India to pump $30bn into tech sector and chip supply chain

avenuepark57

1655382922169.png

TAIPEI -- India will spend $30 billion to overhaul its tech industry and build up a chip supply chain to ensure it is not "held hostage" to foreign providers, the country's top diplomat to Taiwan told Nikkei Asia in an interview.

The investment initiative is aimed at increasing local production of semiconductors, displays, advanced chemicals, networking and telecom equipment as well as batteries and electronics, said Gourangalal Das, director-general of the India-Taipei Association, the South Asian country's de-facto embassy in Taipei.

"There is a rise in demand for semiconductors," Das said, adding that India's chip demand is growing at nearly double the global rate each year. "By 2030, India semiconductor demand will reach $110 billion. So by that time, it will be over 10% of global demand."

"We need some assurance that our demand for semiconductors is not held hostage to the vagaries of supply chains -- something that we saw during the pandemic," the diplomat said.

Unlike the U.S. and European Union, which aim to bring some of the most cutting-edge chip production to their shores, Das said his country is looking to bring in more "mature" chips. These include chips made with the relatively less advanced 65-nanometer to 28-nanometer production technologies and are widely used in connectivity chips, display drivers, controller chips for electronics products and electric vehicles.

In addition to a massive domestic market, India has an ample pool of engineers, which will help the country attract foreign investors and overhaul the local electronics industry, Das said

He added that India is open to collaborations with Taiwanese tech players who have semiconductor, display and electronics manufacturing expertise. One early entrant is iPhone assembler Foxconn, which has partnered with Indian natural resources conglomerate Vedanta to build a semiconductor plant in the country.

Apart from chips, India sees displays as critical components, as it hopes to become more self-sufficient in the production of TVs, tablets, smartphones and automobiles. "The demand is going to grow and you cannot be in a perpetual state of import dependency," Das said.

He added that India was not only looking at liquid crystal diode (LCD) display technology, which is widely used in TVs, but also at the higher-end organic light-emitting diode (OLED) displays that have become the mainstream in premium and foldable smartphones.

One area India is not lacking, Das said, is in tech talent. The country has a huge pool of "young talent" and is still enjoying a "demographic dividend" that could last till 2050 even as many East Asian countries are already facing population declines, he said.

India is looking to meet not only its own needs for tech talent but also to fill the skills shortages worldwide, Das said. Chip companies in particular are struggling to find enough qualified engineers to keep up with their global expansion plans.

India has set a target of producing 85,000 highly qualified engineers in 10 years.

Das said the key aim of India's $30 billion initiative is to build a complete supply chain ecosystem. Around $10 billion of that sum will go toward two chip facilities and two display plants. About $7 billion is planned to be given to the electronics industry, including those manufacturing giants like Foxconn and fellow iPhone assembler Pegatron. The remaining $13 billion will be reserved for "affiliated services like telecom, networking, solar photovoltaic, advanced chemistry and battery cells," he said.

The government introduced "Digital India," the country's flagship economic transformation program to upgrade its industries, in 2015. Those efforts have been further accelerated by the pandemic.

India has developed several tech hubs in the south over the years. Foxconn, BMW and Samsung, among others, have already set up plants there, while major global chip developers such as Intel, Qualcomm and Nvidia operate research and development centers locally. The western India state of Gujarat is home to key manufacturing plants of leading chemical producers such as Tata Chemicals, Gujarat Fluorochemicals and Atul.

Although India does not yet have a chip supply chain like the U.S., EU or Japan, the country has a number of key advantages, Das said. In addition to its large number of engineers, these include natural resources for metals, gas and chemicals. For instance, India is the world's leading producer of sulfuric acid and ammonia, which, after being purified, can be used in chip manufacturing processes.

"Even though India has not gone into the semiconductor [industry] in a big way, it has all the associated industrial capabilities, which can be tweaked a little bit or upgraded a little bit to meet the demands," Das said. "It's not like India's learning curve is going to be very steep... But we will be patient and we will be quite persistent."

He added that India is open to collaborations with Taiwanese tech players who have semiconductor, display and electronics manufacturing expertise.

