India’s 5th Gen AMCA Project all set to go Offical

Todays latest news

Saurav Jha ‏@SJha1618 - Twin Axis thrust vectoring will be proved on a Kaveri prototype at the bench level before it is ported to the AMCA engine.

Saurav Jha ‏@SJha1618 - Americans are losing out on the AMCA engine effort due to the usual State Department bullshit.

Saurav Jha ‏@SJha1618 - 10 percent of the development cost of the AMCA will come from the military.

Saurav Jha ‏@SJha1618 - The AMCA program will see the development of 8 prototypes. A foreign partner will be needed on the manufacturing side.

You can easily make it fly by 2020 but inducting it in 2025 is very difficult.
Not very difficult but impossible. Any plane cant be inducted from scratch in 10 years. But the best thing about AMCA is airforce is involved in it, which means we have won half the war:-)

Too much delay from the very start of it.

Exactly

India should give up PAK FA and concentrate on AMCA.

Kya hogayaa itna josh bhi acha nahi hota

Engines are the main issue!

Remaining technologies India can develop within the time frame.

American or Europeans will supply the engine

The only thing that can save this is concurrent engineering,
Let HAL work on Airframe/Landing Gear, Servos and Hydraulics. Ground systems

ADA- Scaled testing for composites, Static and Dynamic testing, Radar reflection testing, Avionics, Cable trays and Harnesses, Mission Computer, Harmonics and vibration testing,

DRDO-LRDE- AESA Radar-interferometry/ Rear facing transmitter module/SPS/Jammer

GTRE - Turbofan Engine

NPO-Saturn- Backup Turbofan Engine
Last part was hilarious :rofl::rofl:

Yes, wherever investments in resources and capital was made, benefits followed. But those are far and few in-between.

How about the more generic ones ? Like Failing to come up with a robust artillery till late but having a SSBN ? Or say not having an in-house CIWS but commanding a Aircraft carrier for decades ?

Those are glaring fails which repeatedly have been glossed over and shows decades of visionless growth in general.

Claiming to have an advanced ABM system (under tests) but not having a single VSHORAD or QRSAM ?

We managed to do all those things becuz the military & political establishment knew you could not buy those things & the only was was to develop your own

Todays latest news

Saurav Jha ‏@SJha1618 - Twin Axis thrust vectoring will be proved on a Kaveri prototype at the bench level before it is ported to the AMCA engine.

Saurav Jha ‏@SJha1618 - Americans are losing out on the AMCA engine effort due to the usual State Department bullshit.

Saurav Jha ‏@SJha1618 - 10 percent of the development cost of the AMCA will come from the military.

Saurav Jha ‏@SJha1618 - The AMCA program will see the development of 8 prototypes. A foreign partner will be needed on the manufacturing side.

Not very difficult but impossible. Any plane cant be inducted from scratch in 10 years. But the best thing about AMCA is airforce is involved in it, which means we have won half the war:-)

Great news

Doodh ka Jala, Chaangh be phoonk phoonk ke pita hai. :)

Bhai baat toh sahi hai teri

Yes, wherever investments in resources and capital was made, benefits followed. But those are far and few in-between.

How about the more generic ones ? Like Failing to come up with a robust artillery till late but having a SSBN ? Or say not having an in-house CIWS but commanding a Aircraft carrier for decades ?

Those are glaring fails which repeatedly have been glossed over and shows decades of visionless growth in general.

Claiming to have an advanced ABM system (under tests) but not having a single VSHORAD or QRSAM ?

You have raised a brilliant point. I do think you can get results when you throw man and money at some projects, but having been in the defense industry my feeling has been Indian PSU's suffer from a cultural issue.
The projects that have had good project management prospered, the less unfortunate did not like trishul, kaveri, Saras, etc.
This discrepancy is a glaring issue; In DPSU's, operations and planning have been people driven instead of process driven, when compared to US and other developed states the emphasis is exactly opposite where everything is Process driven and not reliant on people as much. Here we are taught to be hard on the process and easy on the people, where as in India every one is looking for a hero in the shop floor who will rally the forces. Strategic items like a nuke sub, IRBM's etc got good leadership and the other projects got the rest.

A simple concept of "Standard Work" is virtually non existent in Indian PSU's. I used to laugh when they were trying to sell Lean and Six Sigma to us when employee unions would start washing up and packing their bags an hour before the end of the shift.

India is gradually producing all defense equipment it needs.

Make in India will give boost to Defense sector and Indian Companies.

We are on path which will lead to a day when we will produce/develop all crucial defense equipemnt we need in house.

:raise: i want one :raise: i want one. One for myself please.

You can't have one. But 30 years later your kid can have one if its not cancelled.

Is this the first time India started the project? Are there going to be more delays before the tech demonstrator is built?

India is gradually producing all defense equipment it needs.

Make in India will give boost to Defense sector and Indian Companies.

We are on path which will lead to a day when we will produce/develop all crucial defense equipemnt we need in house.

Tell me.. What is the single biggest thing which is needed for Made in India to be successful ? The first thing ! Tell me ?

3 things are needed at 1st
Simplified Tax system (will be implemented by 2016)
New Land Acquisition policy (this is a tricky one)
& better labor laws(states have taken the lead here & in 2-3 years it will have a domino effect)

3 things are needed at 1st
Simplified Tax system (will be implemented by 2016)
New Land Acquisition policy (this is a tricky one)
& better labor laws(states have taken the lead here & in 2-3 years it will have a domino effect)

No !! Most prime thing would be a robust supply chain. For that you guys need a supply chain Hub like we have Anchorage in Alaska. It is at a 90 min travel distance to more than 90% of industrialised hubs in the world.

People work 24 hours there.

Similarly how about a regional hub for South Asia in place like Nagpur ?

And please for fucks sake make your customs guys work 24 hours. Fcukers work during the day and at night shipments are simply stuck in some or other ports in India just because they were waiting to be stamped by customs. Compare that to places like Changi airport where peeps work 24x7

No !! Most prime thing would be a robust supply chain. For that you guys need a supply chain Hub like we have Anchorage in Alaska. It is at a 90 min travel distance to more than 90% of industrialised hubs in the world.

And please for fucks sake make your customs guys work 24 hours. Fcukers work during the day and at night shipments are simply stuck in some or other ports in India just because they were waiting to be stamped by customs. Compare that to places like Changi airport where peeps work 24x7
Peoples are not made to work 24x7, life is to live and enjoy and not all time work.

These are small things which are already being done I am talking about the big bang measures which will help us in the long term

Peoples are not made to work 24x7, life is to live and enjoy and not all time work.

Sane thing Greeks say look where they are now

These are small things which are already being done I am talking about the big bang measures which will help us in the long term

You just committed a blasphemy. You have absolutely no idea the hell you are talking about.

It is apparent you have no idea. I will rest my case. Do whatever you want in your country.

You just committed a blasphemy. You have absolutely no idea the hell you are talking about.

It is apparent you have no idea. I will rest my case. Do whatever you want in your country.

Let me rephrase my self
Politically these are small things which no one will notice & cry about

Let me rephrase my self
Politically these are small things which no one will notice & cry about

Movement of consignments dont give a fcuk to who is in power and what political alignment is there. All I am talking of is making a regional hub in the country.

Try to research about how it transformed a backward dirty country like singapore into one of the most advanced countries in the world.