Imran Khan Indicted for Contempt of Court - Trial to start September 22nd

A twitter thread that dissects Imran Khan’s comments and analyzes the different types of contempt to explain how none of them apply in IK’s case.

Instead of bringing far fetched interpretations (which don't help IK in any way), Imran Khan's tirade against the female judge was an obvious case of intimidating, threatening, and blackmailing her for performing her official duty. And that was done by calling her by name to leave no doubt in anyone's mind (including his PTI workers, the judge herself, and all other judiciary). That badmashi by a goon is not acceptable at all. No stupid interpretation is going to dilute the clearly obvious intention behind that stupid statement by IK.

Now that idiot is crying and moaning that he fears that he would be technically knocked out. That's even more stupid and non-sense claim. If anything, IK himself is trying to technically knock-out IK. He is spitting fire out at everyone like a mental case. Did you watch his last video interview where he is personally insulting and disgracing the chief election commissioner (CEC) of Pakistan? Such stupid outbursts must be unacceptable to and condemned by the civil society, the law, and the state. He knows he is doing badmashi. But then Pakistani state is not that weak either. The state must crush such a rogue behaviour and put the cursed character behind the bars.

A twitter thread that dissects Imran Khan’s comments and analyzes the different types of contempt to explain how none of them apply in IK’s case.

A very thorough read indeed.

It is absurd that how IK's statement can be held in the same pedestal as Danyal Aziz or Talal Ch.

Even the amicus curiae said that there is no obstruction of justice or threat to the judge by IK, and no accusation was made so let it go.

An even more important note:

2) Judicial contempt. "Personalized criticism of a judge" where personalized criticism is defined as "implying improper motives".

Now hear out what Maryam and the whole of PDM said sitting in the PM house. They accused the current CJP of bench fixing, akin to match fixing, and implied that he has ulterior motives. How the heck isn't that contempt then?

Athar Minallah's line of logic is even more absurd when he says that aap SC ya HC kay khilaf kuch bolain masla nhn, but it is our duty to protect the lower judiciary. Where the heck are they when the high court bars lock and beat up judges? Or when the judges themselves act totally oout of line?

This constant play to the galleries and getting embroiled with political speeches and decisions should stop by the courts, otherwise don't go crying around that hamain mutanaza banaya ja raha hai. Athar Minallah, Saqib Nisar, Iftikhar Ch, Justice Isa, and a few others are particularly liable of this.

Instead of bringing far fetched interpretations (which don't help IK in any way), Imran Khan's tirade against the female judge was an obvious case of intimidating, threatening, and blackmailing her for performing her official duty

How is saying "Hey judge, we will take legal action against you" blackmailing, threatening, or intimidating?

Which definition of the word are you using?

So a common man cannot take the help of a law or an overseeing body and file a case against a public servant or judge?

How is saying "Hey judge, we will take legal action against you" blackmailing, threatening, or intimidating?

Which definition of the word are you using?

So a common man cannot take the help of a law or an overseeing body and file a case against a public servant or judge?
Nahan, sir ji, nah! It was not like that. It was something like this: Oh magistrate so and so..., you should have a shame. We will not leave you...

The tone and tenor was indeed threatening. By calling judge's name, the threat was directly aimed at her. It was clearly an attempt to intimidate, threaten, terrify, and blackmail her personally at her work place and during her personal social activities.

This threat has a background that must not be ignored either. We have examples of brainless youthies hurling abuses on many people at restaurents, markets, and even in masjid-i-Nabavi. All that didn't happen by itself. It was a result of similar threatening talk by PTI leaders. There are many cases of PTI leaders threatening even judges. The latest case is of Fawad Ch. who threatened the judges of judiciary the other day that how you would come out of Islamabad if you do this or that. Look at the recent IK interview where he is calling the CEC of Pakistan as 'intehai ghhattia adami'. I for one would condemn this low talk by a former PM of Pakistan. Alas we had a disgraced and mentally a minion at the prestigious position of PM.

It is an extremely important case that will set a precedence for future. If IK is not punished than how can you stop other goons in future from threatening judges by calling them by name. I hope at least a well educated person realizes the implications of the decision in this case. Please don't follow anyone blindly. That's the teaching of Shariah.