One area India is not lacking, Das said, is in tech talent. The country has a huge pool of "young talent" and is still enjoying a "demographic dividend" that could last till 2050 even as many East Asian countries are already facing population declines, he said.

Those two statements contradict each other. Typical Indian nationalist bragging. @Chat SAMOSA, here's your chance to prove your 40 years of experience. Contact the government and tell them that you want them to enable you to set up a team that will design a processor specific to a general-purpose, reliable, responsive and GUI OS containing all the knowledge elements you have gleaned from working for 40 years on OSes including kernels.

And Modi government wants to develop "more mature" processor which in today's terms means there will be no development of phone processors and neither is this "demographic dividend of young talent" in India going to design a processor as of now.

View attachment 854320
TAIPEI -- India will spend $30 billion to overhaul its tech industry and build up a chip supply chain to ensure it is not "held hostage" to foreign providers, the country's top diplomat to Taiwan told Nikkei Asia in an interview.

The investment initiative is aimed at increasing local production of semiconductors, displays, advanced chemicals, networking and telecom equipment as well as batteries and electronics, said Gourangalal Das, director-general of the India-Taipei Association, the South Asian country's de-facto embassy in Taipei.

"There is a rise in demand for semiconductors," Das said, adding that India's chip demand is growing at nearly double the global rate each year. "By 2030, India semiconductor demand will reach $110 billion. So by that time, it will be over 10% of global demand."

"We need some assurance that our demand for semiconductors is not held hostage to the vagaries of supply chains -- something that we saw during the pandemic," the diplomat said.

Unlike the U.S. and European Union, which aim to bring some of the most cutting-edge chip production to their shores, Das said his country is looking to bring in more "mature" chips. These include chips made with the relatively less advanced 65-nanometer to 28-nanometer production technologies and are widely used in connectivity chips, display drivers, controller chips for electronics products and electric vehicles.

In addition to a massive domestic market, India has an ample pool of engineers, which will help the country attract foreign investors and overhaul the local electronics industry, Das said

He added that India is open to collaborations with Taiwanese tech players who have semiconductor, display and electronics manufacturing expertise. One early entrant is iPhone assembler Foxconn, which has partnered with Indian natural resources conglomerate Vedanta to build a semiconductor plant in the country.

Apart from chips, India sees displays as critical components, as it hopes to become more self-sufficient in the production of TVs, tablets, smartphones and automobiles. "The demand is going to grow and you cannot be in a perpetual state of import dependency," Das said.

He added that India was not only looking at liquid crystal diode (LCD) display technology, which is widely used in TVs, but also at the higher-end organic light-emitting diode (OLED) displays that have become the mainstream in premium and foldable smartphones.

India is looking to meet not only its own needs for tech talent but also to fill the skills shortages worldwide, Das said. Chip companies in particular are struggling to find enough qualified engineers to keep up with their global expansion plans.

India has set a target of producing 85,000 highly qualified engineers in 10 years.

Das said the key aim of India's $30 billion initiative is to build a complete supply chain ecosystem. Around $10 billion of that sum will go toward two chip facilities and two display plants. About $7 billion is planned to be given to the electronics industry, including those manufacturing giants like Foxconn and fellow iPhone assembler Pegatron. The remaining $13 billion will be reserved for "affiliated services like telecom, networking, solar photovoltaic, advanced chemistry and battery cells," he said.

The government introduced "Digital India," the country's flagship economic transformation program to upgrade its industries, in 2015. Those efforts have been further accelerated by the pandemic.

India has developed several tech hubs in the south over the years. Foxconn, BMW and Samsung, among others, have already set up plants there, while major global chip developers such as Intel, Qualcomm and Nvidia operate research and development centers locally. The western India state of Gujarat is home to key manufacturing plants of leading chemical producers such as Tata Chemicals, Gujarat Fluorochemicals and Atul.

Although India does not yet have a chip supply chain like the U.S., EU or Japan, the country has a number of key advantages, Das said. In addition to its large number of engineers, these include natural resources for metals, gas and chemicals. For instance, India is the world's leading producer of sulfuric acid and ammonia, which, after being purified, can be used in chip manufacturing processes.

"Even though India has not gone into the semiconductor [industry] in a big way, it has all the associated industrial capabilities, which can be tweaked a little bit or upgraded a little bit to meet the demands," Das said. "It's not like India's learning curve is going to be very steep... But we will be patient and we will be quite persistent."

