Ghost Hobbit

compendium thread:
In order to make India a manufacturing superpower India is:
Building the biggest Industrial zone in the world and to support:
a) Building the biggest rail freight corridor in the world (mostly completed)
b) Dedicated lines with no passengers, only freight
c) Zero interruptions- no manned corssing etc. It is fully automated
d) Fully electrified with high capacity infrastrcture to support some of the heaviest freight trains in the world

Since the corridor needed new high capacity trains that were hard to find, Alstom was selected as a partner. They have done a brilliant job including setting up a new rail loco plant

Alstom:

The world's first long haul electric double decker freight train has been tested. Soon these will be running day and night across the corridor

To support this prorject Alstom has built a USD 5 Billion rail loco plant. These are some of the most powerful electric locos in the world.
We have also completed a massive USD 4 Billion general upgradation of our rail network

Man I really love those wag12 locos.

that high capacity electric freight train is 1.5 KM Long!

I think it will move in phases. Between this and the waterways, already we have our hands full.
There is no Hands full scenario, but cost-benefit. A dedicated corridor connecting the two largest industrial hubs are necessary. Shipping from Chennai is expensive and we depend so much on Colombo port for transhipment. The Chennai side needs to shift to the Western side if we want to save time and cost.
Or we should deepen the Rameswaram which is not happening because of Ram-setu.

There is no Hands full scenario, but cost-benefit. A dedicated corridor connecting the two largest industrial hubs are necessary. Shipping from Chennai is expensive and we depend so much on Colombo port for transhipment. The Chennai side needs to shift to the Western side if we want to save time and cost.
Or we should deepen the Rameswaram which is not happening because of Ram-setu.

That's the real problem. Chennai's real solution is to deepen ram setu but idiots won't allow it.

compendium thread:
In order to make India a manufacturing superpower India is:
Building the biggest Industrial zone in the world and to support:
a) Building the biggest rail freight corridor in the world (mostly completed)
b) Dedicated lines with no passengers, only freight
c) Zero interruptions- no manned corssing etc. It is fully automated
d) Fully electrified with high capacity infrastrcture to support some of the heaviest freight trains in the world

Since the corridor needed new high capacity trains that were hard to find, Alstom was selected as a partner. They have done a brilliant job including setting up a new rail loco plant

Alstom:

The world's first long haul electric double decker freight train has been tested. Soon these will be running day and night across the corridor

Fantastic project. Huge boost to infrastructure and the economy.

Thanks for sharing buddy.

Cheers, Doc

we don't talk enough about the huge infrastructure projects that modi has started in India..

we need to highlight this more.

we don't talk enough about the huge infrastructure projects
lol why? This is PDF. There is no point in that. It's better to use the "India is developing and long way to use" thread instead of opening individual threads.

the more I think about it...we should've used this opportunity to build modern looking stations :(

Again it's aesthetic vs cost-benefit. We don't need to build glassed corporate builds, we are not there yet. When there is enough profit, revenue we will automatically shift to new buildings. Right now, it's as required by the public.

we don't talk enough about the huge infrastructure projects that modi has started in India..

we need to highlight this more.

Here are the top 10 infrastructure projects by the Modi government:

1. Eastern Peripheral Expressway: It is a 135-km stretch that is India’s first highway lit by solar power. It was inaugurated on 27 May 2018 by Prime Minister Modi. The total cost of the project is estimated to be Rs 11,000 crore and was completed in 17 months. It was meant to reroute the traffic from Delhi to the other nearby states. Almost 10,000 trucks have begun using it, thereby reducing the traffic in Delhi.
  2. UDAN (Ude Desh ka Aam Nagrik): 25 new airports were added under the NDA regime with initial funding of ₹45,000 million. Regional connectivity has been increased by connecting many unserved places. This has helped many Indians to fly for the first time who never got an opportunity due to financial constraints. As a result, more Indians have travelled by air than trains.
  1. Chennai-Nashri Tunnel: The tunnel was inaugurated on 2nd April 2017 by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and is the longest in India with a length of 9.28 km. It took almost 5 years to construct the tunnel.
  1. Setu Bharatram project: 208 rail over bridges with a cost of around Rs. 20,800 crores were to be built initially. 90 bridges were sanctioned and 24 were led to execution.
  2. Nuclear Reactors: 10 nuclear reactors of 700MW each were approved by the NDA government. Also, after an amendment of the Atomic Energy Act 1972, a joint venture for setting up plants has become an option. Rs. 3000 crore every year is to be allocated for the research required for expanding nuclear power.
  3. Steel: The Union Minister of Steel in an interview published by Economic Times, said –
“The output reached to 102.19 MT in FY2017-18 from 81 MT in FY2013-14 and the employment in the sector and allied sectors increased from 20 lakh in FY2013-14 to 25 lakh in FY2017-18. A number of PSUs including Steel Authority of India Ltd (SAILNSE 2.42 %) have turned profitable.”
  1. Ayushman Bharat Programme: Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Institute of Medical and Research was recently inaugurated by PM Modi. It is aimed for providing free services to the poor and was built as a cost of Rs. 750 crore. It is also the first paperless hospital in India.
  2. Establishment of IITs: From 2014-2018 14 new IITs have been set-up. The cost of establishing new IIITs in 2010 was estimated to be around 128 crores. Financial responsibility was divided between the central government, state government and industry partners.
  3. The National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY): was launched on 21 January 2015 with the aim of conserving the heritage of the cities by making it a part of urban development. 20 projects of worth Rs. 140.14 crores were completed in 2018 —cities include Varanasi, Ajmer, Amaravati, Amritsar and Dwarka.
  4. Amrut Scheme: It was launched in 2015 with the aim of providing all the citizens with accessible tap water and sewerage facilities and other such amenities. 20 per cent of the total projects were completed by Jan 2019. The AMRUT scheme was allocated Rs. 6000 crore in 2018-19.
1615142383309.png