India in R6,000-crore JV with Russia for BrahMos’ air version

That's actually is the problem! I read many of your posts, where you act like a kid, just to provoke others, based on very basic infos and personal belives.
The only good post of them was the one that I quoted, where you admited that there are points you don't know yet and that's totally ok. There is nobody on this forum that knows everything, but there is a lot of infos available to learn and just. So reading and posting one good post with infos to compare both missiles would have been the better idea, instead of wildly posting around.

P.S. I have no need to discuss this issue with you at this thread, but I want to stop this blame gaming about my missile is better than yours...

My dear i am engaging in a technical discussion..read my comment again....
Personal attacks are uncalled for...
Please come up with technicalities and i will discuss all the way,but avoid Cheap shots....

My dear i am engaging in a technical discussion..read my comment again....
Personal attacks are uncalled for...
Please come up with technicalities and i will discuss all the way,but avoid Cheap shots....

Your first post:

One thing is sure.
India wont be exporting any of them,as china has already made a cheaper and much faster missile with better features,and its up for sale.

Yes, very technical and a very mature way to start a discussion!

Your first post:

Yes, very technical and a very mature way to start a discussion!

Like i said..come up with technicalities and i will discuss all the way..
Whats the point you are are raising here?
I assume the cost?

Lets see...
Brahmos Unit cost US$ 2.73 million (Being much more complicated and expensive Ram jet propulsion)
SY-400, CM-400....No Ram jet,simple solid motor so definitely cheaper and may well be in tens of thousands Dollars a piece...

Due to cost difference and availability the comment was made..
India has yet to mass produce Brahmos for their own requirement,let alone for export...
On the other hand Chinese missiles mentioned above are good to go and in Mass market.

Why should I? You came up with this missile to a thread, that has nothing to do with it and I already showed more technical points than you did, only to make you understand that you are completelly wrong, since you didn't even understand the differences between both missiles.

Anyway, back to the topic...

India has inked a Rs 6,000-crore joint venture with Russia under which the latter will supply 200 high-precision supersonic cruise missile BrahMos to the IAF.

You marked the right info mate, there was often a confusion about the numbers of MKIs that will be able to use Brahmos, but this big order should make clear that more than the 42 x Super 30s will be able to carry them, especially since only a single of this version can be fitted to MKI.
As I often said, the older MKIs will be upgraded to the same level, to provide IAF also with heavy anti ship or land attack capability at long ranges.

Why should I? You came up with this missile to a thread, that has nothing to do with it and I already showed more technical points than you did, only to make you understand that you are completelly wrong, since you didn't even understand the differences between both missiles.

where?
Can you direct me to that post of yours?

You are being sentimental on me Rubbishing Brahmos thats all..You have no leg to stand thats another thing

100-240 KM. Operational speed 4 mach. Maxium speed 5.5 mach. Missile weighs 900 KG and is used for land and sea targets. For sea targets a radar seeker is fitted in the missile. A missile travellin at 4 - 5 mach can easily create a big hole in any aircraft carrier. Missile is operational on JF-17.

No. That's not true.

amma yaar jhan dekho ye log pahuc jate hai "PAK/CHIN HAS IT YRS B4 U DID" comments leke. Are han bhi tumhare af me 10th gen palnes hai, tumlog manportable hypersonic ICBMs daagte ho aur kuch, chal thik hai KGB/RAW ne Bramhos ke design Zaid Hamid ke ghar se churaye the jo usne 3yrs ki umar me banaya tha. Ab raat ko niind aayegi ??

On Topic:- Ok so we have pulled our socks for another adventure, Good. So when are we designing and testing its successor (for land and sea designs) ??

Whats the point you are are raising here?
I assume the cost?

Lets see...
Brahmos Unit cost US$ 2.73 million (Being much more complicated and expensive Ram jet propulsion)
SY-400, CM-400....No Ram jet,simple solid motor so definitely cheaper and may well be in tens of thousands Dollars a piece...

Due to cost difference and availability the comment was made..
India has yet to mass produce Brahmos for their own requirement,let alone for export...
On the other hand Chinese missiles mentioned above are good to go and in Mass market.

Do you think India and Russia dont have that simple solid motor? and they dont have CM-400 type of missile. Why will India/Russia go for the hitech Raj Jet engine when much better work can be done by the simple solid motor.

Russia can make such simple solid motors much before China even had missiles.

Dude Russia and India have ABANDONED this CM-400 Type of missiles and moved on to more advaned systems like Brahmos. They can make this CM-400 type of Missile decades back.

This itself will tell you, that Brahmos incorporates some of the most advanced systems in the world which even US dont have right now (China wont have till 2 more decades). So obviously the designers would spend that money to have something Much MORE capability then the SIMPLE solid Motor Missile.

your argument is more like, since F-16 can fly at same speeds as F-22 so F-16 is better because it is Cheap and easy to Mass Produce!