Hope that ISMC fab gets online soon, would be better to produce it here especially when there’s too much of imported inflation here.

Those two statements contradict each other. Typical Indian nationalist bragging. @Chat SAMOSA, here's your chance to prove your 40 years of experience. Contact the government and tell them that you want them to enable you to set up a team that will design a processor specific to a general-purpose, reliable, responsive and GUI OS containing all the knowledge elements you have gleaned from working for 40 years on OSes including kernels.

And Modi government wants to develop "more mature" processor which in today's terms means there will be no development of phone processors and neither is this "demographic dividend of young talent" in India going to design a processor as of now.
@jamahir how many times r u going to prove you're a fake who knows very little to nothing abt technology ? U r a fake but an unabashed one

And I have asked you before how am I fake and how are you not a fake ?
You were caught lying. I even tried to give u a face saving out but u were too dense to see it.
Now don't come back with "where did that happen". If u r interested go back and read.

My guess is u were probably dismissed for cause from some IT company for providing false certificates and have deluded yourself into thinking they don't understand your genius. Your ill informed obsession with terms (they are mere terms to you, u have no real knowledge) such as o/s, microprocessors etc, your repeated references to DRDO without even reading their own published info, your ignorant comments on Dham, your lack of knowledge abt Khosla, your making up on the go about Dham's role....I didn't have to do anything, you just kept proving what a fake you are. 😉

The lies you're caught in are not nuanced. They are very basic. In analogy you may understand better, what you've been saying is akin to somebody claiming to be Bollywood expert who doesn't know Hindi, who has never heard of Kapoor family or Amitabh Bacchan and who is out improve bollywood by asking anyone who'd listen to form a company to print films in celluloid faster in 2022 and while at it also record music in stereo.

You were caught lying. I even tried to give u a face saving out but u were too dense to see it.
Now don't come back with "where did that happen". If u r interested go back and read.

My guess is u were probably dismissed for cause from some IT company for providing false certificates and have deluded yourself into thinking they don't understand your genius. Your ill informed obsession with terms (they are mere terms to you, u have no real knowledge) such as o/s, microprocessors etc, your repeated references to DRDO without even reading their own published info, your ignorant comments on Dham, your lack of knowledge abt Khosla, your making up on the go about Dham's role....I didn't have to do anything, you just kept proving what a fake you are. 😉

The lies you're caught in are not nuanced. They are very basic. In analogy you may understand better, what you've been saying is akin to somebody claiming to be Bollywood expert who doesn't know Hindi, who has never heard of Kapoor family or Amitabh Bacchan and who is out improve bollywood by asking anyone who'd listen to form a company to print films in celluloid faster in 2022 and while at it also record music in stereo.

1. For others' companies I have worked only four times in my life and the last was in 2014 where I almost established the first Indian IT / ITES workers unions federation.

2. About false certificates why would I bother about that when I dropped out in class 12 because I rejected the Indian "education" system and I burnt my 11th class certificate and would have burnt the 10th class one if not for the fact that in India that is one of the many complicated ways to establish personal identity. But that didn't stop me from being a teacher in computing and from co-founding a little company which had five workers including me and me being the technological partner.

3. So tell me about Vinod Dham the fraudia. And what is this info that DRDO published that I don't know of where it explained its failure to develop a "futuristic" OS 12 years after the project started and had 150 "scientists" and engineers working ?

4. You have been continuously avoiding my question about what you can do with your "40 years of experience in OSes including with kernels" and that statement of yours seems like the NATO lie about the forces of Muammar Gaddafi and Bashar al Assad "killing civilians including women and children" in 2011. Why don't you just answer this and post# 2 ?

2. About false certificates I dropped out in class 12 because I rejected the Indian "education" system and I burnt my 11th class certificate and would have burnt the 10th class one if not for the fact that in India that is one of the many complicated ways to establish personal identity.
This is making a lot of sense now. You should not have dropped out at grade 12.

You’re missing some things that comes with formal, rigorous technical education and the understanding/perspective that comes with it. Humility and a sense of reality.

