Indian Navy rejected me from Pilot Selection.

Assault Rifle

Though this incident happened about several months back, I went to NSB as a Candidate for Pilot/Observer SSB in Indian Navy.
Though I qualified in all criteria like education, age but I was rejected by NSB as I overshot the maximum height limit of 191 cm by 1.5-2 cm.

The Lt.Commander who performed by medical examination told me my height will make an ejection extremely risky for me.
Apparently Bae Hawk Mk 132 does not support pilots who are 193 cm or more.

I was quite disappointed because while the notice mentioned minimum required height it did not say anything about maximum permitted height .Hope they are more clear in the future.

Anyways past is past, can any Indian member tell me if there is any maximum height limit for officers in Indian Army?

Though this incident happened about several months back, I went to NSB as a Candidate for Pilot/Observer SSB in Indian Navy.
Though I qualified in all criteria like education, age but I was rejected by NSB as I overshot the maximum height limit of 191 cm by 1.5-2 cm.

The Lt.Commander who performed by medical examination told me my height will make an ejection extremely risky for me.

I was quite disappointed because while the notice mentioned minimum required height it did not say anything about maximum permitted height .Hope they are more clear in the future.

Anyways past is past, can any Indian member tell me if there is any maximum height limit for officers in Indian Army?
Physical and Medical Standards for Joining Indian Army | SSB Interview Tips & Coaching | SSBCrack

Bhai ek baat kehta hoon please mind maat karna,tum aadmi ho ya bijli ka khamba:woot:!193 cm is equivalent to nearly 6'4":rolleyes:!!Anyways i really feel sorry for your rejection,this is actually the first time that i have heard that candidates can be disqualified for being too tall:undecided:.I guess there are a lot of things that we still don't know about our Armed Forces

@Georgeclark
Your links also mentions only minimum height requirement and nothing about maximum height.

@Mike_Brando
Actually what surprised me was that for both USAF and RAF max height is 196 cm but it turns out in India it's only 191 cm.

@Georgeclark
Your links also mentions only minimum height requirement and nothing about maximum height.

@Mike_Brando
Actually what surprised me was that for both USAF and RAF max height is 196 cm but it turns out in India it's only 191 cm.
@Assault Rifle I provided that link cause the chart goes upto 195 cm and I had seen it on an official recruitment page which I was not able to find. So therefore I think Army is the best option for you :)

@Georgeclark

@Mike_Brando
http://careerairforce.nic.in/showimg.asp?ID=7 bro I got this for Air Force wait finding army
Join Indian Army For the army

I guess there is no Maximum height for the army.

Did they not give you any other option???

@Georgeclark

@Mike_Brando

Caucasians generally have greater heights ( reasons why they look down at Asians...just kidding. blame it on Aryan blood ). No wonder that they have higher ceilings . Not surprising at all ....

If you are deadset on aviaton then I think fixed and rotary wing aviation is closed to you unfortunatly because the IN anf IAF both use the Hawk Mk.132 for all aviators so the ejection issues will remain.

Perhaps explore the IA's AAC? There shouldn't be an issue with height.

Double check with others though, I would hate to give you wrong advice.

Now you have two option left.
  1. Shave your head and remove your shoes next time so that your height will be reduce.
  2. Join IAF basket ball team

Its just a joke:enjoy:

Yara baal kutwa ker try kero 5 cm tau chotay ho jao gay ;) then you will be well with in the height max required :D

Thanks a lot @Georgeclark.
But IAF is out of question as it demands a sitting height of 96 cm whereas mine is 38.7 inches.

As for Army I think I am eligible.

@COLDHEARTED AVIATOR
Does Indian Army takes into consideration morning height or afternoon height?

Yaar tu army kay lia bhi fit nahin hai baat sumjha ker Sniper Ko dooooor say nazar aa jaye ga :D ;)

Military Forum Latest Posts