Hypersonic means mach 5 and above.

below mach 5 (as per Jane's) makes it high-supersonic.

Stop it guys. It is just an Air to surface missile. If India wanted one similar one could easily had KH-15 in 90's

This CM400 is not even Comparable to 90's russian Air to surface missile KH15. If Pakistaniz wanna match specs they can do D!ck measuring with old russian tech.

AS-16_Kickback_2008_G1.jpg

Weight 1,200 kg (2,650 lb)
Length 478 cm (15 ft 8 in)
Diameter 45.5 cm (17.9 in)
Warhead weight 150 kg (331 lb)
Wingspan 92 cm (36.2 in)
Operational
range 300 km (160 nmi)
Speed Up to Mach 5
Guidance
system inertial, active radar, or anti-radiation

Kh-15 (missile) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Anything superior Your AM400 provides over Kh-15 ? I love watching Clowns in Action. Going gaga over a simple air to surface weapon and claiming it superior to An air launched cruise Missile . :blah:

Do you think India and Russia dont have that simple solid motor? and they dont have CM-400 type of missile. Why will India/Russia go for the hitech Raj Jet engine when much better work can be done by the simple solid motor.

Russia can make such simple solid motors much before China even had missiles.

Dude Russia and India have ABANDONED this CM-400 Type of missiles and moved on to more advaned systems like Brahmos. They can make this CM-400 type of Missile decades back.

This itself will tell you, that Brahmos incorporates some of the most advanced systems in the world which even US dont have right now (China wont have till 2 more decades). So obviously the designers would spend that money to have something Much MORE capability then the SIMPLE solid Motor Missile.

your argument is more like, since F-16 can fly at same speeds as F-22 so F-16 is better because it is Cheap and easy to Mass Produce!

Are you suggestion that US won't be able to make a Russian export version of missile such as Brahmos. There is a reason that Russia won't induct Brahmos. It's because they got something better. Brahmos is a joint development similar to how JF-17 is joint development. China won't induct JF-17 for the same reason that Russia won't use Brahmos. They each got something better. So Brahmos is only such a super weapon only in the eyes of Indians.

Able but not making currently. N market is open for bramhos. We will see if Russia will induct it or not. Stop "will not would" not type wishful things.

For the bold part, Many countries are Eager to acquire it once we fulfil our demand.

Malaysia

http://www.defence.pk/forums/indian-defence/55010-malaysia-shows-interest-brahmos-dsa-10-a.html

vietnam

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/article2610605.ece

http://articles.timesofindia.indiat...friendly-third-world-countries-cruise-missile

Here's what Prasun K Sengupta (who brought into light this missile at TRISHUL) says -

Firstly, CM-400AKG hasn’t yet been qualified on the JF-17 Thunder. Secondly, claim of 180km-250km range is way off the mark, simply because those figures apply only to the SY-400 NLOS-BSM from which the CM-400AKG is derived. Thirdly, any long-range fire-and-forget air-to-ground PGM can only employ active radar for terminal guidance & not IIR, simply because no missile-based IIR sensor has the kind of target detection/lock-on range (of up to 26km). Such sensors exist only on board laser designator pods & therefore cannot be made to fit on-board a missile the size of CM-400AKG. Fourthly, if the missile has a digital scene-matching system, then it stands to reason that it cannot also have an on-board active radar for terminal guidance, a fact clearly borne out by external visual examination of the CM-400AKG’s airframe. Fifthly, therefore, re-targetting in mid-flight is an impossibility. Sixthly, the CM-400AKG’s impact velocity cannot be hypersonic if an IIR sensor is employed for the terminal flight-phase. It can be hypersonic ONLY if climbs to a high altitude & undertakes a high-speed dive on the target (i.e.top-attack mode by using an X-band synthetic aperture radar), MEANING that this performance data applies only to the SY-400 NLOS-BSM, & not an aircraft-launched PGM meant for targetting an aircraft carrier cruising at a speed of 30 Knots.
Bottomline: Either the JDW’s reporter was totally ignorant about the laws of physics, or it was the PAF unnamed officials who were ignorant about the laws of physics & were just engaged in unsubstantiated & delusional rants. The only genuine data pertains to the number of JF-17s presently in service, i.e.36, which doesn’t spell good for the aircraft’s series-production status to date, given the fact that first deliveries took place as far back as March 2007. By now, at least 90 JF-17s ought to have been in service, assuming an annual production run of just 12 aircraft.

Can any knowledgable member confirm/disagree his claims with some points?

And yes, I agree with this part - CM-400AKG is not a cruise missile but a PGM precision guided munition.

Tell me one thing Yakhont can do that BrahMos can't?

BrahMos has demostrated capabiity to conduct a supersonic steep dive on a land target at Mach 2.8,
could Yakhont do that?

Tell me something JF-17 can do that J-10 cant?

Military Forum Latest Posts