1. For others' companies I have worked only four times in my life and the last was in 2014 where I almost established the first Indian IT / ITES workers unions federation.

2. About false certificates I dropped out in class 12 because I rejected the Indian "education" system and I burnt my 11th class certificate and would have burnt the 10th class one if not for the fact that in India that is one of the many complicated ways to establish personal identity. But that didn't stop me from being a teacher in computing and from co-founding a little company which had five workers including me and me being the technological partner.

3. So tell me about Vinod Dham the fraudia. And what is this info that DRDO published that I don't know of where it explained its failure to develop a "futuristic" OS 12 years after the project started and had 150 "scientists" and engineers working ?

4. You have been continuously avoiding my question about what you can do with your "40 years of experience in OSes including with kernels" and that statement of yours seems like the NATO lie about the forces of Muammar Gaddafi and Bashar al Assad "killing civilians including women and children" in 2011. Why don't you just answer this and post# 2 ?
Just read what you write here yourself. Will I take any question from such a failure and fake seriously and answer him ?

May be you should try 10th grade again. In some states they may just give you an all pass for attending if you claim covid.

You’re missing some things that comes with formal, rigorous technical education and the understanding/perspective that comes with it. Humility and a sense of reality.
And the person has audacity to criticise others who have created value in order of billions or employed thousands of people, Its just insecurity blaming education system, governance, capitalism, business leaders, technology leaders for own failures

Humility and sense of reality you say. But was it me who declared in 2008 that India will be a superpower by 2012 and then the date was pushed to 2020 ? Well, two years have passed since that tryst with destiny and no superpower thingy I see. But there is still this :
During the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP President Amit Shah promised voters that India would become a superpower by 2024 if Narendra Modi was voted back as prime minister. Earlier in 2018, Union minister Jitendra Singh claimed that Modi would fulfil Kalam’s “Vision 2020” – although, wisely he did not mention by which year.
What do you say ? Is there humility and sense of reality in Mota bhai ?

Was it me who produced this cringey vid called 'Mera desh hai mahaan' ?
Well, seven years have passed since the vid's release and I am still waiting for the Indian space station developed under the enlightening guidance of Pragati Purush Narendra bhai, he of the 10 lakh suit having his full three-word name written as the suit's lines and the suit being auctioned off for 4.3 crores to one of his adoring and very very intellectual admirers ( you were talking about humility and sense of reality, I believe ).

And delving more into my lack of humility and sense of reality and the supreme presence of humility and sense of reality in the Indian nationalist PhDs let me post what they have been doing. Take former DRDO chief, Dr. VK Saraswat ( Mr. Chat Samosa, please take note about the same DRDO whose 12-year-old failure OS project I told you about ) and his comrades at VIBHA :
VIBHA's advisory board includes Vijay Kumar Saraswat, former head of Indian defense research and now chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University here. The former chairs of India's Space Commission and its Atomic Energy Commission are VIBHA "patrons." Structural biologist Shekhar Mande, director-general of CSIR, is VIBHA's vice president.

Saraswat—who says he firmly believes in the power of gemstones to influence wellbeing and destiny—is proud of the achievements of ancient Hindu science: "We should rediscover Indian systems which existed thousands of years back," he says. Mande shares that pride. "We are a race which is not inferior to any other race in the world," he says. "Great things have happened in this part of the world." Mande insists that VIBHA is not antiscientific, however: "We want to tell people you have to be rational in your life and not believe in irrational myths." He does not see a rise of pseudoscience in the past 4 years—"We have always had that"—and says part of the problem is that the press is now paying more attention to the occasional bizarre claim. "If journalists don't report it, actually that would be perfect," he says.
And what is VIBHA ?
New Delhi—The most widely discussed talk at the Indian Science Congress, a government-funded annual jamboree held in Jalandhar in January, wasn't about space exploration or information technology, areas in which India has made rapid progress. Instead, the talk celebrated a story in the Hindu epic Mahabharata about a woman who gave birth to 100 children, citing it as evidence that India's ancient Hindu civilization had developed advanced reproductive technologies. Just as surprising as the claim was the distinguished pedigree of the scientist who made it: chemist G. Nageshwar Rao, vice-chancellor of Andhra University in Visakhapatnam. "Stem cell research was done in this country thousands of years ago," Rao said.

