Indian Army lists out weapon systems it can’t afford to buy

INDIAPOSITIVE

According to the Indian Army, the listed weapon systems are extremely expensive. The cost of one unit of T-90 battle tank is estimated to be around Rs 30 crore. Indian which already has around 40 smerch missile systems, is in no position to buy more of it, as it costs beyond the existing budget

The Indian Army has listed out ammunition and spares that it cannot afford to procure despite the fact that the existing power of the arsenal would not be enough for even 10 days of war, reported IE. It is mandated that the Indian Army has enough ammunition to carry out at least 40 days of intense war. But, the stocks in the arsenal suggest that India can go on for mere 10 days. The Indian Army has listed out weapon systems such as smerch rockets, battle tanks and even some missiles. The army is also formally likely to accept that it was fewer resources for fighting 10 days of war.

After the recent DefExpo 2018, Ashok Leyland bagged the order to supply HMV 10×10 vehicles to the Indian Army. These will be used to carry smerch rockets. The smerch rocker is a Russian made multiple launch rocket system. It is used to target soft targets, artillery batteries and command posts. Another weapon system that the Army listed was the 9M113 Konkurs, the Anti Tank Guided Missile system and the T-90 battle tank. It was reported that the Indian Army did not have enough funds to procure more of these weapon systems, that are crucial for the intense war situation.

According to the Indian Army, the listed weapon systems are extremely expensive. The cost of one unit of T-90 battle tank is estimated to be around Rs 30 crore. Indian which already has around 40 smerch missile systems, is in no position to buy more of it, as it costs beyond the existing budget. It was reported that routine funds were being diverted for these procurements, resulting in a crisis where Indian army has been lacking required ammunition and spares.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley allocated Rs 3,59,894 crore to the Ministry of Defence in this budget session. This budget allocation for defence is the lowest since past one decade. The budget allocation for defence had amounted only 2.3 per cent of India’s GDP. It was reported that the defence forces are in dire need of ammunition and is suffering from a shortage of funds.

This key issue has been constantly been pressed upon and has also been brought up in the ongoing Army Commanders Conference. The Parliamentary Standing Committee on defence had also highlighted the increasing needs of the Indian defence forces and CAG reports also spoke about the critical shortage of ammunition in the Army.

Last year, the Deputy Chief of Army Staff, Lt General Sarath Chand had also termed, 65% of arms with India to be in ‘vintage category’. It was also reported that the army wishes not to spend its resources on sustaining its existing equipment, but would rather go for procuring new weapon systems. A month earlier, Army Chief Bipin Rawat had said that Indian Army can maintain preparedness and its active operational activities within the budget that has been allocated for the armed forces. However, he had also said that the army would have been happier if they were allocated more budget.

https://www.financialexpress.com/de...weapon-systems-it-cant-afford-to-buy/1139675/

i guess toliet production took a big slice of the budget

Lack of funds trouble defence forces! Indian Army lists out weapon systems it can’t afford to buy

It is mandated that the Indian Army has enough ammunition to carry out at least 40 days of intense war. But, the stocks in the arsenal suggest that India can go on for mere 10 days.

Ye tau wo baat ho gayi bhai:
Pet bhukh mare aur G**d khaye samose.

Have no money and you are talking of two front war involving 2 nuclear nations?
Shame on India's bragging.

i guess toliet production took a big slice of the budget
We are subsidizing free train rides for our citizens to take a dump in Jhelum & Chenab so that shit will go down your throats. Such subsidies are costing us a ton making most of the foreign weapons systems unaffordable

Well I just realized since you guys mock us that our poor defecate in the open, we should plan something named Jhumb mela and Chumb mela on Jhelum and Chenab respectively where people would be offered free rides to the rivers to take a dump

A big chunk of your population shits under moon light...that includes your week military as well.

It's a problem inherient to the sub continent. We are solving it while your county stands still.

https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/tribune.com.pk/story/1353102/23-population-still-defecates-open-says-report/?amp=1

RE: so u agree toliet production is straining your budget... those poo pee luo ads must be costing a fortune to educate indians how to take a dump..

But bharati pdf trolls claim india can buy the whole world and still be richest people

RE: i would be impressed if they could spray paint straight...

.that includes your week military as well. [/QUOTE said:
Your english is weak.. let us know if apart from poo pee training classes you need english lessons..

We are subsidizing free train rides for our citizens to take a dump in Jhelum & Chenab so that shit will go down your throats.

RE: you mean those trains where people are stilling on the top and hanging on the side?

but if people are on top, if they took a dump would it not first drop on the side of indians who are hanging below?

RE: so u agree toliet production is straining your budget... those poo pee luo ads must be costing a fortune to educate indians how to take a dump..

RE: i would be impressed if they could spray paint straight...

RE: you mean those trains where people are stilling on the top and hanging on the side?

but if people are on top, if they took a dump would it not first drop on the side of indians who are hanging below?
Lol you must've seen pictures of Bangladesh where they sit on top of the trains. As a matter of fact, Indian railways is way better than you guys could even think of. I'm not comparing with China but we are a world apart when it comes to you guys in terms of rail infra

Lack of funds trouble defence forces! Indian Army lists out weapon systems it can’t afford to buy

Ye tau wo baat ho gayi bhai:
Pet bhukh mare aur G**d khaye samose.

Have no money and you are talking of two front war involving 2 nuclear nations?
Shame on India's bragging.

The real reason Indians brag is because they cant walk the walk. But they failed in their brag as well as everyone can tell that they are bragging. No one believe Indian tall tales as Indians always brag too much, such as ancient Indians invented internet.

Al Gore is not too happy about this bragging as well.

But but but according to the Indians on PDF India can buy any weapon because they have a 2.2 trillion dollar GDP .:raise:

but india was rich country companies ine up in idia for sale weapons

Lol you must've seen pictures of Bangladesh where they sit on top of the trains. As a matter of fact, Indian railways is way better than you guys could even think of. I'm not comparing with China but we are a world apart when it comes to you guys in terms of rail infra

RE: really?......looks very indian to me.....

13rail3.jpg

http://www.rediff.com/business/report/how-the-indian-railways-performed-this-quarter/20150810.htm

But but but according to the Indians on PDF India can buy any weapon because they have a 2.2 trillion dollar GDP .:raise:

except toilets....