India ageing gradually; every 5th person to be 60+ by 2050

CAD

NEW DELHI: India will transform gradually from young to a 'greying' country and by 2050 :lol: every 5th Indian will be in 60s as against every 12th at present.

Flagging the demographic transition, a PFRDA-CRISIL report today said it is important that the development of the under-penetrated pension market in India be initiated now, when the situation is ripe.

"Demographically, India will transition slowly from a 'young' to a 'greying' country, where persons above the age 60 would increase from 8.9 per cent of the population now to 19.4 per cent by 2050," said PFRDA Chairman Hemant G Contractor in the report, 'Financial security for India's elderly - The imperatives'.

As per the report, the population of people above 80 is likely to increase from 0.9 per cent to 2.8 per cent by 2050.

"Continuously declining inter-generational support within families makes it imperative to have a well-developed, self- sustaining pension system in the country," the report said.

Almost 90 per cent of the population was below the age of 60 years and the working age population proportion stood at 44 per cent in 2015.

Contractor said the promotion and development of a pension system is also vital to the growth of the Indian economy as it serves the twin objectives of providing income security to a vast multitude of the ageing population, and garnering long-term funds for critical, growth-driving sectors of the economy as also the capital market.

"A developed pension sector not only reduces the fiscal burden on the exchequer, it also has a stabilising effect on the economy by promoting savings combined with long-term investments," he said.

Read more at:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com...ofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst

I wonder if i should be happy or sad about this news?
I always felt that there's something really wrong with the INDIAN genes, there are 4 Indian babies born per second. Just imagine!
We breed like rabbits.
Population control is something that we have not achieved in centuries. Economy is not even a factor when it comes to the rate at which our ppl reproduce, be it under the Britishers or the worst recessions, our population has always sky rocketed. Gosh!
So OP I'm not gonna take this news seriously unless I spot a lot of senior citizens on our streets.

2050 you don't need youngsters.
AI/robots will dominate.

I always felt that there's something really wrong with the INDIAN genes, there are 4 Indian babies born per second. Just imagine!
We breed like rabbits.
Population control is something that we have not achieved in centuries. Economy is not even a factor when it comes to the rate at which our ppl reproduce, be it under the Britishers or the worst recessions, our population has always sky rocketed. Gosh!
So OP I'm not gonna take this news seriously unless I spot a lot of senior citizens on our streets.
The best way to mitigate population explosion is to increase women participation in work force, which indirectly affects everything, mainly less time/opportunities to breed. I have never came across a working woman in India (mainly in my state Punjab) who has more than two kids...

mainly less time/opportunities to breed
Lol. This isnt true.
I have never came across a working woman in India (mainly in my state Punjab) who has more than two kids...
I agree. Unless she's a government employee she would not risk getting pregnant more than two times.
But then women should not be treated as baby producing machines. Pushing them out of their houses would help control the population is just a myth.
On the other hand some studies suggest that the more education a woman receives, the fewer children she is likely to have, so education is a more effective way of controlling the population.
One thing's for sure that if India fails to control the ever increasing population then our resources will diminish, making us more dependent on other countries to meet our needs.

The best way to mitigate population explosion is to increase women participation in work force, which indirectly affects everything, mainly less time/opportunities to breed. I have never came across a working woman in India (mainly in my state Punjab) who has more than two kids...

Illogical & unsound suggestion.

Population is the result of copulation, but all it takes is a single encounter and a single sperm for the kid to be known as an earthling.

Rwanda has 4% of fertility rate and beats a country like India as for as the word workforce goes.

Rwanda Is The No. 1 Country For Women In Power But They Still Face ...

We breed like rabbits.
There is nothing to worry about the OP.
We cannot make a sudden U turn from the policy. It will only create the 'Chinese' crisis. Rather we will still have a gradual decrease in population while improving the social status, educating women.
Also by 2050 the working age population will be equal to the population of India in 2011.

That's a good news.
But our demographic momentum will ensure that our population doesn't shrink anytime before 2050.

The situation will be same in Pakistan by 2050-60 too and in China much before That.

Its actually a good thing all countries of this region are going through falling fertility levels

That's a good news.
But our demographic momentum will ensure that our population doesn't shrink anytime before 2050.

South has already reached a world specified fertility rate of 2.. By 2050 South share in Indian population will go down severly.. Its already got very less than it was in 50's. So overall Indian population will even out something by 2035.

Its actually a good thing all countries of this region are going through falling fertility levels
Acha hai thore kam ho jaen ge isi bahane wase dunya ka zyada tar maal isi region k log kha rahe hain aur gaaliyan west ko dete hain:omghaha:

Khaak maal kha rahey hain sab sey ziyada ghurbat yahan hey