His talk was widely met with ridicule. But Rao is hardly the only Indian scientist to make such claims. In recent years, "experts" have said ancient Indians had spacecraft, the internet, and nuclear weapons—long before Western science came on the scene.

Such claims and other forms of pseudoscience rooted in Hindu nationalism have been on the rise since Prime Minister Narendra Modi came to power in 2014. They're not just an embarrassment, some researchers say, but a threat to science and education that stifles critical thinking and could hamper India's development. "Modi has initiated what may be called ‘Project Assault on Scientific Rationality,'" says Gauhar Raza, former chief scientist at the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) here, a conglomerate of almost 40 national labs. "A religio-mythical culture is being propagated in the country's scientific institutions aggressively."

Some blame the rapid rise at least in part on Vijnana Bharati (VIBHA), the science wing of Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS), a massive conservative movement that aims to turn India into a Hindu nation and is the ideological parent of Modi's Bharatiya Janata Party. VIBHA aims to educate the masses about science and technology and harness research to stimulate India's development, but it also promotes "Swadeshi" (indigenous) science and tries to connect modern science to traditional knowledge and Hindu spirituality.

VIBHA receives generous government funding and is active in 23 of India's 29 states, organizing huge science fairs and other events; it has 20,000 so-called "team members" to spread its ideas and 100,000 volunteers—including many in the highest echelons of Indian science.
If anybody wants to have even more fun they can read this "research" document prepared by Professor Shivanandam M, head of Sri Chandrasekharendra Saraswathi Viswa Mahavidyalaya, Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu. I quote its abstract :
Ancient Indian culture 7000 years ago knows how to create Vimanas to traverse the sky and beyond using a technology that NASA is still trying to harness today. There are many books and websites which forcefully and passionately assert that technologically advanced aircraft and spacecraft were in common use over the Indian subcontinent thousands of years ago. The sources also claim that advanced space propulsion technology being researched by NASA is in fact directly inspired by ancient flying machines. The references mentioned from Vedic texts such as Rig Veda, Yajur Veda, Srimad Bhagavatham, Ramayana, Mahabharatha, Vaimanika Shastra and Samarangana Suthtradhara cites Vimanas that fly in air, water and land. They mention various propulsion including Mercury propulsion. Vaimanika Shastra provides complete manual for Design, Material selection, Manufacture, Operation, Space suits, Food, Tackling enemies, Becoming invisible etc. S.B.Talpade, Sanskrit scholar has designed and constructed an aircraft based on Vedic principles and demonstrated the first unmanned flight.
NASA, SpaceX, Relativity Space, Rocket Lab, i-Space and of course Russia must submit themselves to the superiority of this professor's research. But I wonder why is even the 60-year-old Indian Space Research Organization which is yet to launch a human into space, not using ancient Vedic vimana technology found from the annals of the glorious past by this Indian PhD'ed professor but instead relying on Western-design rocket engines and traditional rocket shapes in general whose origin lies in China and which was developed further by, ooh shocks and horroeurs by the non-college-degreed
Tipu Sultan ?

But of course, who am I a mediocre, foolish 12th class dropout in front of these magnificent Hindutvadi triple-degreed PhD "geniuses" from the 21st century who evoke a magnificent historic past ?

Just read what you write here yourself. Will I take any question from such a failure and fake seriously and answer him ?

Failure ? You must be a HCL-developed AI bot, meaning "Anything but Intelligent", because you totally ignored my next words :
But that didn't stop me from being a teacher in computing and from co-founding a little company which had five workers including me and me being the technological partner.
HCL engineers crashed airplanes on one hand and killed 400+ people and on the other hand they crashed your brain.

Now I am looking for about 22 lakhs to start my next company, again in computing, and when it comes about it is of a type where people like you will come looking for employment saying "I have 40 years of experience in OS stuff including kernels and specialized executives". :)

And the person has audacity to criticise others who have created value in order of billions or employed thousands of people, Its just insecurity blaming education system, governance, capitalism, business leaders, technology leaders for own failures

Technology leaders ? :what: As for "education" system, if at all it took was a college degree for a person to gain knowledge, intellect and perspective then India has the largest number of college graduates and PhDs so that should have made India the most advanced, empathetic, rational and evolved society in history every which way and made India a technology creator instead of the consumer it is and there should have been a crewed research station on Mars 20 years ago if not before. But is that the case ?

