India must change its behaviour towards Pakistan: Chidambaram

PDFChamp

Source

India must change its behaviour towards Pakistan: Chidambaram
To bring change in Pak behaviour, India must also change, says the Congress leader

PTI | New Delhi April 21, 2019 21:03 IST
chidambaram-pti21419.jpg
Senior Congress leader P. Chidambaram | PTI
Senior Congress leader P. Chidambaram Sunday said that in order to bring a change in Pakistan's behaviour, India must also change its behaviour towards the neighbouring country.

The former home minister also said that a way must be found to normalise the India-Pakistan relations so as to answer the country's "biggest external challenge" in terms of security and various other aspects.

"Whatever we do, we have to make Pakistan change its behaviour. That means we must also change our behaviour towards Pakistan. These attitudinal changes will happen over a period of time. But we must make an effort," he said at a discussion titled -- "Beyond Politics: Debating a new Security Manifesto", organised by think-tank Observer Research Foundation (ORF) here.

Retired Lt General DS Hooda, while presenting salient features of his report "India's National Security Strategy", contended that "one surgical strike or air strike cannot change the behaviour of Pakistan."

Chidambaram disagreed with him. "We build strong armies not to win a war but to avoid the war. If that is kept in mind everything will fall in place," the Congress leader said.

There has to be some "radical" thinking, a departure in conventional thinking by which "we can find ways in which India and Pakistan can have normal relations", he said.

"We may have tried everything and failed, but we have to try and try and try until we have a break. There is no reason why one day an Indian prime minister and a Pakistan prime minister cannot walk into each other's territory and shake hands."

Chidambaram suggested that efforts should be made to resolve issue which are easy to sort out and batted for increased mutual visits by the people of the two countries.

He said people are "mesmerised" by phrases like "strong leader, strong government, muscular policy" but how can such a policy be called successful if the number of crossborder infiltrations, military and casualties have been the "highest" in the past 15 years.

. . . . . .
India Mata is pregnant with 26 children..that's why I said otherwise I have no problem with India.
Does your Pakistani mata never get pregnant? Sorry for using your language, it is the only language you understand.

We don't believe in using the word mata or pita for land... But Indians especially Hindus use Dharti Mata ke tukre kar diye

Which God's grace?
Any out of 330 million..

Why do you even want him? Don't you see what he is doing in Balochistan. He shud lost at all cost

India has always been hostile towards Pakistan regardless of who is in power. Modi being in power is definitely not good for Pakistan, but is FAR WORSE for India in the long run (which might end being actually good for Pakistan). The fascist policies of BJP might work in a country like Nazi Germany, but will rip apart a country like India. Seeds are being sowed, that for the first time since India's independence, could actually end up with Muslims standing up in revolt and taking up arms against the majority.

Why do you even want him? Don't you see what he is doing in Balochistan. He shud lost at all cost
Congress - 1971
BJP -> Pakistan became nuclear Power
BJP -> Feb 27

baqi Balochistan ki baat woh inshaAllah bikul theek ho jaye ga... Iran aur Kabul ki NDS bhi shamil ha..ab Iran se khul kar baat hogi.

Baita... So jaaa.. Maon bili a rahi ha..
We never afraid to play proxy games with CIA in Afghanistan .. Who do u think these slaves are??? Haha.. We want modi because only he will help us to open kashmir corridor for talibans.. :enjoy:

Congress is nothing more than a bunch of Urban Naxals + Islamists masquerading as intellectuals.
Their propagation of continued dialogue over dead bodies of innocent Indians have costed India dearly.
Glad that they are in no position to come back in 2019.
Go kill them..they are all traitors