reserved)
Marines active personnel = 10,000 (3,000 reserved)
Paramilitary forces active personnel = 300,000 (100,000 reserved).

If you had something called "brain" in there somewhere. You'll know making peace with india has nothing to do with reducing your troop counts nor the privileges they get.

Your country is the top priority target of many countries in the world including your goddess mother zion, whose propaganda you have fallen victim to.

We need more troops, if we are to survive as a nation and as a country even if we were living in the best of neighborhoods and even if india had disintegrated to a thousand small pieces.

Those who don;t prepare for war when in peace, are the ones who become a lesson they teach school kids in the class of history.
Use some brains please, instead of being high on the juice of propaganda and dissinformation which weaker minds are easy prey of.

why is pakistan too soft

Because we are hurting the govt of Modi and making him fall down on his knees, as well as creating a Khalistan environment within india and playing on their soft belly just like they come to play in our Baluchistan.
It's called psychological warfare mate.

Excellent initiative that is showing discord as mentioned in this news report; a subtle diplomatic slap that the election obsessed BJP has no response to.
A corridor with Pakistan has little to no significance as far as elections are concerned. That's why a South Indian VP with a junior minister decides to take part in it. There's bigger fish to roost than Sikhs (just 13 seats of 545), who will either sway towards Akali Dal or Congress.

If this is true, then it can have serious security repercussions, RAW will have an open field to play, you will end up providing the RAW an open ground to manipulate, to infiltrate terrorists & spies..., by using these organisations, by infiltrating their people into these sikh organisations.

If govt wants to build hotels and other facilities for sikh pilgrims, then the land must be provided to Pakistanis, especially locals of that area, so that our people can benefit, i mean this is the practice followed in most parts of the world.

Hotels, railway station to be built for Sikh pilgrims in Kartarpur

TAXILA: Federal Minister for Railways Sheikh Rashid Ahmed on Monday announced that the government would provide land to Sikh organisations for construction of modern hotels in Kartarpur, Nankana Sahib and Narowal, besides construction of a railway station in Kartarpur to provide state-of-the-art board and lodging facilities to Sikh pilgrims visiting Pakistan.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1447894/hotels-railway-station-to-be-built-for-sikh-pilgrims-in-kartarpur

That is diplomacy,which many won't understand.
Sikhs were actually suffering a lot due to tension between two States,because all of their holy sites are here,other then few in India.
they are not suffering at all. its Pakistan wants to tell india that play by our rules they coming in our land and we can monitor who is who.

After so much problem with Sikhs in the past how come India allows them to travel to Pak? Now, it's visa free entrance to religious sites!! And, they can't deny outright!!! It has become like a double edged sword for them!!!!! Last time the golden temple was the site for the Sikh movement. What if now this site inside Pak becomes something like that???

Yes you are right......

Modi ka naya yaar, Imran Khan Niazi.

Akal Dal and BJP ministers Harsimrat Kaur will be welcomed tomorrow with PTI and Imran Khan licking their feet and bending over backwards to show 'hospitality' as its more important than Pakistani lives and interests.
She will go back saying this is all thanx to Modi how much beghairat PTI and PAk govt. fears Modi, we have got visa free access to Pakistani territory without giving anything in return. Instead India has limited pilgrim and other visas for Pakistanis and killed thousands of Pakistani civilians on LoC. Salute to Imran Khan with laanat.

Screen Shot 2018-11-27 at 4.01.38 PM.png