Humility and sense of reality you say. But was it me who declared in 2008 that India will be a superpower by 2012 and then the date was pushed to 2020 ? Well, two years have passed since that tryst with destiny and no superpower thingy I see. But there is still this :

What do you say ? Is there humility and sense of reality in Mota bhai ?

Was it me who produced this cringey vid called 'Mera desh hai mahaan' ?
Well, seven years have passed since the vid's release and I am still waiting for the Indian space station developed under the enlightening guidance of Pragati Purush Narendra bhai, he of the 10 lakh suit having his full three-word name written as the suit's lines and the suit being auctioned off for 4.3 crores to one of his adoring and very very intellectual admirers ( you were talking about humility and sense of reality, I believe ).

And delving more into my lack of humility and sense of reality and the supreme presence of humility and sense of reality in the Indian nationalist PhDs let me post what they have been doing. Take former DRDO chief, Dr. VK Saraswat ( Mr. Chat Samosa, please take note about the same DRDO whose 12-year-old failure OS project I told you about ) and his comrades at VIBHA :

And what is VIBHA ?

If anybody wants to have even more fun they can read this "research" document prepared by Professor Shivanandam M, head of Sri Chandrasekharendra Saraswathi Viswa Mahavidyalaya, Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu. I quote its abstract :

NASA, SpaceX, Relativity Space, Rocket Lab, i-Space and of course Russia must submit themselves to the superiority of this professor's research. But I wonder why is even the 60-year-old Indian Space Research Organization which is yet to launch a human into space, not using ancient Vedic vimana technology found from the annals of the glorious past by this Indian PhD'ed professor but instead relying on Western-design rocket engines and traditional rocket shapes in general whose origin lies in China and which was developed further by, ooh shocks and horroeurs by the non-college-degreed
Tipu Sultan ?

But of course, who am I a mediocre, foolish 12th class dropout in front of these magnificent Hindutvadi triple-degreed PhD "geniuses" from the 21st century who evoke a magnificent historic past ?

Failure ? You must be a HCL-developed AI bot, meaning "Anything but Intelligent", because you totally ignored my next words :

HCL engineers crashed airplanes on one hand and killed 400+ people and on the other hand they crashed your brain.

Now I am looking for about 22 lakhs to start my next company, again in computing, and when it comes about it is of a type where people like you will come looking for employment saying "I have 40 years of experience in OS stuff including kernels and specialized executives". :)

Technology leaders ? :what: As for "education" system, if at all it took was a college degree for a person to gain knowledge, intellect and perspective then India has the largest number of college graduates and PhDs so that should have made India the most advanced, empathetic, rational and evolved society in history every which way and made India a technology creator instead of the consumer it is and there should have been a crewed research station on Mars 20 years ago if not before. But is that the case ?
If you put in the same effort you make here to inflate your own ego with such drivel — you can clear grade 10, 11 and 12. Then perhaps college. Indian education system needs reform, sure. But it is not so oppressive that it is impossible to clear grade 12. Try some of those watered down state syllabus if CBSE/ICSE won’t work. This is for your own benefit.

Arre mian, why are you imposing some ridiculous thing on me which I rejected long ago ? Didn't you see the word "Rejected" ? I did something that you were not brave and confident to do. You couldn't convince your own parents that you have intellect without them being shown a piece of paper nor did your parents have the confidence in themselves to judge your intellect without having a third party showing them that piece of paper about you. I rejected the system yet did a few things. Can you do those to start with since you think yourself wise enough to make recommendations to me ? Tell me, do you have children or siblings ?

There is mostly no benefit in any student going through the Capitalism-rat race called "Indian education" ( except medicine and civil engineering ) because this so-called education is meant just to produce dolts who "study" some in-fashion technology or obsolete technology to fit inside the 3000-year-old extreme Capitalist socio-economic system based employment system. Didn't I tell you what maha fools have come out of the so-called education system of India ? I suggest you go through my previous posts again to see what I intend to say.