Nahan, sir ji, nah! It was not like that. It was something like this: Oh magistrate so and so..., you should have a shame. We will not leave you...

The tone and tenor was indeed threatening. By calling judge's name, the threat was directly aimed at her. It was clearly an attempt to intimidate, threaten, terrify, and blackmail her personally at her work place and during her personal social activities.

This threat has a background that must not be ignored either. We have examples of brainless youthies hurling abuses on many people at restaurents, markets, and even in masjid-i-Nabavi. All that didn't happen by itself. It was a result of similar threatening talk by PTI leaders. There are many cases of PTI leaders threatening even judges. The latest case is of Fawad Ch. who threatened the judges of judiciary the other day that how you would come out of Islamabad if you do this or that. Look at the recent IK interview where he is calling the CEC of Pakistan as 'intehai ghhattia adami'. I for one would condemn this low talk by a former PM of Pakistan. Alas we had a disgraced and mentally a minion at the prestigious position of PM.

It is an extremely important case that will set a precedence for future. If IK is not punished than how can you stop other goons in future from threatening judges by calling them by name. I hope at least a well educated person realizes the implications of the decision in this case. Please don't follow anyone blindly. That's the teaching of Shariah.
It was exactly how Jango and others have explained it. The thread I linked to above offers a detailed analysis as well.

Rather than just regurgitating your opinion, offer a logical rebuttal of the points raised in support of Imran Khan.

You leave the important bit out of the 'threat' where he said they will do a case on her. It is purely a threat of legal action against her and her decision. If a person can't even mention legal action then there is no freedom of expression left in the country. He did not threaten the judge while the case was on going but after the case was closed.

Every citizen has the right to criticize a decision. I guarantee that all people who lose a case will have something negative to say about it.

Do me a favor. Go to the twitter thread posted by Agnostic Muslim, us main aik video hai. Watch it.

Or do you say that that video is doctored then?

Dude, stop with the mental gymnastics...by telling a judge that we will take legal action against you are attempting to intimidate, threaten, terrify, and blackmail her at her work place and social activities? To phir is mulk main koi kisi kay khilaf case na karay? No one should be held accountable? I can't go up to a public servant and tell them that I will take you to court or the relevant legal body for when I have been wronged?

This threat has a background that must not be ignored either. We have examples of brainless youthies hurling abuses on many people at restaurents, markets, and even in masjid-i-Nabavi. All that didn't happen by itself. It was a result of similar threatening talk by PTI leaders. There are many cases of PTI leaders threatening even judges. The latest case is of Fawad Ch. who threatened the judges of judiciary the other day that how you would come out of Islamabad if you do this or that. Look at the recent IK interview where he is calling the CEC of Pakistan as 'intehai ghhattia adami'.

Yup. While others come at you with a rocket launcher, you come to the fight with a mere punch, that's what IK should do. Might work well in some utopian pacifist novel, but not in real life, especially not in Pakistani politics.

As for the threatening talk by 'youthies' as you call, I could quote a 100 tweets by N league supporters using much more vile language. Yeh aik Pakistani masla hai, kisi aik party ka nhn. Rather, a global problem with the advent of social media.

Also, please don't use the word youthie again.

Alas we had a disgraced and mentally a minion at the prestigious position of PM.

Yup, IK say pehle bas sab saaf suthray thay.

It is an extremely important case that will set a precedence for future. If IK is not punished than how can you stop other goons in future from threatening judges by calling them by name. I hope at least a well educated person realizes the implications of the decision in this case. Please don't follow anyone blindly.

That's the thing. Why wasn't Maryam stopped? Why wan't NS stopped? Why wasn't Zardari or Bilawal stopped? That has already set a precedent, and IK merely followed in that. And he did not even accuse the judges of taking a bribe, or being under the influence of someone, or having a vested interest. He didn't threaten them with tapes and nudes.

All he did was talk about taking legal action.

That's the teaching of Shariah.

Please stop with the religious blackmailing here. Shariah aur bhi bara kuch kehti hai.

1662916192308.png